WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

Supernatural Bits & Pieces May 28, 2017

Alice's Review: Supernatural 12.23 "All Along The Watchtower" aka A Death...

Fan Video of the Week: Supernatural Reflections "Who We Are"

Family Don't End With Blood - Revelations from Supernatural Cast and Fans

Alice's Review: Supernatural 12.22 "Who We Are," aka A Family Healed

Wednesday’s Watching Supernatural 12.22 “Who We Are”

WFB Supernatural Gift Guide

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

26 May 2017 14:18

Jared and Gen Padalecki both spoke in support of David's Law, a Texas law which targets cyber bullyi

26 May 2017 09:14

Jared started part four of his relaunch.

24 May 2017 15:07

Editor's Note: This article chronologically presents the reports and tweets on Mark Sheppard's statu

24 May 2017 09:41

 Now that season 12 is over, our stars are working for charity.

21 May 2017 09:14

Jared has launched part two of his AKF campaign.

20 May 2017 16:46

We have a few spoilers that came out of the Jus In Bello Convention this weekend.

19 May 2017 11:25

Here are the ratings for last night's finale episodes.

18 May 2017 21:38

Well, we were uninamous, but that's not necessarily good.  All four of us at the TV Fanatic Rou

18 May 2017 15:34

Jared talks about the season finale, season 13 spoilers and relaunching his Always Keep Fighting Cam

18 May 2017 12:05

We are getting our first spoilers for next season at the CW upfront presentation.

18 May 2017 08:52

The CW has released its schedule for next season.

17 May 2017 14:21

EW has published an interview with Andrew Dabb about the final episodes of season 12.

15 May 2017 07:44

The shows continue to fall as networks are poised to announce their 2017-2018 schedule.

13 May 2017 13:42

Yes, NBC changed its mind and renewed Timeless

13 May 2017 07:14

Our wonderful Lilah Kane made screengrabs of the Shaving People, Punting Things Promo.

13 May 2017 00:46

Apologies, but the total **** storm generated by 12.21 made me forget to put up the link for the TV

12 May 2017 14:02

Here are the pictures for the finale.

12 May 2017 12:20

We have the preliminary ratings for last night's episode.

11 May 2017 21:33

The trailer for the season 12 finale

11 May 2017 07:07

It's been a bad week for our former writing staff.

10 May 2017 13:01

We have a sneak peek for episode 21.

08 May 2017 19:16

The CW canceled two freshman shows today.

08 May 2017 10:53

Jeffrey Dean Morgan won the 2017 MTV Award for Best Villain for his role as Negan on The Walking Dea

05 May 2017 14:51

We have pictures for the next episode.

05 May 2017 12:45

The ratings for episode 20  'Twigs & Twine and Tasha Banes'

04 May 2017 21:16

The trailer for the next episode.

03 May 2017 15:09

We have the sneak peek for episode 20

30 Apr 2017 15:42

Supernatural won Best Writing in Canadagraphs's "Best of TV" Awards!

28 Apr 2017 15:08

We have the pictures for episode 20.

28 Apr 2017 11:16

Here are the ratings for Supernatural's 'The Future':

27 Apr 2017 21:42

The trailer for episode 20.

27 Apr 2017 21:15

The CW has released the synopses for episode 22 and 23

25 Apr 2017 23:27

It's really funny how Nightsky and I seem to be on opposite sides of the spectrum when it comes to a

25 Apr 2017 14:28

April 24 was Baby's 50th birthday and Eric Kripke's 43rd. Congratulations flooded in from our cast.

24 Apr 2017 20:32

Andrew Dabb sat down with TV Line to discuss the end of season 12.

24 Apr 2017 12:31

TVLine and EW have posted their Season Finale Previews for several shows.

20 Apr 2017 20:55

We have the synopsis for episode 21.

20 Apr 2017 07:46

We have pictures for next week's episode.

14 Apr 2017 15:14

The people from Shaving People, Punting things have done it again.

14 Apr 2017 11:46

Here are the ratings for 'The Memory Remains'

14 Apr 2017 00:08

At this week's TV Fanatic Roundtable, the good news is our group, myself, Nightsky and Christine Las

13 Apr 2017 21:20

The trailer for the April 27 episode

13 Apr 2017 19:06

We have the synopsis for episode 20.

12 Apr 2017 13:31

We have our sneak peek for this week's episode

12 Apr 2017 10:09

It's that time of year! The fun of GISHWHES is about to begin.

10 Apr 2017 16:13

Pictures for episode 18

WFB Feature Articles

May 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Alice

  I struggle with Andrew Dabb scripts. While Robert Berens turned his script into a work of ar

Read more...
May 31 2017 | LK

 

"Never forget what you are, for surely the world will not. Make it your strength. Then it

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Farawayeyes

Family Don’t End with Blood: How Supernatural Has Changed Lives

Edited by Lynn Zubernis, Rel

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Alice

Thank you, thank you, thank you Robert Berens!  I just can’t say that enough.  I was lef

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Wednesday

  A Thirst Quenching Gem!

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Elle

Who We Are and All Along the Watchtower were excellent, both independent and united. Season twelve h

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week!

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Nightsky

The Morning After

I am overwhelmed. Emotionally drained and intellectually stunned. THAT is the Sup

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Bookdal

This recap will address both 12.22 and 12.23. The first hour of the finale was written by Robert Ber

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Percysowner

It's the season 12 finale! Here's what we know. Now with sneak peek

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Nightsky

Six Days Later

I’m a little late to the party this week. Usually "Threads" is The WFB’s first r

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Wednesday

Aspects To Love & A Little Something About Eileen

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Alice

I've struggled with this review for several days.  I've considered, started, and then reconside

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Elle

While not at all what I expected from where we left off last week, There’s Something About Mary

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news.

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Bookdal

 

This episode, written by Ross-Leming and Buckner, is titled “There’s Something About Mar

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Percysowner

What we know about episode 21.

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Wednesday

That was Scary! Craftily Entwined Resurrections and Reveals.  

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Alice

Episode 20 in this show has always been a bit of an odd duck.  It’s meant to be the warmup to

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Elle

Twigs & Twine & Tasha Banes had all the perfect ingredients and knew exactly how to blend th

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week!

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Nightsky

The Morning After

Well that was a depressing, nobody wins episode! Supernatural’s “Twigs and Tw

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Bookdal

This episode, written by Steven Yockey and directed by Richard Speight Jr., is titled “Twigs &

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Percysowner

What we know about episode 20.

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Elle

Whoa! That was quite the unexpected episode in some of the best ways. The Future was all about addre

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Wednesday

The Script “Winging it” With Angelic Direction.

Read more...

BurningQuestions
SaveSaveSaveSaveSaveSave
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save

Nightsky's New Book!

I love the time travel episodes. Love them. I love that through them we’ve found out Mary was a hunter, that she made the deal with the YED that sealed Sam’s fate, that the vessel thing was in the bloodline of the brothers…I love that stuff. I love that we can go forward whilst going back to flesh out the story that we thought we knew, add more layers to it and discover new things to over think! So guess what? Pop me into the camp that dug “As Time Goes By”. Sure, it wasn’t perfect. When you take on something as monumental as revealing the true nature of why these boys ended up with the destiny they did, when you boldy tackle the history of a family we all know so well - 8 seasons in to a series – well some things are bound to get lost in the wash. And yes, I felt the mythology bumps in the road and had to side step a couple of plot holes as I careened towards the end of this episode and I acknowledge that, but did it impact my enjoyment of the story? Nup. I was sucked in from the first moment, glued to my couch though out and when it finished, I was very excited where we landed. Very excited.
 
Hee. I just stopped writing and watched the episode again… how great was that “Then”? That was epic!

Anyhoo… So John Winchester was supposed to grow up as one of the ‘Men of Letters’ (not in love with that name btw, it’s a big naff), but instead, he became a Hunter. I’m kinda glad he did…I think Hunters are way hotter!
 
It’s hard to equate Henry Winchester to John, talk about chalk and cheese. Henry’s so stiff and formal, while John…well I guess we didn’t really get to know John that well, only through the hearts and minds and memories of his sons.
 
We still basically know nothing about John, only that his dad disappeared when he was a kid and he carried that hurt with him, which he told his boys, because clearly they knew that John grew up feeling abandoned and angry. This of course doesn’t mean John didn’t have a father figure in his life, in fact we have to assume he did, because a father figure was referenced for John in 4.03 “In The Beginning”. At some stage, John moved from Normal, Illinois to Lawrence, Kansas…so maybe his mum remarried or something. But, we still don’t know. I hope now that we’ve opened up this door, we can open up another to more of the Winchester history…I definitely want to know more. I reckon I could go for a good tie-in novel that fleshed this out a bit maybe? But I digress…

When we first started hearing about this episode, I wondered how Henry Winchester could be a time traveller, what must he be in order to be able to do that, because we knew John came to hunting through the loss of Mary. I also started to think, how much sense it makes for both sides of the boy’s family to be somehow linked to the supernatural, to somehow both have a connection to the family business. Especially off what Cupid said about John and Mary being a priority match up and what the Archangel Michael said about the vessel thing being in the bloodline. All of a sudden it made perfect sense that the Winchester line must have some role in this whole epic tale beyond which we already knew. I started to wonder if they were like “Watchers” or something. Not too far off I guess. The Winchester legacy is being the keepers of all the supernatural secrets. They were the ones with the knowledge, knowledge they only shared with a few Hunters. I guess when the ‘Men of Letters’ got decimated by Abaddon, Hunters had to learn to find their own way without the help of some elite group of bookworms. Hunters became the bookworms as well as the warriors. That’s pretty neat. And seeing as for the longest time, Sam and Dean knew very few hunters and certainly knew nothing of any kind of Hunter network, it’s not surprising that the memory of the ‘MoL’ was lost – Hunters not being the chattiest of folk.
 
I love that the Winchesters were the brains and the Campbells were the brawn. I love that, because it’s Sam and Dean (though they both have brains and brawn really). Sam’s all let’s find out what we need I’m going to look it up, Dean’s all tell me what I need so I can go stab it in the face. Even in this episode, when Dean used the comic-book chick’s computer, he handed it straight to Sam (while Dean gave the chick the silent how you doin’! Bless his flirty heart).

It’s interesting that Sam wanted to go to college and leave hunting, making him more like the Winchesters than he could ever have known, hungry for knowledge, with a love of books. He’s been likened to John because of his focus on the job above all else. Dean called him out on it in “Jump the Shark”, when he said Sam was more like John than Dean would ever be, but little did they know, he was like a Winchester of the past. Maybe that makes Dean more like Mary and the Campbells. Being the caretaker, the “mother” in the family, raising Sam, making sure his family was looked after, being the peacemaker between his brother and father when they butted heads, being happy to do the fighting and let someone else do the research. There was definitely a picture being painted of the two families that splashed more colour onto the boys in this episode. Even I feel like I have a little better understanding of the brothers and their place in their families, through this reveal of new history.
 
I found “As Time Goes By” emotionally engaging. I was a tad teary at the end I have to say…not for Henry, but just for the overwhelming loss of everyone in the brother’s family – on both sides. I also found myself wishing this episode were longer. We were given so much information about the legacy, about Abaddon, about Knights of Hell, about the ‘MoL’ and their super-double-triple-secret batcave… that we didn’t have time to find out more about Henry and he didn’t have time to find out more about his grandsons or his son. I wished they’d had an opportunity to talk. I really wanted them all to sit down and have a good natter!

I get that Sam and Dean were not in a caring and sharing mood though. I mean those guys keep getting royally screwed (and not in the good way that means we get shirtless episodes). I get why they didn’t trust Henry, not just because he popped out of their closet, but also because of the history they’d been told. They thought he was a deadbeat. Dean, in particular was falling in line with what his father told him about his grandfather and was being ultra-protective of his dad and his memory. At first I thought this was a little bull-headed, even for Dean. But when I watched the episode again, it didn’t come across like that at all. I felt him defending the memory of a man, that sometimes he couldn’t even defend himself. All those feelings coming to the surface again. Like he said, he’s read John’s journal more times than Henry could imagine and it hurts every time. There was a lot of pain being relived here. All he could do was back his dad. I get that. Also…Henry called them apes! Well screw you very much buddy! Ooo that sounded like I didn't like Henry. I quite liked him...but don't call the boys apes 'k?

And the brothers backed each other. They really felt like a team in this episode. Moving as one, conscious of each other. After their wonderful LARPing moment last week, I was hopeful we’d see them in a better place and for me, we sure did. They felt pretty solid. I appreciated that Sam never chastised Dean when he was berating Henry, it smacked of solidarity. Also, that even when he had a moment on his own to talk to Henry, he didn’t, once again, backing his brother, his family and not sharing information that Dean was unwilling to share, with a man who was essentially a stranger. Not giving into feelings of sympathy for a grandfather that he didn’t know. I think Sam would have been feeling just as conflicted as Dean was, Sam just has less bluster about such things. It felt like Sam was silently supporting Dean and it made Sam feel very strong to me. Calm and Zen to Dean’s tense and angry.
 
At one point I was thinking, hey guys, tell Henry about all the stuff you know about Lucifer and the angels and the like! Then I thought, well, really, if I were the vessels of the Apocalypse…would I share that information? “Hey grandad, so this one time, I was like, Lucifer’s vessel and you know, he was in me for a bit and…” yeah probably not! They’ve learnt to keep their secrets close. There’s a hell of a lot those brothers know that they’ve never shared with another soul. I did appreciate Dean big upping them when he was trying to prevent Henry from jumping back through time though… “We stopped the Apocalypse!” Yes you did! Shout it loud and proud baby! Funny that Henry didn’t say…”Hang on! You stopped the what now?”

Beyond all the conflict though, Dean worked with Henry. Dean and Henry nutted out a plan that would not only save Sam…as Dean made it perfectly clear, that was going to be the endgame no matter what…but if they pulled it off, it would stop Abaddon forever. Their plan was simple and it worked and it was family working together. It was the Winchester family brains and brawn, coming together to win the day – even though it was at the loss of one of them. And in his final moments, Henry saw the men that his grandsons were and in doing so, got a glimpse of who his son must have been.

I was so worried that this would be another lump of guilt for Dean to drag around, that he’d think he was partly responsible for his father not having a father, but I was happy to see they didn’t go that way. Instead we got the brothers talking, sharing their feelings about what just happened, what they’d just learnt. Sam seeing some sense in the whole thing, Dean seeing more dead. Even though it was a sad scene, it wasn’t, because they were together, being who they’ve always been and being it side by side. Boy-howdy, I loved that scene. It packed the emotional wallop I’ve been pining for.

This new layer to the Winchester mythology, this legacy business, this secret batcave joint that they now have the fancy key to, all the knowledge inside…man, this feels like it opens up a whole lot of story. I’ve been wondering if that’s where they end up stashing those damn tablets. My first thought was, oh there will be clues to help with decoding the tablets and then I thought, hang-on, impenetrable supernatural Fort Knox…what better place to pop the tablets to keep the demon's and angel’s grubby mitts off them. I’ve always kind of thought that the comeuppance of using the tablets would be so great that they wouldn't be able to use them…maybe they lock them up forever…like the Arc of the Covenant or something? Anyway, I’m craptastic at theories, so I’ll just say I’m really looking forward to seeing this secret lair of the ‘Men of Letters’.

What this show always does best is family. When the show focuses on the story behind these boys, when it focuses on the strength and importance of family, this is where it really flies. “As Time Goes By” was all about family. It was about Sam and Dean finding out about their roots. It was about them putting to rest something that haunted their dad. In “As Time Goes By” I felt a little closure somehow, like both Sam and Dean have come to a place within their hearts where they can understand John better. But not only that, in finding out about their family, they were left with a better understanding of themselves and why they were thrust into this life. I don’t know about you, but I felt hope, the most hope I’ve felt for a long time. As Sam and Dean stood over their grandfather’s grave…in my heart I felt this little tingling of hope that maybe they'll be able to put the anger and conflict from the first half of this season behind them and move forward into this new chapter together as brothers, as family. I mean, they’re Winchesters…and as long as they’re alive there’s always hope right?
 
I’m excited to see where this takes us.
 
And just because I hate leaving you on such a deep thought…please enjoy these caps.



Thanks for reading…see you next time!
-sweetondean