WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 3

Fan Video of the Week: Supernatural Reflections "The British Invasion”

Supernatural Bits & Pieces September 17, 2017

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 2

Mallena's Supernatural Musings: 3.11 "Mystery Spot"

Supernatural Match Game #4

Check out all our San Diego Comic Con coverage, including on scene reports from Nightsky!  

 

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

Sep 18 2017

Jeffrey Dean Morgan and Hillary Burton showed off her baby bump at last night's Emmy Awards ceremony

Sep 18 2017

The actor, who once played Gordon Walker, won an Emmy last night for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Dra

Sep 17 2017

We have a copy of the EW preview for Supernatural and BTS pictures of episode 6.

Sep 13 2017

We're getting close. The CW released a short promo.

Sep 12 2017

EW just published a big spoiler for season 13. TVLine Spoilers added!

Sep 12 2017

September 13 is Supernatural Day!

Sep 08 2017

TVLine released it's fall preview and had this to say about Supernatural

Sep 06 2017

With the DVD for season 12 hitting the shelves yesterday, several oulets have posted deleted scenes

Sep 04 2017

Misha Collins made the announcement today.

Sep 01 2017

Stories continue to come out on Jensen Ackles fundraiser to help Texas after the devastation of Hurr

Aug 31 2017

The Supernatural Family's work to aid in disaster rescue and recovery efforts has even been noticed

Aug 30 2017

Buddy TV posted a new deleted scene from last season.

Aug 28 2017

Jensen and Danneel Ackles are spearheading an effort to help victims of Hurricane Harvey

Aug 24 2017

We have titles for episodes through 12.

Aug 23 2017

TV Line has some spoilers for this season.

Aug 23 2017

There are a lot of Behing-The-Scenes shots from episodes 3 of Supernatural season 13!

Aug 20 2017

The cast is wishing Misha a Happy Birthday!

Aug 18 2017

Christine Kilmer's latest vlog is up and it's seems rather timely given the latest events.  In

Aug 12 2017

Spoiler TV posted the titles for the first nine episodes and episode 16

Aug 12 2017

Recently, I had to shut down the site because of horrible, negative, disrespectful fighting in our c

Aug 09 2017

We have casting news for season 13.

Jul 24 2017

Nightsky posted her video of the Kansas performance at Comic Con.

Jul 23 2017

We may be getting several of these today.

Jul 23 2017

The cast for Wayward Sisters has been announced.

Jul 23 2017

The 2017 San Diego Comic Con "Supernatural" panel was one for the ages.  A surprise concert, a

Jul 23 2017

Today was a very special panel involving one of our prominent #SPNFAMILY members, Genevieve Padaleck

Jul 22 2017

The photos from Nightsky have been coming in slowly and we are keeping an archive of everything take

Jul 22 2017

The Tick has had a big presence at Comic Con.

Jul 22 2017

EW sat down with Jared, Jensen and Misha at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

The Facebook Live chat with Jared, Jensen and Misha is now available.

Jul 21 2017

Catching up with Supernatural Alumni at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

Today was the big Timeless panel at San Diego Comic Con.  Our master Eric Kripke was there to t

Jul 20 2017

The cast will appear live tomorrow, July 21, 2017 and will be seen on the Supernatural Facebook page

Jul 20 2017

The first clip from Jared and Jensen's appearance on Conan O'Brien

Jul 20 2017

The WB has released the poster for next season.

Jul 19 2017

The Conan O'Brien show has put out a teaser for tonight's appearance.

Jul 16 2017

Mark Pellegrino is in the running for a Tean Choice Award

Jul 16 2017

We have the first spoilers from this year's TV Guide article covering Comic Con.

Jul 15 2017

Warner Brothers is having a Gift Pack Giveaway.

Jul 14 2017

We have the images on the Comic Con bags for this year's Comic Con.

Jul 12 2017

Conan O'Brien is going to Comic Con and he's going to have Jared and Jensen on his show.

Jul 12 2017

Jensen and others are posting on social media from Vancouver. No Spoilers.

Jul 12 2017

San Diego Comic Con must be just around the corner!  Each year at this time we get some awesome

Jul 08 2017

Rogue Events, the company that hosted the Asylum conventions, is going out of business.

Jun 29 2017

IMDB has posted casting for episode 13.01

Jun 29 2017

It's official, Supernatural is coming to Comic Con this year.

Jun 27 2017

As your Winchester Family Business Editor-in-Chief, I have an exciting announcement to share.  

WFB Feature Articles

Sep 20 2017 | LK

 Welcome to Part 3 of my tale of attending my very first Supernatural convention! You'll want t

Read more...
Sep 18 2017 | LK

 

" I write about the power of trying, because I want to be okay with failing. I write about

Read more...
Sep 17 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural around the web this week.

Read more...
Sep 15 2017 | LK

Welcome to part 2 of my tale of attending my first Supernatural convention! If you missed Part 1, it

Read more...
Sep 14 2017 | Mallena

Richard Speight, Jr.’s birthday was on September 4th and in his honor, I’m writing a review of o

Read more...
Sep 13 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #4

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way. It's a qu

Read more...
Sep 12 2017 | LK

Introduction

 

Boy, this will be a long one! That is probably the sentence I will hear

Read more...
Sep 11 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.17 "The British Invasion". Once again

Read more...
Sep 10 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week

Read more...
Sep 09 2017 | LK

 

" For there is no friend like a sister in calm or stormy weather; To cheer one on the tediou

Read more...
Sep 08 2017 | Elle

One of the last Supernatural episodes of season 12 that was more formulaic and standard MOTW than bi

Read more...
Sep 07 2017 | Mallena

 

Who loves the idea of time travel? I do!  The possibilities are endless as I contemplat

Read more...
Sep 06 2017 | LK

 

"Don't call the world dirty because you forgot to clean your glasses.” — Joseph Addi

Read more...
Sep 04 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.16 "Ladies Drink Free". Once again I h

Read more...
Sep 03 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural and Family in the news this week!

Read more...
Sep 01 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #3

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a qu

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Percysowner

What are Supernatural fans up to? Here's the latest scoop as of August, 2017!

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Alice

My choices for part one were revealed, so without further delay, here are the Supernatural Season Tw

Read more...
Aug 28 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for Supernatural! For 12.15, "Somewhere Between Heave

Read more...
Aug 27 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 26 2017 | Nightsky

One of the unique attractions of San Diego Comic-Con is wandering the vendor floor looking at the am

Read more...
Aug 25 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #2

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a quick a

Read more...
Aug 24 2017 | Mallena

This week, I’ve been musing about family dramas.  There are many great examples of the genre

Read more...
Aug 21 2017 | Alice

Today I was utterly dismayed to hear about the closure of a long time fan site which the Wincheste

Read more...
Aug 19 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 18 2017 | Alice

Just like every year, The WFB doesn't stop with just the fan choice awards!  Your friendly neig

Read more...
Aug 16 2017 | LK

 

"The stars shall fade away, the sun himself Grow dim with age, and nature sink in years, B

Read more...

WFB Motivational Posters

Dawn.jpg

Nightsky's New Book!

Ohhhhhhhhhhhhh it’s the last episode before the HELLATUS! We’re heading in a bit early this year, at episode 9. But still! We have 5 weeks ahead to sweat over what happens this week and drive ourselves crazy with more theories…though maybe, this week will help us with some of those? (Yeah right!). Ok…there’s no putting it off…here’s the last preview for 2012.
 
THEN
Dean came back from Purgatory…with a friend.
Benny, he seems nice, except for the vampire thing.
Sam met a girl and a dog and well…we think he did.
Sam and Dean had an EPIC fight…or rather, Dean yelled a lot.
Sam keeps flashing back to his dream life, which seems only dreamy in appearance.
Dean keeps flashing back to his Purgatory life, where he looks totally dreamy.
Sam and Dean are talking but not talking talking.
Cass came home, but he doesn’t know how.
Dean thought he left the little guy behind, but it turns out, not so much.
The angels are being angels again…as in…dicks!
Kevin saw Crowley’s true colours and lost a digit in the process.
The God rock got broken in two and it looks like the good guys got the boring half.
Kevin and his mamma are in hiding with Garth on a houseboat!
The brothers appear to have bought a tanning bed.
 
NOW
Crazy Martin is back!
And vampires…. Meep!
 
Hands up who liked Martin? Me! “Sam Interrupted” was one of those episodes that grew on me. I didn’t love it at first…except for the boys getting around in pjs the whole time and that “Pudding” thing…………….......what? Oh yes. Martin.

Martin Creaser was a hunter friend of John who went a bit crazy-town and wound up as a patient in a psychiatric hospital that was being decimated by a wraith. The boys checked themselves in, by telling the truth (I loved that), and then proceed to go buckets of crazy themselves after being infected by the wraith’s toxin. Martin, for all his said crazy, helped them solve the case and escape. I liked Martin a lot and I like the actor who played him, John Gries. So, I’m pretty happy to have Martin back…though maybe not under these circumstances.
 
Let’s take a look at the official synopsis for this week.
 
SAM PUTS A TRACKER ON BENNY — Sam asks a hunter named Martin (guest star Jon Gries) to keep an eye on Benny (guest star Ty Olsson) without telling Dean. However, when Martin tells Sam there was a vampire kill and he thinks Benny is responsible, Dean defends his friend. When Martin decides to take things into his own hands, things get messy and Dean is forced to make a very hard decision. Nick Copus directed the episode written by Daniel Loflin.
 
Dean is forced to make a very hard decision. DEAN IS FORCED TO MAKE A VERY HARD DECISION. GAH!
 
Another freshman director! This will be Nick Copus’ first “Supernatural”, but he’s got a great big resume, including a bunch of Nikita’s and The 4400’s and stacks more…plus he’s just done an episode of Arrow…so I like him already.

This week’s episode is written by Daniel Loflin. Last week’s episode was written by his writing partner, Andrew Dabb. Do you think these guys had a fight or something!? I’m most interested to see how Loflin does, because I thought Dabb did a great job with his solo outing. Maybe these two hold each other back when they write together?
 
What are we to make of the title, “Citizen Fang” did Benny have a sled called Rosebud (serious Citizen Kane spoiler there…so apologies if you didn’t know that)? Rosebud, of course, represented everything that Kane didn’t have in his world of wealth and power. It was the only piece of his childhood that he could remember, that tiny bit of happiness, before everything was ripped away. He didn’t even consciously remember that sled, as he turned into the mogul he became, but in his dying moments, that was the one thing that came back to him, the one thing that was important, not his wealth, not his stature, but the simplicity of his life as a child and the love of a mother he never knew. It was something that he never lost; he’d just completely buried it, as he became someone else. Rosebud represented who Kane could have been, had he not been dragged from that life and pushed into another, a life that essentially destroyed his humanity and turned him into a monster.
 
Ok…cinema theory over! Though if you want to read a great interview with Orson Welles about the psychology behind Citizen Kane and Rosebud, it’s here. (Yes I’m a movie buff as well as a “Supernatural” nut).

So putting all that aside, because it could mean zip, what does the CW promo tell us?
 
There’s a vampire in town and he/she is killing. Is it Benny? Sam seems to think yes, Dean, obviously, doesn’t want to think so. Benny’s never let him down. (Flashy edit flash flash flash edit).
 
What does the CHCH promo tell us? Yay I found it this week!
 
Martin features in this promo! We see him telling his story about the vampire – we assume he’s talking about Benny. Martin still looks a tad jittery to me. Sam and Dean butt heads over Benny. Sam says he doesn’t know Benny. Dean tells someone – I assume it’s Sam by Dean’s eyeline – that he’s not to fight Benny because he’d be lucky to get out alive. Then we see Dean confront Benny.
 
Benny “We gonna talk a bit or what?”
Dean “Let’s get to the part about the blood.”
 
Now, how about the preview clip?

Dean comes back to the car with food (bless) and Sam is on the phone to someone…he seems a bit frustrated. Dean asks what’s going on. Sam tells him that there’s been a vampire attack in Louisiana. Interestingly, Dean doesn’t immediately jump to where Sam has gone or where we would go, that it might be that southern belle of a vampire Benny, but rather he jumps to étouffée! Dean and that stomach of his! Dean asks, who’s the source and it turns out it’s their crazy old friend Martin Creaser. Dean’s pretty astonished by the news that Martin is out. Sam says he seems ok “mostly” and then instantly comes clean with Dean that he’s had “mostly ok” Martin tracking Benny for a week. Dean is astonished again and confused and a whole lot of something else…but he seems to be keeping a tight lid on it.
 
Dean “So Martin says Benny did this.”
Sam “Yeah”
Dean “Okay”
Sam “Okay?”
Dean “If Benny’s in Louisiana draining folks, we should look into it.”
Sam O.O
Us O.O
 
Well, I don’t think that conversation went quite how Sam was expecting! He looked all tense and ready for his brother to fight him and yet, Dean didn’t.
 
I said somewhere…or maybe I just thought it, I can’t even tell anymore…that these two appear to be walking on eggshells around each other. Like they both know it’s all there, all the crap, simmering under the surface, but neither wants to explore it or explode it. It’s easier to just suppress it all than face it. It’s like they’re together, but not together together (and I don’t mean together together like together together...!).
 
They need to have it out. They really do. We all know something’s coming. We’ve all heard the buzz out there about a conversation that’s coming down the line. But what happens before that. Is there finally going to be a proper, non-supernaturally interfered with, showdown between Sam and Dean? Is it in this episode?
 
It’s the midseason finale…so…midseason finale=fan pain, we know that right? Last season we were left in a blubbery mess! So what are our options?
 
Sam and Dean have a great big fight and Sam storms off to find Amelia (not want).
 
Sam and Dean have a great big fight and Dean storms off to join Benny (not want).
 
Sam kills Benny (not want).
 
Dean kills Benny (not want).
 
Martin kills Benny (not want).
 
Benny kills Martin (not want).
 
Dean kills Martin (not want x 1 million).
 
Benny is the vampire in question (not want).
 
They all realise it was a huge mistake and go off to have a beer together and laugh about it (want…puppies and rainbows all around!).
 
Ugh. I have a feeling in my waters that it’s going to be one of the first two….and I really don’t want either of them but I really don’t want 2 over 1 more. I’d be far more okay with Sam taking a time out than Dean going off with the vampire. That makes my stomach hurt. It all makes my stomach hurt and I haven’t even watched it yet! But, we know that this being all-reasonable with each other stuff can’t go on. The scene in the Impala is great, but it’s great because it’s, “Huh?”
 
Also, I’m pretty sure Martin is still looney tunes so, I wouldn’t be surprised if he’s totally jumped to the wrong conclusion and got it all around his crazy chops. I’m pretty sure that it’s not going to be Benny but some other vamp.
 
I wonder if we’re going to see the Alpha anytime soon? I mean, he sure as hell teased it on his last encounter with Sam and Dean.
 
Anyway…so…how are we all feeling? Excited, nervous, sick to the stomach? All three? I’m going with all three. I think this episode looks great. But it looks painful, but I kinda like that…because I’m weird and twisted and a “Supernatural” fan, so I gotta be good with angst right?
 
Let me know your thoughts, theories, fears...just on the show though…you know…
 
And for promo pics from this episode and upcoming spoilers don’t forget to check out our spoiler page.
 
Enjoy the episode and see you later in reviewland!
-sweetondean