WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

Mallena's Supernatural Musings: 10.05 "Fan Fiction"

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 3

Fan Video of the Week: Supernatural Reflections "The British Invasion”

Supernatural Bits & Pieces September 17, 2017

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 2

Mallena's Supernatural Musings: 3.11 "Mystery Spot"

Check out all our San Diego Comic Con coverage, including on scene reports from Nightsky!  

 

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

Sep 21 2017

We have an extended version of the trailer!

Sep 18 2017

Jeffrey Dean Morgan and Hillary Burton showed off her baby bump at last night's Emmy Awards ceremony

Sep 18 2017

The actor, who once played Gordon Walker, won an Emmy last night for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Dra

Sep 17 2017

We have a copy of the EW preview for Supernatural and BTS pictures of episode 6.

Sep 13 2017

We're getting close. The CW released a short promo.

Sep 12 2017

EW just published a big spoiler for season 13. TVLine Spoilers added!

Sep 12 2017

September 13 is Supernatural Day!

Sep 08 2017

TVLine released it's fall preview and had this to say about Supernatural

Sep 06 2017

With the DVD for season 12 hitting the shelves yesterday, several oulets have posted deleted scenes

Sep 04 2017

Misha Collins made the announcement today.

Sep 01 2017

Stories continue to come out on Jensen Ackles fundraiser to help Texas after the devastation of Hurr

Aug 31 2017

The Supernatural Family's work to aid in disaster rescue and recovery efforts has even been noticed

Aug 30 2017

Buddy TV posted a new deleted scene from last season.

Aug 28 2017

Jensen and Danneel Ackles are spearheading an effort to help victims of Hurricane Harvey

Aug 24 2017

We have titles for episodes through 12.

Aug 23 2017

TV Line has some spoilers for this season.

Aug 23 2017

There are a lot of Behing-The-Scenes shots from episodes 3 of Supernatural season 13!

Aug 20 2017

The cast is wishing Misha a Happy Birthday!

Aug 18 2017

Christine Kilmer's latest vlog is up and it's seems rather timely given the latest events.  In

Aug 12 2017

Spoiler TV posted the titles for the first nine episodes and episode 16

Aug 12 2017

Recently, I had to shut down the site because of horrible, negative, disrespectful fighting in our c

Aug 09 2017

We have casting news for season 13.

Jul 24 2017

Nightsky posted her video of the Kansas performance at Comic Con.

Jul 23 2017

We may be getting several of these today.

Jul 23 2017

The cast for Wayward Sisters has been announced.

Jul 23 2017

The 2017 San Diego Comic Con "Supernatural" panel was one for the ages.  A surprise concert, a

Jul 23 2017

Today was a very special panel involving one of our prominent #SPNFAMILY members, Genevieve Padaleck

Jul 22 2017

The photos from Nightsky have been coming in slowly and we are keeping an archive of everything take

Jul 22 2017

The Tick has had a big presence at Comic Con.

Jul 22 2017

EW sat down with Jared, Jensen and Misha at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

The Facebook Live chat with Jared, Jensen and Misha is now available.

Jul 21 2017

Catching up with Supernatural Alumni at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

Today was the big Timeless panel at San Diego Comic Con.  Our master Eric Kripke was there to t

Jul 20 2017

The cast will appear live tomorrow, July 21, 2017 and will be seen on the Supernatural Facebook page

Jul 20 2017

The first clip from Jared and Jensen's appearance on Conan O'Brien

Jul 20 2017

The WB has released the poster for next season.

Jul 19 2017

The Conan O'Brien show has put out a teaser for tonight's appearance.

Jul 16 2017

Mark Pellegrino is in the running for a Tean Choice Award

Jul 16 2017

We have the first spoilers from this year's TV Guide article covering Comic Con.

Jul 15 2017

Warner Brothers is having a Gift Pack Giveaway.

Jul 14 2017

We have the images on the Comic Con bags for this year's Comic Con.

Jul 12 2017

Conan O'Brien is going to Comic Con and he's going to have Jared and Jensen on his show.

Jul 12 2017

Jensen and others are posting on social media from Vancouver. No Spoilers.

Jul 12 2017

San Diego Comic Con must be just around the corner!  Each year at this time we get some awesome

Jul 08 2017

Rogue Events, the company that hosted the Asylum conventions, is going out of business.

Jun 29 2017

IMDB has posted casting for episode 13.01

Jun 29 2017

It's official, Supernatural is coming to Comic Con this year.

WFB Feature Articles

Sep 21 2017 | Mallena

It’s Rob Benedict’s birthday on Sept 21 and it wasn’t easy picking the story to review that fe

Read more...
Sep 20 2017 | LK

 Welcome to Part 3 of my tale of attending my very first Supernatural convention! You'll want t

Read more...
Sep 18 2017 | LK

 

" I write about the power of trying, because I want to be okay with failing. I write about

Read more...
Sep 17 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural around the web this week.

Read more...
Sep 15 2017 | LK

Welcome to part 2 of my tale of attending my first Supernatural convention! If you missed Part 1, it

Read more...
Sep 14 2017 | Mallena

Richard Speight, Jr.’s birthday was on September 4th and in his honor, I’m writing a review of o

Read more...
Sep 13 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #4

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way. It's a qu

Read more...
Sep 12 2017 | LK

Introduction

 

Boy, this will be a long one! That is probably the sentence I will hear

Read more...
Sep 11 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.17 "The British Invasion". Once again

Read more...
Sep 10 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week

Read more...
Sep 09 2017 | LK

 

" For there is no friend like a sister in calm or stormy weather; To cheer one on the tediou

Read more...
Sep 08 2017 | Elle

One of the last Supernatural episodes of season 12 that was more formulaic and standard MOTW than bi

Read more...
Sep 07 2017 | Mallena

 

Who loves the idea of time travel? I do!  The possibilities are endless as I contemplat

Read more...
Sep 06 2017 | LK

 

"Don't call the world dirty because you forgot to clean your glasses.” — Joseph Addi

Read more...
Sep 04 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.16 "Ladies Drink Free". Once again I h

Read more...
Sep 03 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural and Family in the news this week!

Read more...
Sep 01 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #3

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a qu

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Percysowner

What are Supernatural fans up to? Here's the latest scoop as of August, 2017!

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Alice

My choices for part one were revealed, so without further delay, here are the Supernatural Season Tw

Read more...
Aug 28 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for Supernatural! For 12.15, "Somewhere Between Heave

Read more...
Aug 27 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 26 2017 | Nightsky

One of the unique attractions of San Diego Comic-Con is wandering the vendor floor looking at the am

Read more...
Aug 25 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #2

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a quick a

Read more...
Aug 24 2017 | Mallena

This week, I’ve been musing about family dramas.  There are many great examples of the genre

Read more...
Aug 21 2017 | Alice

Today I was utterly dismayed to hear about the closure of a long time fan site which the Wincheste

Read more...
Aug 19 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 18 2017 | Alice

Just like every year, The WFB doesn't stop with just the fan choice awards!  Your friendly neig

Read more...

WFB Motivational Posters

SenseofHumor.jpg

Nightsky's New Book!



(I promise, not a lot of negativity here.)  

I actually find the serviceable, average episode to be the hardest to write reviews for.  There really isn’t much to say.  It didn’t suck.  It wasn’t “Bugs” (that was my Twitter review for the week).  I laughed a few times.  I scratched my head a few times.  I didn’t reach for the TV brick.  Oh, but there were some lessons this week.  What did I learn? 

I learned that James Marsters is a God and Charisma Carpenter rocks when she’s pissed off.  I learned Sam on a health kick is fun, as is Dean’s disturbance over it.  I learned how much fun it is to watch a victim of a witch attack have a proper (and funny) meltdown, something we don’t see a lot of on this show given the weird shit that happens to people.  I learned Sam and Dean make the oddest marriage counselors on the planet, but that was the point.  They are the last people to be giving couples advice, which makes the fact that it worked even funnier.  And I learned after seeing it for like the hundredth time, estranged brothers at the end of the episode is cliche.   

“Look Dean, it’s fine.  You can unload.  That’s kind of what I’m here for.”  Dean ignores Sam’s plea and gets in the car.  Shot of Sam frustrated.  



Rewind, “Bedtime Stories,” episode 5, season three.  “Is that what you want me to do Dean, just let you go?”  Dean ignores his plea and walks away.  Shot of Sam frustrated. 



Okay, there is a difference between those two scenes.  Sam’s hair is much shorter back then. 

Episodes like this are supposed to be a breath of fresh air after some really intense events of the first four episodes.  It was.  I liked.  It would have been perfect if we’ve had four episodes of intense kick ass action before it.  Where are the fighting, determined Winchesters of old?  That topic came up quite a bit this weekend at the Salute to Supernatural convention in Chicago.  I spent a good chunk of the weekend discussing the show with a variety of fans.  We all had some pretty strong opinions. 

“Dean is not an alcoholic,” a passionate fan who’s been watching the show since the pilot, told me when a random discussion between us broke out in the lobby.  She really wants Dean to go back to the days are being a leader, being someone who won’t take this crap.  “That’s the real Dean Winchester,” she said.  

Drinking has always been Dean’s crutch, so why is it different now?  Is it because he’s doing it at the laptop early in the morning while Sam is out jogging?  “Somebody better be chasing you,” Dean tells Sam after he comes in from a run, proving his sense of humor is still in tact.  Sam can tell something’s wrong.  After all, they’re together 24/7.  He should know when something’s eating at his brother.  

Sam:  What’s going on with you?
Dean:  We have had this conversation Sam.
Sam:  No we haven’t.  You see, to do that, we’d have to sort of...speak.  



I asked people why they thought Sam notices Dean's drinking now since Dean’s pattern of heavy drinking goes all the way back to season four.  Several claimed that it’s worse now.  He has to notice.  Okay, but he did that in season four too when flashbacks of Hell hit Dean.  His symptoms then were heavy drinking and nightmares.  Just like with season four, Dean wouldn’t talk about it either.  Where’s Sam’s call to Bobby?  “He’s acting...different.  I don’t know what it is.”  I’m assuming that all happened off camera.  

I loved season four.  It’s my favorite season narrowly over season two.  As much as I loved it, I don’t need to re-live season four.  Why are we wasting time revisiting these circles when there’s Leviathan scum out there to be ganked?  Speaking of Leviathan scum...

“I hate how someone else had to save Sam and Dean,” another blogger told me during an intense discussion in the hotel room over pizza.  She doesn't understand why Sam and Dean can't figure out a way to disable or kill the bad guys on their own.  They're the heroes in this story.  I normally agree with that point but in this case, I thought Don’s cool entrance and his bottomless pit suggestion was freaking awesome.  I didn’t mind the fact that a Leviathan appeared and didn’t take too much from the plot this week, but is isolation really good for Sam and Dean right now?  This ties in to what me, Mo Ryan, and Lynn and Kathy from Fangasm discussed the prior evening. 

Why are the brothers so isolated?  Is that good or bad?  If they can’t save themselves, then who else is there other than Bobby?  Castiel is gone, so is everyone else.  Who else do the brothers have? 

Mo certainly had an opinion, and this is what she wrote in her weekly Supernatural article.  â€œWhy must the boys pay that cost? No one has ever explained that adequately to me. The life they live is hard enough, must they be deprived of friendship and companionship and even fun enemies, for the most part? Having a number of recurring characters stick around wouldn't exactly take the focus away from the brothers. In any case, the show feels like something of a wasteland these days. So many good characters are gone, and I don't think the payoffs we've had have nearly matched what the show lost. Damn it, I even miss Bobby's house (the loss of which, again, barely rated a mention.)”



Should Sam and Dean be fighting and killing things on their own, or should they have help? I'd prefer the same balance they've always had before, but is that really the problem?  I think the big problem right now is we’re all itching for some fight to come from Sam and Dean.  They haven’t exactly been the kick ass hunters of old.  Even with personal hang ups in the past, they’ve taken out that aggression on some evil.  Remember Dean’s line about outbursts of violence and alcoholism?  We’re only one for two in that category.  Coming back to stab Amy, that was hardly a pissed off Dean Winchester going after the eerie menace.  New “Zen” Sam too is lacking a certain fire he had before.  

Are Sam and Dean cowering because they are losing their support network? Is taking away everything from them a good thing?  Is this a rabbit hole we want to go down?  In that both those discussions, we all realized something is missing.  Hope and personal victories.  They’re just going through the motions.  It’s kind of like watching a couple of guys go through career burnout.  They can’t win and they can't do it alone.  If going it alone was intense, fun, compelling, thrilling, interesting, so be it.  As of right now, it’s not.  I keep throwing Butch Cassidy and The Sundance Kid in the writers’ faces (hey, they said it first).  That’s how you do outlaws going at it alone.  I laughed, I cried, I died over the pretty.  These days, I’m just dying over the pretty (another silver lining there folks).  

I guess the point is, if you’re going to have the boys come up with clever, reckless ways to save themselves (Dean with the phoenix ash in “Mommy Dearest” comes to mind), I still don’t see how isolation from everything will work.  If you recall, even in “Mommy Dearest,” to get to that showdown in the diner, Bobby and Castiel were there to help.  If that support network goes away, they’re bound to be helped by random happy accidents.  How many of those can we take and will they be more interesting than rich supporting characters of old?  I don’t know, we’ll have to wait and see but I for one love rich supporting characters.  



“Why didn’t Sam and Dean kill Don and Maggie, like Dean killed Amy?”  I actually heard that one a lot.  The answer seemed pretty straight forward to me.  They had a captured Leviathan in their hands.  That was an opportunity that couldn’t be wasted.  They also didn’t have much time.  If the circumstances were different, who knows. but it’s not the first time they’ve let someone go.  I thought it was great that they had their priorities in line this time.    

“What happened to the promise that they’d go back to season one?”  Another fan asked me after watching this episode.  She loves the monster of the week concept and wants it all the time.  Sure, she knows they’ve been through a lot and there’s no way they can be that Sam and Dean from season one, but what’s wrong with the fighting brothers going back and boldly taking on a different monster with each adventure?  Who needs a sweeping mytharc?  

I love mytharcs myself, and if one thing “Supernatural” has done extremely well is blend the monsters of the weeks with the mytharcs.  I brought up seasons two and four in our talk.  There was a looming mytharc woven in between those monster of the week escapades.  Both story lines coexisted and progressed very well side by side.  It’s only episode five, so it’s impossible to say how that’s going in season seven, but back in seasons one through five there was a constant.  Whether it be mytharc, monster of the week, or both, Sam and Dean used to smile more.  They used to have more fun.  They used to get mad.  They used to have heart. 

There, I said that word again.  What do I mean when I say the show is missing it’s heart?  My dear friend Lynn brought up of all episodes, “Heart.”  That was a very sad, very tragic episode.  We loved it.  Why?  Because we hurt when they did.  We deeply felt every bit of sadness on that screen.  So far in season seven, the only time I can say that’s happened in that incredible warehouse scene in “Hello Cruel World.”  



Sure, every single scene can’t be like that and I certainly can’t say it’s been totally missing.  But there’s some great setup here for them to work with.  Sam’s hallucinating about Lucifer and should be teetering more on a uneven edge, while Dean’s wrestling with his own fears and this big “secret” (I promise not to harp on the fact that another big secret between the brothers is a ludicrous idea).  If you’re going to bring up these issues, whether fans like it or not, run with it.  Go big or go home.  Do it with mytharc or monster of the week, or both.  I’m not picky.  

I know, perhaps I need to be patient.  It is after all only episode 5.  With the exception of season five (yes, the Paris Hilton one) I absolutely love all of the episode 5’s.  “Bloody Mary,” “Simon Said,” “Bedtime Stories,” “Monster Movie,” and even “Live Free and Twihard” evoke a pang in my heart when I think of them.  Here, my favorite moment ends up being a big laugh over a chick rightfully freaking out over hearts in her cupcakes.  Way to ruin another food that I love show!  So there’s another win here.  

   

All in all, this weekend turned out to be several fantastic sessions of TV group therapy.  I came back home with a new appreciation for my show, and a warm feeling that fans really still care.  They see trouble, but they’re not about to abandon ship.  Maybe I need to just take what I’m given and enjoy it.  To be honest though, if I did that, I’d be as boring as Sam and Dean are right now.  I rave when I have occasion to rave, I rant when I have occasion to rant.  I’m an equal opportunity fan and what do you know, so is the rest of this fandom.  I love being part of this.    

So, what’s the most valuable lesson to come out of “Shut Up Dr. Phil?”  James Marsters is a God and Charisma Carpenter rocks when she’s pissed off.  Score one for the guest stars.  Now it’s Sam and Dean’s turn.