WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

Interview With Jensen Ackles - Comic Con 2017

Interview with Misha Collins - Comic Con 2017

Interview with Jared Padalecki - Comic Con 2017

Supernatural Bits & Pieces July 22, 2017

Memorable Moments Supernatural 12.17 - The British Invasion

Mallena's Supernatural Musings: 4.09 "I Know What You Did Last Summer"

Check out all our San Diego Comic Con coverage, including on scene reports from Nightsky!  

 

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

23 Jul 2017 20:11

We may be getting several of these today.

23 Jul 2017 14:56

The cast for Wayward Sisters has been announced.

23 Jul 2017 14:01

The 2017 San Diego Comic Con "Supernatural" panel was one for the ages.  A surprise concert, a

23 Jul 2017 00:16

Today was a very special panel involving one of our prominent #SPNFAMILY members, Genevieve Padaleck

22 Jul 2017 22:37

The photos from Nightsky have been coming in slowly and we are keeping an archive of everything take

22 Jul 2017 21:41

The Tick has had a big presence at Comic Con.

22 Jul 2017 13:54

EW sat down with Jared, Jensen and Misha at Comic Con.

21 Jul 2017 22:30

The Facebook Live chat with Jared, Jensen and Misha is now available.

21 Jul 2017 14:27

Catching up with Supernatural Alumni at Comic Con.

21 Jul 2017 00:09

Today was the big Timeless panel at San Diego Comic Con.  Our master Eric Kripke was there to t

20 Jul 2017 14:59

The cast will appear live tomorrow, July 21, 2017 and will be seen on the Supernatural Facebook page

20 Jul 2017 11:52

The first clip from Jared and Jensen's appearance on Conan O'Brien

20 Jul 2017 06:45

The WB has released the poster for next season.

19 Jul 2017 17:35

The Conan O'Brien show has put out a teaser for tonight's appearance.

16 Jul 2017 14:44

Mark Pellegrino is in the running for a Tean Choice Award

16 Jul 2017 01:45

We have the first spoilers from this year's TV Guide article covering Comic Con.

15 Jul 2017 12:23

Warner Brothers is having a Gift Pack Giveaway.

14 Jul 2017 15:27

We have the images on the Comic Con bags for this year's Comic Con.

12 Jul 2017 16:28

Conan O'Brien is going to Comic Con and he's going to have Jared and Jensen on his show.

12 Jul 2017 13:22

Jensen and others are posting on social media from Vancouver. No Spoilers.

12 Jul 2017 10:20

San Diego Comic Con must be just around the corner!  Each year at this time we get some awesome

08 Jul 2017 19:22

Rogue Events, the company that hosted the Asylum conventions, is going out of business.

29 Jun 2017 14:55

IMDB has posted casting for episode 13.01

29 Jun 2017 14:08

It's official, Supernatural is coming to Comic Con this year.

27 Jun 2017 21:32

As your Winchester Family Business Editor-in-Chief, I have an exciting announcement to share.  

20 Jun 2017 14:00

Reportedly, Wayward Sisters (not Daughters) will be given a backdoor pilot in season 13.

20 Jun 2017 08:33

The Teen Choice Awards announced the first round of their nominations yesterday and Supernatural is

08 Jun 2017 15:20

We have a date for the end of Hellatus!

06 Jun 2017 21:28

Ty Olsson (Benny Lafitte) just won a Leo Award.

03 Jun 2017 14:53

Jared has announced the final phase of the relaunch of his AKF campaign.

01 Jun 2017 23:33

Oh yeah, we had a LOT to discuss!  This is a supersized TV Fanatic Roundtable this time, design

01 Jun 2017 15:30

Jared and Jensen have both spoken about their daughters recently.

01 Jun 2017 10:22

Jared has relaunched part five of his Always Keep Fighting campaign.

31 May 2017 08:44

We have the first information on the season 12 DVD.

26 May 2017 14:18

Jared and Gen Padalecki both spoke in support of David's Law, a Texas law which targets cyber bullyi

26 May 2017 09:14

Jared started part four of his relaunch.

24 May 2017 15:07

Editor's Note: This article chronologically presents the reports and tweets on Mark Sheppard's statu

24 May 2017 09:41

 Now that season 12 is over, our stars are working for charity.

21 May 2017 09:14

Jared has launched part two of his AKF campaign.

20 May 2017 16:46

We have a few spoilers that came out of the Jus In Bello Convention this weekend.

19 May 2017 11:25

Here are the ratings for last night's finale episodes.

18 May 2017 21:38

Well, we were uninamous, but that's not necessarily good.  All four of us at the TV Fanatic Rou

18 May 2017 15:34

Jared talks about the season finale, season 13 spoilers and relaunching his Always Keep Fighting Cam

18 May 2017 12:05

We are getting our first spoilers for next season at the CW upfront presentation.

18 May 2017 08:52

The CW has released its schedule for next season.

17 May 2017 14:21

EW has published an interview with Andrew Dabb about the final episodes of season 12.

WFB Feature Articles

Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

An interview with Jensen is always a pleasure!  The interview started out casually - talk about

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

It's Misha's turn!  In our roundtable interview in the San Diego Comic Con press room today, he

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

Today was a pretty awesome day!  Here's the WFB roundtable interview with Jared Padalecki. &nbs

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the Memorable Moments Series for episode 12.17 The British Invasion. Once again I ha

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Mallena

This episode introduces us to Anna Milton.  She isn’t a normal girl, like she appears, but is

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Alice

The nominations were collected, the votes have been cast, the results have been tabulated, and the w

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

San Diego Comic Con 2017 is this week! The most anticipated comic book, superhero, scifi/fantasy gen

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Elle

12 Years of Big Boss Battles: Supernatural Villainy for the Ages

“I'm glad, honestly. I'm not s

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | LK

 

"The gleam in their eyes telegraphs only too clearly that they are hoping for a headline,

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Here's what we know about this year's event!

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Mallena

I was underwhelmed with season ten for most of its run, so it was wonderful to watch an episode as t

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural on the web this week!

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series! For Supernatural 12.13 "Family Feud", I put tog

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Alice

The moment is finally here!  The nominations have been tabulated, now it's time to vote.  

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | LK

 

"The unreal is more powerful than the real, because nothing is as perfect as you can imagine

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to "Memorable Moments" of Supernatural! This edition focuses on episode 12.12 "Stuck In

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Mallena

There has been a lot of talk lately about Jody and the women of Supernatural.  In honor of the

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Elle

Rich, riveting, complex and so full of story details and character threads that it's impossible to m

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | LK

 "Yesterday is but today's memory, and tomorrow is today's dream." — Khalil Gibran

Loosing

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Elle

 The list you’ve all been waiting for! The second half of the season eleven hits and misses.

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week!

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for Supernatural! For episode 12.11, "Regarding Dean"

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Percysowner

 What are Supernatural Fans are up to this summer?

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Mallena

I love a good apocalypse, don’t you?  The first novel in that genre that I read was Alas, Bab

Read more...

WFB Motivational Posters - Comic Con

ComicCon.jpg

Nightsky's New Book!

alt


Anyone else have their mind blown by this episode? So many of my questions were answered and now I have a long list of new ones!

We’ve all known for a while now that hunting is in Sam and Dean’s blood. According to grandpa Samuel they had ancestors hunting vampires on the Mayflower. That’s a long line of hunters on the Campbell side but it was always interesting to me how Winchester became the powerful name in hunting. I’m not confused about how the Winchester’s started hunting, we’ve all seen the pilot. I’m interested in how the Winchester name became powerful while the Campbell name sort of fell by the wayside. We can blame it on continuity, or say that this storyline wasn’t part of Eric Kripke’s original plan but I’d rather play around with this idea a bit. What do you say?

We learned way back in season 5 that Heaven ordered Cupid to bring John and Mary together. Sam and Dean needed to be born. But I’ve always wondered why it had to be John. It could have been any man, really. I do understand that Sam and Dean wouldn’t be Sam and Dean if they had a different father but hunting was in Mary’s blood, not Johns. But it seems the people upstairs knew what they were doing. John turned out to be one of the greatest names in hunting and trained his sons to carry on his legacy. And as it turns out, John had a destiny of his own too. He may not have lived up to it in the way his father expected, but fighting evil was in his blood and he found his own way to do it.

Men of Letters, it’s an interesting concept even if it’s still a little foggy at this point. I have to admit the capes had me skeptical at first. What can I say, capes make me skeptical. But then they introduced the magic and I was all in. I want to know more about this group of elite knowledge holders that can tap into the power of their own soul. And I want to know what’s in their magical box. I’m sure Sam and Dean took it straight to the coordinates given to them and destroyed it forever, but what if they didn’t?  Could this box be the makings of a season arc? It would be a great chance to take Sam and Dean in a new direction as we find out more about the Men of Letters. Maybe they would learn a little magic? I’m not sure how I’d feel about that because I do like that they are just men, not superheroes. (Even if one of them had some short-lived powers at one point or another...) I just worry that magic would give them an advantage thereby making them less badass. I guess they already do spells, and that’s sort of like magic. What do you guys think. Would you like the show to go in the direction of the Men of Letters? Do you think Sam and Dean will start doing magic? Do you think I’m jumping to conclusions?

alt

I really liked Henry Winchester. He had a stiffness about him, but I think that was on account of his intelligence. It seemed like he lived a regimented lifestyle, almost military-like but he was also pretty funny. He had some really good one-liners in this episode. Looks like that’s where Dean get’s his wit. He was also obviously very intelligent which must be where Sam gets it. Sam put it well calling the Winchesters the brains and the Campbell’s the brawn. Together they made the perfect cocktail of Sam and Dean. Both of them are smart, and both of them are tough but they each favor one of these attributes. No wonder Heaven demanded their existence.

I felt so bad for Henry when he realized he wasn’t going to make it back from the future. To know that John suffered thinking that his father abandoned him must have been devastating. And after reading his journal and realizing the kind of life John had, he must have felt as though he failed his son. He could have taught him things that would have made his life much less miserable. But instead John learned the hard way, like a hunter.

At first Henry was not pleased to find a family of hunters. He had a few choice words on the matter too.

Dean: “What do you have against us?”
Henry: “Aside from the unthinking, unwashed, shoot first and don’t bother to ask questions later part, not much really.”

Awkward. But he did eventually come around which I was grateful for.

Henry: “I should have known better. You’re also Winchesters. As long as we’re alive, there’s always hope.”

Did anyone else get chills from this line? I think I smell a t-shirt. I was sad that Henry had to die, but it was obvious from the beginning that he never made it back to John. And if you’re going to go out, might as well do it protecting your family. That is the Winchester way afterall.

Needless to say, I was very happy with this episode. I was worried at first because we’ve done the time travel thing before; a couple of times. And I loved those episodes so much that I worried we’d be risking it with a third attempt. But I was wrong. This episode proved that one concept can be reimagined in countless different ways without ever feeling stale. It certainly held my interest and offered new insight into Sam and Dean’s past and the ever-present idea of destiny.  

So what did you guys think of the episode? Were you as pleased as I was? Was it what you expected? Sound off below!

alt

There were so many great lines and moments in this episode and I’m sure I missed a few so feel free to fill in the gaps!

Sam: “Tell you what, when one of us falls out of your closet you can ask the questions.”

I loved when Henry shook the handcuffs off of himself and put them on Sam and Dean. You gotta love some good old fashion magic!

Henry: “Guess the Mayans were wrong.”

Henry: “My alpha-male monkey friend.” Poor Dean...

Henry: “Demons can’t be killed by run-of-the-mill cutlery.”

Dean: “I’m a little rusty on my boybands, men of what?”

Henry: “Operator, I need delta 457.”
Dean: “Who are you not calling?”
This line literally made me laugh out loud. Great delivery by Jensen.

Dean checking out the goth chick? I didn’t know he was into that look.

alt

Henry: “You boys ever exhume a body?”

I loved the incorporation of “As Time Goes By” from Casablanca. It was so sweet that John used to whistle the song from his music box and I loved that Sam and Dean recognized the tune as well.

The concept of the knights of Hell is a very interesting one. I wonder if Abadon was in fact the last one.

John used the journal that Henry ordered for himself. This warmed my heart.

Dean: “Your responsibility was to your family, not some glorified book club.”

Dean: “When my dad died, I couldn’t save him no matter how bad I wanted to. I don’t want that to happen to sammy ever. If there’s a chance that i can save him, I’m gonna do it. He’s my brother, he’s the only family I got.”

A devil’s trap carved into a bullet. Why didn’t I think of that?

Dean: “For a bookworm, that wasn’t bad Henry.”

Next week’s episode...all I got from that preview is that it involves a giant and some Nazis. Oh well, I like to be surprised!