WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

Mallena's Supernatural Musings: 10.05 "Fan Fiction"

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 3

Fan Video of the Week: Supernatural Reflections "The British Invasion”

Supernatural Bits & Pieces September 17, 2017

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 2

Mallena's Supernatural Musings: 3.11 "Mystery Spot"

Check out all our San Diego Comic Con coverage, including on scene reports from Nightsky!  

 

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

Sep 21 2017

We have an extended version of the trailer!

Sep 18 2017

Jeffrey Dean Morgan and Hillary Burton showed off her baby bump at last night's Emmy Awards ceremony

Sep 18 2017

The actor, who once played Gordon Walker, won an Emmy last night for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Dra

Sep 17 2017

We have a copy of the EW preview for Supernatural and BTS pictures of episode 6.

Sep 13 2017

We're getting close. The CW released a short promo.

Sep 12 2017

EW just published a big spoiler for season 13. TVLine Spoilers added!

Sep 12 2017

September 13 is Supernatural Day!

Sep 08 2017

TVLine released it's fall preview and had this to say about Supernatural

Sep 06 2017

With the DVD for season 12 hitting the shelves yesterday, several oulets have posted deleted scenes

Sep 04 2017

Misha Collins made the announcement today.

Sep 01 2017

Stories continue to come out on Jensen Ackles fundraiser to help Texas after the devastation of Hurr

Aug 31 2017

The Supernatural Family's work to aid in disaster rescue and recovery efforts has even been noticed

Aug 30 2017

Buddy TV posted a new deleted scene from last season.

Aug 28 2017

Jensen and Danneel Ackles are spearheading an effort to help victims of Hurricane Harvey

Aug 24 2017

We have titles for episodes through 12.

Aug 23 2017

TV Line has some spoilers for this season.

Aug 23 2017

There are a lot of Behing-The-Scenes shots from episodes 3 of Supernatural season 13!

Aug 20 2017

The cast is wishing Misha a Happy Birthday!

Aug 18 2017

Christine Kilmer's latest vlog is up and it's seems rather timely given the latest events.  In

Aug 12 2017

Spoiler TV posted the titles for the first nine episodes and episode 16

Aug 12 2017

Recently, I had to shut down the site because of horrible, negative, disrespectful fighting in our c

Aug 09 2017

We have casting news for season 13.

Jul 24 2017

Nightsky posted her video of the Kansas performance at Comic Con.

Jul 23 2017

We may be getting several of these today.

Jul 23 2017

The cast for Wayward Sisters has been announced.

Jul 23 2017

The 2017 San Diego Comic Con "Supernatural" panel was one for the ages.  A surprise concert, a

Jul 23 2017

Today was a very special panel involving one of our prominent #SPNFAMILY members, Genevieve Padaleck

Jul 22 2017

The photos from Nightsky have been coming in slowly and we are keeping an archive of everything take

Jul 22 2017

The Tick has had a big presence at Comic Con.

Jul 22 2017

EW sat down with Jared, Jensen and Misha at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

The Facebook Live chat with Jared, Jensen and Misha is now available.

Jul 21 2017

Catching up with Supernatural Alumni at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

Today was the big Timeless panel at San Diego Comic Con.  Our master Eric Kripke was there to t

Jul 20 2017

The cast will appear live tomorrow, July 21, 2017 and will be seen on the Supernatural Facebook page

Jul 20 2017

The first clip from Jared and Jensen's appearance on Conan O'Brien

Jul 20 2017

The WB has released the poster for next season.

Jul 19 2017

The Conan O'Brien show has put out a teaser for tonight's appearance.

Jul 16 2017

Mark Pellegrino is in the running for a Tean Choice Award

Jul 16 2017

We have the first spoilers from this year's TV Guide article covering Comic Con.

Jul 15 2017

Warner Brothers is having a Gift Pack Giveaway.

Jul 14 2017

We have the images on the Comic Con bags for this year's Comic Con.

Jul 12 2017

Conan O'Brien is going to Comic Con and he's going to have Jared and Jensen on his show.

Jul 12 2017

Jensen and others are posting on social media from Vancouver. No Spoilers.

Jul 12 2017

San Diego Comic Con must be just around the corner!  Each year at this time we get some awesome

Jul 08 2017

Rogue Events, the company that hosted the Asylum conventions, is going out of business.

Jun 29 2017

IMDB has posted casting for episode 13.01

Jun 29 2017

It's official, Supernatural is coming to Comic Con this year.

WFB Feature Articles

Sep 21 2017 | Mallena

It’s Rob Benedict’s birthday on Sept 21 and it wasn’t easy picking the story to review that fe

Read more...
Sep 20 2017 | LK

 Welcome to Part 3 of my tale of attending my very first Supernatural convention! You'll want t

Read more...
Sep 18 2017 | LK

 

" I write about the power of trying, because I want to be okay with failing. I write about

Read more...
Sep 17 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural around the web this week.

Read more...
Sep 15 2017 | LK

Welcome to part 2 of my tale of attending my first Supernatural convention! If you missed Part 1, it

Read more...
Sep 14 2017 | Mallena

Richard Speight, Jr.’s birthday was on September 4th and in his honor, I’m writing a review of o

Read more...
Sep 13 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #4

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way. It's a qu

Read more...
Sep 12 2017 | LK

Introduction

 

Boy, this will be a long one! That is probably the sentence I will hear

Read more...
Sep 11 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.17 "The British Invasion". Once again

Read more...
Sep 10 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week

Read more...
Sep 09 2017 | LK

 

" For there is no friend like a sister in calm or stormy weather; To cheer one on the tediou

Read more...
Sep 08 2017 | Elle

One of the last Supernatural episodes of season 12 that was more formulaic and standard MOTW than bi

Read more...
Sep 07 2017 | Mallena

 

Who loves the idea of time travel? I do!  The possibilities are endless as I contemplat

Read more...
Sep 06 2017 | LK

 

"Don't call the world dirty because you forgot to clean your glasses.” — Joseph Addi

Read more...
Sep 04 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.16 "Ladies Drink Free". Once again I h

Read more...
Sep 03 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural and Family in the news this week!

Read more...
Sep 01 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #3

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a qu

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Percysowner

What are Supernatural fans up to? Here's the latest scoop as of August, 2017!

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Alice

My choices for part one were revealed, so without further delay, here are the Supernatural Season Tw

Read more...
Aug 28 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for Supernatural! For 12.15, "Somewhere Between Heave

Read more...
Aug 27 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 26 2017 | Nightsky

One of the unique attractions of San Diego Comic-Con is wandering the vendor floor looking at the am

Read more...
Aug 25 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #2

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a quick a

Read more...
Aug 24 2017 | Mallena

This week, I’ve been musing about family dramas.  There are many great examples of the genre

Read more...
Aug 21 2017 | Alice

Today I was utterly dismayed to hear about the closure of a long time fan site which the Wincheste

Read more...
Aug 19 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 18 2017 | Alice

Just like every year, The WFB doesn't stop with just the fan choice awards!  Your friendly neig

Read more...

WFB Motivational Posters

ParallelUniverse.jpg

Nightsky's New Book!

Maybe I should be disappointed that "A Little Slice of Kevin" showed no aftermath of the war of the Winchesters from the week before. I was expecting some tension, possibly a little hostility, definitely an undercurrent of anger. Maybe I should be disappointed that we didn't get that. But, I simply can't seem to give a damn, because what we got was a blessed relief. I love the angst, I really do, I can't help it, I love that these two boys run deep, but I love the brothers getting along, caring for each other, sharing emotions, supporting each other, sooooo much more. It was a tiny bit jarring, for about 32 seconds, until I went,."Ahhhhhhh, I remember this and it feels goooood!" I know we're going to see the anger again, I know those feelings of doubt and mistrust, the issues of the season, are still there, just under the surface, nicely fermenting, I know the angst will be back, but until then, in this quiet moment,.I'm going to just bask for a little bit, in the warmth of the Winchester's glorious bro-ness and dare to dream that this episode showed progress in their healing and could be that step in the right direction we've all been hoping for.


"A Little Slice of Kevin" had a very familiar vibe and I mean that in the best possible way. The brothers appear to be on the same page for once (even if we know it won't last "“ *cough* Benny *cough*), we have a big Heaven vs. Hell "“ angels vs. demon thing brewing, we had classic characters such as Crowley and Castiel back in play, we had angel wings, the demon knife and witches and we opened with the Impala purring her way down a back road, classic rock blaring as Dean shoved junk food in his mouth. Happiness,the whole lot of it.
 
There was plenty happening in this episode and it charged along at a break neck pace. We were brought back to the big mythology arc of the season, the God rock thing. The Word of God tablets and that concept was expanded upon. We were introduced to a new notion of how the prophets come to be,which is very Buffyesque, in that there can be only one. One dies and a "potential" prophet is activated. Though, I always thought the Leviathan digging up that first God rock activated Kev? Maybe he just wasn't needed before then? I put my fingers in my ears and went "la-la-la" when Chuck was mentioned as presumed dead (la-la-la); I can't and won't accept that! Nope. Because, you know, maybe he was more than just a prophet? And hey, there were times when there were two slayers, so maybe there can be an spare prophet now and then! (Going to my happy place where Chuck's ok).

But of course, the big story was Castiel. He's back and he's not crazy. Thank goodness. He's much closer to the Castiel of seasons 4 and 5, when he'd rebelled and started to find his own path, but was still sane and angelic. My favourite Cass. I'm glad that Purgatory healed his mind, even if it hasn't totally healed his soul,which technically he doesn't have, but you know what I mean.
 
For now, Cass bought with him mostly questions and not many answers, but he does have answers and I'm hoping that his reintroduction into the Winchester's world will give him a chance to fill in some of the gaps for both brothers. I mean, he knows Benny. Sam and him should definitely have a little offline on that particular subject! I was as suspicious as Dean of his story about not remembering anything until we saw that the angels were up to no good again. I'm glad he's not wilfully hiding stuff, even if he's going to be unwittingly hiding stuff. Boy, poor little guy. I'd like everyone to be able to mend and move forward this season, from all their past transgressions! Time to deal and move on.
 
I totally dig this idea that God had someone jot down his thoughts as a worst-case scenario handbook for the human race. It opens up a whole range of possible story arcs. That Transformer Archangel Metatron was quite the note taker. There are a few God rocks out there dealing with different Heavenly issues. The Leviathan rock, the demon rock,and what else? An angel rock? Please let there be an angel rock! With specific instructions on how to kick their meddlesome butts!

Gah. Angels! Until "Supernatural" I thought angels were nice! I have friends who go on about angels and look at me weird when I try to explain that you can't trust them! Then I remind myself, once again, that this is just show (shut your mouth)! Anyhoo, the angels are interested in the Winchesters and they're using Castiel to spy on the brothers and report back, without Cass' knowledge. Manipulative S.O.B.s!
 
So what do they want? Well, I'm thinking they probably don't want the gates of Hell closed anymore than the denizens of Hell would. Because if the place is on lockdown, where do all the evil souls go? Do they just linger around on earth like nasty bad smells? Or do they head skyward? Also, I think the angels like the idea of Hell and the balance between good and evil. Because if those gates are forever locked and no one gets punished for their sins, then what happens to humanity? Would we all run amok without the threat of fire and damnation hanging over our heads? So, I think we might find out that neither party wants Hell's gates closed for eternity.
 
My other thought was, as I mentioned, there might be an angel rock out there, as part of the compendium of tablets that has been created. If there is, would it have information that would help the Winchesters pop those pesky winged annoyances back behind the pearly gates for all time? I'm sure Sam and Dean would be quite keen on that idea. I'm kind of keen on the idea! I'm sure the angels would not be keen on that idea at all! Or maybe it contains information that could give Crowley control over Heaven? That would be problematic for them!
 
I've also been toying with the notion that the angels now running the big show, are of the same thinking as the late Archangel Raphael, in that maybe they want to kick-start the Apocalypse Part Deux, go back to the original plan. Maybe this is why they need to keep an eye on the Winchesters. Maybe they're hoping to use their bodies (aren't we all,,..) as the vessels of the end game reboot. Maybe that's where all this is going. Can anyone say season 10? "Whatever you do, you will always end up... here. No matter what choices you make, whatever details you alter, we will always end up... here." Stop that Amy! I really hate that thought. I'm going to angel wipe my own mind!
 
Obviously whatever the situation, the angels are not going to want the King of Hell to get his grubby little mitts on the Word of God. So it could just be, that they let the Winchesters fight the fight and then they swoop in and grab the prize. Sounds like angel behaviour,.
 
Of course there's nothing at all to suggest any of this yet, but,I just don't trust those conniving winged bastards! I do quite enjoy them though and Naomi seemed kind of cool, if treacherous and a tad buttoned down. It'll be very interesting to see how she and the angel scheme plays out.

Not only are the angels spying on the Winchesters, they're playing with reality,.which made me go, hang on, what does that mean for the big picture? Carver has said from the get-go that season 8 is all about perception. How one person sees an event can be different from how another person sees the same event. How we the viewer are currently seeing things, may not be how they end up being revealed. The angels are popping Cass in and out without his knowledge, without the brother's knowledge. He's compelled to be honest while in Naomi's office of honesty and then he doesn't remember being there when he's zapped back to earth and no one misses him. So the angels are playing with time, space and truth.
 
The angels dragged Cass from Purgatory and expunged his memories. By the way,Illinois? I wonder how close to Pontiac they were? Is there an angel portal there or something, where they can travel to the other realms? Seems odd that Cass and Dean would both be rescued by angels in Illinois. Jimmy Novak was also from Pontiac, Illinois. Curiouser and curiouser.

So is anything else being affected by the angels and their mind games. Sam for example? Are we're going to find out that Sam's been manipulated by the angels into not looking for Dean, choosing a different life or meeting Amelia. Did they throw the dog in front of his car (!), or could they have messed with Sam's mind and make him assume Dean was dead? Or, and I think this is more likely, did they, "˜push' him to go to the cabin that night to find Dean? Maybe it was one of the angels lurking in the shadows watching Sam as he left? And if that was the case, it brings us back to, why do the angels need Sam and Dean together? I'm guessing they never expected Dean to get out. Maybe Benny was a fly in their ointment. But with Dean back topside, did they then want Sam to find him for some reason? Or is the fact that they are now together back on the job, a worry to the angels.
 
I don't want to find out that Sam's entire year was a manipulation. Personally I like that he made those choices for himself, as controversial as they are, I like that Sam made decisions for his own future, whether we all agree with them or not.

Sam had what I thought was the most telling line of the entire episode, when he said to Dean ""Survivor's guilt? If you let it, this is gonna keep messing with you, you gotta walk past it." Was this Sam letting Dean know what he'd been through? Certainly Sam has gone through survivor's guilt more than once when it comes to his brother and in the past, he's not done so well. But this time around, did Sam find a way to "walk past it" and become a healthier person for it? Once again, here we have a case of perception. Dean sees it as abandonment; Sam sees it as letting go and moving on.

We also saw how perception was affecting Dean's memories of Cass and Purgatory. Dean remembers Cass slipping from his grasp and yet Cass told Dean he purposely let go. Dean seemed to know that Cass didn't try as hard as he could, but he also saw it as his own failure for not trying harder on behalf of his friend. He said no one would get left behind and Cass was left behind. He wanted to get Cass out and he couldn't. I don't believe, as has been suggested around the traps, that Dean has purposely remembered this incident wrong, so that he could continue to beat himself up for something because he thrives on guilt. I think that viewpoint trivialises this man and the depth of his caring and of his wounds. He said, they had to scratch and fight and bleed to get to that portal. He remembers the heat, the stink, the pain, the fear. That it almost finished him. Is it not more fair to say that in the stress and confusion of the situation, Dean simply didn't realise what was happening, that he didn't realise Cass let go, didn't understand exactly what was going on, rather than Dean loves to self flagellate, so he's chose to remember wrong out of his need for self loathing? Perception.
 
Personally I'm relieved that Dean didn't make a conscious choice to leave Cass behind, or that Benny did something underhanded. I've been dreading finding out badness went down. Now that's one thing I, at least, can move on from.

I'll admit, I teared up when Cass said, "You can't save everyone my friend. Though you try." Awww Dean,. I hope he was listening,though it'll never stop him trying. He is who he is.

Oh I nearly forgot the Trans! Ha. I keep forgetting about them! I don't mind Kevin,I'm sorry he lost a little slice of himself. How was that! Man, brutal. I loved how after Cass and Crowley's showdown, he grabbed that tablet and wouldn't let go. It reminded me of when we first met him and Sam was trying to get the tablet out of his hands and he actuallycouldn't let go! He needs to get away from his mum though, because she's making dumbass decisions that are endangering their lives, plus, she's as annoying as all hell! She'd drive me batty if she were my mum. I didn't find her fun this time around, just kind of grating.Imagine her and Garth together? That'd be interesting! I was impressed she got that enormous demon into the trunk of her car though! Nice move! I mean, she's tiny. Did you see the size of Sam up against her when they met on the side of the road? I loved that too,Sam was so mad. I loved how he just snatched that book wearing his best chastising face.

Crowley reminded me of Lucifer in this episode in that, remember how Lucifer was all quietly evil and kind of cool until he got under pressure and then he turned all bloody rampage and murderous in "Hammer of the Gods"? That's what I thought about Crowley. We've seen him torture monsters and other demons but this season he's snapped Kevin Tran's girlfriend's neck and now he's done something fatal to some potential prophet's inside, while exploding another and cutting off Kevin's pinky! I think he's feeling a little under pressure and he's showing his true colours. He's not the smooth, Savile Row villain anymore. Oh and poor Alfie! What happened to Alfie?
 
So, "A Little Slice of Kevin" made it 7 for 7 for me. I think the episodes have been getting stronger as the season has gone on. The story is getting more interesting and layered, as little bits of the mystery are pealed away and new questions are raised. I like it! Crowley is in on the Word of God thing and I assume Sam and Dean know Crowley knows. The stakes feel high. Way higher than they have for ages. Way higher than the Leviathan. Probably because this battle feels a lot more personal. Heaven and Hell is something the boys are very familiar with.

This episode also left me feeling a bit more optimistic about our favourite ghost hunting bros. I'm hoping that what we saw with the brothers in this episode was indeed a small step towards the rebuilding of their relationship. A return to the trust and the closeness. I've never doubted the love. Dean didn't dig at Sam once for his year out. Maybe he heard Sam last week. Maybe he heard Garth. Sam was empathetic and supportive; he seemed present and connected to Dean. Maybe Sam heard Dean's pain last week. Maybe he saw the hurt in his brother. Like I said,the issues are still there, they will raise their ugly heads again,but even if they can have days like this,that's a start right?

And now for a dip in the shallow end of the pool....


Sam. V-neck t-shirt. Add to that bare feet and sweatpants. Didn't you just want to snuggle with him all curled up in that bed,and I'm a Dean girl (but I'm Sam curious)! And Dean,FRECKLES! Did anyone else notice that the grade on this episode was less saturated? Also, the boys didn't look quite as made-up or overly tanned and,you could see Dean's freckles clear as day. We should always be able to see Dean's freckles. If I ran this show, I'd make that a rule. Plus...arms. Goodness. I'm finding it harder and harder to get through the brother's scenes without pausing,rewinding,pausing,rewinding! They are so gosh darn PRETTY!
 
And on that highly intelligent and well thought out point,.
 
What did you think of the episode? What are your theories around what the angels are up to? Do you think their mischief is affecting anything else in the story? Let me know your thoughts.

Oh and cool things....the Benny soul transfer, the exorcism into the phone, the demon bomb, the demon bomb shadows, the Leviathan bombs (every time...man so cool).
 
Oh no! I just remembered, the next episode is two weeks away, D'oh! I think I might do a little marathon of episodes 1 - 7!

Until next time,I'm just going to leave this here...

Thanks for reading!
-sweetondean