WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

Memorable Moments: Supernatural 12.18 "The Memory Remains"

Mallena's Supernatural Musings: 10.05 "Fan Fiction"

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 3

Fan Video of the Week: Supernatural Reflections "The British Invasion”

Supernatural Bits & Pieces September 17, 2017

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 2

This long until Supernatural Season 13...

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

Sep 22 2017

TV Line has a short spoiler for the upcoming season

Sep 21 2017

We have an extended version of the trailer!

Sep 18 2017

Jeffrey Dean Morgan and Hillary Burton showed off her baby bump at last night's Emmy Awards ceremony

Sep 18 2017

The actor, who once played Gordon Walker, won an Emmy last night for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Dra

Sep 17 2017

We have a copy of the EW preview for Supernatural and BTS pictures of episode 6.

Sep 13 2017

We're getting close. The CW released a short promo.

Sep 12 2017

EW just published a big spoiler for season 13. TVLine Spoilers added!

Sep 12 2017

September 13 is Supernatural Day!

Sep 08 2017

TVLine released it's fall preview and had this to say about Supernatural

Sep 06 2017

With the DVD for season 12 hitting the shelves yesterday, several oulets have posted deleted scenes

Sep 04 2017

Misha Collins made the announcement today.

Sep 01 2017

Stories continue to come out on Jensen Ackles fundraiser to help Texas after the devastation of Hurr

Aug 31 2017

The Supernatural Family's work to aid in disaster rescue and recovery efforts has even been noticed

Aug 30 2017

Buddy TV posted a new deleted scene from last season.

Aug 28 2017

Jensen and Danneel Ackles are spearheading an effort to help victims of Hurricane Harvey

Aug 24 2017

We have titles for episodes through 12.

Aug 23 2017

TV Line has some spoilers for this season.

Aug 23 2017

There are a lot of Behing-The-Scenes shots from episodes 3 of Supernatural season 13!

Aug 20 2017

The cast is wishing Misha a Happy Birthday!

Aug 18 2017

Christine Kilmer's latest vlog is up and it's seems rather timely given the latest events.  In

Aug 12 2017

Spoiler TV posted the titles for the first nine episodes and episode 16

Aug 12 2017

Recently, I had to shut down the site because of horrible, negative, disrespectful fighting in our c

Aug 09 2017

We have casting news for season 13.

Jul 24 2017

Nightsky posted her video of the Kansas performance at Comic Con.

Jul 23 2017

We may be getting several of these today.

Jul 23 2017

The cast for Wayward Sisters has been announced.

Jul 23 2017

The 2017 San Diego Comic Con "Supernatural" panel was one for the ages.  A surprise concert, a

Jul 23 2017

Today was a very special panel involving one of our prominent #SPNFAMILY members, Genevieve Padaleck

Jul 22 2017

The photos from Nightsky have been coming in slowly and we are keeping an archive of everything take

Jul 22 2017

The Tick has had a big presence at Comic Con.

Jul 22 2017

EW sat down with Jared, Jensen and Misha at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

The Facebook Live chat with Jared, Jensen and Misha is now available.

Jul 21 2017

Catching up with Supernatural Alumni at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

Today was the big Timeless panel at San Diego Comic Con.  Our master Eric Kripke was there to t

Jul 20 2017

The cast will appear live tomorrow, July 21, 2017 and will be seen on the Supernatural Facebook page

Jul 20 2017

The first clip from Jared and Jensen's appearance on Conan O'Brien

Jul 20 2017

The WB has released the poster for next season.

Jul 19 2017

The Conan O'Brien show has put out a teaser for tonight's appearance.

Jul 16 2017

Mark Pellegrino is in the running for a Tean Choice Award

Jul 16 2017

We have the first spoilers from this year's TV Guide article covering Comic Con.

Jul 15 2017

Warner Brothers is having a Gift Pack Giveaway.

Jul 14 2017

We have the images on the Comic Con bags for this year's Comic Con.

Jul 12 2017

Conan O'Brien is going to Comic Con and he's going to have Jared and Jensen on his show.

Jul 12 2017

Jensen and others are posting on social media from Vancouver. No Spoilers.

Jul 12 2017

San Diego Comic Con must be just around the corner!  Each year at this time we get some awesome

Jul 08 2017

Rogue Events, the company that hosted the Asylum conventions, is going out of business.

Jun 29 2017

IMDB has posted casting for episode 13.01

WFB Feature Articles

Sep 22 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for Supernatural episode 12.18, "The Memory Remains".

Read more...
Sep 21 2017 | Mallena

It’s Rob Benedict’s birthday on Sept 21 and it wasn’t easy picking the story to review that fe

Read more...
Sep 20 2017 | LK

 Welcome to Part 3 of my tale of attending my very first Supernatural convention! You'll want t

Read more...
Sep 18 2017 | LK

 

" I write about the power of trying, because I want to be okay with failing. I write about

Read more...
Sep 17 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural around the web this week.

Read more...
Sep 15 2017 | LK

Welcome to part 2 of my tale of attending my first Supernatural convention! If you missed Part 1, it

Read more...
Sep 14 2017 | Mallena

Richard Speight, Jr.’s birthday was on September 4th and in his honor, I’m writing a review of o

Read more...
Sep 13 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #4

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way. It's a qu

Read more...
Sep 12 2017 | LK

Introduction

 

Boy, this will be a long one! That is probably the sentence I will hear

Read more...
Sep 11 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.17 "The British Invasion". Once again

Read more...
Sep 10 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week

Read more...
Sep 09 2017 | LK

 

" For there is no friend like a sister in calm or stormy weather; To cheer one on the tediou

Read more...
Sep 08 2017 | Elle

One of the last Supernatural episodes of season 12 that was more formulaic and standard MOTW than bi

Read more...
Sep 07 2017 | Mallena

 

Who loves the idea of time travel? I do!  The possibilities are endless as I contemplat

Read more...
Sep 06 2017 | LK

 

"Don't call the world dirty because you forgot to clean your glasses.” — Joseph Addi

Read more...
Sep 04 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.16 "Ladies Drink Free". Once again I h

Read more...
Sep 03 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural and Family in the news this week!

Read more...
Sep 01 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #3

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a qu

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Percysowner

What are Supernatural fans up to? Here's the latest scoop as of August, 2017!

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Alice

My choices for part one were revealed, so without further delay, here are the Supernatural Season Tw

Read more...
Aug 28 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for Supernatural! For 12.15, "Somewhere Between Heave

Read more...
Aug 27 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 26 2017 | Nightsky

One of the unique attractions of San Diego Comic-Con is wandering the vendor floor looking at the am

Read more...
Aug 25 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #2

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a quick a

Read more...
Aug 24 2017 | Mallena

This week, I’ve been musing about family dramas.  There are many great examples of the genre

Read more...
Aug 21 2017 | Alice

Today I was utterly dismayed to hear about the closure of a long time fan site which the Wincheste

Read more...
Aug 19 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...

WFB Motivational Posters

NaughtyorNice.jpg

Nightsky's New Book!

alt

Wow. Talk about tension. You could cut it with a knife. Thank goodness for a little Garth-infused lightness or Sam and Dean may have spent the entire episode in moody silence. Not that I wouldn’t have watched...

I was intrigued coming into this episode, ‘Blood Brothers’ left us at such a heated moment and I couldn’t wait to dig into the drama of it all. (I must admit I’m still replaying that final scene in my head.) But I also knew that Garth was back and with Garth usually comes a lighter, monster of the week story. So I was worried that the Benny moment might get brushed over with a little Sam and Dean car-side conversation. And then the episode started with just that. But thankfully the conversation didn’t stop there. It actually went a lot farther than I expected, but we’ll get to that later.

There still was a monster of the week story. And let’s face it, we needed it to break up the tension. But that doesn’t meant it wasn’t a giant parallel. Two brothers, fighting on opposite sides of a war. Doesn’t take a genius to see the shout out to Sam and Dean in that storyline. But what interests me more is what Sam and Dean’s “war” is supposed to be. Is it just about Benny? Dean believes that Benny is a good man/vampire and regards him as a friend. Sam sees Benny as violation of trust and thinks Dean is being hypocritical. So is that the “war” between Sam and Dean or do you think it’s bigger than that? Personally, I think it is. Dean thought he and Sam were on the same page. Hunting is their job, it’s their life. And more than that, he thought they shared an unspoken promise to never give up on each other. Even in death. Sam doesn’t believe that hunting has to be his destiny. He believes he can make his own choices and find happiness for himself. And for reasons that are still unclear to me, he made the decision to let his brother go. So maybe that’s the “war” Sam and Dean are fighting. Benny is certainly a part of it, but not the whole shebang. What do you think? Any other theories?

Regardless of what war these boys are fighting with each other this episode ended in a battle. As I mentioned earlier, Sam and Dean’s fight went farther than I expected. It started with Dean being possessed by the coin. He said a lot of hurtful things and while it can be argued that it wasn’t really him, I think we can all agree that it comes from a place of truth. He feels neglected. He was left fighting for his life in Purgatory. The thought of Sam trying to track him down was probably the only thing that got him through. And then he met Benny who was a friend to him when he desperately needed one. Benny is truly the reason Dean is still alive. But Dean did overstep his bounds in this argument.

“Benny’s been more of a brother to me this past year than you’ve ever been!”

Not to mention this line...

“Everything you’ve ever done since you climbed into my ride is deceive me.”

Ouch. How much of that was the coin talking? I don’t know. But it was certainly harsh and untrue from where I’m standing. Of course we don’t know all the details of Dean’s year in Purgatory but I don’t see how it could make up for years of life with Sam.

alt

When Dean was no longer under the influence of the coin, I expected a conversation about how it wasn’t really him talking. I expected that they would try to throw a patch over the fight and carry on. But Dean never really denied anything and Sam came back swinging. I’m glad to see him standing up for himself but I do think he went too far threatening Benny.

Sam: “I just might be that hunter one day that runs in to Benny and ices him”
Dean: “Well, we’ll cross that bridge when we get to it”
Sam: “Yeah, you keep saying that.”

I keep reminding myself to look at this from Sam’s perspective. He doesn’t know Benny like we do (and we don’t even know the half of it yet). When he looks at Benny he feels betrayed; he sees his brother protecting a monster. The same brother who warned him about Ruby and killed Amy. And it must have really hurt to hear Dean’s words. But Benny is the reason Dean is alive and you would think Sam would give Dean the benefit of the doubt. If only because Sam has been there before and wanted Dean to trust him. I do keep wondering if Sam’s threat was an empty one. Maybe he was just acting out because his feelings were hurt. He made it clear he’s not interested in hunting so I don’t see him going out of his way to be the one that kills Benny. But I also know that their paths will cross again and it will result in choices being made on both sides. It could even mean one brother sacrificing their relationship to make what they think is the right call.

While I sympathize with both Sam and Dean I do feel like we need some clarification where Sam is concerned. Why didn’t he look for Dean? I know, it’s the age old question at this point but it still needs to be answered. Dean has died (a few times) before and Sam couldn’t let him go. This time Sam didn’t know where Dean was or if he was even dead but he didn’t look for him. So what was different this time around? Was it the appeal of ignorance that finally allowed him to let Dean go? When Sam knew Dean was in Hell it tortured him because he knew where Dean was and that he was there because he wanted to save Sam. So maybe not knowing where Dean was this time gave Sam some peace? What do you guys think? I don’t mean to sound like I’m accusing Sam because I don’t think we have all the facts. At this point I can’t understand him just letting Dean go but I’m open to the idea that there is more that we don’t know about Sam’s year off.

alt

Wow, how did this get so wordy. If you’re still with me, I applaud you. Let's talk about Garth. I love that little guy. He was the perfect dash of comic relief in this heavy episode. But he also brought the heart. Just the fact that he has no beef with anyone is a testament to his care-free, forgiving personality. Sam and Dean need someone like that in their life.

He's not Bobby as Dean so clearly put it. But I do love that he is taking what he learned from Bobby and applying it. He saw a gap left by the loss of Bobby and he stepped in to fill it. I personally love him in this role. He doesn't have the best track record out in the field but he knows his stuff. I think it's a good fit and I'd love to see him around more regularly. Even if he's walking around looking and talking like a Bobby mini-me.

What did everyone think of Sam’s Amelia flashbacks? To be honest, I don’t feel like I know much more than I did before. I did really like that Sam and Amelia opened up to each other. I wonder how much Sam told her about his past, his life as a hunter and Dean. I’d be interested in seeing the rest of the conversation. Hopefully we’ll get that chance.

alt

What did you all think of this episode? Were you satisfied with the way this episode picked up from ‘Blood Brothers’? Who is excited for Cass next week?! (I guess since CW promos are spelling it ‘Cass’ and not ‘Cas’ I need to change my ways!)

Quote time!

Dean: “You’re sulking around like a eunuch in a whorehouse”

Garth: “You guys have no idea how much I miss you.”

Dean’s once over of Garth in his Texas ranger get up made me laugh.

Garth: “That’s balls”
Dean: “That’s not how you say balls”

Garth killed the tooth fairy. This needs no further explaination.

Dean: “What do we got, a ghost with an Oedipus complex?”
Sam’s gives him a look.
Dean: “I don’t know what that means”

Dean: “You’re not Bobby. you’re never gonna be Bobby.”
Garth: “Bobby belonged to all of us, Dean. Not just you and Sam. I’m taking what he showed me and trying to do something with it. That’s all.”

alt

Garth: “Civil War reenactments; once a year, every year.”
Dean gives Garth a look
Garth: “Don’t hate!”

Garth: “I kind of feel like we should say something”
Dean: “Sure...we won!”

I loved when we came back from commercial and they walked us through how the coin got passed along from person to person. It was nice getting eased back into the action.

Garth: “You can’t change the past, amigo.” No truer words were ever spoken!

Dean likes to pretend he doesn’t like hugs from Garth but his face tells a different story.

Sam: “Move on or I will.”
Dean: “Ok, I hear you.”