WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

More Supernatural Interviews From Comic Con 2017 - Misha Collins

More Supernatural Interviews From Comic Con 2017 - Jensen Ackles

More Supernatural Interviews From Comic Con 2017 - Jared Padalecki

Supernatural Interviews Comic Con 2017 - Andrew Dabb

Interview With Executive Producer Robert Singer - Comic Con 2017

Interview With Jensen Ackles - Comic Con 2017

Check out all our San Diego Comic Con coverage, including on scene reports from Nightsky!  

 

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

24 Jul 2017 14:25

Nightsky posted her video of the Kansas performance at Comic Con.

23 Jul 2017 20:11

We may be getting several of these today.

23 Jul 2017 14:56

The cast for Wayward Sisters has been announced.

23 Jul 2017 14:01

The 2017 San Diego Comic Con "Supernatural" panel was one for the ages.  A surprise concert, a

23 Jul 2017 00:16

Today was a very special panel involving one of our prominent #SPNFAMILY members, Genevieve Padaleck

22 Jul 2017 22:37

The photos from Nightsky have been coming in slowly and we are keeping an archive of everything take

22 Jul 2017 21:41

The Tick has had a big presence at Comic Con.

22 Jul 2017 13:54

EW sat down with Jared, Jensen and Misha at Comic Con.

21 Jul 2017 22:30

The Facebook Live chat with Jared, Jensen and Misha is now available.

21 Jul 2017 14:27

Catching up with Supernatural Alumni at Comic Con.

21 Jul 2017 00:09

Today was the big Timeless panel at San Diego Comic Con.  Our master Eric Kripke was there to t

20 Jul 2017 14:59

The cast will appear live tomorrow, July 21, 2017 and will be seen on the Supernatural Facebook page

20 Jul 2017 11:52

The first clip from Jared and Jensen's appearance on Conan O'Brien

20 Jul 2017 06:45

The WB has released the poster for next season.

19 Jul 2017 17:35

The Conan O'Brien show has put out a teaser for tonight's appearance.

16 Jul 2017 14:44

Mark Pellegrino is in the running for a Tean Choice Award

16 Jul 2017 01:45

We have the first spoilers from this year's TV Guide article covering Comic Con.

15 Jul 2017 12:23

Warner Brothers is having a Gift Pack Giveaway.

14 Jul 2017 15:27

We have the images on the Comic Con bags for this year's Comic Con.

12 Jul 2017 16:28

Conan O'Brien is going to Comic Con and he's going to have Jared and Jensen on his show.

12 Jul 2017 13:22

Jensen and others are posting on social media from Vancouver. No Spoilers.

12 Jul 2017 10:20

San Diego Comic Con must be just around the corner!  Each year at this time we get some awesome

08 Jul 2017 19:22

Rogue Events, the company that hosted the Asylum conventions, is going out of business.

29 Jun 2017 14:55

IMDB has posted casting for episode 13.01

29 Jun 2017 14:08

It's official, Supernatural is coming to Comic Con this year.

27 Jun 2017 21:32

As your Winchester Family Business Editor-in-Chief, I have an exciting announcement to share.  

20 Jun 2017 14:00

Reportedly, Wayward Sisters (not Daughters) will be given a backdoor pilot in season 13.

20 Jun 2017 08:33

The Teen Choice Awards announced the first round of their nominations yesterday and Supernatural is

08 Jun 2017 15:20

We have a date for the end of Hellatus!

06 Jun 2017 21:28

Ty Olsson (Benny Lafitte) just won a Leo Award.

03 Jun 2017 14:53

Jared has announced the final phase of the relaunch of his AKF campaign.

01 Jun 2017 23:33

Oh yeah, we had a LOT to discuss!  This is a supersized TV Fanatic Roundtable this time, design

01 Jun 2017 15:30

Jared and Jensen have both spoken about their daughters recently.

01 Jun 2017 10:22

Jared has relaunched part five of his Always Keep Fighting campaign.

31 May 2017 08:44

We have the first information on the season 12 DVD.

26 May 2017 14:18

Jared and Gen Padalecki both spoke in support of David's Law, a Texas law which targets cyber bullyi

26 May 2017 09:14

Jared started part four of his relaunch.

24 May 2017 15:07

Editor's Note: This article chronologically presents the reports and tweets on Mark Sheppard's statu

24 May 2017 09:41

 Now that season 12 is over, our stars are working for charity.

21 May 2017 09:14

Jared has launched part two of his AKF campaign.

20 May 2017 16:46

We have a few spoilers that came out of the Jus In Bello Convention this weekend.

19 May 2017 11:25

Here are the ratings for last night's finale episodes.

18 May 2017 21:38

Well, we were uninamous, but that's not necessarily good.  All four of us at the TV Fanatic Rou

18 May 2017 15:34

Jared talks about the season finale, season 13 spoilers and relaunching his Always Keep Fighting Cam

18 May 2017 12:05

We are getting our first spoilers for next season at the CW upfront presentation.

18 May 2017 08:52

The CW has released its schedule for next season.

WFB Feature Articles

Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

The final actor is Misha Collins.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Jensen spoke to different outlets at Comic Con this year.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

We return to the actors who were interviewed at Comic Con. This time Jared Padalecki.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Press Room Interviews with Andrew Dabb.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

 Last interview up and it's with the man who holds it all together, Robert Singer.  He giv

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

An interview with Jensen is always a pleasure!  The interview started out casually - talk about

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

It's Misha's turn!  In our roundtable interview in the San Diego Comic Con press room today, he

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

Today was a pretty awesome day!  Here's the WFB roundtable interview with Jared Padalecki. &nbs

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.17 "The British Invasion". Once again

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Mallena

This episode introduces us to Anna Milton.  She isn’t a normal girl, like she appears, but is

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Alice

The nominations were collected, the votes have been cast, the results have been tabulated, and the w

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

San Diego Comic Con 2017 is this week! The most anticipated comic book, superhero, scifi/fantasy gen

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Elle

12 Years of Big Boss Battles: Supernatural Villainy for the Ages

“I'm glad, honestly. I'm not s

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | LK

 

"The gleam in their eyes telegraphs only too clearly that they are hoping for a headline,

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Here's what we know about this year's event!

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Mallena

I was underwhelmed with season ten for most of its run, so it was wonderful to watch an episode as t

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural on the web this week!

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series! For Supernatural 12.13 "Family Feud", I put tog

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Alice

The moment is finally here!  The nominations have been tabulated, now it's time to vote.  

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | LK

 

"The unreal is more powerful than the real, because nothing is as perfect as you can imagine

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to "Memorable Moments" of Supernatural! This edition focuses on episode 12.12 "Stuck In

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Mallena

There has been a lot of talk lately about Jody and the women of Supernatural.  In honor of the

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Elle

Rich, riveting, complex and so full of story details and character threads that it's impossible to m

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | LK

 "Yesterday is but today's memory, and tomorrow is today's dream." — Khalil Gibran

Loosing

Read more...

WFB Motivational Posters - Comic Con

ComicCon2.jpg

Nightsky's New Book!

Phew. That week hiatus was nasty...and we're screaming towards the 5-times as nasty, 5-week hiatus. Just 2 episodes until the break. A-wah! But before we start hyperventilating at the thought of over a month without a new episode of "Supernatural"…let's preview this week!
  
THEN
 
He's baaaaaack. Castiel returneth from Purgatory and he knows not how.
Dean shared some feelings.
Sam gave advise on "survivor's guilt"
Kevin lost his pinkie.
The Word of God got broken in half…again.
And...those freakin' angels are up to no good…again!
 
NOW
 
KABLAMO AND KAPOWEE AND KABOOM. It looks like "Supernatural" Acme style!
 
You can never tell if what appears to be a comedic episode of "Supernatural" is simply going to be a funny, or something deeper. Sometimes the ones that look like they're just going for the giggles, turn out to have a lot more to them, like say "Changing Channels". But straight up from the promo and the preview, "Hunteri Heroici" looks like it's playing for laughs. Which might be fun, because 8.09 looks like exactly the opposite (though for me, that's fun). But who knows. It could tie into the mythology or we could have something go awry and…well, geesh, this is "Supernatural" after all and these boys are angsty and walking on eggshells at the moment so...
 
Anyhoo...here's the official synopsis:
 
CARTOONS AREN'T ALWAYS FUNNY — Castiel tells Sam and Dean that he's decided to become a hunter like them. Sam and Dean aren't sold on the idea but agree to investigate a case Cass found where a man's heart literally burst through his chest. The guys discover there has been more than one odd murder in the small town, and all of them resemble cartoon deaths.
Paul Edwards directed the episode written by Andrew Dabb.
 
Ok...Paul Edwards. According to the link through on the IMDB synopsis for this episode, they say it's Paul J. Edwards a visual effects producer/director. But this is wrong! I was struggling to figure out which Paul Edwards it was, as there's a stack of them, so I tweeted "Supernatural" E.P. Jim Michaels and he got back to me and told me it was the Paul Edwards who's directed a bunch of Once Upon A Time episodes. So I looked him up and he's Paul A. Edwards on IMDB. He directed OUAT as well as Alcatraz, a bunch of Lost episodes, Fringe, Battlestar Gallatica, Heroes and a whole lot more. A very seasoned director and a very seasoned genre director. He's a "Supernatural" rookie so that's 2 rookie directors in a row. Great to be adding to the directorial roster.
 
You may also notice the writer of this episode, Andrew Dabb, is missing something. Daniel Loflin! These guys are a writing team. So it's interesting that Dabb has written this one on his own. It'll be very fascinating to see what it's like with just one of them manning the, I was going to say typewriter then I realised it's not 1982!
 
So Cass wants to be a hunter. I guess he got a fair bit of experience in Purgatory and hanging out with the Winchesters for ages and all that and lord knows he's powerful enough, remember how he wiped out all the Jefferson Starships in that diner? (Jefferson Starships…still makes me laugh every time). But…Cass…a hunter? Why do I think this isn't going to go to plan?
 
So let's look at the promo…
 
Ermm. Looney Tunes. Can anyone say Warner Bros? (Who of course are one of the producers of and the distributor of "Supernatural"). We've had "Rascally rabbit" and now a full-on Looney Tunesesque episode. Or maybe it's more in the vein of Who Framed Roger Rabbit with giant anvils and the like?
 
I must say, I laughed A LOT at the frying pan in Dean's face. Jensen pulls the best faces (which is amazing with all the pretty going on there) and I giggled at the "Bang" coming out of the gun…but yeah…I don't know what else to say here. It does look nice and gory and that always works for me.
 
The preview extends the "You were being bad everything" scene, which is such a beautifully delivered line and is followed up by one of my favourite Dean lines for ages… "She's the best wife ever." I can't even tell you how much I laughed and how many times I replayed that! Also, is Cass putting on a NY accent or something? Which is pretty funny - I guess he does dig TV, doing the whole bad cop routine, hitting the table. Now he really looks like Columbo! I also love how Dean says to Cass, "Listen to Sam" because yeah, Sam is amazing with the subtle and empathetic interrogation. He always gets the goods. Listen and learn Castiel!
 
I admit, I like this scene; it's pretty neat and made me grin. Everyone's surprised look when the wife says she knows about the mistress. Gold. But, I'm not usually a big fan of the light and comedic episodes - well, that's absolutely untrue - I do like them, but I tend to like the heavier, dramatic ones more. You won't find any of the outright comedies in my top 5, or probably my top 10, not even "The French Mistake", which is a pure joy, well maybe "The French Mistake". Nah probably not. Sorry, just worked that through in front of you all!
 
One thing that the promos don't show which the promo pics do, is that this episode has an epically good guest star. Mike Farrell of B.J. Hunnicutt from M.A.S.H. fame! You can check out the pictures here.
 
OMG! So, while I've been writing this, I've been watching "A Little Slice of Kevin". In Australia they play the episodes one week behind the States (so don't ask me how I see it before then and I won't have to tell you any lies…ixnay on the ownloadday)…anyway…they JUST played a promo for "Hunteri Heroici" and it had different bits in it! Like cartoon-land bits. Like a couple of the guys in cartoon-land bits. Oooooo! And that beating heart from the synopsis looks pretty funny and I'm not saying anything else...except, that's all folks!
 
So are you looking forward to this one? Do you dig the funny episodes? Or like me, are you all about the serious stuff? (P.S. The Aussie promo made me kinda excited)!
 
Let me know your thoughts. And don't forget, for spoilers on upcoming episodes visit our spoiler page.
 
See you soon in reviewland (I missed you guys)!
-sweetondean