WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

Mallena's Supernatural Musings: 10.05 "Fan Fiction"

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 3

Fan Video of the Week: Supernatural Reflections "The British Invasion”

Supernatural Bits & Pieces September 17, 2017

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 2

Mallena's Supernatural Musings: 3.11 "Mystery Spot"

Check out all our San Diego Comic Con coverage, including on scene reports from Nightsky!  

 

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

Sep 21 2017

We have an extended version of the trailer!

Sep 18 2017

Jeffrey Dean Morgan and Hillary Burton showed off her baby bump at last night's Emmy Awards ceremony

Sep 18 2017

The actor, who once played Gordon Walker, won an Emmy last night for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Dra

Sep 17 2017

We have a copy of the EW preview for Supernatural and BTS pictures of episode 6.

Sep 13 2017

We're getting close. The CW released a short promo.

Sep 12 2017

EW just published a big spoiler for season 13. TVLine Spoilers added!

Sep 12 2017

September 13 is Supernatural Day!

Sep 08 2017

TVLine released it's fall preview and had this to say about Supernatural

Sep 06 2017

With the DVD for season 12 hitting the shelves yesterday, several oulets have posted deleted scenes

Sep 04 2017

Misha Collins made the announcement today.

Sep 01 2017

Stories continue to come out on Jensen Ackles fundraiser to help Texas after the devastation of Hurr

Aug 31 2017

The Supernatural Family's work to aid in disaster rescue and recovery efforts has even been noticed

Aug 30 2017

Buddy TV posted a new deleted scene from last season.

Aug 28 2017

Jensen and Danneel Ackles are spearheading an effort to help victims of Hurricane Harvey

Aug 24 2017

We have titles for episodes through 12.

Aug 23 2017

TV Line has some spoilers for this season.

Aug 23 2017

There are a lot of Behing-The-Scenes shots from episodes 3 of Supernatural season 13!

Aug 20 2017

The cast is wishing Misha a Happy Birthday!

Aug 18 2017

Christine Kilmer's latest vlog is up and it's seems rather timely given the latest events.  In

Aug 12 2017

Spoiler TV posted the titles for the first nine episodes and episode 16

Aug 12 2017

Recently, I had to shut down the site because of horrible, negative, disrespectful fighting in our c

Aug 09 2017

We have casting news for season 13.

Jul 24 2017

Nightsky posted her video of the Kansas performance at Comic Con.

Jul 23 2017

We may be getting several of these today.

Jul 23 2017

The cast for Wayward Sisters has been announced.

Jul 23 2017

The 2017 San Diego Comic Con "Supernatural" panel was one for the ages.  A surprise concert, a

Jul 23 2017

Today was a very special panel involving one of our prominent #SPNFAMILY members, Genevieve Padaleck

Jul 22 2017

The photos from Nightsky have been coming in slowly and we are keeping an archive of everything take

Jul 22 2017

The Tick has had a big presence at Comic Con.

Jul 22 2017

EW sat down with Jared, Jensen and Misha at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

The Facebook Live chat with Jared, Jensen and Misha is now available.

Jul 21 2017

Catching up with Supernatural Alumni at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

Today was the big Timeless panel at San Diego Comic Con.  Our master Eric Kripke was there to t

Jul 20 2017

The cast will appear live tomorrow, July 21, 2017 and will be seen on the Supernatural Facebook page

Jul 20 2017

The first clip from Jared and Jensen's appearance on Conan O'Brien

Jul 20 2017

The WB has released the poster for next season.

Jul 19 2017

The Conan O'Brien show has put out a teaser for tonight's appearance.

Jul 16 2017

Mark Pellegrino is in the running for a Tean Choice Award

Jul 16 2017

We have the first spoilers from this year's TV Guide article covering Comic Con.

Jul 15 2017

Warner Brothers is having a Gift Pack Giveaway.

Jul 14 2017

We have the images on the Comic Con bags for this year's Comic Con.

Jul 12 2017

Conan O'Brien is going to Comic Con and he's going to have Jared and Jensen on his show.

Jul 12 2017

Jensen and others are posting on social media from Vancouver. No Spoilers.

Jul 12 2017

San Diego Comic Con must be just around the corner!  Each year at this time we get some awesome

Jul 08 2017

Rogue Events, the company that hosted the Asylum conventions, is going out of business.

Jun 29 2017

IMDB has posted casting for episode 13.01

Jun 29 2017

It's official, Supernatural is coming to Comic Con this year.

WFB Feature Articles

Sep 21 2017 | Mallena

It’s Rob Benedict’s birthday on Sept 21 and it wasn’t easy picking the story to review that fe

Read more...
Sep 20 2017 | LK

 Welcome to Part 3 of my tale of attending my very first Supernatural convention! You'll want t

Read more...
Sep 18 2017 | LK

 

" I write about the power of trying, because I want to be okay with failing. I write about

Read more...
Sep 17 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural around the web this week.

Read more...
Sep 15 2017 | LK

Welcome to part 2 of my tale of attending my first Supernatural convention! If you missed Part 1, it

Read more...
Sep 14 2017 | Mallena

Richard Speight, Jr.’s birthday was on September 4th and in his honor, I’m writing a review of o

Read more...
Sep 13 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #4

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way. It's a qu

Read more...
Sep 12 2017 | LK

Introduction

 

Boy, this will be a long one! That is probably the sentence I will hear

Read more...
Sep 11 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.17 "The British Invasion". Once again

Read more...
Sep 10 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week

Read more...
Sep 09 2017 | LK

 

" For there is no friend like a sister in calm or stormy weather; To cheer one on the tediou

Read more...
Sep 08 2017 | Elle

One of the last Supernatural episodes of season 12 that was more formulaic and standard MOTW than bi

Read more...
Sep 07 2017 | Mallena

 

Who loves the idea of time travel? I do!  The possibilities are endless as I contemplat

Read more...
Sep 06 2017 | LK

 

"Don't call the world dirty because you forgot to clean your glasses.” — Joseph Addi

Read more...
Sep 04 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.16 "Ladies Drink Free". Once again I h

Read more...
Sep 03 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural and Family in the news this week!

Read more...
Sep 01 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #3

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a qu

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Percysowner

What are Supernatural fans up to? Here's the latest scoop as of August, 2017!

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Alice

My choices for part one were revealed, so without further delay, here are the Supernatural Season Tw

Read more...
Aug 28 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for Supernatural! For 12.15, "Somewhere Between Heave

Read more...
Aug 27 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 26 2017 | Nightsky

One of the unique attractions of San Diego Comic-Con is wandering the vendor floor looking at the am

Read more...
Aug 25 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #2

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a quick a

Read more...
Aug 24 2017 | Mallena

This week, I’ve been musing about family dramas.  There are many great examples of the genre

Read more...
Aug 21 2017 | Alice

Today I was utterly dismayed to hear about the closure of a long time fan site which the Wincheste

Read more...
Aug 19 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 18 2017 | Alice

Just like every year, The WFB doesn't stop with just the fan choice awards!  Your friendly neig

Read more...

WFB Motivational Posters

TheColt.jpg

Nightsky's New Book!

Phew. That week hiatus was nasty...and we're screaming towards the 5-times as nasty, 5-week hiatus. Just 2 episodes until the break. A-wah! But before we start hyperventilating at the thought of over a month without a new episode of "Supernatural"…let's preview this week!
  
THEN
 
He's baaaaaack. Castiel returneth from Purgatory and he knows not how.
Dean shared some feelings.
Sam gave advise on "survivor's guilt"
Kevin lost his pinkie.
The Word of God got broken in half…again.
And...those freakin' angels are up to no good…again!
 
NOW
 
KABLAMO AND KAPOWEE AND KABOOM. It looks like "Supernatural" Acme style!
 
You can never tell if what appears to be a comedic episode of "Supernatural" is simply going to be a funny, or something deeper. Sometimes the ones that look like they're just going for the giggles, turn out to have a lot more to them, like say "Changing Channels". But straight up from the promo and the preview, "Hunteri Heroici" looks like it's playing for laughs. Which might be fun, because 8.09 looks like exactly the opposite (though for me, that's fun). But who knows. It could tie into the mythology or we could have something go awry and…well, geesh, this is "Supernatural" after all and these boys are angsty and walking on eggshells at the moment so...
 
Anyhoo...here's the official synopsis:
 
CARTOONS AREN'T ALWAYS FUNNY — Castiel tells Sam and Dean that he's decided to become a hunter like them. Sam and Dean aren't sold on the idea but agree to investigate a case Cass found where a man's heart literally burst through his chest. The guys discover there has been more than one odd murder in the small town, and all of them resemble cartoon deaths.
Paul Edwards directed the episode written by Andrew Dabb.
 
Ok...Paul Edwards. According to the link through on the IMDB synopsis for this episode, they say it's Paul J. Edwards a visual effects producer/director. But this is wrong! I was struggling to figure out which Paul Edwards it was, as there's a stack of them, so I tweeted "Supernatural" E.P. Jim Michaels and he got back to me and told me it was the Paul Edwards who's directed a bunch of Once Upon A Time episodes. So I looked him up and he's Paul A. Edwards on IMDB. He directed OUAT as well as Alcatraz, a bunch of Lost episodes, Fringe, Battlestar Gallatica, Heroes and a whole lot more. A very seasoned director and a very seasoned genre director. He's a "Supernatural" rookie so that's 2 rookie directors in a row. Great to be adding to the directorial roster.
 
You may also notice the writer of this episode, Andrew Dabb, is missing something. Daniel Loflin! These guys are a writing team. So it's interesting that Dabb has written this one on his own. It'll be very fascinating to see what it's like with just one of them manning the, I was going to say typewriter then I realised it's not 1982!
 
So Cass wants to be a hunter. I guess he got a fair bit of experience in Purgatory and hanging out with the Winchesters for ages and all that and lord knows he's powerful enough, remember how he wiped out all the Jefferson Starships in that diner? (Jefferson Starships…still makes me laugh every time). But…Cass…a hunter? Why do I think this isn't going to go to plan?
 
So let's look at the promo…
 
Ermm. Looney Tunes. Can anyone say Warner Bros? (Who of course are one of the producers of and the distributor of "Supernatural"). We've had "Rascally rabbit" and now a full-on Looney Tunesesque episode. Or maybe it's more in the vein of Who Framed Roger Rabbit with giant anvils and the like?
 
I must say, I laughed A LOT at the frying pan in Dean's face. Jensen pulls the best faces (which is amazing with all the pretty going on there) and I giggled at the "Bang" coming out of the gun…but yeah…I don't know what else to say here. It does look nice and gory and that always works for me.
 
The preview extends the "You were being bad everything" scene, which is such a beautifully delivered line and is followed up by one of my favourite Dean lines for ages… "She's the best wife ever." I can't even tell you how much I laughed and how many times I replayed that! Also, is Cass putting on a NY accent or something? Which is pretty funny - I guess he does dig TV, doing the whole bad cop routine, hitting the table. Now he really looks like Columbo! I also love how Dean says to Cass, "Listen to Sam" because yeah, Sam is amazing with the subtle and empathetic interrogation. He always gets the goods. Listen and learn Castiel!
 
I admit, I like this scene; it's pretty neat and made me grin. Everyone's surprised look when the wife says she knows about the mistress. Gold. But, I'm not usually a big fan of the light and comedic episodes - well, that's absolutely untrue - I do like them, but I tend to like the heavier, dramatic ones more. You won't find any of the outright comedies in my top 5, or probably my top 10, not even "The French Mistake", which is a pure joy, well maybe "The French Mistake". Nah probably not. Sorry, just worked that through in front of you all!
 
One thing that the promos don't show which the promo pics do, is that this episode has an epically good guest star. Mike Farrell of B.J. Hunnicutt from M.A.S.H. fame! You can check out the pictures here.
 
OMG! So, while I've been writing this, I've been watching "A Little Slice of Kevin". In Australia they play the episodes one week behind the States (so don't ask me how I see it before then and I won't have to tell you any lies…ixnay on the ownloadday)…anyway…they JUST played a promo for "Hunteri Heroici" and it had different bits in it! Like cartoon-land bits. Like a couple of the guys in cartoon-land bits. Oooooo! And that beating heart from the synopsis looks pretty funny and I'm not saying anything else...except, that's all folks!
 
So are you looking forward to this one? Do you dig the funny episodes? Or like me, are you all about the serious stuff? (P.S. The Aussie promo made me kinda excited)!
 
Let me know your thoughts. And don't forget, for spoilers on upcoming episodes visit our spoiler page.
 
See you soon in reviewland (I missed you guys)!
-sweetondean