After watching the preview clip for ‘How to Win Friends and Influence Monsters’ I was expecting a monster of the week episode. I thought we were hunting the Jersey Devil! Boy was I wrong. I was not prepared for what turned out to be a whole lot of mytharc development and a shocking cliff hanger. 

With the Leviathan tracking their every move Bobby, Dean and Sam have been off the grid for weeks now and it took no time at all to see that Dean was not happy about it. He was actually pretty grumpy. Not that I blame him. Living without hot showers or hot food is enough to make anyone irritable. But Bobby and Sam seemed to be making the best of the situation while Dean just looked tired and frustrated. Clearly what’s been floating around in his head these past few months is taking its toll on him. And we were finally given a few much needed glimpses into his mind. 

I was actually a little surprised by Dean’s comments about their attempts to save the world. 

“What if the bus wants to go off the cliff?”



It’s a fair question. They have saved the world from destruction a handful to times now and the hits never stop coming. Maybe it shouldn’t surprise me that Dean is feeling this way. He’s always said he knows the world will “end bloody” but what happened to wanting to “go down swinging”? 

After his Pepperjack-Turducken-slammer-induced high he reveals what we’ve all guessed in one way or another. He’s depressed. There is just too much on his mental plate and he insists on equal portions of everything. Dean carries the guilt of every single thing he’s done or said as well as the guilt of not doing or saying the right thing. And with the kind of life he leads, that’s a lot of crap to carry around. It’s not new behavior for Dean; he’s always carried his burdens closely. But at some point there was the straw that broke the camel’s back. I’m not sure what it was that put Dean over the edge. It could have been a multitude of things. He lost Lisa and Ben, then he lost Castiel, all the while he was worried sick about losing Sam. And at some point it was too much for him. Do you think there was one single event that triggered Dean’s depression or is it just a combination of all the above plus everything else he’s carrying around?  



I was glad to see that Sam and Bobby aren’t turning a blind eye to Dean’s behavior. Sam has gotten shot down his fair share of times when trying to get Dean to talk, but to his credit it hasn’t stopped him. He even goes to Bobby with his concerns to which Bobby reminds Sam that he’s got his own issues to be worried about. 

“You’re worried about him; all he does is worry about you; who’s left to just live their life?”



But even so Bobby tries to knock some sense into Dean giving him the verbal ass kicking he’s needed for a while. I swear, Bobby and Ellen would have been a perfect match. Bobby certainly doesn’t take no for an answer reminding Dean that he’s not a person, he’s a hunter. And being distracted and apathetic is a sure fire way to end up dead. He tells Dean to find his reasons to get back in the game. Let’s just hope that Dean doesn’t have to find motivation in Bobby’s death. That would make for one very sad and annoyed fan and I doubt I’d be alone on that. 

At the Chicago convention in October Jensen had mentioned a certain sandwich that he had to eat multiple times in an upcoming episode. He talked about how the bread was tough and cut up his lips because of the way Dean likes to shove food into his mouth. So when I saw the Pepperjack Turducken Slammer I was fairly sure it was the culprit. “The perfect storm of your top three edible birds”; it’s no surprise that Dean would be its perfect victim. 

Here’s what we know about the TDK Slammer; it drugs you and makes you so complacent that you couldn’t care less about anything. It leaves your internal organs swimming in a snot-like goo and turns you into a killing machine so hungry that you’d eat a cat’s head. That whole autopsy scene made me sick, by the way. So what’s the plan here? I’m assuming the Leviathan are trying to come up with a formula to create more Leviathan, right? They never come out and say it but they too ooze goo so it seems to fit. And the Leviathan can’t die so if they were going to build an army it would make the most sense to build one that can’t die, right? 



At this point this whole Leviathan creating more Leviathan storyline seems a bit reminiscent of last season’s Jefferson Starships and I was never a fan of the Mother of All storyline. So I’d like some more information about what this plan is and how it’s different. If the Leviathan can’t die then they’re already unstoppable. Even Crowley felt the need to partner with them which means he knows he can’t destroy them. Do they really need to waste their time with a formula to create more of themselves? And how many of them are there already? It seems like there are more and more every week. 

When Bobby is captured and taken to Dick’s office he finds folders with all sorts of maps and blueprints. Didn’t it seem in that moment like Bobby was realizing their plan? Or at least starting to put the pieces together? Do you think he was just realizing what we already know or was there more? It would be an interesting twist to give Bobby a breakthrough and put him in the hospital so he can’t share his newfound insight with Sam and Dean. Although, I’m never pro shooting Bobby. 

I’m not even sure what to think about Bobby getting shot. I’d say, “of course they can’t kill him” but I’ve been wrong before. (i.e. Ellen, Jo, Cas) The truth is they very well could kill Bobby. Death is not something Supernatural fears. After all, it rarely sticks. But there are those deaths we know to be permanent, the ones that come without deals attached to them. And if Bobby were to die from his gunshot wound it would most likely be a death of the permanent variety. If I had to guess though, I’d say this will serve as a make or break moment for Dean. He’ll have to decide whether he can handle losing someone else or not. He’ll have to decide whether to pull himself together or sink deeper into sadness. It may be just the motivation he needs to remember why he does what he does. I should emphasize that Dean can find that motivation whether or not Bobby actually dies. So let’s not kill him, okay? Not to say this is all about Dean. Sam obviously cares for Bobby too and it would be a significant loss for him. I just think the show’s emotional focus is on Dean right now and it could be a defining moment for him. What do you all think? They wouldn’t kill Bobby, would they? 



I’m so glad we won’t find out until December 2nd (Note my sarcastic tone).  I love a good cliffhanger but come on! It’s hard enough to wait seven days. If we have to wait, we might as well keep ourselves busy with conversation. So I want to know what you all thought of the episode? Were you also surprised that we weren’t actually dealing with the Jersey Devil? What do you make of the developments in the Leviathan story? Thoughts about Dean’s mental state? 

There were, as always, some other moments worth mentioning. 

*I didn’t realize there was such a thing as a “glamper.”  What an unusual and pointless concept.

*Brandon: “Do I look like a freaking hostess?
Dean: “Do you want to look like a hostess?”
Sam: “That didn’t really make sense, what you said…”

*Big Bird, Ken doll and creepy uncle. 

*Bobby: “a bunch of birds shoved up inside each other, you shouldn’t play God like that.”

*Bobby: “You don’t shoot Bambi, jackass. You shoot Bambi’s mother.”

*Dean: “I couldn’t give two shakes of a rat’s ass. Is that right? Does the rat shake their ass or is it something else?”

*Dean: “I feel great, best I’ve felt in a couple months. Cas, black goo, I don’t even care anymore. And you know what’s even better? I don’t care that I don’t care. I just want my damn slammer back.”



*Dean: “If I wasn’t so chilled right now I would puke.”

*Bobby: “You die before me and I’ll kill you.”

*“The Rise of Dick” – That whole montage was hilarious and classic Ben Edlund. 

*Bibbing is not a concept I can wrap my brain around at this point. How can you eat yourself? Where do you go?

 

 

 

 

Comments  

rmoats8621
# rmoats8621 2011-11-21 00:30
Interesting article and I liked this episode. Now, to address some of the issues that you brought up. I'm not sure if I agree that the Leviathan are building an army. I got the impression that there are lots of them already. I thought maybe they were trying to get a more subdued human population to munch on. During the conversation between Dick and the Dr., the Dr. mentioned that the test family was gaining weight during the trials and so that's how I came to that conclusion. You know...fatten up the human animal population for consumption.

As for Dean...I'm not sure that this is all that's going on with him. I just feel that there has got to be more going on. Sure he's depressed, but I feel that he's keeping something secret that he just doesn't want to face or admit to. I may be wrong, but that's how I feel.

Sam isn't out of the woods yet with all he's been dealing with. I'm still waiting for that other shoe to drop just like Dean. I don't think it's going to be pretty when it does.

Let's hope that Bobby isn't dead. That's going way too far and leaving them totally isolated. I don't care for that strategy at all. However, with Bobby getting hurt by the Leviathan's leader, that could push Sam and Dean to finally take some action although I think that they're in need of some help. This would be a good time for Cas, Death, Tessa, Chuck (God) and/or Crowley to appear and assist the boys (and Bobby) with this situation. What an awful mess to be sorted out and a perfect situation to leave us all in since it's almost hellatus! That's going to be some wait until January!
sofia
# sofia 2011-11-21 07:59
Now that you mention it, it makes total sense that the leviathan are simply trying to create a complacent human race to snack on. It would explain why they want to fatten them up as well. I mis-read the family as incomplete test subjects. I thought the leviathan were attempting to make the humans complacent so they wouldn't be alarmed when they transformed slowly into leviathan. But like I said, the leviathan don't need more leviathan. They're unstoppable as it is.

Thanks for clearing that up!
purplehairedwonder
# purplehairedwonder 2011-11-21 01:37
I also didn't get the impression the leviathans were making an army; my impression was more along the lines of complacent feeding stock, but there could very well be more to that.

As for Dean, I get the feeling that it wasn't just losing Cas, but watching Cas cross that one unforgivable line of hurting Sam and then having to watch on helplessly as Sam broke that really did it. Sam's always been his reason for going on even when times seemed darkest, but now Sam's got this proactive dealing thing going on that, once again, renders his presence (in his mind) moot. I think that this episode with Bobby is going to be what snaps him back into action, reminding him that he *does* have something to fight for. And I agree--he can come to that realization without Bobby dying, thank you very much!

As for Sam, I thought his conversation with Bobby was telling in a beautifully subtle way. The way he rubbed at his hand... I don't think he's as okay as he's letting on. But I see Sam as doing what Dean said and making their bond stone number one and building on it. He's hyper-focused on worrying about Dean and that keeps him stable. He can't let himself fall apart when Dean is spiraling. But I think we'll see some resolution with Dean's issues with whatever happens with Bobby and in the second half, Sam will break again once Dean is emotionally capable of helping him. And I don't think it'll be pretty.

Overall, wonderful episode. Was thrilled it turned into a mytharc episode and the script was full of Ben Edlund goodness. Now just don't kill Bobby and all will be well!
sofia
# sofia 2011-11-21 08:05
I agree that Dean is probably upset about watching Cas change and not being able to stop it. I also think he probably holds on to the guilt of not fully accepting Cas' apology and now it's too late. It's also got to be hard for Dean to cope with his depression while Sam seems to be doing so well. I wouldn't be surprised if Dean is hesitant to talk to Sam because he doesn't want to be a burden. Sam is still in a fragile mental state no matter how well he's handling it.
supernatfem76
# supernatfem76 2011-11-21 07:37
I agree with what others have said I don't want Bobby's Death to be the catalyst for Dean to feel he has a reason to still fight the good fight.
I wish I could be confident that Bobby will survive but SPN has a history of killing off characters that you really care about but the Winchesters would be so isolated if they did end up doing that.
I am just glad we don't have to wait until next year to see what happens to Bobby.
Sylvie
# Sylvie 2011-11-21 07:59
That was a great review of a great episode. Bobby! Oh. My. God. I did not see that coming, but as many others have pointed out, Ben Edlund loves to mess with us bigtime. But, please, don't kill Bobby!

Okay, rant over. I don't think that the Leviathan are building an army either. Seems more like they are building a farm, and fattening up the pigs for slaughter. And I think Bobby had it all pretty much figured out when he got shot. So, either he'll be in a coma for a while, or the other alternative (gulp). And I do agree that Dean can come to the realization of his own importance without Bobby dying, thank you very much.

Now to the funny. Big Bird, Ken doll and creepy uncle? I had tears streaming out of my eyes. Stoned-Dean, I love this guy. Actually I knew alot of those guys in my teens and twenties (don't judge me!), good times. Glampers...nuff said.

Now comes the wait, two whole weeks! Ah well, I have my American family visiting for Thanksgiving (I'm in Canada), so I'll be busy entertaining. I'll try not to think about SPN, if that's in any way possible.
Ginger
# Ginger 2011-11-21 10:50
I, too, think they are building farms. The map Bobby looked at had three red dots on it, and I am assuming those were the locations of the Biggerston harvesting farms. It's hard to tell, though, and here we are at mid-season. I'd like to know what the game plan is before the long winter break comes. (Of course, last season we didn't know until the last three episodes of the season.)

Dean's mental state? It's been a long time building and, as much as I HATE it, I think Lisa/Ben and then Cas were the straws. I was really wishing that I would never hear the words Lisa/Ben again, but I'm never that lucky.

From what has been shown on-screen, Sam's problems aren't too connected to Dean's funk, other than the normal worry about Sam and the other shoe. Worrying about Sam has been going on for five or six years now, and nothing really new has been shown this year since the second episode.

I know Dean does not trust people easily and Cas did betray him, but I'm having a hard time caring about Cas's betrayal, because I don't understand why Dean isn't mad at Cas for what he permanently did to Sam, instead of being depressed that he lost a non-human who he thought was a friend. Why isn't he just chalking this up to confirmation that 'all angels are dicks' like he used to think?

P.S. I think I don't want to think about this any more, because then I'm going to have to disagree with the direction the season is taking again (like S6), and I don't want to do that, since I've been relieved that S7 has been so much better than S6.

Anyway, I seem to always enjoy the BE episodes because of their witty dialogue and he writes both brothers really well. I was satisfied, but not shocked, and the twists were okay. Bobby getting injured didn't surprise me at all. And, no, I don't think he will be killed off. Even if he is, death has been taken off the table in the series, so we know we'll see him again and again.
sofia
# sofia 2011-11-21 12:16
Don't think about it too much Ginger! Do what every you need to enjoy the show as much as possible! :-)

I think it's a tough line for Dean to walk being mad at Cas for what he did to Sam and his other betrayals and also mourning the loss of a friend who figured out his mistakes a bit too late. That mix of emotions alone could drive someone to drink. Not to mention (the dreaded) Lisa and Ben (who I actually liked. Sorry!) and the myriad of other things he's holding on to.

Ok. Now stop thinking about it! :-)
percysowner
# percysowner 2011-11-21 13:48
I hope you don't mind if I think about it for a minute.

I do have a problem with the weight being given to Castiel's betrayal. I understand from a dramatic POV that Castiel was an important, long term character and that the writers feel the need to deal with him and to have Dean have deep issues about Castiel. However, when I look at the whole timeline of the Cas Dean friendship, I just disconnect. The first year of their relationship Castiel threatened to return Dean to Hell, tried to kill Anna, who Dean was sleeping with, kidnapped Dean in order to make him torture Alistair and was knowing complicit in starting the Apocalypse. I don't know how aware Dean is about Cas's role in letting Sam out, but he did know that Cas kidnapped him AGAIN and put him in the Green Room in order to make Dean play his part in the coming battle. Yes, Cas then changed alliances, but I don't see how Dean can consider Cas a friend for most of season four.

During season five, the second year of their friendship, Cas spent at least 50% of the time looking for God. There was little friendly interaction. He did show up as an ally during the big battles, but after Abandon All Hope Dean was starting to spiral into depression and Castiel was unable to help with that. I don't see where there was TIME for Cas and Dean to become real friends.

Then we have the year when Soulless Sam was working with the Campbells. It is cannon as far as I know that Castiel didn't even contact Dean during that time. IRL, friendships wane without contact. They may not die, but they become less close. When Castiel finally did contact Dean he was running a war and didn't have time to be a friend. Most of his interactions with Dean were when Cas needed something Dean could help with, or the occasional true emergency for Sam and Dean which many times actually coincided with his own agenda, even if the boys didn't know it.

I also have trouble with the mourning for Cas. To me it cheapens whatever mourning he had for Sam. We never SAW Dean mourn for Sam, so this constant reminder that Dean feels bad that Cas died just sits wrong with me. Again, I do know that a lot of this has to do with dramatic necessity, but it still feels wrong.

I do think the loss of Lisa and Ben, whether they were what Dean really wanted or simply the idea of what he wanted is playing hugely into his current state of mind. I think the hits from his life have simply become too much, but I really have trouble with the importance of Cas in this scenario.

I'll leave it alone now.
sofia
# sofia 2011-11-21 14:43
You bring up some really good points. Dean and Castiel didn't have much time to bond over the past three seasons. I guess I've just always seen their relationship as quality over quantity. In the time they have spent together I think they've taught each other some important things. And they've made all kinds of sacrifices for each other. I think I enjoy their relationship more knowing that it started on much rockier ground. It was great to see how far they'd come and it made it all the more sad to watch their relationship revert back to its old state.

I understand why you have trouble mourning Cas and you've got every right to feel that way. I just think I see their relationship in a different light.
Ginger
# Ginger 2011-11-21 17:15
And don't forget, Percyowner, that Cas harshly scolded Dean about getting Sam's soul back (not to mention ruthlessly collapsing the head wall), telling Dean he should have just killed Sam. All through S6, the only reason Cas kept track of the brothers was to spy on them so they wouldn't stop he and Crowley's plans of getting the souls out of Purgatory.

Friendships should go both ways, and I'm not seeing any benefit for Dean in having known Cas at all over the years.

Okay, that's it for Cas. I hope not to see him again, but if it's between Cas or Lisa/Ben, I'll take Cas showing up again.
Bevie
# Bevie 2011-11-23 15:16
I'd really be interested in exactly WHY you have such hatred for Lisa and Ben?

What awful things did they do, besides taking Dean in and giving him a home when he had just lost his brother who meant the world to him? And even loved him knowing how devastated and unstable he was at the time? And probably kept him from killing himself, either with a gun to his head or being careless on purpose on a hunt.
A
# A 2011-11-21 19:38
I think the fact that Dean possibly "shouldn't" have considered Castiel a friend doesn't really have an impact on the fact that he did. The emotional reality is that Dean read something in Cas that belied the obvious reasons he shouldn't trust him, the ally/antagonist dichotomy of their S4 relationship, that caused him to connect with Cas on a deeper level.

Whether we think he should've, he did care for him. And it would be wrong to ignore that in the aftermath of his death.

As for the comparison with not seeing mourning for Sam, we saw what his grief for Sam had done to him, just like we saw what his grief for Dean had done to Sam in S4. I don't feel remotely cheated on that score, and I think it would be petty of the writers to say Dean may never grieve for anyone again just because there was a time lapse after Sam's death. Dean is a person with a big heart, who can love a lot of people. His love for Cas, his love for Bobby, his love for Lisa and Ben, none of those diminish his love for Sam.
sofia
# sofia 2011-11-22 07:56
I couldn't agree more with that! Dean is capable of caring for multiple people and I have never once thought that took anything away from his love for Sam. It's the thread weaved through the entire series. Yes, I would have liked to see what Dean's life was like without Sam but honestly, I already know. Drinking, nightmares, searching for ways to bring him back and a lot of quiet suffering.
Janiebee64
# Janiebee64 2011-11-21 11:13
Great review. I think part of the Leviathan's big plan is to fatten up humans..like Sylvie said a farm and humans are pigs being fattened for the slaughter. I also think Bobby saw something in those files..that plus more maybe. I really don't think they will kill him off(please..ple ase..don't kill him off), but they may make him incapacitated with this knowledge stuck in his head..and the boys without him for awhile.

Sam's barely holding it together, so I suspect his crap will hit the fan later in the season. As long as Dean is spiraling Sam will hold it together. I'm wondering if both stories will reach that breaking point at the same time...we'll see.

I loved this episode..classi c Ben Edlund and we advanced the mytharc nicely. Two week!!!..this is hard. I have a feeling whatever cliffhanger they leave us with after episode 10 will be even harder.

I agree..Dean could get his head back in the game without Bobby's death..so please NO KILLING BOBBY!! Bobby seriously injured would work. At least that gives him a chance for recovery.
Ginger
# Ginger 2011-11-21 17:17
When I watched this episode, I thought "long pigs is my word of the day." (Metamorphasis) .
Sylvie
# Sylvie 2011-11-22 07:49
Yes thank you, I didn't remember what that hunter had called them. That is a good term for it...long pig.
Lashmore
# Lashmore 2011-11-21 19:20
Is it just me, or did everyone miss something in the last few minutes?

One thing one learns when watching well-made tv is that camera focus tells more of a hidden story than any dialogue.

The focus on Dick loading his gun was more camera focused than you usually see for such actions, then in-between shots focusing on that fancy little pistol, then bobby using it, then, dick using it on bobby...

The point? Bobby's hat, doesn't that bullet hole kinda look like it's lined with black goo, rather than blood?

Several theories, the bullets carry infection of sorts, or, rewind to bobby's house burning down, say leviathan ate bobby then absorbed his memories, his thoughts, feelings and unlike most breakfast hosts for the levi's....the leviathan was taken over by all of bobby...and became bobby.

I would not be surprised if Bobby sits up in the back of the van holding his head together as it heals spouting "balls."

...just a thought...
Lashmore
# Lashmore 2011-11-21 19:31
PS my theory would offer I beleive more original ways to institute moral conflict between the three boys without rehashing what they've done throughout the series a dozen times.

If bobby is a levi, even if taken over by bobby...he's still a levi. Do you kill him, do you lock him up, do you send the elviathan to eat the other levi's, what does bobby feel about that idea.

Does bobby want to kill himself when he realises he's not...bobby.

A lot of new variances of conflict and drama....I'd hat for them to just take the easy road out like they seem to do with a lot of cliffhangers.
Ginger
# Ginger 2011-11-21 20:22
Quote:
PS my theory would offer I beleive more original ways to institute moral conflict between the three boys without rehashing what they've done throughout the series a dozen times.

If bobby is a levi, even if taken over by bobby...he's still a levi. Do you kill him, do you lock him up, do you send the elviathan to eat the other levi's, what does bobby feel about that idea.

Does bobby want to kill himself when he realises he's not...bobby.

A lot of new variances of conflict and drama....I'd hat for them to just take the easy road out like they seem to do with a lot of cliffhangers.
If Bobby was a Levi; first, he would be dead already and; secondly, it would fit in with Dean's statement in The Mentalists that there are just some people you cannot kill.

I don't think that a Levi would willingly help the brothers by killing Dick and Edgar, before leaving the dilemna of Dean being confronted with not being able to kill Bobby and Sam having to step in to do it (like Dean did with Amy).

Then you have Jody there in the wings waiting to be a love interest for Bobby (and possibly his 'nurse'. What would be done with Jody?).

BTW, I still don't get why Bobby would give Jody a Levi head to throw off a bridge...that's still just weird.

I guess I don't see them going in that direction.
Lashmore
# Lashmore 2011-11-21 20:29
You forget that the leviathans assume all the knowledge of their meals, to say that absorption cannot sometimes go in reverse, the strength of bobby's soul being taken in...

It's not off the cards that bobby's essence was too strong and literally took over the leviathan. It's still bobby.

I always thought the house burn scene, then the sudden arrival of bobby being fine seemed odd. Even bobby wouldn't know what happened to him due to the painful transition.

Otherwise, I still find his house burning scene to be half assed, it seemed to hint at something more than what they have so far said..*shrug*
Lashmore
# Lashmore 2011-11-21 19:33
Oh also, bibbing scene...reminds me of Team America movie.

"Now I've seen everything."

"Really? Have you seen a man eat his own head?"

"No."

"Then you haven't seen everything, and neither have we!"

Well...Bobby has seen someone eat their own head. Love it.