WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

Mallena's Supernatural Musings: 10.05 "Fan Fiction"

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 3

Fan Video of the Week: Supernatural Reflections "The British Invasion”

Supernatural Bits & Pieces September 17, 2017

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 2

Mallena's Supernatural Musings: 3.11 "Mystery Spot"

Check out all our San Diego Comic Con coverage, including on scene reports from Nightsky!  

 

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

Sep 21 2017

We have an extended version of the trailer!

Sep 18 2017

Jeffrey Dean Morgan and Hillary Burton showed off her baby bump at last night's Emmy Awards ceremony

Sep 18 2017

The actor, who once played Gordon Walker, won an Emmy last night for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Dra

Sep 17 2017

We have a copy of the EW preview for Supernatural and BTS pictures of episode 6.

Sep 13 2017

We're getting close. The CW released a short promo.

Sep 12 2017

EW just published a big spoiler for season 13. TVLine Spoilers added!

Sep 12 2017

September 13 is Supernatural Day!

Sep 08 2017

TVLine released it's fall preview and had this to say about Supernatural

Sep 06 2017

With the DVD for season 12 hitting the shelves yesterday, several oulets have posted deleted scenes

Sep 04 2017

Misha Collins made the announcement today.

Sep 01 2017

Stories continue to come out on Jensen Ackles fundraiser to help Texas after the devastation of Hurr

Aug 31 2017

The Supernatural Family's work to aid in disaster rescue and recovery efforts has even been noticed

Aug 30 2017

Buddy TV posted a new deleted scene from last season.

Aug 28 2017

Jensen and Danneel Ackles are spearheading an effort to help victims of Hurricane Harvey

Aug 24 2017

We have titles for episodes through 12.

Aug 23 2017

TV Line has some spoilers for this season.

Aug 23 2017

There are a lot of Behing-The-Scenes shots from episodes 3 of Supernatural season 13!

Aug 20 2017

The cast is wishing Misha a Happy Birthday!

Aug 18 2017

Christine Kilmer's latest vlog is up and it's seems rather timely given the latest events.  In

Aug 12 2017

Spoiler TV posted the titles for the first nine episodes and episode 16

Aug 12 2017

Recently, I had to shut down the site because of horrible, negative, disrespectful fighting in our c

Aug 09 2017

We have casting news for season 13.

Jul 24 2017

Nightsky posted her video of the Kansas performance at Comic Con.

Jul 23 2017

We may be getting several of these today.

Jul 23 2017

The cast for Wayward Sisters has been announced.

Jul 23 2017

The 2017 San Diego Comic Con "Supernatural" panel was one for the ages.  A surprise concert, a

Jul 23 2017

Today was a very special panel involving one of our prominent #SPNFAMILY members, Genevieve Padaleck

Jul 22 2017

The photos from Nightsky have been coming in slowly and we are keeping an archive of everything take

Jul 22 2017

The Tick has had a big presence at Comic Con.

Jul 22 2017

EW sat down with Jared, Jensen and Misha at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

The Facebook Live chat with Jared, Jensen and Misha is now available.

Jul 21 2017

Catching up with Supernatural Alumni at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

Today was the big Timeless panel at San Diego Comic Con.  Our master Eric Kripke was there to t

Jul 20 2017

The cast will appear live tomorrow, July 21, 2017 and will be seen on the Supernatural Facebook page

Jul 20 2017

The first clip from Jared and Jensen's appearance on Conan O'Brien

Jul 20 2017

The WB has released the poster for next season.

Jul 19 2017

The Conan O'Brien show has put out a teaser for tonight's appearance.

Jul 16 2017

Mark Pellegrino is in the running for a Tean Choice Award

Jul 16 2017

We have the first spoilers from this year's TV Guide article covering Comic Con.

Jul 15 2017

Warner Brothers is having a Gift Pack Giveaway.

Jul 14 2017

We have the images on the Comic Con bags for this year's Comic Con.

Jul 12 2017

Conan O'Brien is going to Comic Con and he's going to have Jared and Jensen on his show.

Jul 12 2017

Jensen and others are posting on social media from Vancouver. No Spoilers.

Jul 12 2017

San Diego Comic Con must be just around the corner!  Each year at this time we get some awesome

Jul 08 2017

Rogue Events, the company that hosted the Asylum conventions, is going out of business.

Jun 29 2017

IMDB has posted casting for episode 13.01

Jun 29 2017

It's official, Supernatural is coming to Comic Con this year.

WFB Feature Articles

Sep 21 2017 | Mallena

It’s Rob Benedict’s birthday on Sept 21 and it wasn’t easy picking the story to review that fe

Read more...
Sep 20 2017 | LK

 Welcome to Part 3 of my tale of attending my very first Supernatural convention! You'll want t

Read more...
Sep 18 2017 | LK

 

" I write about the power of trying, because I want to be okay with failing. I write about

Read more...
Sep 17 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural around the web this week.

Read more...
Sep 15 2017 | LK

Welcome to part 2 of my tale of attending my first Supernatural convention! If you missed Part 1, it

Read more...
Sep 14 2017 | Mallena

Richard Speight, Jr.’s birthday was on September 4th and in his honor, I’m writing a review of o

Read more...
Sep 13 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #4

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way. It's a qu

Read more...
Sep 12 2017 | LK

Introduction

 

Boy, this will be a long one! That is probably the sentence I will hear

Read more...
Sep 11 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.17 "The British Invasion". Once again

Read more...
Sep 10 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week

Read more...
Sep 09 2017 | LK

 

" For there is no friend like a sister in calm or stormy weather; To cheer one on the tediou

Read more...
Sep 08 2017 | Elle

One of the last Supernatural episodes of season 12 that was more formulaic and standard MOTW than bi

Read more...
Sep 07 2017 | Mallena

 

Who loves the idea of time travel? I do!  The possibilities are endless as I contemplat

Read more...
Sep 06 2017 | LK

 

"Don't call the world dirty because you forgot to clean your glasses.” — Joseph Addi

Read more...
Sep 04 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.16 "Ladies Drink Free". Once again I h

Read more...
Sep 03 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural and Family in the news this week!

Read more...
Sep 01 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #3

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a qu

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Percysowner

What are Supernatural fans up to? Here's the latest scoop as of August, 2017!

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Alice

My choices for part one were revealed, so without further delay, here are the Supernatural Season Tw

Read more...
Aug 28 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for Supernatural! For 12.15, "Somewhere Between Heave

Read more...
Aug 27 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 26 2017 | Nightsky

One of the unique attractions of San Diego Comic-Con is wandering the vendor floor looking at the am

Read more...
Aug 25 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #2

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a quick a

Read more...
Aug 24 2017 | Mallena

This week, I’ve been musing about family dramas.  There are many great examples of the genre

Read more...
Aug 21 2017 | Alice

Today I was utterly dismayed to hear about the closure of a long time fan site which the Wincheste

Read more...
Aug 19 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 18 2017 | Alice

Just like every year, The WFB doesn't stop with just the fan choice awards!  Your friendly neig

Read more...

WFB Motivational Posters

KungFu.jpg

Nightsky's New Book!


 
This week’s episode is another stand-alone MOTW who just happens to be an Egyptian god named Osiris (guest star Faran Tahir) who puts Dean on trial for his past. So who is Osiris…. really?
 
Osiris is a mythological Supreme god and judge of the dead, usually identified as the god of the afterlife, and the underworld. He was killed at the hands of his brother and was resurrected by the magical powers of his wife, Isis.  The symbol of resurrection and eternal life, he was the provider of fertility and prosperity to the living. He is described as not only a merciful judge of the dead in the afterlife, but also the underworld agency that granted all life.  

He hardly seems like the monster the show has him depicted as, but the SPN version of this Osiris is anything but merciful.

pastedGraphic.pdf
 
As Dean and Sam investigate a series of bizarre murders, they discover Osiris…or more to the point, Osiris discovers Dean.  Seems he is behind the deaths which he inflicts on his victims after he judges them for their past mistakes and finds them guilty.  So, how does he find his victims? According to Bobby, he hones in on guilt so Dean just stands out like a beacon to the god.
 
pastedGraphic_1.pdf
 
Osiris decides the older Winchester is the next to stand trial and Sam gets to finally be a lawyer, the profession he was originally going into in the pilot of the series.  Yeah…..that’s a long way back! 
 
pastedGraphic_2.pdf
   
Things take a nasty turn for the boys when Osiris introduces a few witnesses to testify against Dean.  One surprise witness is Jo Harvelle (played by Alona Tal).
 
pastedGraphic_3.pdf
 
Let’s do a quick trip back in time.  Jo Harvelle is the daughter of Ellen and Bill Harvelle.  Bill was killed while hunting with John Winchester, which initially Ellen held against the boys.  Jo wanted to be a hunter and set out on her own in “No Exit” (2.06) against Ellen’s wishes, but by “Good God Y'All” (5.02), Ellen and Jo are a hunting team.  In “Abandon All Hope” (5.10), Ellen and Jo team up with Dean, Sam and Bobby and both Ellen and Jo are killed while taking out Meg’s hellhounds to save the boys….a  loss that Dean has blamed himself for ever since.   
 
pastedGraphic_4.pdf
 
It was a heart wrenching scene Dean and Jo shared when they had to part, as there were always undertones of a possible relationship between the two.  
 
The promo released last Friday leads off with a few scenes from Jo’s death including Dean and her parting kiss before the store explodes with Jo and Ellen inside.
 
pastedGraphic_5.pdf
 
The promo also show Dean in a bar talking to Mia (played by Emilie Ullerup) about his guilt.  No idea what role Mia has in the episode, but I hope she turns out to be on the boys side.  Really looks like they will need all the help they can get.
 
pastedGraphic_6.pdf
 
We see Osiris on a street corner lurking seemingly in wit for a woman he sneaks up behind.  I’m guessing one of his other victims.
 
 
pastedGraphic_7.pdf
 
 
We see Bobby warning dean about Osiris MO of hunting up guilt-ridden people and Dean in a bar drinking with Osiris looking on.
 
There is also a scene of Dean telling Sam that Osiris is going to ‘sick Jo after him’ which must mean Sam lost the trial and that Osiris found Dean guilty.  Right after his comment, Jo appears behind him. 
 
pastedGraphic_9.pdf
 
We don’t know how the victims are killed, but it makes sense to have a person wronged by the guilt do the dastardly deed.  
 
She talks to a disconsolate Dean about an ‘eye for an eye’ as she walks to the stove, turns on the gas and is posed to strike a light, with apparently no objection from Dean who appears to be right next to her.  At that point, the clip ends.
 
pastedGraphic_10.pdf

I’m guessing Sam is MIA or has been incapacitated in some fashion.  So it is Bobby to the rescue, or does Dean come to his senses just in time?  Guess we wait till Friday for that answer.
 
The CW releases a second promo for the episode entitled “Everyone Judges,” in which Dean questions his mission on this hunt. Don’t some people deserve to be judged, he wonders. And, yes, Dean includes himself in this group.
 
pastedGraphic_11.pdf
 
Coming out of a motel, Sam sees inconsistency in Dean.  Dean seems to ‘like’ this ghost’s choice of victims.  Seems he only chooses, in Dean’s words, “…a drunk driver, a Michael Vick, a murderer…”  He claims to ‘have a hard time not routing for the ghosts on this one.’  Seems he is losing confidence in the case they are on.  
 
Sam reminds Dean that Dean has said it himself, “It’s not on us to judge.”  Which Dean has to agree with initially, but then says it a lot of crap, because people do it all the time.  Dean says he can’t ignore what that guy did and Sam replies “we shot people Dean, more than two.”  Dean agrees and says when those ghosts come to kick his ass; they’ll have a compelling case.  (Ohhh…be careful what you say Dean.  Sounds like you are agreeing to be judge for your past actions….exactly what this episode is all about!)  
 
Dean continues he doesn’t want to quit the job, but would just like one uncomplicated day doing it. (Like that would ever happen. [Smile])  Sam, exasperated, gives up the discussion and says he’s heading to check out the barn (an apparent lead they have) and would like Dean to come with him.  (I’m guessing that will be the barn Osiris is holding his trials in.) Dean says he’s heading to check out the bar (another lead). Sam immediately wants to know if it’s “for work or drink”… Dean retorts, smartly that he hasn’t decided.  
 
pastedGraphic_12.pdf
 
In the earlier promo, we do see Dean talking with Mia in a bar about guilt and also a bar is where Osiris sees Dean so maybe most guilt-ridden people go to bars to drown their sorrows and that is a good hunting ground for the god to choose his victims.   At any rate, this promo seems to be in the earlier part of the episode and sets us up for the doom and gloom about to be played out.  
 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 
Cast (IMDb) includes Jensen Ackles, Jared Padalecki, Jim Beaver, Alona Tal (Jo Harvelle), Faran Tahir (Osiris) Emilie Ullerup (Mia) 
 
Official synopsis: Sam and Dean investigate a string of gruesome murders and discover the Egyptian god Osiris (guest star Faran Tahir) is behind the deaths. The vengeful god is putting people on trial for their past mistakes and killing them if found guilty. Osiris hones in on Dean’s guilt and decides he’s the next to stand trial. Sam steps in as Dean’s lawyer, but both brothers are unprepared when Osiris calls an unexpected witness – Jo (guest star Alona Tal). Written by CW Publicity  
 
Executive Producer Robert Singer directed the episode and, of course, he is not new to “Supernatural.”  He has been with the series for all of its 6 yr history and during that time produced 148 episodes and directed 20 of them.  His credits include “Phantom Traveler,” “All Hell Breaks Loose” parts 1 and 2, and last year’s finale, “The Man Who Knew Too Much.”  
 
The episode was penned by Adam Glass, who is relatively new to the series.  He joined the writing staff last year and wrote the episodes “Mommy Dearest,” “Like a Virgin,” “All Dogs Go To Heaven,” and “Two and a Half Men.”  
 
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

BTS photos
 
Susan Glittens has some nice photos of a location shoot taken during the time this episode was filmed.  She also got some nice photos of the night shoot that was part of the episode…complete with smoke machines!
 
And more on-set photos from a night shoot were released by JustJared.  In these the photographers saw Osiris menaces a woman and watch Sam rescue her. At the same time Dean gets grabbed from behind by another “demon”?   The actress Emilie Ullerup was also filmed in this scene which looks like the scene in the above promo where Osiris is lurking behind a wall to attack an unsuspecting victim.  
 
pastedGraphic_13.pdf
 
 
Photo stills for the episode can be found here
 
Trailer:


 
Preview clip:



Sera Gamble Preview:


 
-------------------------------------------------------------------
 
This being a stand-alone MOTW episode, not much information was released.  We see more mythology again, but this time in the form of Egyptian rituals.  Egyptian mythology is very intriguing, a lot of fun and not used nearly enough in film and TV. On the other hand, this sounds a lot like “You Can’t Handle the Truth”, which was good, but the mythological component, the pagan goddess Veritas, was given a very short part and in the end reduced to a mundane cannibal, not at all her real function.  The merciful Osiris doesn’t seem to be getting much of a break with the “Supernatural” writers either.
 
Sam being a lawyer and defending his older brother has a lot of interesting potential. We’ve never seen Sam use his knowledge of the law much since the earlier years, and never in a court setting…so to speak.   It would be a good chance for Sam to voice all the good Dean has done over the years, as I suspect Dean will not be a very cooperative defendant.  Dean truly does mistakenly believe he was responsible for Ellen and Jo’s death, and if, in the end, Dean comes to his own conclusion that he is a worthy person and that the deaths were the fault of Lucifer, that would be quite an accomplishment. But given the *hints* written between the lines in the promos we saw, that is not likely to happen.  One thing this show seriously lacks is happy endings.  
 
I’m also very curious about the role Mia plays in the story.  She is not a mythology figure and does appear to be interested in Dean, so she is the wild card here.  Is she working with Osiris and helping him to scope out potential clients, or is she a hunter on the same scent as the boys?  If the later, she could throw a huge monkey wrench into the plot.
 
Also wonder if Bobby is more involved that just talking on the phone.  He does seem to have recovered at least some of his books in this episode.  
 
As for the return of Jo, I will forever miss Ellen and Jo.  For me killing them off was one of the series’ biggest mistakes.  One thing this series could use is strong female characters, (and no, I don’t mean as romantic interests for the boys) and that is what Ellen and Jo as hunters could have provided.  As far as Jo and Dean’s last kiss, Jensen Ackles commented, “It’s a heartwarming scene between the two of them.”  One thing the series does well is sadness. I suspect that is what we will see this time too. 
 
So guess we will all have to tune in Friday to see how Dean and Sam fair with the god of the underworld.
 
HAPPY EPISODE EVERYONE!  Hope you all enjoy it.

For spoiler updates, follow me on Twitter at @sblgn