Sam Winchester, with totally ripped body, wearing nothing but a skimpy towel? (Drooling, picking jaw up from floor). Uh...ooh...I'm sorry, you wanted something from me? A review? "Hell House," right? Well, you see, there's this one scene where Sam comes out of the shower wearing nothing but a skimpy towel!

HHSamtowel1

"Hell House" is a huge fan favorite. For one, it's the first comedy episode for the series. It isn't "roll on the floor" funny like "Tall Tales" or "Bad Day at Black Rock," but it's nice to get something lighthearted after all the recent heaviness.  Finally the Winchesters pull out the childish pranks. That's more like what brothers do! The banter, the foolish behavior, pure gold. Dean:  People believe in Santa Claus. How come I'm not gettin' hooked up every Christmas? Sam: Cause you're a bad person. Oh, speaking of Sam, we finally see what's under all those layers he's been wearing. Wow! 

HHBackview

There's a ghost story somewhere here too, something about an imagined spirit that ends up killing people for real. It's clever, keeps me guessing, and has a great end result. The part that got me howling is the mysterious symbol on the wall. Dean knows he's seen it somewhere before, but Sam has no idea. Well of course not, it's on a Blue Oyster Cult album. Score one for the classic rock aficionado! Also, Mordecai is actually pretty scary. Good job on that for being a fake ghost. We also meet the totally oafish Hell Hounds, who later evolve into the "Ghostfacers." I've said it before and I'll say it again, they're the Anti-Winchesters.  They even have the Anti-Winchester car.  You got to admire Ed and Harry's mantra for ghost hunting though. WWBD: What would Buffy do? 

Let's see, what else? I know, Sam's in a towel...never mind. This is a fun episode to nitpick. There are a lot of little mistakes that trigger things like "the glue on the beer bottle shouldn't still be wet" debate.  Plus the cuckoo clock is reversed in different shots. How about an extra calling Dean "Jensen"?   It's also the biggest location blunder in the series. Richardson, Texas (Jensen's home town BTW) is not some backwoods country town. It's a bustling suburb of Dallas.  Very few towns in Texas look that lush. Nowhere in Vancouver looks flat and barren? They should have filmed at the Kent farm. Ah well, the locale is a great setup for a later inside joke from "Ghostfacers." "Hey, aren't they those assholes from Texas?" Ha! 

My favorite part? Oh, I know!  You see, while Dean puts something in Sam's pants as a joke, Sam steps out of the bathroom, glistening wet, showing off those rock hard pecks and abs, wearing nothing but a skimpy towel! I know, how cool is that? Who would have known that under those layers- Oh, I mentioned that already? 

HHSamtowel2

Overall grade, I don't know, it's always hard to judge the lighter ones. For the extreme gratuity alone, I'll go A.


Comments  

Alice
# Alice 2010-01-27 15:51
Yes, for some reason my train of thought this afternoon went barrelling into the gutter. I'll just go ahead and apologize to Randal now. When a hot she babe comes out of a shower topless on this show, I'll post that just for you! :D :D
elle
# elle 2010-01-27 15:55
Wow, I haven't watched this one in a while but I will definately be throwing the DVD in tonight! I love this episode - it's awesome. And yes, the Sam-in-a-towel scene is....well, it makes me need to take a deep breath and renders me incoherent.
I didn't catch the "Jensen" slip up though - so I'll be watching for that!
Randal
# Randal 2010-01-27 16:12
I'm glad you recognize my pain and will rectify it at first opportunity, are you listening Kripke, just-showered babes aplenty, bring 'em on! :D

Blatant objectification of my entire gender aside, I absolutely love this episode for all the reasons you point out, though one additional fandom nitpick: given Dean's love of classic rock, there's really no way he wouldn't immediately recognize the BOC logo. That's almost like a metal fan not recognizing Iron Maiden's Eddie.
Anene
# Anene 2010-01-27 16:44
Eh..I disagree Alice, that towel wasn't skimpy enough. 8-)
Sablegreen
# Sablegreen 2010-01-27 17:04
One of the best episodes. Love the towel shot. But I agree with Anene...not skimmy enough. ...sorry Randal. Love the tricks the boys play on the Ghostfacers at the end. I'll give it an A+. Keep posting the towel shots please. :P
AndreaW
# AndreaW 2010-01-27 17:28
Randal, my apologies too. But certain things just have to be said, you know. My poor Brazilian English is not good enough to express the glory of the towel scene, so I'll concentrate on the smiles. Needless to mention - because no one here is blind - our boys have the most radiant smiles in the universe and they do smile a lot in this episode, which sadly doesn't happen a lot as of late. And the laughter. Sam laughing at the bottle scene is priceless. Plus the cute little scene at the end when they both laugh at the Ghostfacers' expense. Pure gold. Ah! Happy times...
Alice, if you ever bother to, a top 10 smiles list would be very appreciated. Think about it. :lol:
Karen
# Karen 2010-01-27 17:37
Hi Alice
Thought i'd take a quick look before going off to another joyous night at work. I'm so glad I did. You had me on the floor just from your first paragraph...and those screen prints. I think I'm going to have a hard time concentrating on all the monitors I have watch tonight. I think I'm going to be visualizing something far more appealing. Thank-you.

Sorry Randal...

As for this episode...just loved the banter, pranks, just about everything in this one.
Ardeospina
# Ardeospina 2010-01-27 19:03
All those layers really do those men a disservice. Less is definitely more. I mean, they are on the CW. Aren't towel scenes written into their contracts or something? ;-)

I really did like the prank war, though. The one I wish we could have seen was Dean's "Nair in the shampoo bottle." What an idea! It makes me wonder which of the writers had that prank pulled on them.
Jasminka
# Jasminka 2010-01-28 10:18
Who you gonna call – the sweet Lord of the Rings, of course!! Awesome episode – it introduced us to those endearing Ghostfacers, and the whole Winchester Prank Business. Mean, mean Dean assaulting Sam with itching powder, naughty Sam fastening Dean’s hand to the beer bottle with – ähem glue, ouch…

Overall fun episode, I’ll run with you’re a.

Randal, no apologies from here, sorry, sweetie. There’s plenty of eye candy with the female guest stars (remember Casey, her clothes did not hide her beautiful shape, but enhanced it), while the Winchesters are well-wrapped with layers. I agree with Ardeospina, those layers do them a disservice.

Who would have thought that the tall, lanky Sam would look like this… well, there have been clues (ever seen his arms… he probably doesn’t like to wear his sleeves rolled up just enough to show those gorgeous forearms for no reason. Jared might have a clause in his contract about that…)

Alice, it seems I’m plodding along with you in the gutter today… what the heck. I’m a woman, dammit... ;-), and I like a handsome man.... Does that make me a bad person?

Jas
Jasminka
# Jasminka 2010-01-28 10:19
Ah, grammar demon strikes again - of course I meant: I'm with your A!

:twisted: grrrrrrrrrr Jas
AndreaW
# AndreaW 2010-01-28 12:53
Jas, since you mentioned Sam's arms, I read an interview with Genevieve the other day. She was asked what was like to shoot those hot scenes - you what I mean - with Jared. Actually, she said she was a little nervous about his size. She mentioned that his arm alone was like the size of her body. Ah, some people are lucky...
Randal
# Randal 2010-01-28 13:04
I thought us men were supposed to be the classless gutter wanderers? Ladies, I'm impressed! Ah, Casey, sigh. 8-)
Bevie
# Bevie 2010-01-28 14:21
God, I adore this episode so much. The pranks, the laughing thingy with the fish, the banter, the spoon in the mouth, the boogie on the steering wheel, the smiles and the laughter. And last but not least Ed and Harry the "professionals".

Just pure fun all around and I give it an A+ for the sheer enjoyment given.

Randal, I too thought Casey was absolutely gorgeous and don't blame you a bit down there in your gutter. I'm down there in the gutter too, whenever Dean takes his shirt off. Sob! So far and few between. :shock:

And Alice, I second the suggestion that you do a top ten of the best smiles of Supernatural. :lol:
Bevie
# Bevie 2010-01-28 14:23
God, I adore this episode so much. The pranks, the laughing thingy with the fish, the banter, the spoon in the mouth, the boogie on the steering wheel, the smiles and the laughter. And last but not least Ed and Harry the "professionals".

Just pure fun all around and I give it an A+ for the sheer enjoyment given.

Randal, I too thought Casey was absolutely gorgeous and don't blame you a bit down there in your gutter. I'm down there in the gutter too, whenever Dean takes his shirt off. Sob! So far and few between. :shock:

And Alice, I second the suggestion that you do a top ten of the best smiles of Supernatural. :lol:
Bevie
# Bevie 2010-01-28 14:25
Sorry for the double post. Verification was driving me batty today. :oops:
Jasminka
# Jasminka 2010-01-28 18:34
You know, Randal, when a lady steps into the gutter, she does it with style.... ;-) - and killer heels... Jas
Jasminka
# Jasminka 2010-01-28 18:36
P.S.: because you just never know what will wait for you there.... zombie alligators? By the way - Suze, where are you!?! Come back, miss your pointy comments!
Freebird
# Freebird 2010-01-28 19:10
Learned a new word here today: skimpy. Thank you Alice! And what is Nair?

I´ll join the gutter-club, there´s a good reason and it´s good to be in such nice company :P Randal, I´m sure there´s a gutter-club for you, too here, so far the actresses have been really gorgeous. BTW, you´re not the only male around here, are you? Come on, guys, de-lurk, we know you´re there! :-)

I loved this epi, the pranks, the banter, the smiles (top 10 would be great :-)), shirtless Sam, .... well, and everything else, too, of course.
A little note: the extra wasn´t calling Jensen Jensen, he actually said "Gents", I think I saw that in the subtitling. It´s been discussed many times in the fandom thou, so I´m not entirely sure.

So, Sam in a skimpy towel .... we never got Dean in a skimpy towel, did we? Hey, writers, hey, halloooo....!!!
Ardeospina
# Ardeospina 2010-01-28 20:39
The gutter is a perfectly good place to be, I think!

Freebird, I'm with you -- Dean in a skimpy towel would be excellent. Mmm, skimpy towels.

And Nair is a hair removal cream. If Dean put it in Sam's shampoo, it would have theoretically caused all his hair to fall out. Ha!
Alice
# Alice 2010-01-28 21:16
How funny. I've already gotten some flak for not posting shirtless pictures of Jensen. Did someone out there not actually watch this episode? ;-)
Ardeospina
# Ardeospina 2010-01-28 21:27
It's not your fault Dean doesn't run around in towels, Alice. But if he ever does, you'll post them, right? :D
Freebird
# Freebird 2010-01-29 05:32
Ardeospina, thanks for the translation. Bad, bad Dean, ha ha, but it´s a good one, gotta give him that :D.

Oh my God, Alice, shirtless Dean? Did I miss that?? Can´t believe I missed that!!!! Where are my DVDs? Where are they??? *she´s frantically going through her stuff*
What episode you said that was????
Supernarttu
# Supernarttu 2010-01-29 05:42
This is a really funny ep.
I liked the MOTw a lot, liked the idea of an idea coming to life and having a life of its on, so cool. Ed & Harry are awesome and they had my fave lines ("Sweet Lord.." "...of the Rings") Lol I'm such a nerd for loving this :-)
And ofcourse Sam in a towel. Oh.My.God. I had no idea back then that he was so ripped!! I think my eyes dropped out of my head :D Dean needs that kinda scene too naturally!
Jasminka
# Jasminka 2010-01-29 06:40
Well, Dean does run around in towels occasionally, only he wears them on his head -remember the steam shower in Bugs?
;-) Jas
Supernarttu
# Supernarttu 2010-01-29 15:55
Jas, I don't like to remember that one. Seeing Dean in towel (a la Sam here) would have made that eppie SO much better :-) But I'd rather have them have their clothes on that have them nudish just for the sake of drooling fangirls. I like that this show isn't about bare skin and sex. But a little shot of abs here and there never hurt anyone :-)iyVz
Jasminka
# Jasminka 2010-01-29 17:41
Supernarttu, you might have misunderstood me (or I was unclear), you see, even though I don't mind the occasional shirtless Winchester, I'm a big fan of leaving something to the imagination, and sometimes the right clothes can enhance the appearance of a person, and make them even sexier. I guess that didn't come across.
;-), Jas
Evelyn
# Evelyn 2010-01-30 17:20
I'm a little late to the party. Thanks for the hilarious review Alice. I needed a good laugh. Yes, the scene with Jared was delicious. I now wish they would have a similar scene with Jensen. (We need equal coverage right?!?)

This is a fun episode. Love the pranking and other moments. I didn't really care for the Hell Hounds at first, but they have since grown on me. I'm still not a super fan, but I enjoy their interactions with our boys.