WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

More Supernatural Interviews From Comic Con 2017 - Misha Collins

More Supernatural Interviews From Comic Con 2017 - Jensen Ackles

More Supernatural Interviews From Comic Con 2017 - Jared Padalecki

Supernatural Interviews Comic Con 2017 - Andrew Dabb

Interview With Executive Producer Robert Singer - Comic Con 2017

Interview With Jensen Ackles - Comic Con 2017

Check out all our San Diego Comic Con coverage, including on scene reports from Nightsky!  

 

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

24 Jul 2017 14:25

Nightsky posted her video of the Kansas performance at Comic Con.

23 Jul 2017 20:11

We may be getting several of these today.

23 Jul 2017 14:56

The cast for Wayward Sisters has been announced.

23 Jul 2017 14:01

The 2017 San Diego Comic Con "Supernatural" panel was one for the ages.  A surprise concert, a

23 Jul 2017 00:16

Today was a very special panel involving one of our prominent #SPNFAMILY members, Genevieve Padaleck

22 Jul 2017 22:37

The photos from Nightsky have been coming in slowly and we are keeping an archive of everything take

22 Jul 2017 21:41

The Tick has had a big presence at Comic Con.

22 Jul 2017 13:54

EW sat down with Jared, Jensen and Misha at Comic Con.

21 Jul 2017 22:30

The Facebook Live chat with Jared, Jensen and Misha is now available.

21 Jul 2017 14:27

Catching up with Supernatural Alumni at Comic Con.

21 Jul 2017 00:09

Today was the big Timeless panel at San Diego Comic Con.  Our master Eric Kripke was there to t

20 Jul 2017 14:59

The cast will appear live tomorrow, July 21, 2017 and will be seen on the Supernatural Facebook page

20 Jul 2017 11:52

The first clip from Jared and Jensen's appearance on Conan O'Brien

20 Jul 2017 06:45

The WB has released the poster for next season.

19 Jul 2017 17:35

The Conan O'Brien show has put out a teaser for tonight's appearance.

16 Jul 2017 14:44

Mark Pellegrino is in the running for a Tean Choice Award

16 Jul 2017 01:45

We have the first spoilers from this year's TV Guide article covering Comic Con.

15 Jul 2017 12:23

Warner Brothers is having a Gift Pack Giveaway.

14 Jul 2017 15:27

We have the images on the Comic Con bags for this year's Comic Con.

12 Jul 2017 16:28

Conan O'Brien is going to Comic Con and he's going to have Jared and Jensen on his show.

12 Jul 2017 13:22

Jensen and others are posting on social media from Vancouver. No Spoilers.

12 Jul 2017 10:20

San Diego Comic Con must be just around the corner!  Each year at this time we get some awesome

08 Jul 2017 19:22

Rogue Events, the company that hosted the Asylum conventions, is going out of business.

29 Jun 2017 14:55

IMDB has posted casting for episode 13.01

29 Jun 2017 14:08

It's official, Supernatural is coming to Comic Con this year.

27 Jun 2017 21:32

As your Winchester Family Business Editor-in-Chief, I have an exciting announcement to share.  

20 Jun 2017 14:00

Reportedly, Wayward Sisters (not Daughters) will be given a backdoor pilot in season 13.

20 Jun 2017 08:33

The Teen Choice Awards announced the first round of their nominations yesterday and Supernatural is

08 Jun 2017 15:20

We have a date for the end of Hellatus!

06 Jun 2017 21:28

Ty Olsson (Benny Lafitte) just won a Leo Award.

03 Jun 2017 14:53

Jared has announced the final phase of the relaunch of his AKF campaign.

01 Jun 2017 23:33

Oh yeah, we had a LOT to discuss!  This is a supersized TV Fanatic Roundtable this time, design

01 Jun 2017 15:30

Jared and Jensen have both spoken about their daughters recently.

01 Jun 2017 10:22

Jared has relaunched part five of his Always Keep Fighting campaign.

31 May 2017 08:44

We have the first information on the season 12 DVD.

26 May 2017 14:18

Jared and Gen Padalecki both spoke in support of David's Law, a Texas law which targets cyber bullyi

26 May 2017 09:14

Jared started part four of his relaunch.

24 May 2017 15:07

Editor's Note: This article chronologically presents the reports and tweets on Mark Sheppard's statu

24 May 2017 09:41

 Now that season 12 is over, our stars are working for charity.

21 May 2017 09:14

Jared has launched part two of his AKF campaign.

20 May 2017 16:46

We have a few spoilers that came out of the Jus In Bello Convention this weekend.

19 May 2017 11:25

Here are the ratings for last night's finale episodes.

18 May 2017 21:38

Well, we were uninamous, but that's not necessarily good.  All four of us at the TV Fanatic Rou

18 May 2017 15:34

Jared talks about the season finale, season 13 spoilers and relaunching his Always Keep Fighting Cam

18 May 2017 12:05

We are getting our first spoilers for next season at the CW upfront presentation.

18 May 2017 08:52

The CW has released its schedule for next season.

WFB Feature Articles

Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

The final actor is Misha Collins.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Jensen spoke to different outlets at Comic Con this year.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

We return to the actors who were interviewed at Comic Con. This time Jared Padalecki.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Press Room Interviews with Andrew Dabb.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

 Last interview up and it's with the man who holds it all together, Robert Singer.  He giv

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

An interview with Jensen is always a pleasure!  The interview started out casually - talk about

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

It's Misha's turn!  In our roundtable interview in the San Diego Comic Con press room today, he

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

Today was a pretty awesome day!  Here's the WFB roundtable interview with Jared Padalecki. &nbs

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.17 "The British Invasion". Once again

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Mallena

This episode introduces us to Anna Milton.  She isn’t a normal girl, like she appears, but is

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Alice

The nominations were collected, the votes have been cast, the results have been tabulated, and the w

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

San Diego Comic Con 2017 is this week! The most anticipated comic book, superhero, scifi/fantasy gen

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Elle

12 Years of Big Boss Battles: Supernatural Villainy for the Ages

“I'm glad, honestly. I'm not s

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | LK

 

"The gleam in their eyes telegraphs only too clearly that they are hoping for a headline,

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Here's what we know about this year's event!

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Mallena

I was underwhelmed with season ten for most of its run, so it was wonderful to watch an episode as t

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural on the web this week!

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series! For Supernatural 12.13 "Family Feud", I put tog

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Alice

The moment is finally here!  The nominations have been tabulated, now it's time to vote.  

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | LK

 

"The unreal is more powerful than the real, because nothing is as perfect as you can imagine

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to "Memorable Moments" of Supernatural! This edition focuses on episode 12.12 "Stuck In

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Mallena

There has been a lot of talk lately about Jody and the women of Supernatural.  In honor of the

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Elle

Rich, riveting, complex and so full of story details and character threads that it's impossible to m

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | LK

 "Yesterday is but today's memory, and tomorrow is today's dream." — Khalil Gibran

Loosing

Read more...

WFB Motivational Posters - Comic Con

ComicCon2.jpg

Nightsky's New Book!



Sunday the 13th was Kim Manner’s birthday.  Even though he passed away back in 2009, I can’t help but wonder when I watch a scene what Kim would have done with it.  On Saturday the 12th, really with not much prior plannning, a few of us decided to watch a few episodes in honor of the occasion.  I probably should have tried to make a bigger thing of it, and certain friends voiced their displeasure that I didn’t make the rewatch more known, but I also had surgery scheduled for Monday the 14th, so I wasn’t completely focused. I bring up the Kim rewatch and my surgery because I think they factored into why my first watch of this episode was so negative...and why my review took so long to write.




 

For the Kim Manners rewatch, I chose two X-Files (Kim directed 54 episodes if memory serves correctly).  For those of you who are X-Files fans, we watched season two episodes “Die Hand Die Verletzt” and “Humbug”.  The rest of the episodes we watched were Supernatural episodes: “Scarecrow”, “In My Time Of Dying” and “No Rest for the Wicked”.  The Supernatural episodes other rewatch members helped choose.  The X-Files episodes I chose.  I did choose “Scarecrow” however...and “No Rest for the Wicked”, since I love Lilith 2.0.  Why do I bring up what we watched?  Because it shows what episodes are always my favorite, whether we are talking about the X-Files or Supernatural or even Buffy the Vampire Slayer.  I love the stand alone monster of the week episodes.  I love the episodes that delve into the personalities and the relationships.  I feel a lot of times that these stories get bogged down under the weight of the mythology.  For me, the X-Files were about finding out that “truth” in all things, Mulder and Scully, out there kicking alien, monster and mutant ass.  On Supernatural, I love Sam and Dean out there hunting things, saving people, the family business.  Angels and demons, heaven and hell, they cloud the issue in my opinion.  If I want to watch a show so heavy on mythology that if I miss an episode or two I will be lost I watch LOST or Revolution. For me, Dean summed up this episode, and my feeling so far on this season, quite succinctly, as an Aquarian is wont to do:

 

“I’m just tired of all the fighting.”

 

I just want Sam and Dean to stow away their crap ( as Cas so beautifully put) and get back to work.  They have work to do after all.  Let’s get back to it.

 

I’m also thinking that my weakened recovery situation also played into my general disgruntlement over this episode. On rewatch I wouldn’t go so far as to say I loved it, but I would say that I felt the episode brought up stuff that needed to come out so we could lay some things on the table and hopefully put some of them away for good.  Admittedly, I wish certain things they had laid on the table hadn’t been done in a way that made them seem like bright shiny epiphanies.  I think we were smart enough to know, or at least highly suspect, that there was an angel tablet floating around out there for example.

 

This episode was the first solo effort for writer Jenny Klein, with Robert Singer directing.  Samandriel/Alfie, the world’s most adorable angel, isn’t dead as suspected, but is actually being tortured by Crowley for information.  In his severely compromised state, he turns on “angel radio” alerting Naomi that he has been taken. Naomi sends Castiel out to find Samandriel/Alfie, but since the exact place in which Alfie is being held is not known, Cas will need to do some investigating.  To this end, he asks for help from Dean, only to find out that Dean is on his own and Sam has taken off. Although Dean is willing to help Cas out on his own, Cas insists that both brothers are needed and they are just going to have to put their differences behind them...

 

And on to the analysis...

 

I found it very interesting at the end that Cas had no idea who Naomi was.  I knew she was playing with his mind, but based on what Alfie said, it doesn’t appear that any angels consciously know about the existence of Naomi.  Also, in farther away shots of Naomi’s office, it appears that Naomi is actually transparent.  I’ve been wondering for a while if Naomi is maybe Metatron, or perhaps even another incarnation of god, but now we know for sure she is something different, possibly something different from an angel entirely.  If no angels know of the existence of Naomi, maybe that room doesn’t actually exist in heaven.  Could it be the gateway to heaven?  Is it somewhere else entirely?

 

Alfie also inferred that the angels were all being controlled.  This fact Naomi clearly wanted to hide.  I am very intrigued to find out what is going on with this storyline! Yes, I am aware that is a little hypocritical considering my Sam and Dean family business take!  But what can I say?  Cas proves himself to be an empathetic character no matter how far he seems to diverge from the path.

 

That was something that really interested me too.  Upon first watch, I was mortified that Cas killed Samandriel.  By far the nicest angel we have met and in my opinion the only angel other than Cas that has seemed worthy of a second thought. (sorry guys, I wasn’t an Anna fan).  Why does he have to sink this low?  Haven’t we already explored Cas as bad guy?  I have to admit I am still worried about this.  I loved the Cas remorse, and I guess I have to say that the only person I really felt sorry for in this whole episode (other than Alfie) was Cas, in being powerless to stop himself from killing Sam/Alfie.  But I guess that is what is getting me about it. Now Sam and Dean know that there is a problem with Cas.  I think it is great that Sam and Dean again only have each other to rely on, but I worry for what this means for Cas.  I fear what he is capable of when he feels he is backed against a wall.  Remember the whole Crowley thing?

 

Questioning the heroic nature of an important character leads me to want to discuss Sam, because I’m having a difficult time settling out this one.  Before when Sam slept with Amelia he didn’t know she was married.  Then he knew, but also knew they had been apart a long time and they weren’t actually acting like “husband and wife”, but here Sam sleeps with a woman who by her own account is trying to and allegedly succeeding in putting her marriage back together.  Not that I’m getting on a moral high horse about relationships or how people should conduct themselves in them.  I’m the first person to say when someone says, “Too bad he’s married”, “Well, that doesn’t always matter.”  But I guess with Sam, it does bother me.  I question why the writers are writing the character who supposedly was the one the most in his superego, the one who would muddle through things worried about something being wrong, would be the one sleeping with a married woman.  I feel like we have been down this path before.  I want to see Sam the Hero, Sam making the noble decision.  Sure, the Winchesters are only mortal men, but I can’t help but want my heroes to make the righteous decision.  I want to know that they will make the right decision when I cannot.  

 

I did like where Amelia laid it on the line though.  It’s interesting to see the Amelia situation after going through the Lisa one.  Sam can lie to the women he is in love with, can keep the truth of who he is from her, but Dean could not.  It probably had to do with what Dean said about how he could never completely pry himself away from the job (thank you so much for that line, Jenny.  I’ve been saying that about Dean for years). Sam always hoped to be completely done with the job.  It appeared that with Amelia he did just that. So here, Sam admitted to Dean that he was in love with Amelia, but then decided to stay with Dean and end it with Amelia because they have too much to do. 

 

Amelia told Sam to stay completely or to leave and not come back.  Lisa gave Dean an option.  But you know that was because she understood Dean.  She knew that Dean could never really let go of the life.  He needed to be out there, and she respected that.  She couldn’t hold him back from being who he was.  Even though she tried to end it, she never would have completely shut the door on him, which is why Dean felt he had to end it the way he did...But with Sam, it seems different. He never told her the truth about hunting.  I wonder how much she even knew about Dean. Is the Amelia story truly over?  I hope so, But I suppose as long as she is breathing, it could possibly come back.  



 

Dean ended the friendship with Benny because Sam can’t trust him.  Since Benny’s calls seemed a lot like the way an AA member would call his/her sponsor when he/she is in rough shape, I wonder how long it will be before Benny falls off the wagon.  He seems to be hurting already.  I don’t think we’ve seen the last of Benny.

 

I feel like I should say more about Dean and this episode.  We see a lot of old Dean here.  He is joking with Kevin, checking in on Busty Asian Beauties, but feeling like he should hide it from Cas, and doesn’t really make excuses for himself when Sam calls him out on the text trick.  Actually, the way Sam put it did make it sound really mean. But they were talking honestly with each other, and even though that initial conversation at the hotel didn’t particularly go well, they were still getting their feelings out there in the open.  

 

I guess a part of me is hoping the way this episode finally went means that Sam and Dean have put aside their crap and are ready to fight the good fight together again.  Part of me worries though.  I worry that Sam will resent Dean because he didn’t go to Kermit, TX to meet up with Amelia and leave this life behind forever.  I worry that Dean will blame Sam when Benny finally falls off the wagon because Dean will feel he could have saved Benny if he hadn’t left him high and dry...

 

So anyway, I have a list of things I really liked about the episode:

  • an episode about stowing crap away...and Sam is watching a show on the dung beetle      

   in the hotel room

  • Crowley saying he has used every torture device short of a Neil Diamond album.
  • Fizzles’ Folly ‘nuff said.
  • The Burning Bush was GOLD.
  • “You saw nothing”, Busty Asian Beauties, and Dean trying to get Kevin’s attention talking about Kevin’s mom being hot.
  • Dean’s blazer when he and Cas are visiting the guy who was “ambushed”.


 

...and things I could really use a little help with about the episode:


  • Crowley knows enochian?  Is that from when he was working with Cas?  Did we know he knew more than just angel banishing sigils???
  • Since when has the angel blade killed demons?  The angel blade can kill hell hounds, but I don’t remember it ever being used on demons.
  • From the pomp given the moment, it seems we were supposed to be surprised that there was an angel tablet.  It kind of seemed obvious that there would be one.
  • Why does Kevin now have such a hard time reading the word of God?  It seemed like a pretty automatic thing before--almost like Harry and Parseltongue. It seems to be more than just because there is only half a tablet there.
  • The angel torture.  It was very hurtful.
  • WHAT ARE SAM AND DEAN EATING AT THE END????  Is it chili?  


 

I’m not really sure how I felt about the song used in the opening Road So Far.  There are very few Seger songs I really like.  Katmandu is not one of them.  I did like the info given in the sequence however.  I felt it was well put together.  The song, although making sense wordwise, seemed a little too upbeat in my opinion.

 

The title, “Torn and Frayed” is a Rolling Stones song. “Well his coat is torn and frayed/ It’s seen much better days” reminds me of that lovely trench coated angel that we all know...

 

Let me know what you think of the episode!  I’d love to hear your views on the episode as a whole and what you have wondered about regarding the season.  Thanks for reading!