spn908 0049

Owies. The pain! Here I was having a perfectly good time. There was creepy scenes, scary dungeonous pits, awesome Sam and Jody being awesome, Dean being cocky, bummed out, nervous, awkward and then…um… Olé! It was all kind of joyous and then…IT WASN’T! Oh Supernatural; when you’re really good, you’re really painful!

Before I get to the heart-ripping-out Sam and Dean stuff…

spn908 0025

The teaser had me on tenterhooks. I was for sure thinking that Honor was about to be yanked out from under her car by her ankles! I never thought that the whatever the hell was after her was going to lift up the car! That really just started the creep because then the poor girl was dropped into a hole in the ground, waking up in the dark not knowing where she was and having to try and find her way by only the glow of a taser! I mean it really was the stuff of nightmares. Then there was the other girl scraping the wall, over and over and over until her nails were shredded and her fingers bled. Then hey, due to lack of water, why not make her suck the blood off her fingers to quench her thirst. Yikes! That was hardcore. It was all so dark and nasty in the best possible way.

Meanwhile at the church Sam and Dean were becoming virgins!

See, this is where the show excels. It manages to have this horrible scenario unfolding, one that makes you shudder at the idea of it and it sits it next to something so funny that you can’t help but laugh out loud!

promo 908 10

I love Sam and Dean becoming virgins, even though I agree with Dean, you can’t unring that bell! The moment when they told their reason’s for joining the purity group was such a treat. Yes, we’d all seen Dean’s overshare in the preview, but somehow that didn’t make it any less enjoyable. I swear there were more sound effects from the women in the episode than in the preview version. They seemed to be making more little noises…or was that me.

And Dean and Suzy. Watching him go from, cocky I’ve got this covered, to the realisation he was barking up the wrong tree, to awkward excitement when he found Suzy’s DVDs, to the realisation that, holy crap she’s right, she is right in front me, maybe this is going to happen after all, to the Spanish, to the hoisting her up onto his lovely hips. It was…well I thought it was fun and sexy. Seriously when he told Suzy to ask him again if he was a bad boy, but this time in Spanish, I laughed out loud…then I may have whimpered a little. (Wee bit of an over share, Amy?)

spn908 0600

Of course the scene wasn’t perfect…I mean, as much as I enjoyed it I was also torn, because, well…if we’re going to have a sex scene what the hell with all the layers! (Hey, I’m nothing if not shallow and possibly facetious.) I liked the scene. Actually, I even kind of liked that they were in such a hurry; they left their gear on. I didn’t care. Dean had me at hoisting Suzy on to his hips. D-amn. And the “Olé!” in the soundtrack made me guffaw. And that gif sequence on tumblr of the whole thing… “g”

Dean’s a bad boy, always was and always will be. He likes sex, he doesn’t apologise for that and he’s even told us all about it now. Thanks for the visuals, Dean! I’ve always liked this side of Dean. He’s not a perfect character, he’s far from the perfect guy (wait, what?) and this bad boy thing has been part of his character since the moment we met him checking out his brother’s girlfriend in her smurf pjs. It’s a part of Dean’s personality that I personally enjoy and I love it when he gets to let that side of him loose and I really love, that through all his bravado he still get’s nervous and through all his bad boy moves, he comes across as tender. His life, for the most part is one waking bad dream. Suzy was one of the good dreams. I liked it a lot when he said that.

Of course the blue flash of deity fire kind of spoiled the afterglow a little!

Meanwhile back at the motel.

spn908 0494

Gosh I love Sam and Jody together. They were both fabulous in this episode. In fact, that was one thing I liked the most about “Rock and a Hard Place” everyone was well written for their characters. Sam was very Sam, Dean was very Dean and Jody was even more awesome than I remembered.

I should tell you, I saw Kim Rhodes recently at Armageddon in Melbourne, Australia and spent a fair bit of time chatting to her and saw a couple of her panels. She loved doing this episode and told a few funny stories. It was the first time she’d had to do a fight sequence and she did all her own stunts. She was super proud of it. She was super proud that she didn’t need a stand-in. Like all of us, she’s got a great big crush on both the boys, but maybe a little bit bigger on Jensen. She talked about the scene where she had to hug Sam. It was the shot where she was supposed to release him and she just stayed hugging Jared and the director called action and she kept hugging…action…hugging…action…hugging… “Um Kim?” “I’m working up to it okay!?” Then she talked about how when she’s around Jensen she kind of loses it and he knows it and kind of tortures her with it. In one scene they were standing next to each other listening to the director’s feedback and Jensen just reaches out a hand and touches her. She said she instantly heard nothing the director was saying. Then Jensen as casual as anything pulls his hand back. She turned to him going, “You can’t do that! You have to tell me everything that was said now, because when you do that, all I see is THIS” and she made wild hand gestures indicating his face and body. Apparently he just smirked at her. Another time in the scene where the guys pull up in the Impala, they had to do another take so Jensen had to back the Impala out to reset for the shot. As he drove past Kim, he stopped beside her, wound down the window and winked. Kim just turned into a puddle right then and there as Jensen continued to drive away…laughing. Don’t you just love them. Don’t you just love her for being just like us.

Anyway, Sam and Jody together are such a treat. There’s a lovely dynamic between those two characters. A nice respect. Jody definitely has a kind of a nurturing, motherly vibe towards Sam and I love the relationship that’s grown between them. It’s so great seeing them work a case together. Sam’s knowledge blurting out ideas, Jody looking them up on the computer. It’s cool.

spn908 0509

They had some lovely dialogue too. I absolutely adored what Jody said to Sam about his relationship with Dean. That Sam already has the comfort that everyone is looking for, in his relationship with his brother. That what they have is something special. YES JODY, IT IS! She was kind of summing up the show in one sentence…Sam and Dean; they’ve got something special. Through everything they’ve been through, through everything they’ve inflicted on each other, it’s a constant, they have something special that other people in their lives can see, even if sometimes the brothers can’t. I love it when the show is the audience for a moment. I think that ‘something special’ is about to become very relevant...

Then there was Dean putting that twit in his place – man I love it when he goes all no nonsense hero guy, the evil doer monologue (will the evil doer never learn to keep their nefarious plot to themselves?), the fight between Jody and Vesta and then Vesta lay her ET phone home finger on Sam…and…

spn908 1022

Oh Sam. All he wants is to be ‘normal’ feel ‘normal’. We know he’s always felt like a freak. He told us back in “Metamorphosis” that he was “a whole new level of freak”. In “The Great Escapist” he told us he’d always felt like he wasn’t clean, he wasn’t pure, like he couldn’t be like the hero in the stories that his big brother used to tell him, because he knew something was not right with him, because he could feel the demon blood in his veins and the evil of that. But he had hope, because of the trials. He felt like he was being purified somehow, that maybe all this sacrifice, all this good meant he could finally feel whole…

But the trials destroyed him; they didn’t restore him as he hoped. He was turned to mush inside and Dean made the terrifying decision to allow an angel into his brother to try to heal him from the inside out.

It all looked like maybe it was working. Sam felt better. Happier than ever. He was running again. He felt good. But was that really Sam? Or was that the power of Ezekiel within.

In the last couple of episodes, we’ve seen Sam appear to get weaker, more tired. Something is wrong. Automatically your mind assumes that maybe it’s because of Ezekiel’s extracurricular activities – he’s been on a resurrection binge. Has this weakened the angel to such a degree that’s it's weakened Sam?

I’ve wanted desperately to believe that maybe this time, the Winchesters had come in contact with an angel that remembered that their Father wanted them to love humanity, not look at it like it’s simply a pathetic horde of hairless apes. My heart wanted Ezekiel to be true and honest. My head kept reminding my heart what show we are watching!

The Goddess Vesta opened our eyes. She told Sam and us that Sam was “all duct tape and safety pins inside”. Oh…crap.

So has Ezekiel been healing Sam at all? Or has he just been using Sam’s energy to heal himself. Sam feels like he can’t recharge, like his battery is being drained. Is Ezekiel just a parasite, tapping into Sam’s life force to restore himself and not repairing Sam in the process? What if Ezkekiel is essentially destroying Sam. Carving out an empty vessel that will give him no trouble. Or what if Ezekiel has been draining Sam’s soul? Repairing his angelic powers to the point that he can even zap away in a flurry of off camera wing sounds? Cass used Bobby’s soul to fix himself and look how that knocked Bobby around. Is that why Sam is feeling like he is? You can seem I'm starting to panic!

Oh Sam. He’s exhausted and once again, starting to doubt himself. Starting to feel like the promise of the trials has come to nothing. We’ve seen him struggling to make sense of the feeling that something’s not right, now he's finally told his brother how he's feeling… “Why does it have to be something else, it’s always something else, we’re always scraping to find some other explanation, when maybe it is just me…I’m a mess Dean, and you know it and sometimes I feel like, maybe I’m never going to actually be all right…or this is just the way I am”.

Of course at this point, Dean can’t take it anymore and decides his brother needs to know the truth, it’s not him that’s not right. We know Dean’s been struggling with this secret from the get go. He never wanted to keep what he did a secret from Sam. We’ve seen a few moments where it looked like he was about to spill the beans. Now Dean sees what all this is doing to his brother. Seeing Sammy go through this again, have to relive all these feelings again… Dean hangs his head, “I can’t let you put this on yourself…” wipes a nervous hand down his face and sets his jaw, “it’s not you, Sam…”

BOOM. Ezekiel.

spn908 1051

Ice ran through my veins.

I’d always assumed at some point, either Sam would figure the whole mess out, or Dean, out of the guilt gnawing at his bones, would finally tell Sam. But there’s no way that can happen, because Zeke won’t let Sam remember enough to help him figure out what’s going on and Dean can’t get to Sam for Zeke. Zeke won't allow it. Any hope I had was dashed when those blues eyes erupted and Zeke said, “I wouldn’t do that Dean”. I moaned and grabbed my heart.

Ezekiel says it’s because Sam’s not ready, he’ll die if he ejects the angel now and Dean’s stuck between a rock and a hard place of wanting to tell his brother everything but not wanting his brother to die and there’s not a damn thing he can do about it. Because he doesn’t know what the truth is and he can't get to his brother because there's an angel blocking the way.

I’m starting to believe Ezekiel is essentially holding Sam hostage and using Dean’s love of his brother against them both.

Has Ezekiel been manipulating Dean from the start? Was there ever any hope for Sam or did the angel simply say there was to get himself a sweet a vessel? Every resurrection seemed to tap the angel out, the implication being he was doing a service for Dean at his own expense, but was all this simply a ruse to get Dean further over the barrel? He allows Dean to see that Sam’s not feeling great. He allows Vesta to spy on Sam’s insides. He allows Sam to tell Dean he feels shattered both physically and emotionally. Everything to reinforce what Zeke’s been telling Dean and make Dean feel like there’s no other choice than to allow the angel to stay put.

Damn you, Zeke. I’m officially not a fan.

A couple of things have started to scare the bejebus out of me. 

When Ezekiel does leave, or is forcibly ejected from Sam, will Sam be in the same state we found him at the beginning of the season? Ready to let go of this life and move on. Certainly his current, defeated mind set would put weight to this. This scenario has been alluded to by Jared and also, with all the talk from Jensen about Dean being in a dark place emotionally, you’ve got to figure that there’s a pretty good chance that Dean’s dark place is because of where we’re going to find Sam land. I always assumed Sam would find out and be mad, the brothers would have a fight, probably get past it in a couple of episodes and move right along. Bury another hurt as only the Winchesters can. But, if Sam’s “practically dead inside” maybe it’s going to be a whole lot worse than that. Right now a fight sounds bloody awesome, because the alternative frightens the crap out of me.


Is Zeke going to shoot through wearing Sam? Is Dean going to wake up one morning in the bunker and Sam will be gone? Zeke will have just walked off with his brother. Or Dean will somehow try to stop Zeke and Zeke will zap Dean. Zeke is obviously still powerful enough to zap a room full of demons, to restore life to Dean’s dead friends…so how could Dean ever hope to stop him if he decided to just up and leave. Like leave, with Sam attached. I’m making my stomach hurt just thinking about it.

The thing is, it’s more than the physical desolation of Sam that's so troubling, it’s the spiritual desolation. He’s losing faith in himself again. He was all slumped and deflated. This is going nowhere good.

spn908 1061

It hurts so much to see Sam going through this again. I want him restored and feeling good about himself. Having faith in himself and believing in the goodness that’s out there, like he once did. Being the positive to Dean’s angry negative. As I said to a friend recently, being the Yin to Dean’s Yang. The balance. He’s had to deal with demon blood, being the vessel of Lucifer, being soulless, being sent crazy, being torn apart on the inside by some trials that God put forward that served to kill you if you rose to the challenge. He thought he was finding salvation from all the self-doubt that has plagued him since he was a child. Now, he’s all duct tape and safety pins and feeling like shit about himself again. (Excuse the language but it seemed appropriate). Oh my gosh. My heart can’t take it…for Sam or for Dean *wibble*

spn908 1076

When Zeke said he promises it won’t be much longer, maybe I should believe him. When Dean said, you gotta have a little faith, maybe I should try *grasps at straws* but this show has moulded me into something else and I’m dreading with glorious anticipation what’s to come.

Remind me again why I watch a show that causes me so much emotional upheaval? Oh yeah, because it’s awesome!

 “Rock and a Hard Place” did everything I think Supernatural does the best. It creeped me the hell out of me. It made me screw up my face and go “ewwwww”. It made me laugh out loud. It made me a little hot under the collar in the very best of ways. And it ripped my heart out and threw it against the wall, laughing maniacally as it dribbled slowly towards the floor, landing as a frightened little quivering blob, beating at a rate that’s really not healthy.

I am officially terrified.

Bring on the mid-season cliff-hanger.

I’ll just be over here rocking back and forth mumbling, “it’s just a TV show, it’s just a TV show”.
-sweetondean



Comments  

kelios
# kelios 2013-11-29 20:35
Perfect, Amy! I agree with every word. I'm absolutely terrified for Sam and by extension Dean...I have been ever since Ezekiel took over. I've feared all along that he didn't truly mean them any good...how often have I begged show to prove me wrong in situations like this? I'm still hoping!

I will say, I had a slightly different reaction to Sam's desire to be normal again. I took that as feeling physically normal. He's been sick, either physically or mentally, literally for years now. Ever since Castiel broke his wall, basically. He had a short break while with Amelia, but even then his emotional state was terrible.
I think that contributes to his depression...it 's desperately hard to keep your spirits up when you are perpetually exhausted, everything hurts, and there's no end in sight.
I don't doubt he wants to feel normal again in the sense of being purified, but I think that being physically well would go a long way towards helping him at this point. I hope that happens soon, and I also hope that Dean can convince him he's NOT a freak and that there is nothing wrong with him.
Jared promised me at Burcon it would be alright, but I think it's well established that we define that word differently lol This is going to be a hell of a cliffhanger!
KG_SPN
# KG_SPN 2013-11-29 20:51
I'm totally with you in rocking back and forth mumbling, "it's just a TV show"... even more so, now that I've read your review (and Alice's discussion about Sam's quest to be normal).

I'm now freakin' terrified for Sam... and also for Dean, as he begins to realise he may never be able to tell Sam what is going on. :eek:

I had entertained thoughts that Zeke might get comfortable in Sam's vessel and not be willing to let go easily when the time came. But, until this last episode, I'd clung to the thought that he'd had good intentions... that he was healing Sam as well as himself.

But now, IDK, I think he might've planned it all along. The promo for next week (SPOILER) where Zeke says something along the lines of "I did what I had to do" implies this. But taken out of context, might not mean what I think it does. I hope I'm wrong!!

My theory:
I think Zeke will take off with Sam - that will be our cliff-hanger - and the emotional scenes with Dean will occur after hiatus when he doesn't know how to get Sam back. He might think he's lost Sam forever and, if that's the case, he'd also be beating himself up for condemning Sam to a life as an angel vessel. Gah :sad:

I wonder if we'll completely lose Sam for a few episodes and instead have a fully-fledged Zeke on our hands. I don't know if I can cope with this scenario (being the Sam-girl that I am). :cry:

Whatever happens, it aint gonna be pretty. Remind me why I watch this show again :lol:
KG_SPN
# KG_SPN 2013-11-29 20:51
I'm totally with you in rocking back and forth mumbling, "it's just a TV show"... even more so, now that I've read your review (and Alice's discussion about Sam's quest to be normal).

I'm now freakin' terrified for Sam... and also for Dean, as he begins to realise he may never be able to tell Sam what is going on. :eek:

I had entertained thoughts that Zeke might get comfortable in Sam's vessel and not be willing to let go easily when the time came. But, until this last episode, I'd clung to the thought that he'd had good intentions... that he was healing Sam as well as himself.

But now, IDK, I think he might've planned it all along. The promo for next week (SPOILER) where Zeke says something along the lines of "I did what I had to do" implies this. But taken out of context, might not mean what I think it does. I hope I'm wrong!!

My theory:
I think Zeke will take off with Sam - that will be our cliff-hanger - and the emotional scenes with Dean will occur after hiatus when he doesn't know how to get Sam back. He might think he's lost Sam forever and, if that's the case, he'd also be beating himself up for condemning Sam to a life as an angel vessel. Gah :sad:

I wonder if we'll completely lose Sam for a few episodes and instead have a fully-fledged Zeke on our hands. I don't know if I can cope with this scenario (being the Sam-girl that I am). :cry:

Whatever happens, it aint gonna be pretty. Remind me why I watch this show again :lol:
cheryl42
# cheryl42 2013-11-29 20:55
I am actually very worried about Dean. The promo for next week looks like Zeke has done something terrible. And since it was in the bunker I have a horrible feeling it was against a protected member of Dean's family. This is going to send Dean to "a very dark place". The fallout from Sam finding out, the whatever the hell Zeke has done, what Dean did to Cas,,,,,is just setting Dean up for an epic fall. This is going to be a very rocky ride. We all know that it will be alright in the end it's just getting from here to there that will be the problem for us poor angst addicted fans.
As an aside what are the chances that JC will write the 200th episode since he wrote the 100th.
cheryl42
# cheryl42 2013-11-29 20:55
I am actually very worried about Dean. The promo for next week looks like Zeke has done something terrible. And since it was in the bunker I have a horrible feeling it was against a protected member of Dean's family. This is going to send Dean to "a very dark place". The fallout from Sam finding out, the whatever the hell Zeke has done, what Dean did to Cas,,,,,is just setting Dean up for an epic fall. This is going to be a very rocky ride. We all know that it will be alright in the end it's just getting from here to there that will be the problem for us poor angst addicted fans.
As an aside what are the chances that JC will write the 200th episode since he wrote the 100th.
Sylvie
# Sylvie 2013-11-29 21:43
That was such a good episode. It had me laughing and then it had me crying. Man, I love this show! The more reviews I read, the more worried I am for Sam. :sigh: He was finally seeing himself as a normal human being, and now he's back to thinking there is something really wrong with him. Having an angel use you as a puppet will do that. I don't know about Zeke. I keep hoping he won't turn out to be one of the dick angels, but it's looking more and more like that. Someone else had the same theory than you about Zeke zapping Sam's energy just like Bobby's was zapped after Cas needed recharging. I can't wait for next week's episode, but I'm also very worried for both Sam & Dean. :sad:

On another tack, did anybody recognize the actress playing Honor? I think she was the one who played young Bela. I love to see these actors pop in once and a while. Oh yeah, and I really loved seeing Jodi Mills, here's hoping we see her again before the end of the season.
Sylvie
# Sylvie 2013-11-29 21:43
That was such a good episode. It had me laughing and then it had me crying. Man, I love this show! The more reviews I read, the more worried I am for Sam. :sigh: He was finally seeing himself as a normal human being, and now he's back to thinking there is something really wrong with him. Having an angel use you as a puppet will do that. I don't know about Zeke. I keep hoping he won't turn out to be one of the dick angels, but it's looking more and more like that. Someone else had the same theory than you about Zeke zapping Sam's energy just like Bobby's was zapped after Cas needed recharging. I can't wait for next week's episode, but I'm also very worried for both Sam & Dean. :sad:

On another tack, did anybody recognize the actress playing Honor? I think she was the one who played young Bela. I love to see these actors pop in once and a while. Oh yeah, and I really loved seeing Jodi Mills, here's hoping we see her again before the end of the season.
KimJ
# KimJ 2013-11-29 22:18
Yes, oh my YES! All this.

I don't even have words, you've said it all.

I have, since the season opener, wanted to trust that Ezekiel was telling the truth, that he was being altruistic, benevolent, following what his Father truly wanted - then we see him stop Dean from telling Sam the truth. I think that by now Zeke is likely well enough himself that if he had to he could move on independently. I now don't think he has bothered to heal Sam much beyond the safety pins and duct tape - enough to keep him alive and usable but not enough that if Zeke left Sam would have a snowballs chance of being well enough to survive. By now you would think that Sam would be much more healed than he is. It really does look like Zeke is keeping him hostage. Whether it's so he can claim Sam for himself or whether it's to put Dean in a position where he will have to do Ezekiel's bidding remains to be seen. Remember that in his original plea Dean said he would owe a favour to whichever angel helped him. I am beginning to think Ezekiel will want to collect, despite earlier saying that wasn't why he'd help.

I simultaneously want Wednesday to come so badly so I can see what's next, but also dreading it terribly because we are going to be torn apart.

You ask why we love this show so much? Because it makes us care. Fictional characters or not, we FEEL. And that is the success of the show. Not only did they have me at hello, but they have a stranglehold on my heart with this amazing, brilliant piece of craftsmanship.
KimJ
# KimJ 2013-11-29 22:18
Yes, oh my YES! All this.

I don't even have words, you've said it all.

I have, since the season opener, wanted to trust that Ezekiel was telling the truth, that he was being altruistic, benevolent, following what his Father truly wanted - then we see him stop Dean from telling Sam the truth. I think that by now Zeke is likely well enough himself that if he had to he could move on independently. I now don't think he has bothered to heal Sam much beyond the safety pins and duct tape - enough to keep him alive and usable but not enough that if Zeke left Sam would have a snowballs chance of being well enough to survive. By now you would think that Sam would be much more healed than he is. It really does look like Zeke is keeping him hostage. Whether it's so he can claim Sam for himself or whether it's to put Dean in a position where he will have to do Ezekiel's bidding remains to be seen. Remember that in his original plea Dean said he would owe a favour to whichever angel helped him. I am beginning to think Ezekiel will want to collect, despite earlier saying that wasn't why he'd help.

I simultaneously want Wednesday to come so badly so I can see what's next, but also dreading it terribly because we are going to be torn apart.

You ask why we love this show so much? Because it makes us care. Fictional characters or not, we FEEL. And that is the success of the show. Not only did they have me at hello, but they have a stranglehold on my heart with this amazing, brilliant piece of craftsmanship.
KimJ
# KimJ 2013-11-29 22:27
And I got so tied up with emotion that I totally forgot to say how wonderful Kim Rhodes was! I loved how she teased us at Armageddon. She is so one of us, not to mention a gutsy, fabulous, wonderful person. I think she is definitely my girl-crush. I admire her so much.

I love her interactions with Sam and I think she may be the only woman he feels "safe" around, except maybe Charlie but that's a whole different dynamic. Sam has never had a mother he remembers, Jody fills this void. Which makes me love her all the more.

I am so incredibly happy she survived the episode. I literally screamed, "NO!" when she was stabbed with the stake. I thought, for a few minutes, that it might have been the end for her. Certainly, Kim's earlier teasing words did nothing to disavow me of that fear.
KimJ
# KimJ 2013-11-29 22:27
And I got so tied up with emotion that I totally forgot to say how wonderful Kim Rhodes was! I loved how she teased us at Armageddon. She is so one of us, not to mention a gutsy, fabulous, wonderful person. I think she is definitely my girl-crush. I admire her so much.

I love her interactions with Sam and I think she may be the only woman he feels "safe" around, except maybe Charlie but that's a whole different dynamic. Sam has never had a mother he remembers, Jody fills this void. Which makes me love her all the more.

I am so incredibly happy she survived the episode. I literally screamed, "NO!" when she was stabbed with the stake. I thought, for a few minutes, that it might have been the end for her. Certainly, Kim's earlier teasing words did nothing to disavow me of that fear.
KG_SPN
# KG_SPN 2013-11-29 22:46
Can I just add how terrifying that still photo of Zeke is (or Sam in transition to Zeke with his blue laser eyes). I've been constantly impressed by how well Jared does the transition each time, but I've never actually paused the show to really look at his eyes. That photo is truly frightening :eek:

KimJ & sweetondean, I also loved seeing Kim Rhodes in Melbourne at Armageddon. I only saw the SPN group panel, not her solo panel, but she was a joy. And I love Jody Mills. I'm so glad she survived another episode :-)
KG_SPN
# KG_SPN 2013-11-29 22:46
Can I just add how terrifying that still photo of Zeke is (or Sam in transition to Zeke with his blue laser eyes). I've been constantly impressed by how well Jared does the transition each time, but I've never actually paused the show to really look at his eyes. That photo is truly frightening :eek:

KimJ & sweetondean, I also loved seeing Kim Rhodes in Melbourne at Armageddon. I only saw the SPN group panel, not her solo panel, but she was a joy. And I love Jody Mills. I'm so glad she survived another episode :-)
sweetondean
# sweetondean 2013-11-29 23:43
Quoting KG_SPN:
Can I just add how terrifying that still photo of Zeke is (or Sam in transition to Zeke with his blue laser eyes). I've been constantly impressed by how well Jared does the transition each time, but I've never actually paused the show to really look at his eyes. That photo is truly frightening :eek:

KimJ & sweetondean, I also loved seeing Kim Rhodes in Melbourne at Armageddon. I only saw the SPN group panel, not her solo panel, but she was a joy. And I love Jody Mills. I'm so glad she survived another episode :-)


I particularly picked that still of the Sam/Zeke transition because it still shows Sam, still shows those worry lines on his forehead and is more horrific for it because we see Sam with Zeke shining out.

Kim was so wonderful in Melbourne. I felt so lucky to have the chance to talk love and loss and Supernatural with her! She teased us something shocking though as to whehter Jody survived. I would be mighty pissed if the show killed her for all the reasons Kim J said. :-)
sweetondean
# sweetondean 2013-11-29 23:43
Quote:
Can I just add how terrifying that still photo of Zeke is (or Sam in transition to Zeke with his blue laser eyes). I've been constantly impressed by how well Jared does the transition each time, but I've never actually paused the show to really look at his eyes. That photo is truly frightening :eek:

KimJ & sweetondean, I also loved seeing Kim Rhodes in Melbourne at Armageddon. I only saw the SPN group panel, not her solo panel, but she was a joy. And I love Jody Mills. I'm so glad she survived another episode :-)
I particularly picked that still of the Sam/Zeke transition because it still shows Sam, still shows those worry lines on his forehead and is more horrific for it because we see Sam with Zeke shining out.

Kim was so wonderful in Melbourne. I felt so lucky to have the chance to talk love and loss and Supernatural with her! She teased us something shocking though as to whehter Jody survived. I would be mighty pissed if the show killed her for all the reasons Kim J said. :-)
lkeke35
# lkeke35 2013-11-30 02:32
I agree. I don't think Zeke has done much to heal Sam beyond duct tape ans safety pins but I think hes healed him enough for Sam to survive on his own. I think Zeke is lying about Sam dying. I think hes the one who is weak and tapping Sam's soul to recharge himself. Sweetondean is right. I think hes tapping Sam's soul and that explains Sam's fatigue The same thing happened to Bobby after Cas tapped him and Henry Winchester, after using his own soul to power magic said he'd have to recharge for a couple of weeks. I think this is soul fatigue.
lkeke35
# lkeke35 2013-11-30 02:32
I agree. I don't think Zeke has done much to heal Sam beyond duct tape ans safety pins but I think hes healed him enough for Sam to survive on his own. I think Zeke is lying about Sam dying. I think hes the one who is weak and tapping Sam's soul to recharge himself. Sweetondean is right. I think hes tapping Sam's soul and that explains Sam's fatigue The same thing happened to Bobby after Cas tapped him and Henry Winchester, after using his own soul to power magic said he'd have to recharge for a couple of weeks. I think this is soul fatigue.
nappi815
# nappi815 2013-11-30 08:05
hey sweet on dean, just thought i'd lay out another scenario which i think is just as possible. from what i've seen of zeke, i still get this feeling that he's genuine. maybe it's because every word comes out of sam's mouth, but i still don't get this sense of evil from him. i was thinking about the title of this ep, a rock and a hard place and it seemed quite clear that it was in essence where dean is right now, but what if in a subtle way it was also where zeke is right now?
after seeing the promo pics of sam/zeke with metatron i began to wonder? did metatron just offer zeke a deal to get him back to heaven? or has metatron been using zeke all along baiting him to do his will promising him a way back to heaven? metatron is the one who wrote tablets right, he's the only one who knows, besides the prophet who can read them, what's on them. he basically knows what God knows. so maybe metatron doesn't want anyone else to ever see that tablet. maybe knowing sam and dean have it, he's using zeke as a way to destroy the angel tablet, or worse, but hoping not, the prophet who is translating them. though i'm not leaning towards that because metatron never had to help kevin in the first place. so what if zeke is keeping sam alive with every intention of healing him, once his job of "doing whatever it is that zeke did in the promo" is complete. zeke didn't seem too happy about doing what he did. perhaps zeke is in between a rock and hard place as well, following orders he doesn't like just so he can be rewarded with going home again back to heaven. what if metatron is pulling zeke's strings? what if zeke is an unhappy puppet angel?
see i still think that zeke has every intention of healing sam. i also think he's needing sam to heal himself and is using sam as well to infiltrate the winchester world and more importantly the bunker, where lies whatever it is that zeke seems to need to get his angel hands on. i believe that zeke has every intention of honoring his promise to dean. my guess is he's not supposed to heal sam just yet, not until he gets his job done...i mean if zeke went against metatron's wishes and healed sam before he did whatever it is he was supposed to do, then metatron could've easily killed sam anyway.
all i'm saying is based on what little we've seen, i'm not yet ready to jump into the zeke is an evil bastard fray just yet.....knowing show as i do, the promo clips are usually and purposely misleading....s o i'm still going in with an open mind...waiting til i see for myself what the real deal is....no need to be in a frenzy for the next few days unnecessarily.. .i've done it so many times before, this time i think i've learned my lesson... :lol:
nappi815
# nappi815 2013-11-30 08:05
hey sweet on dean, just thought i'd lay out another scenario which i think is just as possible. from what i've seen of zeke, i still get this feeling that he's genuine. maybe it's because every word comes out of sam's mouth, but i still don't get this sense of evil from him. i was thinking about the title of this ep, a rock and a hard place and it seemed quite clear that it was in essence where dean is right now, but what if in a subtle way it was also where zeke is right now?
after seeing the promo pics of sam/zeke with metatron i began to wonder? did metatron just offer zeke a deal to get him back to heaven? or has metatron been using zeke all along baiting him to do his will promising him a way back to heaven? metatron is the one who wrote tablets right, he's the only one who knows, besides the prophet who can read them, what's on them. he basically knows what God knows. so maybe metatron doesn't want anyone else to ever see that tablet. maybe knowing sam and dean have it, he's using zeke as a way to destroy the angel tablet, or worse, but hoping not, the prophet who is translating them. though i'm not leaning towards that because metatron never had to help kevin in the first place. so what if zeke is keeping sam alive with every intention of healing him, once his job of "doing whatever it is that zeke did in the promo" is complete. zeke didn't seem too happy about doing what he did. perhaps zeke is in between a rock and hard place as well, following orders he doesn't like just so he can be rewarded with going home again back to heaven. what if metatron is pulling zeke's strings? what if zeke is an unhappy puppet angel?
see i still think that zeke has every intention of healing sam. i also think he's needing sam to heal himself and is using sam as well to infiltrate the winchester world and more importantly the bunker, where lies whatever it is that zeke seems to need to get his angel hands on. i believe that zeke has every intention of honoring his promise to dean. my guess is he's not supposed to heal sam just yet, not until he gets his job done...i mean if zeke went against metatron's wishes and healed sam before he did whatever it is he was supposed to do, then metatron could've easily killed sam anyway.
all i'm saying is based on what little we've seen, i'm not yet ready to jump into the zeke is an evil bastard fray just yet.....knowing show as i do, the promo clips are usually and purposely misleading....s o i'm still going in with an open mind...waiting til i see for myself what the real deal is....no need to be in a frenzy for the next few days unnecessarily.. .i've done it so many times before, this time i think i've learned my lesson... :lol:
Trucklady
# Trucklady 2013-11-30 08:46
Man I want to believe that Zeke is good but that promo has had me thinking of possible scenarios and as much as I have tried not to try and figure it out, my mind still goes there. So here is what I woke up thinking this morning (yes I do that quite a bit). My thoughts are that Metatron is working with Zeke and the plan was to gain Dean's trust enough to possess Sam which in turn will get him into the bunker where Kevin is. Kevin will translate that tablet eventually and then the reversal spell (I still believe there is one) will be revealed. So after seeing the promo and reading that Dean will be going to a very dark place, I'm thinking Zeke does something to Kevin so he can no longer translate the tablet (I sure hope he does not kill him, not ready to see that character go) and this will drive Dean to that darkness. :cry: TPTB do have a way of steering us in a direction that turns out to not be what happens at all so I'm hoping I was just in need of a good strong cup of coffee when I woke up this morning. :-) Guess we will find out in four days.
Trucklady
# Trucklady 2013-11-30 08:46
Man I want to believe that Zeke is good but that promo has had me thinking of possible scenarios and as much as I have tried not to try and figure it out, my mind still goes there. So here is what I woke up thinking this morning (yes I do that quite a bit). My thoughts are that Metatron is working with Zeke and the plan was to gain Dean's trust enough to possess Sam which in turn will get him into the bunker where Kevin is. Kevin will translate that tablet eventually and then the reversal spell (I still believe there is one) will be revealed. So after seeing the promo and reading that Dean will be going to a very dark place, I'm thinking Zeke does something to Kevin so he can no longer translate the tablet (I sure hope he does not kill him, not ready to see that character go) and this will drive Dean to that darkness. :cry: TPTB do have a way of steering us in a direction that turns out to not be what happens at all so I'm hoping I was just in need of a good strong cup of coffee when I woke up this morning. :-) Guess we will find out in four days.
sylvia37
# sylvia37 2013-11-30 09:20
As I said in another review, my fear is that Zeke will start "being" Sam in order to hang on, and Dean won't know that he's not talking to his brother.

I'm also afraid of the things Zeke might do in Sam's Vessel. Remember how Sam reacted when he found out about his soulless self and what he did? How's he going to feel if Zeke does bad things using him?

And lastly, I do feel bad for Dean because this is going to be ugly no matter how it goes. I think he allowed Zeke in, not only because he doesn't want to live without Sam, but because the last thing Sam said to him was that he would rather die than disappoint him. How could he possibly let his brother die after listening to that, and without trying to fix it? Dean honestly can't win with this.

I do love that finally one of the recurring characters has developed a rapport with Sam, who isn't a demon. He and Jody have such good chemistry together. I really hope they don't kill her off.
sylvia37
# sylvia37 2013-11-30 09:20
As I said in another review, my fear is that Zeke will start "being" Sam in order to hang on, and Dean won't know that he's not talking to his brother.

I'm also afraid of the things Zeke might do in Sam's Vessel. Remember how Sam reacted when he found out about his soulless self and what he did? How's he going to feel if Zeke does bad things using him?

And lastly, I do feel bad for Dean because this is going to be ugly no matter how it goes. I think he allowed Zeke in, not only because he doesn't want to live without Sam, but because the last thing Sam said to him was that he would rather die than disappoint him. How could he possibly let his brother die after listening to that, and without trying to fix it? Dean honestly can't win with this.

I do love that finally one of the recurring characters has developed a rapport with Sam, who isn't a demon. He and Jody have such good chemistry together. I really hope they don't kill her off.
eilf
# eilf 2013-11-30 10:10
great review Sweetondean :D I loved and wibbled at all the same points you did regarding the boys and Jody. I really thought she was dead too - she ought to have been dead in honesty. And the horror bits of thhe episode were really pretty good horror

I have been trying not to be prim about the Suzy seduction scene. But, yeah, the run-up to it I am still pretty uncomfortable with since it is pretty disrespectful from WAY before Dean knows he might be on to something, but hey she definitely seemed to have no problem with it once she was discovered ... and I can't help wondering if it was supposed to be a parody of a porn movie - ie who is the most unlikely person the guy in the move is going to get lucky with? A chasity counsellor? Oh, ok then...

There were a couple of really funny clips too. Of course Dean successfully trolling a chastity group (what did virgins ever do to you SPN, you pack of 13-year-olds? Nothing, I guess, that being the point ;-) ) but also Sam so happy to be able to save them some time on the spell (Hey, I'M a virgin!) and Jody's response (I think we need the real McCoy)
I love the 'don't get the door for me' line, you just know that in the scene none of them realized 'Jody' wouldn't have been able to open the door (and the Winchesters are more respectful than that) and it was only when they were putting the episode together it was spotted.
Oh the poor boys in the last scene! Zeke, you get your trouble-making self out of Sam, and back on the highway, now! Sam's little nose twitch so that he doesn't cry and the sigh he lets out! And Dean looks just heartbroken before he tries to tell him. Then Dean trying to be cool afterwards and poor Sam seeing (from his point of view) his brother reverting to the 'I am not going to acknowledge your freakishness and maybe it will go away on its own'. (That never ended well in the past!) Next week is going to be so sad!

Quoting Trucklady:
My thoughts are that Metatron is working with Zeke and the plan was to gain Dean's trust enough to possess Sam which in turn will get him into the bunker where Kevin is. Kevin will translate that tablet eventually and then the reversal spell (I still believe there is one) will be revealed. So after seeing the promo and reading that Dean will be going to a very dark place, I'm thinking Zeke does something to Kevin so he can no longer translate the tablet (I sure hope he does not kill him, not ready to see that character go) .

Trucklady I have an idea about this but I am thinking that maybe since it isn't a spec thread I will post it in the promo place instead.
eilf
# eilf 2013-11-30 10:10
great review Sweetondean :D I loved and wibbled at all the same points you did regarding the boys and Jody. I really thought she was dead too - she ought to have been dead in honesty. And the horror bits of thhe episode were really pretty good horror

I have been trying not to be prim about the Suzy seduction scene. But, yeah, the run-up to it I am still pretty uncomfortable with since it is pretty disrespectful from WAY before Dean knows he might be on to something, but hey she definitely seemed to have no problem with it once she was discovered ... and I can't help wondering if it was supposed to be a parody of a porn movie - ie who is the most unlikely person the guy in the move is going to get lucky with? A chasity counsellor? Oh, ok then...

There were a couple of really funny clips too. Of course Dean successfully trolling a chastity group (what did virgins ever do to you SPN, you pack of 13-year-olds? Nothing, I guess, that being the point ;-) ) but also Sam so happy to be able to save them some time on the spell (Hey, I'M a virgin!) and Jody's response (I think we need the real McCoy)
I love the 'don't get the door for me' line, you just know that in the scene none of them realized 'Jody' wouldn't have been able to open the door (and the Winchesters are more respectful than that) and it was only when they were putting the episode together it was spotted.
Oh the poor boys in the last scene! Zeke, you get your trouble-making self out of Sam, and back on the highway, now! Sam's little nose twitch so that he doesn't cry and the sigh he lets out! And Dean looks just heartbroken before he tries to tell him. Then Dean trying to be cool afterwards and poor Sam seeing (from his point of view) his brother reverting to the 'I am not going to acknowledge your freakishness and maybe it will go away on its own'. (That never ended well in the past!) Next week is going to be so sad!

Quote:
My thoughts are that Metatron is working with Zeke and the plan was to gain Dean's trust enough to possess Sam which in turn will get him into the bunker where Kevin is. Kevin will translate that tablet eventually and then the reversal spell (I still believe there is one) will be revealed. So after seeing the promo and reading that Dean will be going to a very dark place, I'm thinking Zeke does something to Kevin so he can no longer translate the tablet (I sure hope he does not kill him, not ready to see that character go) .
Trucklady I have an idea about this but I am thinking that maybe since it isn't a spec thread I will post it in the promo place instead.
Manzanita Crow
# Manzanita Crow 2013-11-30 10:18
I really hope they build up the Sam-as-Sam character some more. I'm hoping for some scary badass Zeke first though, cos Jared is great at scary :D
Manzanita Crow
# Manzanita Crow 2013-11-30 10:18
I really hope they build up the Sam-as-Sam character some more. I'm hoping for some scary badass Zeke first though, cos Jared is great at scary :D
PENNY JAIME
# PENNY JAIME 2013-11-30 15:26
Well, I will say that they finally creeped me the HELL out! That fingernail scene. Yikes! Creepy!! Good job Supernatural.

The previews show some interesting things. I am hoping we get some answers in this weeks episode.

It wouldn't surprise me if Metatron was colluding with Zeke. I still think Cas's grace is the key to sending the angels back to Heaven. He gets it back; they go home. Then Cas is an angel again. WIN/WIN! (But that's just my version.) Metatron would be smart to be keeping an eye on things.

Is it Tuesday yet??
PENNY JAIME
# PENNY JAIME 2013-11-30 15:26
Well, I will say that they finally creeped me the HELL out! That fingernail scene. Yikes! Creepy!! Good job Supernatural.

The previews show some interesting things. I am hoping we get some answers in this weeks episode.

It wouldn't surprise me if Metatron was colluding with Zeke. I still think Cas's grace is the key to sending the angels back to Heaven. He gets it back; they go home. Then Cas is an angel again. WIN/WIN! (But that's just my version.) Metatron would be smart to be keeping an eye on things.

Is it Tuesday yet??
sweetondean
# sweetondean 2013-11-30 15:27
#10 & #11 nappi815 and Trucklady I had a conversation about this exact same thing last night. Is Zeke going to try and do something to the angel tablet or the prophet who can read the tablet AKA Kevin. #13 eilf I just read you post on the promo and yep that's where I'm going too.

Anyone fancy a Let's Discuss on this? I can see if I can get one up.
sweetondean
# sweetondean 2013-11-30 15:27
#10 & #11 nappi815 and Trucklady I had a conversation about this exact same thing last night. Is Zeke going to try and do something to the angel tablet or the prophet who can read the tablet AKA Kevin. #13 eilf I just read you post on the promo and yep that's where I'm going too.

Anyone fancy a Let's Discuss on this? I can see if I can get one up.
amyh
# amyh 2013-11-30 19:12
I worry sooo soo much about Sam. Stripped of his free will and he doesn't even know it. His health; as someone else already pointed out something is always affecting his health every year.

Thie thing i worry the most about though is not if Zeke absconds with Sam's body but if Sam losses the will to fight Zeke for control

Demon brady was right. Sams hell IS his life on Earth. It makes me...as a samgirl really wish Sam be allowed to die...but if Heaven is a collection of your happiest memories...does Sam have a happy memory that he would want to spend eternity in?

Oddly, I dont feel bad for Dean...sure he's gonna be in a dark place but he has free will, he has control over his own mind and body, he has friends to turn to; he can find pleasure in almost anything.

Dean will land on his feet, he always does. Dean always gains far more then he looses.
amyh
# amyh 2013-11-30 19:12
I worry sooo soo much about Sam. Stripped of his free will and he doesn't even know it. His health; as someone else already pointed out something is always affecting his health every year.

Thie thing i worry the most about though is not if Zeke absconds with Sam's body but if Sam losses the will to fight Zeke for control

Demon brady was right. Sams hell IS his life on Earth. It makes me...as a samgirl really wish Sam be allowed to die...but if Heaven is a collection of your happiest memories...does Sam have a happy memory that he would want to spend eternity in?

Oddly, I dont feel bad for Dean...sure he's gonna be in a dark place but he has free will, he has control over his own mind and body, he has friends to turn to; he can find pleasure in almost anything.

Dean will land on his feet, he always does. Dean always gains far more then he looses.