It’s been awhile since ‘Supernatural’ gave me a good cry. Not the sad kind where I cry because terrible things are happening to Sam and Dean, but the good kind where I cry because Sam and Dean care so much about each other.  But it happened during “Trial and Error”. Twice. And boy did I need it.

I really enjoyed this episode. It wasn’t perfect by any means. The emotional continuity has been lacking a bit over the past few seasons and some of those issues came up again in this episode. For me, these issues didn’t overshadow the rest of the episode. I’m able to look past them because of the warm and fuzzies they provided. And sometimes the warm and fuzzies win.

Dean has struggled with hopelessness throughout the series. About once a season these feelings creep up, seemingly out of nowhere, to advance the plot. I know that this bothers a lot of viewers and I understand why. But I can usually overlook it because it’s how Dean has always been. He’s always been toeing the line of depression and on occasion he jumps in with both feet. Last season, he was in a really bad way and while the first half of the season focused on his struggle, they never really solved it. How could they? Sam and Dean’s lives are hard. Even now that they’ve found a place to call home their still looking death in the eye. I think I’d have a hard time seeing the light at the end of that tunnel too.

 But Sam and Dean have a home. I never realized how happy that would make me. For years, part of the appeal of ‘Supernatural’ was the excitement and adventure of Sam and Dean’s eternal road trip. They didn’t need a home because they had the impala and each other. But I have to say that seeing them with a safe and clean place to unwind makes me happy. Dean was in full-on nesting mode; decorating his room, shopping and cooking. He could not have been more happy about it. Sam has also settled in nicely. He really made himself at home in the library; nose in the books. They both seem comfortable there. Let’s hope it lasts!

While Sam and Dean were having mind-blowing revelations about their family and settling in to their new digs poor Kevin was stuck on that boat. The montage of Kevin’s life these past few months exhausted me. Sam seemed genuinely worried about his health and I would have to agree. It’s one thing to push through the pain and it’s another to send yourself into an early grave. Especially when you play such a crucial role in closing the gates of Hell! The guy needs a nap. But it doesn’t look like he’s prepared to take one. Something tells me that Kevin is not long for this world...

As soon as I saw the intro to the episode and realized that we’d be dealing with Hellhounds I got excited and nervous. Hellhounds are one of the scarier creatures we’ve seen on ‘Supernatural’. We’ve already seen them kill Dean and Jo, not to mention countless other crossroads deal-makers. And the hallucinations they cause is the stuff of nightmares. I was legitimately scared when Dean’s face got all twisted and deformed. Scary stuff. I worried that being able to see the Hell hounds through the glasses would take away the mystery but I was wrong. They are still giant, scary dogs that are super quick on their feet. And while I’m on the subject, those glasses! Oh my. That is a good look.

God’s obstacle course is proving to be very interesting. If this was the first task I can only imagine what the other two will be. No doubt they will be more dangerous. No wonder Dean wanted Sam to sit on the sidelines and let him take care of it. But as soon as he said it out loud we all knew he jinxed himself. Come on Dean, when was the last time things went your way? Still, he was ready to try.  His speech to Sam got me all choked up. And then I got something in my eye...

Maybe it’s a little selfish of Dean to expect Sam to sit by and watch his brother go on a suicide mission, but it’s the kind of selfishness that comes from love. It’s something we’ve seen many times before from these brothers. Dean just wants Sam to be safe. Sam sees a light at the end and Dean wants him to follow it. He wants Sam to settle down, get married, become a man of letters and die an old man. For Dean, that is a happy ending. Oh man, that thing is in my eye again.

But that’s not how things work, is it? Dean needed backup and Sam was there to help. And since Sam was the one to kill the Hell hound, he’s the one that will have to complete the other two obstacles. But Sam can handle it. He’s as strong as he’s ever been both mentally and physically and he has Dean by his side. Sam’s speech to Dean really warmed my heart. He is fully prepared to survive this and he wants Dean to follow him through the tunnel and to the light. Sam shared some kind words with his brother. I think it’s something that Dean needed to hear.

Sam: “You’re not a grunt, Dean. You’re a genius. When it comes to lore, you’re the best damn hunter I have ever seen. Better than me, better than dad. I believe in you Dean. So please, please believe in me too.”

Dean didn’t protest, he just handed it all over to Sam. It was a really great moment.

So now the question becomes, what will Sam have to do? How much will Dean be able to help him with the next two tasks? Will they make it through this alive? I certainly hope so!


Needless to say, I really enjoyed this episode. I know a lot of people had expressed concern that Sam would get stuck staying back in the library while Dean went on hunts. I never really thought that would happen and now I’m sure it can’t. Sam has to be out there going through God’s obstacle course and you know Dean won’t let him do it alone. I am very excited to see what comes next in this story. Season eight has breathed new life into this show and I am loving it.

So what did you guys think? Have any ideas what tasks God has in store for Sam? Are you worried about Kevin’s well-being too?

I saw Ellie’s deal from a mile away but I’m ok with that. The deal wasn’t the point of the episode, I’m just surprised Dean didn’t catch on when she told him that sleeping together was a one night offer.

What do you think happened when Sam’s hand glowed at the end of the episode? Is he locked into this obstacle course now?

Dean: “Memory foam. It remembers me.”

Dean put the picture of his mom in his room. I just loved that he feels comfortable and stable. Sam seemed happy when he noticed it there.

Dean: “Come here you smelly son of a bitch.”

Dean: “Did you know that there are like 6,000 kinds of tomatoes?”

Dean: “I miss my room.”

Dean: “Impressed?”
Ellie: “I do like a man who can handle his meat.”

Crowley would make deals while pretending to be a traveling salesman.

Dean: “Yes I can. You wanna know why? Because it’s what I do. And buddy, I’m the best.”

Sam: “I see light at the end of this tunnel and if you come with me, I can take you to it.” Cue the waterworks.

Comments  

kaj
# kaj 2013-02-15 01:04
Finally the Stone No.1 speech has a pair. Oh, happy happy, happy.

Dean: Believe me, okay? You gotta believe me. You've gotta make it stone number one and build on it.


Sam: “I believe in you Dean. So please, please believe in me too.... .... I see light at the end of this tunnel and if you come with me, I can take you to it.” Cue the waterworks.

They're a pair!!!! Throws confetti!!!
winmomwannabe
# winmomwannabe 2013-02-15 03:08
Let me apologize ahead of time for the length of this. I decided to put it here although Alice's review and the 150plus comments after is what made me write it. This episode just rocked me and I wrote this while at work tonight. I couldn't stop thinking of this episode. Here goes. Remember, I’m nor a writer or English professor!

I want to mainly address Dean, his speech and ‘nesting’. I've read that some people feel it is Dean with no self worth again, or suicidal. Or worse, Betty Crocker! Even Sam said it I know. Here is my humble opinion, admittedly based on some personal experience, my inability to be Sam and Dean’s mother and of course my own perceptions.

I didn’t see Dean being in total despair or having no self worth in that speech. Not like I’ve felt from him in the past. I do think Purgatory helped in some ways to lessen the feelings. He had the clarity of hunting being his purpose when he got out and an acceptance of who he was and will always be.

Dean’s opening scene in the bunker was so telling. That boy had it ingrained into him from the time he was 4 years old that he was to ‘take care of Sammy’. That on top of the trauma of losing his mother made him Sam’s caretaker. I mean John was an absent father most of the time. I don’t care how old they are, how many ‘talks’ they have, or how many times Sammy tells him he’s a grown man. I don’t think Dean can ever, ever get rid of that role. I mean for 30 years it’s been him. Way back in S5 he admitted it was who he was. (Even therapy probably wouldn’t do it!)

Dean knew, albeit briefly, what it meant to be a family unit. Stability, a comfortable home, a bedroom, a fully equipped kitchen, and having a mother to take care of you and love you unconditionally . That was all lost in an instant. I don’t think he has ever, nor will ever, get over losing his mom. The photo in his room says that to me. (That’s when I started crying for Pete sake) I think those two had a special bond. Remember DSOTM and her cutting off his crusts and him comforting her when she and John had a fight? Mom’s and sons have a special connection that never ends. (At least I hope not, I have 3 of them in their 20’s, so far so good). He understood what it meant to have a mother, and needed a mother. Sooooo

Maybe he projects onto Sam his own need for a mother(would probably never admit to this btw), plus he thinks Sam needs a mother. I mean Sam never had one. He feels the need to protect him, cook for him, and see him be happy. But alas, Sam never experienced a mother so will never be able to 100% understand this need in Dean to mother him. But the smile on Sam’s face when he saw Dean’s room and the photo showed to me an inkle of acceptance that Sam sometimes gets that that is just who Dean is and he will never change that about him. He is the big brother/caretaker.

Based on all of this I felt Dean’s speech came from a place of caretaker. Mother Bear mode if you will. Sometimes when I talk to some of the younger(20 somethings) I work with it comes out. Especially when I work with some of the domestic violence victims in my job. My coworkers are all younger than me and they call me Mama Kathy when they know I am in Mother Bear mode. My own boys know it too. And if you are a mother you know what I mean. You would protect your cubs at ANY cost. Self sacrifice is a given. It’s just a fact, no need to discuss it. The cubs’ safety, happiness and life is ALWAYS more important. Does this sound anything like the Dean we all know and love? Or guilt? OMG, I always joke that mothers own guilt like nobody else! Even if it’s not our/Dean’s fault. Mother’s take it on. Another given. No need for pity about it.

Another thing is that for many people by the time they hit their 30’s they are coming to the realization that maybe some of the dreams and aspirations they held as youngsters and teens just aren’t going to materialize. So they either settle or find a way to accept where their present course is taking them. Not with despair, but just acceptance or content as you will. (I’m not saying that by their 50’s, the content isn’t a little shaky though). I just think with all of the loss, trauma, death(including his own) that Dean is coming to that place in his life. Thus in his speech I see total acceptance of himself dying with a gun in his hand. I don’t think its self pity. He accepts his present course in life. And like he said, based on their previous experiences, one of them dies, or worse.

I think most will agree that a mother’s dream is to see her children happy. Dean said exactly what would make a perfect ending for him and that would be if Sam were alive and happy. The exact selflessness one would expect from a mother/caretake r. (I’m not trying to make mothers out to be a total saint or selfless wonder, but I hope you get what I’m trying to say. I am purposely being a little over the top about it)

This is totally my own perception and I understand that. And I’m not even going to touch how this all affects Sam or how Sam can probably never truly accept or understand it. But, I think they both, in their 30’s, male way have clumsily tried their best to share their feelings at times. Especially in this episode. My god what they did share tore me up! I don’t think I could’ve taken a full blown confession/shar ing session. But after all they’ve been through I’m not surprised there are still trust issues and please, I have sons. Males just don’t share like women. And they get over stuff. Not all, but they are better at burying it too. I am just glad that Sammy sees some light and wants his brother to come along with him to the end. Hope is a beautiful thing.

I apologize again for the length of this. No show has ever made me analyze characters like this show does. I just wanted to give my perception on Dean. Thanks for reading. Hope I didn’t bore you. Thanks for creating somewhere I express this. Now I hope I can finally sleep!
Clarice 0909
# Clarice 0909 2013-02-15 05:20
Quote:
Let me apologize ahead of time for the length of this. I decided to put it here although Alice's review and the 150plus comments after is what made me write it. This episode just rocked me and I wrote this while at work tonight. I couldn't stop thinking of this episode. Here goes. Remember, I’m nor a writer or English professor!

I want to mainly address Dean, his speech and ‘nesting’. I've read that some people feel it is Dean with no self worth again, or suicidal. Or worse, Betty Crocker! Even Sam said it I know. Here is my humble opinion, admittedly based on some personal experience, my inability to be Sam and Dean’s mother and of course my own perceptions.

I didn’t see Dean being in total despair or having no self worth in that speech. Not like I’ve felt from him in the past. I do think Purgatory helped in some ways to lessen the feelings. He had the clarity of hunting being his purpose when he got out and an acceptance of who he was and will always be.

Dean’s opening scene in the bunker was so telling. That boy had it ingrained into him from the time he was 4 years old that he was to ‘take care of Sammy’. That on top of the trauma of losing his mother made him Sam’s caretaker. I mean John was an absent father most of the time. I don’t care how old they are, how many ‘talks’ they have, or how many times Sammy tells him he’s a grown man. I don’t think Dean can ever, ever get rid of that role. I mean for 30 years it’s been him. Way back in S5 he admitted it was who he was. (Even therapy probably wouldn’t do it!)

Dean knew, albeit briefly, what it meant to be a family unit. Stability, a comfortable home, a bedroom, a fully equipped kitchen, and having a mother to take care of you and love you unconditionally. That was all lost in an instant. I don’t think he has ever, nor will ever, get over losing his mom. The photo in his room says that to me. (That’s when I started crying for Pete sake) I think those two had a special bond. Remember DSOTM and her cutting off his crusts and him comforting her when she and John had a fight? Mom’s and sons have a special connection that never ends. (At least I hope not, I have 3 of them in their 20’s, so far so good). He understood what it meant to have a mother, and needed a mother. Sooooo

Maybe he projects onto Sam his own need for a mother(would probably never admit to this btw), plus he thinks Sam needs a mother. I mean Sam never had one. He feels the need to protect him, cook for him, and see him be happy. But alas, Sam never experienced a mother so will never be able to 100% understand this need in Dean to mother him. But the smile on Sam’s face when he saw Dean’s room and the photo showed to me an inkle of acceptance that Sam sometimes gets that that is just who Dean is and he will never change that about him. He is the big brother/caretaker.

Based on all of this I felt Dean’s speech came from a place of caretaker. Mother Bear mode if you will. Sometimes when I talk to some of the younger(20 somethings) I work with it comes out. Especially when I work with some of the domestic violence victims in my job. My coworkers are all younger than me and they call me Mama Kathy when they know I am in Mother Bear mode. My own boys know it too. And if you are a mother you know what I mean. You would protect your cubs at ANY cost. Self sacrifice is a given. It’s just a fact, no need to discuss it. The cubs’ safety, happiness and life is ALWAYS more important. Does this sound anything like the Dean we all know and love? Or guilt? OMG, I always joke that mothers own guilt like nobody else! Even if it’s not our/Dean’s fault. Mother’s take it on. Another given. No need for pity about it.

Another thing is that for many people by the time they hit their 30’s they are coming to the realization that maybe some of the dreams and aspirations they held as youngsters and teens just aren’t going to materialize. So they either settle or find a way to accept where their present course is taking them. Not with despair, but just acceptance or content as you will. (I’m not saying that by their 50’s, the content isn’t a little shaky though). I just think with all of the loss, trauma, death(including his own) that Dean is coming to that place in his life. Thus in his speech I see total acceptance of himself dying with a gun in his hand. I don’t think its self pity. He accepts his present course in life. And like he said, based on their previous experiences, one of them dies, or worse.

I think most will agree that a mother’s dream is to see her children happy. Dean said exactly what would make a perfect ending for him and that would be if Sam were alive and happy. The exact selflessness one would expect from a mother/caretaker. (I’m not trying to make mothers out to be a total saint or selfless wonder, but I hope you get what I’m trying to say. I am purposely being a little over the top about it)

This is totally my own perception and I understand that. And I’m not even going to touch how this all affects Sam or how Sam can probably never truly accept or understand it. But, I think they both, in their 30’s, male way have clumsily tried their best to share their feelings at times. Especially in this episode. My god what they did share tore me up! I don’t think I could’ve taken a full blown confession/sharing session. But after all they’ve been through I’m not surprised there are still trust issues and please, I have sons. Males just don’t share like women. And they get over stuff. Not all, but they are better at burying it too. I am just glad that Sammy sees some light and wants his brother to come along with him to the end. Hope is a beautiful thing.

I apologize again for the length of this. No show has ever made me analyze characters like this show does. I just wanted to give my perception on Dean. Thanks for reading. Hope I didn’t bore you. Thanks for creating somewhere I express this. Now I hope I can finally sleep!
Girl you nailed it.. you wrote exactly what I think of Dean, I see him first and foremost as Sammy's big brother and willingly caretaker... not because his dad told him so... but because he sees himself as this, and I also believe that most of his issues of lack of self worth are more related to not being able to protect Sammy as he wishes or thinks he has to.

Sofia I also enjoyed - as always - your review, we seem to have exactly the probems in the eyes while watching the serie.. wow - what a coincidence!!!!!

This season - at least for me - brought back the joy of watching Supernatural again....

Have a nice weekend everybody

Cla ; }
Leah
# Leah 2013-02-15 07:39
winmomwannabe, that is a wonderful post and how I see the brothers, I often come at this from a maternal standpoint also. There are issues that they probably should sit down and discuss but that will probably never happen. It is not their way. They forgive (not always forget) and continue on. Awkward as some of their exchanges are, that is just their code for I love and need you.
Leah
# Leah 2013-02-15 17:26
I'd like to amend my last sentence, sounds too Wincesty! Note to self: don't write comments at 4:30 am.

Anyhow "that is just their code for I love and want the best for you".
prix68
# prix68 2013-02-15 07:44
Winmomwannabe I am also the mother of two grown children and you definitely hit the nail on the head. Dean is more parent then older brother a lot of the time and no matter how old your kids get you are always their "mother bear". Thanks for taking the time to write all that. I don't see Dean as suicidal either but more as a parent protecting his child whenever possible. Even in the beginning seasons it was brought up that Sam being alone at college made John worried because his being alone would make him vulnerable because he had no back up
Sylvie
# Sylvie 2013-02-15 08:03
Quoting Winmomwannabe:
Quote:
I didn’t see Dean being in total despair or having no self worth in that speech. Not like I’ve felt from him in the past.
Absolutely, that's the way I perceived it also. Dean has always been there for Sam, and he's always taken on the job of protector. So I see this more as a soldier's speech that a suicidal one. Yes last season it did feel like he was on the brink of suicide, but not this season. As you've said, Purgatory has put that fire back in his belly, and taking care of his brother is and always will be his life's worth.

I do know some fans aren't too happy about this season, but I am loving it so much. And Winmomwannabe, I don't have children of my own, but I do work in a high school for girls, and I get that protective feeling around them. A lot of them come to see me just to talk about stuff, all they want is someone to listen to them, and it's my pleasure to do it.

And never apologize for a post being too long, it's always a pleasure to read what others think, whether it's good or bad. Isn't that what it's all about? :-)
sofia
# sofia 2013-02-15 08:20
Don't apologize! I really like your thoughts on the subject.

There's an interesting article along these same lines in the now dated book In The Hunt. Not sure if you'll be able to read the whole article online but the book is an interesting read if you decide to get it.

http://www.smartpopbooks.com/dean-winchester-bad-ass-or-soccer-mom/

The book is a series of essays on Supernatural and this article in particular talks about Dean's almost motherly instinct.
Arad
# Arad 2013-02-15 21:25
I was also thinking of the "I feel like a soccer-mom" line and "In the Hunt" essay reading your lovely post, winmomwannabe. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts - wonderfully insightful.

And thank you Sofia for an absolutely fantastic review :-)
Trucklady
# Trucklady 2013-02-15 08:43
winmomwannabe, you wrote beautifully and no one is handing out grades for proper word usage or spelling here. Heck I'm an editor and most times my head gets way ahead of the hands and some interesting stuff comes out. :-)

I agree with you that I did not feel that Dean was making his suicidal speech, just doing what he has had drilled into his head since he was 4 years old, "take care of Sammy". There must be something going around also, because in reading Sofia's review and several other comments I realized that I was not the only one with an eye problem watching this episode. I just chaulked it up to the fact that I just got contacts for the first time and am still adjusting, but then I realized that I was wearing my glasses at the time, not the contacts. :lol:

The mother instinct does not go away once you have become one no matter how old the kids are. Mine are all grown with families of their own and they are still my babies. They still come to me for advice and help whenever needed. Infact the grandkids are following their footsteps. I too have had the opportunity to be there for kids that had no one else to turn to and what a rewarding feeling that is to be able to guide our future generation on a good direction. That group of 50+ kids ended up calling me "mom" or by my first name and oh the hugs that I would get. I learned from them also that these kids are sponges and just need someone to take the time to be there for them. Well sorry didn't mean to get so far off track on that. Just goes to show how invested I am in this show and these boys. Dean has always been there for Sam as protector/careg iver and now even a unique domesticated mother figure. Who would have thought! Did you notice the hospital corners on his bed making? Where did he ever learn that from?

The ahhhh moments, 1.) Dean's about being the one to do the 3 trials and wanting Sam to be safe and have a real life and 2.)Sam's at the end wanting Dean to trust and follow him for once were just epic. These boys sure know how to tug at our heart strings. They may not share their feelings as well as we would all like to see them do but they are men, and it's been my experience that they just don't get into the "sharing and caring" way but say oh so much with just a look at each other.

It's great to be amongst others that feel as passionate about this show and these characters as I do and thanks for letting me bore you to tears also with my POV and "sharing". Looking forward to meeting you in Vegas.
galen
# galen 2013-02-15 17:30
winmomwannbe, what a well thought out lovely post. As you know, I do not have childern of my own, but I helped raise my nephews. There is nothing I would not do for them so there are aunt bears as well!! This episode tore out my heart (Dean's speech) and give me such hope (Sam's speech). It was brilliant writing, brilliant production, and billiant delivery by very skilled actors. These two speeches rank up there with my all time favorites - the stone number 1 speech by Dean and Sam's speech about believing in God and praying. I love this show!!!!
sucharita
# sucharita 2013-02-15 04:16
loved this episode. so looking forward for the next.
aelaine
# aelaine 2013-02-15 04:38
this was a great episode. tear jerking brother talks. suspense, great visual effect-those hellhounds were cool esp. Sam holding that one barking and snarling with its red eyes before Sam take a black blood bath. Those glasses! I like a man that can handle his meat ha aha The crazy family. just good. Sam loving a hamburger! poor Kevin doesn't need any more pills Dean! overall yeah I liked it
More please
Thank Sofia

Sam vs Dean Bah bores me
Sylvie
# Sylvie 2013-02-15 08:10
Thanks for the review Sofia, I really loved this episode. Those Hellhounds were as scary as I imagined they would be. Kudos to the special effects department on that one! :eek: And also to turning Dean's pretty into something pretty horrific.

Although Crowley is the one to have make those deals, I still think he's more that an ordinary crossroads demon. I think he was just nostalgic for his beginnings and decided to have a bit of fun and see if he could still close the deal. He was probably always salesman of the year! :lol: He probably got the big promotion.
st50
# st50 2013-02-15 08:18
Great review, and some great comments. (looking at you, winmomwannabe! :-) )
I really did enjoy the episode.
SO great to be seeing the boys caring about each other again and not fighting nonsense.
And poor Kevin!
Bevie
# Bevie 2013-02-15 11:25
Thanks Sofia for the excellent review. Also, had some waterworks problems while watching.

And an awesome post from winmomwannabe! Thanks so much for that. Agree 100%.

And aelaine: Sam vs Dean Bah bores me too, but it sometimes makes me write nasty posts, which I have to delete before sending. :P Sometimes I just get fed up and have to rant it out somehow. I know everyone has the right to their opinions, but the repetitiveness over and over and over is so tiring. You have to learn to skip over stuff, and I try, but sometimes its too late. Haha! :D :-)
love2boys
# love2boys 2013-02-15 22:45
Sofia you wrote a great review. You are an expressive, insiteful writer.
winmomwannabe: your comments were wonderful. Just how I feel. I agree agree agree!
This ep was awesome. I still have tears in my eyes.
Bevie: You are so funny. Repetitiveness over and over and over - teehee!
I LOVE Spn and the Winchesters, Sam and Dean, Dean and Sam...
winmomwannabe
# winmomwannabe 2013-02-16 02:17
Thank you all for your kind words. Bevie, ha, at least you get it all out and DELETE it. But I know what you mean. I've felt that way sometimes too. But now I try to just skip those and read thoroughly only the 'happy thoughts' comments. This show means too much to me to dwell on that stuff. Of course I don't 'love' everything they do on the show, but as a whole it usually works for me. And I don't see the point in getting that negative or riled up about a TV show. Wait, did I just say that about SPN? After what I wrote? HaHAHA! I mean riled up in a negative way.

Anyone of you on this thread besides Trucklady and of course galen, going to be in Vegas? Sounds like we have similar views and I would love to meet you.
nappi815
# nappi815 2013-02-16 11:51
i agree with all you've said winmomwannabe.. .that's some handle :D .

and what you said, added to everything dean has said since larp and the real girl has me totally baffled about his resentment/ange r towards sam in the first half of the season. it makes no sense to me.

everything dean said he wants for sam, it seemed to me that that's what dean thought sam had while he was in purgatory. i concluded that dean was angry at sam because he thought he met a girl and quit hunting and left him there..like sam knew he was there but still did nothing.

i thought the whole first half of the season was ridiculous.

i think sam did look for dean in those unaccounted for months. i think he didn't know where to look. had no resources. no contacts...no nothing...he was utterly alone and in all honesty i believe he didn't know what to do. i think sam convinced himself that dean was dead. it's a defense mechanism...whi ch i think is better than the alternative, which is yet again failing his brother, not able to save him.

i think he hit the dog and fell into a normal routine quite by accident, waiting for the dog to heal. amelia seemed to me to be a way for sam to focus his attention away from his loss. he noticed by the signs that she was a messed up person and was drawn to her. he wanted to help. he needed to help...he needed not to fail someone. it wasn't about love. in no fb was there a sign he loved her...but i think it was about wanting to fix her....to succeed with her where he failed, in his head, dean.

dean, from what i gathered, had this image in his head that sam went off with a girl rather than look for him.

but based on what i'm seeing now, i'm not sure that's what it was really about with dean. sam told dean he thought he was dead. based on that alone, if dean had died then i would think as i certainly believe that dean would go to heaven. why would sam take dean out of heaven, especially since as i head, convincing himself dean was dead, sam would also have no doubt that's where dean would be.

contrary to what notion dean had, sam really wasn't happy with amelia. every fb we saw, only showed how miserable the two of them were, individually. and together...it was simply a misery loves company situation. sam knew it was doomed from the start. according to hunteri heroici, sam already recognized that he couldn't run from reality. breaking up with amelia made it quite obvious to me that sam knew he had to stop running.

in all honesty, i think now that dean wasn't angry that sam didn't look. i know dean heard sam when he said he thought he was dead. that he imploded and that he ran....after all, back in s2 when sam died...the first words to bobby was that he was done with it. he'd paid enough. he'd lost enough. even in s6, though part of it was about keeping a promise to sam, dean was running too...he didn't want to hunt without his brother.

i've now come to the conclusion that dean was angry/resentful because he thought sam forgot him. i think dean thought because sam was with amelia, he wasn't thinking about dean....that he actually accepted his loss and moved on...and though it's exactly what we all have to do eventually , i think for dean he wasn't ready for that yet.

but sam didn't move on and forget. the whole debacle with amelia is exactly because sam couldn't forget.


jmo of course...but this new outlook does make me feel a bit better about the atrocity that was the first half of the season....at least for me. :D
Cathy Mitchell
# Cathy Mitchell 2013-02-16 17:28
winmomwannabe, agree with you whole heartedly that Dean was not suicidal in this episode. I can definitely see the protective "parent" in his statements, but mostly see the soldier who knows someone has to take the crap mission so that everyone else can survive. I know military members who are like/would have done things like this, to protect others. And it is never about self-worth or low self-esteem. In someways, it's almost the other way. Someone has to do the crap job, and who do they trust to do it right? But sometimes, it's about who gets the crap job first, in this case it was Sam.

Also, regarding Sam completing the 3 tasks. Honestly, with the major myth arcs of previous seasons, has it ever been able to be completed by 1 Winchester working alone? No. It always takes them both. And I am sure that it will here, just not sure how.

One last comment about the plot. I am going to make a really weird analogy. You know how some people use salad merely as the vehicle to eat salad dressing? Ya'll know who I mean. This entire plot felt like the vehicle to get all the scenes with the brothers in one episode. The beginning, with Dean's room, the burger, etc. Dean's speech to Sam, and Sam's back to Dean. That was the purpose of the episode, or the dressing, to see the brothers acting like brothers. The plot was the salad. (I like salad, btw, but know people who eat salad like this.) I think that's why the plot was "light" by Supernatural standards.
olivia forest
# olivia forest 2013-02-17 13:08
great review sophia & spot on winmomwannabe! thank you for the excellent post.