Well, they’ve done it again. Every single season I think that I can’t be left in more suspense then I was the year before. And every season I’m wrong.
The show certainly brought it’s A-game in "Survival of the Fittest." Not only did the episode do a really nice job of wrapping things up, it also created a whole set of new mind-boggling questions. Questions that we’ll have to sit on until October! This is going to be the longest four and a half months…

I could go on for pages about all the things I liked about this episode so I apologize if this ends up as more of a recap then a review. In the interest of organizing my thoughts (which are going a mile a minute) I’ll separate everything in to categories. I’d love to hear what you guys think, too, so jump in in the comments section and let’s pass the time with a little discussion.

Bobby


I actually expected Bobby to play a bigger role in bringing Dick down. After going vengeful and possessing the maid, I assumed he’d at least make it in to confront Dick face to face. But almost killing Sam brought him back to himself before he got that far.  That didn’t necessarily disappoint me because I really did want Sam and Dean to be the ones to put an end to Dick. This year has been about isolating Sam and Dean in order to see how they could handle things on their own, so I wanted them to handle it without too much supernatural intervention. I think it goes without saying that I was very sad to see Bobby go, but I was happy to see him leave on his own terms. That’s something I’ve been hoping for. The last thing Sam or Dean need is the guilt of killing Bobby against his will. They even got the chance to say a real goodbye to him this time. I think that’s the best we could have hoped for in this situation.

Baby


Oh, man, it was great to see that car again. I knew I missed her, but I didn’t realize how much until I saw how pretty she looked flying down the highway. That car has been a constant since day one and has often been the only thing Sam and Dean could count on. It’s been a long season without her. Hopefully she didn’t sustain too much damage when Meg drove her through the SucroCorp sign. Anyone else amazed that Dean let Meg drive his car? (Although it was one hell of a diversion.)

Dick and Crowley


When will people learn that you can’t outsmart Crowley? He’ll always find a way to screw you over in the end. Crowley is one if the best villains we’ve ever had on Supernatural, and as much as I want to hate him, I’m thrilled to see he’ll be back next season. I loved the chemistry that Crowley and Dick had in this episode. It was so funny watching them negotiate the terms of their comically long contract. To be fair to Dick, he did have a back-up plan assuming Crowley would try to pull one over on him.  His plan to multiply himself was unexpected and very smart. Too bad for him Castiel could see through it all.

At the end of the day, I figured Crowley would give the boys his real blood. It’s like Dean said, who does he want dead more? Sam and Dean are a definite threat to Crowley, but Dick and all his leviathan friends are a larger threat. Plus, Crowley didn’t have to tell anyone about the little “kick” that comes with stabbing Dick. And he managed to take out three birds with one stone.

So now what?


So Dean and Castiel are in purgatory while Sam is left alone on earth with literally no one to turn to. This situation seems almost worse then in past seasons because it was so unexpected. Sure, there’s always a chance that Sam or Dean could die (and they have a few times) but this time Sam has no idea what happened. Purgatory certainly wasn’t part of the plan. Right at the moment when it seemed they were about to win, poof. Dean and Cas are just gone. Sam has no idea if they’re dead or not, and Crowley was no help in explaining it. There is no question that Sam is smart and will eventually figure out that if Dean isn’t dead he’s likely in purgatory. But what good does that do him? Castiel would have been the one to help him with that, and he’s gone, too. Sam obviously isn’t on good terms with Crowley, and who knows what Crowley has planned for the world now that the demons are in control. Even Meg can’t help Sam out since Crowley’s minions have taken her. Things are not looking very good for Sam right now.


I should say things aren’t looking any better for Dean and Cas. They are trapped in Purgatory with no real means of escape. Dean doesn’t know what happened to Sam, and there is no way to contact him. Cas may be of some assistance in getting out but it looks like he and Dean are separated at the very end of the episode. How do you even begin to formulate an escape plan? And even though it seems they killed Dick, the rest of the levis are back in Purgatory with Dean and Cas. Not to mention all the other things that go bump in the night.

What do you guys think is going to come of this? How long can the show go with Sam and Dean separated? A week? A month? Longer? Is there anyone you can think of that could come to the aid of Sam or Dean? Maybe Death or the alpha vamp could be of some assistance? I could see Sam going to try and negotiate with the alpha vamp. He would be the one to talk to about Purgatory, but I doubt he’d be inclined to help, unless Sam makes a deal. Vicious cycle.

What an awesome season. It was not without its bumps in the road, but I for one thoroughly enjoyed it. I’m sad to see Sera Gamble leave the Supernatural family, but I think this episode was a beautiful goodbye. There were so many great lines and moments in this episode and I’m sure I didn’t get them all. Share anything I missed below!

•    "Carry On Wayward Son." Gives me chills every time.

•    Dick: “How do you take it?”
Crowley: “Alcoholic.”

•    I loved that Dick offered up Canada to Crowley.

•    Dick: “I don’t kiss on the mouth.”
Crowley: “Your loss”

•    Dean: “Let’s bone this nun.”

•    Meg: “Go ask him. He was your boyfriend first.”

•    Cas: “I mean, how important is lipstick to a human being?”

•    Crowley: “You bore me, you know that? You have no sense of poetry.”

•    The look Crowley gave Dean when Cas started talking was priceless.

•    Crowley: “Never trust anyone. A little lesson I learned from my last business partner. “

•    Cas: “I can’t help. I destroyed everything and I’ll destroy it again.”

•    Dean: “Nobody cares that you’re broken, Cas. Clean up your mess.” This conversation broke my heart.

•    Cas: “Doesn’t this place feel one species short?”

•    Bobby: “Do it because it’s the job. And when it’s your time, go.”

•    Bobby: “Here’s to running into your guys on the other side. Only, not too soon.”

•    The light on Sam and Dean’s face as Bobby burned away was so beautiful and so sad. Great director’s choice. 

•    Dean: “We’re all cursed. Do I seem like good luck to you?”
Cas: “I don’t want to make you uncomfortable but I detect a note of forgiveness.”

•    Crowley: “Bone’s got a bit of a kick. “



Comments  

K_and_W
# K_and_W 2012-05-20 15:09
I'm glad also that Bobby got to say goodbye for real before he left for good, even though we will still miss him... :(

And I agree! As soon as I saw Baby back on the road I realized that I was grinning so big that I probably looked like a clown or something. :) YAY for the Impala!

I was thinking that Sam was all alone now too, but as far as I can remember, Jodi Mills is still around. I hope they bring her back to help Sam and keep him company. And that un-describable look on Sam's face when he found that he was completely alone in the lab, with no idea what so ever if his brother was alive, crushed me.... Poor Sam!

I hate waiting..... October is too long!
Mickey
# Mickey 2012-05-20 15:43
I know, Sam looked totally freaked at the end!

As terrifying as Purgatory looked for Dean, it was Sammy freaking out all alone in the lab that really got me. The brothers always react more when the other one is in danger than when they are facing the danger themselves. And the horrible thing for Sam was just not even knowing where Dean was. How is he supposed to help?

I really hope Sam is the one to help though. I really don't like the brothers being separated, but it will be worth it if Sam saves Dean from Purgatory, seeing how broken up he was that he hadn't managed to save Dean from Hell.

And I agree, seeing Baby again was such a huge kick! I was thrilled with that scene. She was such a badass diversion.
K_and_W
# K_and_W 2012-05-20 15:09
I'm glad also that Bobby got to say goodbye for real before he left for good, even though we will still miss him... :(

And I agree! As soon as I saw Baby back on the road I realized that I was grinning so big that I probably looked like a clown or something. :) YAY for the Impala!

I was thinking that Sam was all alone now too, but as far as I can remember, Jodi Mills is still around. I hope they bring her back to help Sam and keep him company. And that un-describable look on Sam's face when he found that he was completely alone in the lab, with no idea what so ever if his brother was alive, crushed me.... Poor Sam!

I hate waiting..... October is too long!
percysowner
# percysowner 2012-05-20 15:36
Garth is around as well, although he wouldn't be my first choice to go to he was well received in fandom. We also never saw Frank's body, so he is possible as well. I'd love for Charlie to come back, but she said she wanted to stay out of it, so I don't expect to see her again.
sofia
# sofia 2012-05-22 09:06
I always forget about Garth. Probably because I'm constantly shocked that he's not dead yet. :)
m1tchells
# m1tchells 2012-05-22 13:03
There is that one shot of the boys in the car when they are watching the surveillance videos of the multiple Dick's and Sam says something to the effect of "Thank you Charlie" I took that to mean that Charlie had helped them again because the 1st cameras she hacked were at DR Enterprises and this time they were at Sucrocorp. Not that that means she will be coming back, but...maybe?
rmoats8621
# rmoats8621 2012-05-20 15:31
Great review. I think next season both guys are going to have such great storylines because the possibilities are almost endless on which way Carver can take this situation.

BTW - I love your reviews. Have a great summer and I look forward to reading new ones in the fall! :D
sofia
# sofia 2012-05-22 09:07
Thanks for the kind words! Keep stopping by the site during the hiatus. We've got a lot of stuff lined up for the summer!
Mickey
# Mickey 2012-05-20 15:36
Yep, they brought their A-Game! The finale satisfyingly wrapped things up while setting up a terrifying and enticing start for the next season. Exactly what a finale should do!

Sera went out with a bang!
EireneS
# EireneS 2012-05-20 22:02
Sofia-good review. Thank you.
Why do you think the Leviathans are in Purgatory since Dick was killed?? I don't remember any statement / speculation that said the Leviathans would automatically return to Purgatory if Dick died. There will be a lot of other monsters in Purgatory-all of Mother Eve's creations plus vampires, shape shifters, ghouls, etc, etc.

I thought Dick had a really "good" death-enjoyed it very much.

I, also, am glad that Sam and Dean had a chance to say a decent good-bye to Bobby. Sam was smart to see Bobby had taken over the maid and to try to stop them. I'm glad Bobby was able to stop before he killed Sam. And that he realized he was unable to control his rage. Thought he would have more to do with killing Dick, also, but it felt OK the way it worked out.

Liked seeing that Tran the prophet was still alive-have no idea yet what Crowley can do with him.

I like Meg this time through-enjoy her snarkiness and humor. Hope she stays around for awhile but I have no doubt that Crowley has her fastened down on a torture bed just for the hell of it. I thought that her getting out of the Impala after seeing 2 people-and one of them very obviously a male-driving it down the road was a little kink in the editing. We can assume what we need to but it was still sloppy.

So, Crowley knew what the bone and blood would do to Dick and the following "kick"-sending Dean and Cas to Purgatory. Of course, that was his ace in the hole-he always seems to have one. He is privy to a lot of info on different monsters/things /spells, etc.
I thought his contract negotiations with Dick was hilarious.

So Dean and Sam are going to be parted at the beginning of Season 8 (Season 8-Yay!).

Looking so forward to the season.
sofia
# sofia 2012-05-22 09:10
I guess I assumed that the other levis were sent back to Purgatory. Although now that mention it that is a total assumption on my part. They may very well be hanging out on earth. I guess we won't know for sure until October.
NOLANOLA
# NOLANOLA 2012-05-21 04:29
"AN EMBARRASSMENT OF RICHES" WAS ONE OF MY FAVORITE LINES.

YET AGAIN DEAN IS STUCK & PAYING A PRICE. CANT THE DUDE WIN JUST ONCE? DAMN. AND WHERE THE HELL IS CAS? WHEN HE POOFED OUT HE SHOULD HAVE TAKEN DEAN. CANT HE JUST GET OUT? HE WENT TO HELL ALBEIT WITH OTHER ANGELS.

I WILL TRY TO REGROUP & READ SOME MORE. BBL
sofia
# sofia 2012-05-22 09:11
"An embarrassment of riches" how could I forget that one! I love Crowley (as much as you can love someone that is totally evil).
Varsha
# Varsha 2012-05-21 10:09
Did NOT see that coming. Through all the discussions of what would happen in this season's finale, not once did any of us expect this! Okay, Purgatory came up- but Dean and Cas in there? And poor Sammy freaking out really got to me! This is such a great concept for season 8. Who knows, you can even bring back recurring characters with this! Maybe all those people Ash couldn't find in heaven will also be in Purgatory! The possibilities are just endless, and you're right- the show really brought the A-game with this ep! Can't wait for 8 now, and the Jeremy Carver magic!
Sylvie
# Sylvie 2012-05-21 12:10
Yep, absolutely loved this episode, in fact I loved the whole season. I think some time apart for Sam & Dean next season could be very interesting. Jared Padalecki was talking about that at the up-fronts the other day, and he mentioned two of my favourites, Free to be You and Me and I Know What You Did Last Summer. I know some fans don't like it when the brothers are too long apart, but it's also interesting to see how they function on their own. Obviously, I hope it won't be for too many episodes, but still, like I said, it could bring up some great possibilities.

I squealed with joy when I saw the Impala, here's hoping Sam takes good care of her. I can't believe she'll need some fixing again! But, hey, she's built pretty darn solid, so I have faith.

Crowley and Dick. Oh my, the look on Dick's face was priceless when Crowley pulled out that humongous contract. Never mess with Crowley and his contracts, he'll always find a way to screw you!

And lastly, a big huge thank you to Sera Gamble for all the great episodes she's written over the years. On to the hiatus, it's going to be a long one.
sofia
# sofia 2012-05-22 09:12
I agree! Sera went out with a bang! Wonderful season finale.

I actually like a little brotherly separation every now and then. I'm a glutton for punishment. I am glad that their separation isn't a result of a disagreement though.
MetamorphicRocks
# MetamorphicRocks 2012-05-21 14:56
I really liked this finale, but one thing I was curious about was why any scenes about Sam's wall and/or Lucifer were not in "The Road So Far" montage. That was part of the season, but it wasn't included.

Cas and Dean in Purgatory has great potential to produce some amazing episodes. I really like how Jeremy Carver weaves a storyline (not only in SPN but in Being Human as well), so I'm very eager to see what he does with this.

They could bring anyone back, including any monsters and any person not yet accounted for in Heaven. Cas and Dean have to spend some time in Purgatory because this is just too awesome an opportunity to pass up storywise.

Seeing Sam's perspective and who he turns to has the potential to bring in some great emotional moments also. Even though I enjoyed much of season 7, I felt like the story for the boys was not personal enough. What is more personal than one brother lost and both Sam and Dean trying to fight their way back to each other?

So excited for next season!
sofia
# sofia 2012-05-22 09:20
That's a great point about Sam's wall getting no mention in "The Road So Far". My guess to why it wasn't included is that it doesn't directly effect what was going to happen in the finale. It does explain why Castiel is acting loopy but they probably had to make a cut somewhere to keep that segment from going too long. Personally, I'm ok with that. I'd rather get see new stuff then spend precious minutes on recap. :)

Dean and Cas in purgatory offers some awesome possibilities. I can't wait to see what old "friends" they encounter down there!
TeresaPezzino
# TeresaPezzino 2012-05-22 20:28
That's a great point about Sam's wall getting no mention in "The Road So Far". My guess to why it wasn't included is that it doesn't directly effect what was going to happen in the finale. quote]
I believe "The Road So Far" shows scenes that include those characters that are going to be in the episode and are relevant to the epi plotline.
digyd
# digyd 2012-05-21 15:01
I am one very happy camper. I purposely stayed away from all reviews and even this site for the past few weeks because I didn't want to have a single speculation, preview or even negative thought in my head as I went into the finale. I can now come back and I am happy to see not only a lot of satisfied people, but people who agree that ending opens a HUGE door, window, even a ceiling to what can be brought back or done on this show next season. And all because of those last few minutes. Well done!

Meg said Crowley is always someone to watch out for. This proves it all over again. I have loved him since the start and I love him even more now for being so darn tricky! I mean, sure, when a monster starts pulsating in front of you, you MAY want to leave the room, if not the building, but ok! Dean in Purgatory is just plain awesome! (and scary! My poor Dean!) Dick was FANTASTIC, but I can't say I will miss the endless Dick jokes. I so appreciated Sam calling him Roman that one time.

It was clever of ROMAN to create clones. Loved that. Cas as always was too precious for words, but I wonder was he knocked back to his senses when he was sent to Purgatory? Yeah, he sounded like himself, but if he is normal, does this not throw a wrench in the whole Endverse theory? Gotta admit, Dean is looking and sounding more and more like Endverse these days, which I hate the thought of and Cas was going that way, but suddenly maybe he's not.

Whatev! I loved it. I was happy. I am assuming they will re-air the season in order? But will I watch it or wait for the DVDs? Can't decide on that. For now, I am still reeling over Dean sorta being alone, but Sam really being more alone than him! At least Dean has an angel to help him. Sam is going to have to find some of those angels in hiding from the garrison or a sympathetic demon or monster or SOMETHING! How will he figure it out? I know he's smart, but when Dean first disappeared, I know I wasn't thinking, "Oh! He's in Purgatory!" So darn sad.

This has got to be the best cliffhanger they have ever done, in my opinion. Way to go Sera. Out with a bang! Literally!
NOLANOLA
# NOLANOLA 2012-05-21 18:10
CANON, LORE, RULES BE DAMNED.

THERE IS NO REASON WHY BOBBY SHOULD NOT BE IN HEAVEN WITH HIS WIFE & BUDDIES. HE CHOSE TO LEAVE, PEACEFULLY.

DEAN, I HAVE FINALLY FIGURED OUT IS THE "JOB" OF THIS SERIES. HE CANT CATCH A BREAK.

BRAVA SERA AS ALWAYS, THE WOMAN CAN WRITE.

WILL SAY MORE LATER. THANKS FANDOM
EireneS
# EireneS 2012-05-22 14:13
Just a question.
Is Sera Gamble leaving Supernatural? I thought she was just stepping down from being executive overseer to just being another writer on the series. Is she actually leaving the series?
Sharon
# Sharon 2012-05-22 15:23
I think she has left completely .Which is a shame although this season left alot to be desired for me she was the only what I call Sam writer left someone who at least showed a interest in him and wanted to write for him even if that seem to wane this year.
Alice
# Alice 2012-05-22 21:41
She has left completely. I'm not even sure she works for Warner Brothers anymore, or at least in their offices. It's sad really.