This is a tricky review to write. As I look over my notes, I realize that this was one of those really funny episodes that kind of didn't go anywhere. Don't get me wrong, I laughed a lot and found it to be a pretty enjoyable hour of television. But as far as major plot development goes, there wasn't much. 
 
Dean's conversation with Frank at the beginning of the episode was a pretty good indication that we weren't going to get any Dick action this week. (Sorry, it's too easy) There was also no sign of invisible Bobby/Cas. But there were clowns. There were lots of clowns. 
 
 
 

I don't know about you, but clowns were ruined for me as a child when I stumbled on a Sunday afternoon showing of "IT". Yes, I've seen it since and I know how lame it actually is. But that fear of the first time has stuck with me all these years. Then one evening I stumbled on a little show on the WB. I was intrigued by the two handsome costars, and I was drawn in by the drama of the loss they'd just suffered. Then, there was a clown on the screen. I almost turned it over. I had my hand on the remote but I just couldn't do it. And I'm so glad I didn't because here I am six years later still way too invested to change the channel when clowns come on the screen again.  
 
Now, I wouldn't say my fear of clowns is to the level that it is for Sam. I actually feel like I have "Supernatural" to thank for desensitizing me to those kinds of things. And you'd think that Sam, a hunter and killer of evil creatures, would have been desensitized by now himself. But the look of pure terror on his face was unmistakable.  There were even times I thought he might just stop fighting and start crying. Poor guy. I felt guilty for laughing, but not guilty enough to stop. 

 
But there weren't just clowns in this episode, there was a killer octopus that left giant welts all over its victim, a unicorn that impales people and shoots rainbows out of its ass (nice touch) and a shark in the ball pit. I do have to say that the shark was actually pretty creepy. As an avid watcher of Shark Week, I also found Dean's knowledge of shark bites hilarious. 
 
I'm sure I won't be the first one to say this, but the premise of this episode felt a little familiar. At least three other episodes came to mind as I watched PPMM. The first being "Tall Tales" from season two. Alligators in the sewer and slow dancing aliens would have fit in with this episode's shark, clowns, and unicorn. I actually found myself wondering why Sam and Dean didn't suggest a trickster could be behind it. Season four's "Wishful Thinking" also came to mind. Not that the children wished for their parents to die, but they did wish that their parents would pay more attention to them. And like "Wishful Thinking," these wishes went sour.  

 
The third episode that came to mind while watching "PPMM" was the season five episode "I Believe the Children are our Future". Instead of old wives tales coming true and killing people it was the children's worst fears that came to life. Did anyone else find similarities to other episodes that I didn't mention? And am I the only one stuck on the fact that there have been so many child-centric episodes this season? Not that I have a problem with it, I just wonder what's behind this sudden surge.
 
If there was one moment from this episode that stood out from all the rest, I'd have to say it was the final scene. The dialogue between Sam and Dean warmed my heart.  First of all, Dean laughed. It was a real laugh, with a smile that touched his eyes. It's been a while since we've seen one of those from either brother, and I was really happy to see it from Dean. And I was equally glad to see how happy it made Sam. (Even though Dean was laughing at his expense.) Hopefully this means that the conversations he's had with Bobby, Ness, Frank, and Sam have finally started to sink in. Find a purpose, keep on smiling because you're alive and it's your job, and don't die.  I was also happy to hear Dean apologize for subjecting Sam to the cruel and unusual punishment that was Plucky Pennywhistle's Magical Menagerie. And I think the apology made Sam happy, too. And when I finally thought the scene couldn't get sweeter, Sam gives Dean the giant slinky. (There is no way to make that not sound like a double entendre) It was such a small gesture, but so meaningful. 

 
So what did you all think of the episode? Do you think Dean is finally in a good place to help Sam? Judging from next week's preview, it looks like he'll need it. 
 
This episode was chock full of one liners, and I'm sure I'll miss a few. Feel free to add any I miss below!
 
*Who else loved the title card?
 
*Did you like the count down clock? I didn't really get it. Am I missing something?  (From Alice - It's mocking "24."  Seems to be following the "time" theme that's been working it's way through episodes this season).
 
* Dean: "I'm getting the clap off this thing just touching it."
 
* "Creepin' my cheese" I may have to start using that expression now.
 
*"Dick on Dick"
 
* Dean: "Close but no Seabiscuit"
 
*Sam: "They think the ball washer did it."
Dean: "The what?"
Sam: "The ball washer"
Dean: "The what?"
Sam: "The ball…"
 
* Dean: "Shark Week, man. How do you not watch that?"
 
* So who else thinks bad cop Sam is hot?
 
*Tyler: "That stuff tastes like butt"
 Dean: "That is butt."
 
* "Right friggin' now." Loved that.
 

Comments  

kazkriz
# kazkriz 2012-02-12 20:54
Great review.. I loved this episode... really I love it.. actually I don't care if there was no plot :) but it made me soooooo happy.. I was so pleased to see Dean smiling again!!!! and the unicorn.. oh boy!!! I was totally amazed. Now what really made me cry (I know I was happy but I couldn't help crying) was the ending scene.. even if it was a good nice brotherly moment I felt really sad to see them just like brothers... like back in season one... when they used to joke around each other :) ... well, and then I was even more depressed when I saw next week promo. :(
sofia
# sofia 2012-02-13 07:55
I agree! It was sad knowing that this moment of happiness between the brothers can't last long. At the same time I am definitely ready to get back in to the meat of the season. I just wish we could have both. I guess I'm a greedy fan!
Ginger
# Ginger 2012-02-12 21:02
No, I don't think Dean or Sam are getting better. Actually, it took me a few minutes to get into this episode, because when we last left the brothers, they were both in very bad places. Once I put that aside, realizing it was just a stand-alone, I loved the episode. While I understand stand-alones, the continuity of between this episode and the previous one was really jarring, and that is my only complaint.

Another episode I was reminded of was Yellow Fever because, if I'm correct, the opening scene was the same set as Dean running from the Yorkie in Yellow Fever. I, too, thought of Tall Tales (another episode I really loved).

Yes, from the title card to the wonderful ending scene with Dean actually laughing, I loved everything about this episode. I can't even pick a favorite scene: Sam freaking out over Plucky's and his, "No," to Dean, Dean calling him "Sammy," the ball washer, Sam's hilarious bad cop (and I loved the manager lady), the meth head, the brothers actually getting the bad guy...I don't have a favorite scene...it was all glitter and fun!

I sure do like the brothers in this episode but, unfortunately, I think we're back to all depressed emo from here on out. Maybe we'll run into these two Winchesters next season. Something to look forward to 'cause they sure are fun to have around.
sofia
# sofia 2012-02-13 08:05
I agree that these stand-alone episodes can be a little confusing at times. But I was so glad to see Sam and Dean happy that I almost didn't care.

I didn't even notice that the opening scene was shot in the same location as Yellow Fever. It doesn't really surprise me. I almost never notice that kind of stuff. The set designers can pull one over on me pretty easily.
francie1
# francie1 2012-02-12 21:14
Loved reading your review. This episode had me laughing constantly and i think we're going to need that after seeing the promo for next week. Was it just me or did the laugh by that creepy clown doll Dean gave Sam sound just like Lucifer's creepy laugh at the end of the promo?
sofia
# sofia 2012-02-13 07:53
Oh wow! I did not catch that. I'm going to have to go back and listen to that again.
Sylvie
# Sylvie 2012-02-13 09:09
Great review Sofia. This episode was so full of awesome for me. I smiled with sheer happiness from beginning to end, it was like "Tall tales", that is one of my favourites. I turn to that one when the atmosphere gets too heavy, so I've been watching it alot since last season! Now I have a new one I can go back and watch when SPN gets too down.

Yes Sam running at the beginning was very reminiscent of Dean running away from the yorkie in "Yellow Fever", laughed out loud at that one too. Poor Sam and his clown phobia. I felt bad for him, but not bad enough not to laugh. Dean's laugh at the end said it best. And Sam giving his brother that giant rainbow coloured slinky, so cute. I love the Winchester brotherly love. It was nice to see it before the heaviness coming our way in the next weeks.
SecretWillow
# SecretWillow 2012-02-13 09:50
Very nice review, thank you. I was so excited about this episode all last week. I kept mumbling the title out loud to myself at any random point in the day. Maybe it's the alliteration. I like alliteration. But I got more than a couple of strange looks from co-workers who were wondering what in the world I kept repeating to myself.

Jared was so good in this, from the glitter (I so need to have outtakes from that on the gag reel) to the facial expressions, to his just simply knowing his brother would love to have a giant slinky. And Dean's laugh when Sam pulled up--I was startled to see such a full-on, lighthearted, belly laugh come from him. Of all the times in the past that Dean has chortled, giggled, smirked, grinned or teased, I don't feel anything has come close to that laugh. Not even when he and Cas were run out of the brothel in S5. It subsided quickly, and the whole scene turned bittersweet. Here, it was brotherly love, it was genuine and touching, truly joyful. I could (and will) watch that over and over again.

And has Dean developed a more refined palate over the years? I seem to recall in S2, Tall Tales, Sam complaining that Dean's food in the fridge wasn't food anymore, it was Darwinism. How bad did that pizza have to be for Dean to spit it out? I loved that. And I love whenever Dean interacts with kids.

"Creeping my cheese" is offically being added to my daily vernacular, and if I can find a chance to use "ball washer", I'm taking it. This week's promo has me a bit (okay, a lot) on edge.
Sylvie
# Sylvie 2012-02-13 10:19
And this is the same guy that thought prison food wasn't too bad, ugh. That pizza must really have tasted like butt for him to spit it out like that. That was so cute, my four-year-old niece does that to food she doesn't like.
sofia
# sofia 2012-02-14 08:18
I love that you were mumbling the title to yourself! That sounds like something I would do.
Gwen
# Gwen 2012-02-13 15:38
I loved every second of this episode. It was a great big glittery, rainbow slinky, brotherly love hour of fun. I felt so bad for Sam (I hate clowns too) but whilst half of me wanted to grab him and take him someplace clown-free and safe the other half of me was laughing too hard at the poor boy's misfortunes. :lol: There were so many scenes I loved - Dean reassurring Sam over the phone and his 'Sammy' (awwww...) when Sam protested ever slightly too much, Sam's near to overwhelming panic when he first went into Plucky's, Sam's bad cop routine, Dean's 'oooohhh...I want one...' face when he first saw the giant slinkys at Plucky's, the way Dean's eyes narrowed so dangerously when the bad guy said Sam was the next to be targeted, Sam's dimples and smiles in the scenes at the beginning when Dean was on the phone to Frank and shortly after when the boys were discussing monster babies. So many great scenes. But my favourite scene was the last. Dean's laugh - oh how I've missed happy Dean, Sam's happiness at seeing Dean happy, Sam giving Dean the slinky and the sparkly awesomeness that was Glitter!Sam. Fabulous stuff. Now roll on next week. I am SO excited to see what's ahead for Sam. Chewing my nails over it but yet still giddy with excitement too.
elle
# elle 2012-02-13 15:43
Sofia, like you I had trouble figuring out where to take a review, because while the episode was hilarious, it was content-lite. You nailed all the hilights in this great write up though. I didn't realize the countdown was a "24" reference, but the "RIGHT FRIGGIN' NOW" made me laugh out loud too.

Bad cop Sam was both hot and funny. I liked him in that role quite a bit.

Like many others, if I absolutely have to choose a favourite scene, it's the end with the giant slinky (dirty!) from Sam to Dean and the way Sam really seems to get genuine pleasure from seeing Dean happy, really happy, for the first time in a while.

I didn't even think of TCAOF when watching this, but you make good points about the similarities. I thought of Yellow Fever, and Bad Day at Black Rock when watching, for the style of humour and nature of some of the jokes/physical comedy.

There has been a lot of children this season. Hmm....wonder what that's about.

I'm super excited for next week - cannot wait for the main plots to kick into high gear.

Thanks, Sofia!
sofia
# sofia 2012-02-14 08:22
I can't believe Bad Day at Black Rock never even crossed my mind. That episode had some of the best physical comedy I've ever seen from Jared.
nancyL
# nancyL 2012-02-13 18:50
Am I the only one that thought that bad cop Sam reminded me of the Soulless One??? Okay he WAS HOT, but I was having flashbacks to 'All dogs go to Heaven' and 'You can't handle the Truth'.

Once again, the episode was better than it's preview. I was amazed to find that I actually enjoyed this episode. I also loved the brotherly guilt of Dean at the end and the warm laughter that the two shared.

Poor Sammy, when he was walking around, I really thought that he was going to crap his pants. :lol:

The beginning of the episode of Sam being chased by the clowns is a call back to 'Yellow Fever' s beginning where Dean is being chased by the doggie. (thanks SupernaturalWik i).

Another tidbit from SuperWiki: The actor who played Howard is married to Julie McNiven aka Anna. I like how the casting director keeps roles 'in the family'.

Poor Sammy, clowns last week, Lucifer this week, Sofia you are so right, Sammy is going to need his big brother close by and sober.
Sylvie
# Sylvie 2012-02-14 14:25
Yeah, he reminded me of soulless Sam too, but a lot less comfortable with it though. I laughed out loud when he tells the guy in the lion suit that he can do anything to him because he's the federal government. Ha!
LEAH
# LEAH 2012-02-13 20:50
I find it interesting that this review and the others, plus the comments are almost all in agreement that the story didn't advance but we all LOVED the episode. It shows how important the brotherly bonding and shared laughter is to us and the huge void we have all felt this year.

Loved your comment about Sam giving Dean the giant slinky.

The writers always seem to come up with warm and fuzzy episodes right before dark and sad. I know their tricks! Well bring em on. I loved this episode and it provided enough laughs and warm moments to help ease what is surely coming.
Lindab30
# Lindab30 2012-02-13 22:26
Many have made the comment that this episode doesn't advance the story line but everyone is enjoying seeing the brotherly relationship and love flourish. The brotherly relationship IS the story line and it is advancing forward quite nicely. This episode is most definitely more than a filler for me. I echo everyone's sentiments 100%. However, I do have another take on this.

SPOILER ALERT! Don't read further.
I read an interview where Jared states Sam decides to finally talk to or acknowledge Lucifer's presence in his mind and that's what starts the downhill slide. While thinking about all this I wonder if the fact that Sam faced his fear of clowns head on and won may have an influence in that decision. We've all known that he would not be able to ignore it forever and the other shoe would drop. Perhaps facing the clowns and winning will be his defining moment. This is just me thinking out loud.

However this plays out Friday cannot get here fast enough for me!
ryder21
# ryder21 2012-02-14 06:06
Loved this episode so very much. I needed to see the boys solid again so I could go on, I was starting to get a heavy heart! Although I enjoy the arc episodes and the continuing storying lines, I felt this was a breath of fresh air and the laughter that I really needed. It served to bring the brothers back together and unify them in readiness for a battle with Lucifer. They seem on the same page now, ready to have each others backs (like the old times).
Loved Dean's catch phase to Sam (thanks to Predator)...'If it bleeds, you can kill it," and the way Sam used this over and over again as reassurance...t hat is until the clown blead glitter!
Irene
# Irene 2012-02-14 16:16
Enjoyed this episode very much. The best part for me also was the last scene. I loved hearing Dean laugh again. I wondered if his practiced smiling at the end of one of the episodes would take- and as he told Sam once, fake it till you make it. The lovely exchange between the brothers felt real in flavor, as it does 99 per cent of the time.