Warning contains spoilers.
Does this mean I'm an Untouchable now? 
 
  
Confession time. I'm a Kevin Costner fan. There. I said it. The reason I'm baring my soul to you is that I share Dean's passion for the movie The Untouchables. You see there was a period of time there, where every Friday or Saturday night, after coming home from having a few drinks, I would stick on The Untouchables DVD to send me off to sleep. That or No Way Out, or Bull Duhram "“ from which I can recite large hunks of dialogue. Geesh, now I'm really coming clean! You know how Dean said he'd seen The Untouchables fifty times? Hey Winchester, I reckon I can beat that! So guess who was I was a teensy bit excited about Time After Time? Me! Which is why I ask you to excuse me if I come across a tad over enthusiastic.
 
Shall I just say it? I loved Time After Time. It was pure fun. It had so many things that made me all tingly. From Sam and Dean's banter, to the time period, to the Back To The Future references, to Eliot Ness, to Alex Krycek "“ sorry "“ Nicholas Lea, to Dean in those suits with that hair and that waistcoat and that hat and that gun holster and"¦quick, someone stop me, to Sam's epic sideburns that I just want to touch. Hey, maybe that can be my question at the Q&A in LA! "Hey Jared, can I touch your sideburns?" Cut to Amy being bodily evicted from the room. Hmm maybe not, Anyway, it was one of those episodes that simply popped. It was everything the show does well. When Supernatural gets it right, man, it gets it right.

 

So we kick off with the boys in another non-Impala eating fast food while staking out the house they think the bad guy lives in. The boys plural were eating fast food. Praise Chuck, Sam was eating a burger! I was starting to worry about his iron count. Then bad guy comes out of the house as Dean articulately points out, "Dude. Dude. Fedora dude" and the boys are off on foot with the big plan being "Don't die"! Dean gets to Fedora dude first, run tackles him and as Sam comes around the corner, Dean disappears in a burst of red light and a gust of wind that sends Sam's hair gloriously apfoot! And ladies and possibly, but not likely, gentlemen, that was just the teaser! I was already hooked. I think I clapped my hands. 

Okay, I'll try to restrain the giddy but I'm afraid I have "enthusiasms, enthusiasms, enthusiasms." The Untouchables reference,Dean would so get it.
 
This is about where I heap a great big pile of praise on Robbie Thompson. For a Supernatural rookie writer he's doing an, dare I say it, AWESOME, job. His previous episode Slash Fiction is one of my favourites of the season and now he's delivered again with Time After Time. He delivered a tight script, full of sharp, insightful dialogue. It was a well-structured story, complex, but the parallel times gelled perfectly. In amongst the humour, he was able to mix in pathos, never losing site of the recent losses by adding some poignant moments. He writes Sam and Dean beautifully, capturing their relationship and individual personalities and he gave us a couple nicely drawn supporting characters to fill out the Winchester's Universe. Well done Mr Thompson. Please write more. PS. I may have developed a crush on you.

 

This was the second week in a row that Sam and Dean were apart, but as in last week's episode, they never felt apart. Even when operating in different centuries they were working ways to work together. I know I keep harping on about this, but this feels so gosh darn good to me. It's been such a long time coming. It's been promised to us over and over that the brothers would find some kind of equilibrium in their relationship, that they would find their way back to each other again. I feel like finally, finally all those promises from season 5 and season 6 are coming home to roost. Finally. To see them ribbing each other, dirty diaper face, are you strictly into Dick now; Sam's poop face in response to Dean's new computer skills; the rock/paper/scissors for the bedroom; made my Sam and Dean lovin' heart stutter with joy. And did you notice their stances for the rock/paper/scissors? They take this stuff serious!

 

 

So Dean's a geek, we all know that. He may be a badass, but underneath that tough hunter exterior, he's a geek. But you know the other thing about Dean? You can pretty much drop him anywhere and he'll adapt. Whether it's prison, or the Wild West, or his own (alternative) future, or 1944, Dean adapts. He's very adaptable"¦amongst other things. I think that's a big reason why I enjoyed this episode so much, I enjoy seeing Dean being plonked somewhere out of his comfort zone and yet feeling very comfortable. He seems to fight everything about his day-to-day life, but put him in a situation like in Time After Time and he just goes with the flow. I wish he could bring a bit of that sensibility into his everyday.

 

 
 

I liked Dean's easy relationship with Eliot Ness. I thought they had good chemistry. Part of that was the writing, part of that was the actors. Jensen and Nicholas Lea, had nice energy. Nic Lea's Ness felt like he was straight out of some old movie and as the past was highly stylised in characterisation, music and production, this felt spot on. His "Boo hoo cry me a river ya Nancy" in response to Dean saying he didn't know why he hunted any more also felt spot on. This was not a guy who would want to hear some other guy's sob story. His response also reminded me of Bobby's "Boo hoo Princess." I've always felt Dean reacts well to a kick in the pants, that's why Bobby spoke to Dean like he did, because he knows, ahhh damn, he knew Dean and knew how to get through to him. I also liked how Ness described hunting. "Hunting sets me free." Plus, what he said to Dean about making a difference, about not many people having that opportunity was right in line with what Zach said to Dean in It's A Terrible Life. "Most folks live and die without moving more than the dirt it takes to bury them. You get to change things." And Ness ""¦ at least you're making a difference. So enjoy it while it lasts kid "˜cause hunting's the only clarity you're going to find in this life, and that makes you luckier than most." I'm not underplaying Dean's grief, I think his pain is deep and real and should be recognised and dealt with, but if he needs to find a "˜reason', making a difference is a damn good one, much better than revenge, or simply just "˜cause. That's the "saving people" bit of the family business. I hope he had his ears on.  

 
   
In the present, Sam is frantically trying to find a way to stop Chronos the God of time and retrieve his brother. This gives him an opportunity to work alongside Sheriff Mills. Isn't she just a delight! I thoroughly enjoyed seeing these two working together. Sam creating the wall of weird, both of them hitting Bobby's books, huddling over the computer, Sheriff Mills sending Sam to bed! Their scenes were lovely. They had what was probably my favourite moment of the episode, when Sheriff Mills found the bottle of whiskey Bobby won in a bet from Rufus. Sam's smile as he thought about Rufus and just the silence that followed said more than any words could.  
 
  
Jared finds a way to convey so much of Sam through silence. And they were right; we know so little about the hunters that we've lost. This scene, in the midst of all my happy, managed to make me tear up. I also liked how Sam described the Gods and how today the various Gods have very little power because no one worships them anymore. I think I went "Ohhhhh" because I've never been a big fan of the Gods in Supernatural. Angels, Demons, Lucifer sure, but all the other Gods we've come across have been kind of impotent. Sam gave that a reason. Or Robbie Thompson did. Maybe it'd always bugged him too.
 
 

I had massive flash backs to Swan Song when Sam found Dean's scrawl of his name on the skirting board. Looked like the boy's scratchings in the Impala yes? It made me all nawwww. Dean's a damn smart hunter, even if he has to count on his fingers (bless). And that was the final piece of the puzzle that Sam was looking for to get his brother back, a date. Once he had that, he had all he needed to pinpoint a time. The Winchester brothers working together across centuries. Nice. How funny was that little old lady playing Chronos' ex-girlfriend when she turned around and saw Sam? She nearly jumped out of her skin! I think she came up to his belly button!
 
 

Of course,the future is covered in thick black ooze was a bit of a downer at the end there. "Enjoy oblivion." Gee thanks Chronos! While pondering their plans I've often found myself thinking that the Leviathan are here to reclaim what they feel is rightly theirs, being as they were God's first creation and all. A world covered in black ooze seems like something they would like.
 
  
Anyway, I could go on and on, with all the moments that I loved. I just thoroughly enjoyed ever aspect of Time After Time. Once again this was an episode more about the relationships than the monster, though this weeks monster was still solid. I enjoyed all the secondary characters; everyone did a fantastic job and Jensen and Jared were both great (as usual), Jensen once again displaying his comic chops. I enjoyed Sam and Dean both having the opportunity to work with someone else; do them the world of good! I enjoyed that Bobby's loss still hung in the air and that both the brothers had moments where they recognised it. I enjoyed the brothers being brothers and not being angry, or mistrusting or any of the other emotions we've had to wade through over the past couple of seasons out of love for this duo. I dug the overall look of the episode, Phil Sgriccia's camera angles, the beautiful production design, the lighting, the wardrobe, the Supernatural crew really kicks it in the ass. And I loved the dialogue and I guess that kind of encapsulates what I enjoyed most about Time After Time, it was just so wonderfully written. 
 
I do have one very minor complaint though,if you're going to use a Terminator effect to send Dean Winchester back in time, you could at least use the entire concept of the effect and have him land naked,.just sayin'.
 
Oh wait,February 3,
 
Thanks for reading, I'm sorry for not being all that insightful, but it was nice to have an episode that makes you feel good all over instead full of angst and worry for a change don't you think? 

 

Comments  

Vanda
# Vanda 2012-01-15 01:00
Delightful review!! Although I've never been a Kostner fan, I am a huge fan of The Untouchables!! Loved the episode from Dean's fedora right down to the incidental music! Brilliant writing & brilliant acting! Would have been nice to see Sammy in 40's garb, too, but all in all a great ep! Great review Amy!
sweetondean
# sweetondean 2012-01-15 01:05
Thanks V! Imagine how wide Sam's shoulders would have been in one of those padded jackets though! He'd never get through a door! :lol:
KaraLambo
# KaraLambo 2012-01-15 01:27
Awesome review Amy.
Awesome? Are you some kind of religious nut?
Lester? Is that a GERMAN NAME!
Man those quotes were hysterical.
Time after Time is one of the best episodes Supernatural has ever produced, it really is a flawless episode.
sweetondean
# sweetondean 2012-01-15 01:31
Thanks Kara! Yeah, I agree, when they nail it they really nail it huh. It was just wonderful all around. Thanks for commenting! :lol:
rmoats8621
# rmoats8621 2012-01-15 01:32
I totally agree with your review! This episode was terrific in so many ways and really managed to "Kick it in the Ass"! Robbie Thompson is such a welcome addition to the Supernatural writing team. To me, he's filling Jeremy Carver's vacated shoes nicely! :lol:

As for the movie "The Untouchables".. ..I'm a big Sean Connery fan as well as a Kevin Costner fan...so that movie has always been on my top ten list! :D
sweetondean
# sweetondean 2012-01-15 03:07
I really hope we get another Robbie Thompson episode this season and I hope he hangs around for season 8. He just seems to get the characters and the show!
Thanks for your comment!
anonymousN
# anonymousN 2012-01-15 02:20
I liked this episode it was fun. When Dean showed his skills surprised Sam and smug Dean were superb but i didn't get why Sam wanted Dean to teach him that because They have already shown Sam hacking into servers effortlessly.To p notch episode and also i liked the performance of all the well known and less known guest stars..I agree the old lady's reaction was hilarious
sweetondean
# sweetondean 2012-01-15 03:06
Haha, yes the old lady was hilarious!
Thanks for your comment!
percysowner
# percysowner 2012-01-15 02:37
Great review. I did occur to me that after Dean having gone to Hell, Sam having gone to the Cage, and discovering heaven is simply a rerun of the good parts of your life oblivion may not be that bad an end for Sam and Dean. On some level, Sam, at least has to wonder if he has escaped Hell and Lucifer permanently, especially with so many dead angels. Dean is probably safe, but does he want a heaven that he knows is just Memorex and one where Sam may or may not be anything more than a memory? Both boys know that John and Mary haven't been seen in heaven. Ash hadn't found Ellen or Jo either, although he indicated they were there. So even if Sam and Dean meet John, Mary and Jess they will know that they aren't real. An end to suffering may be a good end for Sam and Dean. Just a thought.
sweetondean
# sweetondean 2012-01-15 03:05
Thanks for the comment! The thing is the oblivion is not just their oblivion it's eveyone's oblivion and some how I can't see those boys allowing the end of the world just to stop their own pain.
jem
# jem 2012-01-15 04:17
Great review!Thanks!!
Awesome AWESOME episode . :D
Tiny
# Tiny 2012-01-15 06:48
Fantastic review Amy.. and well done on joining the Winchester Family Business.

I love this episode so much. I agree, I love love love Robbie Thompson for writing this episode. I mentioned in my review also, that his script has the Jeremy Carver vibe, which I love. And I love he does his homework and injects all the very Dean-ish moments.

You are totally right! Dean adapts! And he does it so well! The next time there is a time travel episode.. oh god, he has to play a King..!

Thanks Amy.. Awesome review!

-tiny-
Ginger
# Ginger 2012-01-15 07:13
I'm on-board the love boat with Robbie Thompson, too, because he does seem to understand the two characters. I'm not a Kevin Costner fan, but I am a fan of your reviews.

I only have one complaint about this episode -- I want the Impala back! Now.

Really fun episode and everyone -- cast and crew -- did a super job here.
Claire63
# Claire63 2012-01-15 07:19
Have to agree wholeheartedly with your review. I thought this was an enjoyable, well-directed episode with sharp dialogue, many amusing moments and a strong plot. I like this new writer - he understands our little show! One thing is playing on my mind though (and I know that "R" could refer to any number of people!) but why didn't Sheriff Mills seem to remember Rufus when Sam explained the "R" on the bottle was a friend of Bobby's? In "Weekend at Bobby's" I seem to recall she risked her career to get Rufus to Bobby's house - but there was no flicker of realisation from her when Sam explained. (I can't remember now whether Sam actually said the name "Rufus" - will have to watch again.) Now maybe I'm making too much of it (nothing new there!) but it started me wondering about what is really happening here, from Sam's POV, and whether everything we are witnessing as viewers is "real" or in his "grapefruit"? After all, Sam was not witness to that previous event. If it is nothing, then that's the only writing weakness I could detect in this episode. All in all, this is one I will return to lots of times in future I'm sure.
Ginger
# Ginger 2012-01-15 08:07
The Rufus thing was pretty glaring. I remember thinking, "Well, this writer didn't watch Weekend at Bobby's," but decided I was happy that Rufus was included in the grief-processin g episode, so let it go.
NOLANOLA
# NOLANOLA 2012-01-15 11:00
ok guys,
dean and sam were not around when jodi brought rufus to bobby. then they went to ireland to get crowleys bones.
she did say ah haa when sam said family friend.


love, love the writer. as i have said b4, only 1 minute hiccup in the script. language was dead on.

no one has mentioned that sams scar seem to be gone. he cut his left hand for the spell.

also someone, somewhere talked about deans pretty flask, but thats bobbys flask. :)))

also sweetondean you are telling me something when u said waistcoat. a lot of the younger people may have never heard that term before.:))) i dont feel so alone. even though alice has assured me that i am no where near an elder in this fandom. :)

i just love exhaling again after the pca bs. tonight is my 2nd favorite award show. the golden globes !!!

I love the time period, the clothes, the hair, the jazz, the make-up, the, sorry i got stuck. :)

KEEP THIS WRITER PLEASE. THANK YOU
Karen
# Karen 2012-01-15 11:06
Great review!
I absolutely loved this episode.
All the Sam and Dean moments, the banter, the side jokes and the rock, paper scissors.
All the Dean and Eliot moments. I just love the boyish Dean when he’s all happy and excited. To see him smile from the heart again was so refreshing.
All the Sam and Jody moments. ‘Do I have to us my Mother voice?’ and the conversation over the found liquor.
Robbie Thompson is definately a keeper.
I also liked Kevin Costner (adding Field of Dreams, Dancing with Wolves to the mix) and being a Sean Connery fan, the Untouchables was a favourite of mine as well. (I actually caught it playing on TV earlier this week, which was kind of freaky).
I got the same impression from Chronos last words on seeing the future being all covered in black ooze and that they are everywhere, that he is seeing the leviathan’s succeeding in reclaiming the world.
Pragmatic Dreamer
# Pragmatic Dreamer 2012-01-15 11:52
Hi Sweetondean,

.. Because THIS is the SUPERNATURAL WAY!

Sweet merciful awesome episode. What really stood out for me was the editing. It was brilliant because it allowed me, the viewer, to move effortlessly back and forth through time without any confusion. (Of course really that's the work of the whole cast & crew from writing to lighting to sets & props to direction to acting.. But still, the editing was superb.)

I liked the little moments of recalling lost friends like Rufus and Bobby. (I"m not surprised Sheriff Mills couldn't automatically place Rufus. For an instant I thought the "R" referred to Robert, as in Bobby. She had met Rufus but didn't know him that well.) I really liked Dean's "smiling through the tears" when Ezra said "idjits". It must have been both comforting and painful to hear someone else say that.

I really appreciated all Sam's teasing in this, and the way he got some mothering. (Come here boys. I'll make sure you get to bed! Oh, how I would have liked to have been the actress playing Ezra. Sigh! I definitely would have messed up a few takes).

I also really appreciated the return of Smart!Dean - from the computer camera hacking skills to figuring out a surefire way to get a message to Sam. Dean never gets enough credit for his intelligence or adaptability. He has massive street smarts, and I think that's what helps make him such a successful hunter. I'd say he's an intuitive reasoner and that's why sometimes he just "knows" exactly what needs to be done.

As I've said before (and yes I'm going to repeat myself), I'm not a fan of the tough love/suck it up advice that Bobby and Frank have been dispensing to Dean. But I think it worked here from Ness.

It's 1944 and there 's a World War happening. Many people are fighting and dying and mourning loved ones. Ness has seen a lot and is somewhat jaded himself now. At this point in history, the words and phrases "metrosexual" and "Sensitive New Age Guy" have not been invented. In 1944 men did not emote; there was no One Single Perfect ManTear of Pain.

Ness's belief - hunters make the world a safer place so be proud of that - makes sense. I think that's what Dean has always believed too. He just needs someone else, (preferably a person he respects and admires) to validate that point of view. I think Ness was quite impressed by Dean, respected him and his skills and was genuinely fond of him. Shouting "Untouchable" was to get Dean's attentions, and it was also an affectionate nickname. And he trusted Dean to eventually kill Chronos. That's why he threw him the weapon.

Coldhearted revenge is not Dean's default setting. He's landed there because of grief and his continuing guilt over the tragedies that have happened to all those around him. His natural setting is saving people, making their lives better and taking pride in that skill & opportunity. I think he's getting close to rebooting himself back there.

Which is good, because I think Sam is getting close to a breakdown and he's going to need his Big Brother. I so loved that Sheriff Jodie Mills said "and no big brother". That phrase is Sam's world, his raison d'etre and it showed on his face. Even saying Dean's name wouldn't have had the same impact.

The Sheriff is a keeper. And so is Robbie Thompson (fingers crossed.) He really gets the boys and their relationship. Now, if we could just find a way to bring Eliot Ness (Nicholas Lea) to 2012! Or maybe he leaves a note for Dean.. (I smell a new episode plotline or a fanfic)

One final note.. Next episode I expect to see Jared's sideburns getting a separate mention in the opening credits. (Sam Winchester's sideburns played by Jared Padalecki's facial hair.)

Shutting up now!

Pragmatic Dreamer :lol:
Clarice 0909
# Clarice 0909 2012-01-15 12:19
Sam/Jared's sideburns are not my most favorite feature in his face, but your final note made me laught out loud. Tks.

Take care,

Cla ; }
Clarice 0909
# Clarice 0909 2012-01-15 12:16
Okay, I agree with everything you said and I'm your number one fan now because I completely forgot that little bit detail of Terminator...

It would have been a incredible scene with Jensen in the nude...

We had in the episode Jensen in the 40's...

Yeah I know I'm shallow, but there is no pill for this....

Again, a great episode, the boys, the other character were just amazing...

Tks for sharing your thoughts with us...

Take care,

Cla ; }
SecretWillow
# SecretWillow 2012-01-15 13:00
Very good review! I thoroughly enjoyed this episode from one end to the other. From Sam scarfing a burger, and Dean's well thought out, "Don't die" plan, to the glowing pulse of Chronos' neck veins. And that's probably about one of the weirdest sentences I've ever said.

I was in tears during the Sam and Jody scene when she finds the whiskey bottle. I think those two together are pure joy, and I'm keeping my fingers crossed that they can find more reasons to bring her back.

Ezra made me laugh. When she called Dean an 'idjit', my first thought was wondering if she was supposed to be a relative of Bobby's. But I couldn't think of any reason why that would be necessary to the story, so I didn't give it too much thought. I liked her gruffness though.

I agree with Pragmatic Dreamer. I too have not been overly fond of the suck-it-up advice Dean's been getting hit with. But times were very different in 1944. Men didn't sit in a car feeling their feelings. However, Ness admitted that his reason for getting into the life hadn't been because he lost a loved one. It was just practicality and realism. Would Ness be singing a different tune if he had been in Dean's shoes? Still, the tough love approach worked pretty well here.

Between Dean lying on the floor to gauge where he should leave his message, and Sam finding his name carved in the wood six decades later, I was squealing. LOVED that touch.

Last, but certainly not least, I want to direct a huge degree of praise to Serge Ladouceur. The lighting in this episode was phenomenal to me. The street light behind Sam and Dean in the car, the room where Dean is first being questioned by the cops, the softer ambiance between Jody and Sam, the night shot where Dean and Ness split up, and Dean drives away, all made me want to pay just as much attention to the backgrounds and the light sources as to the actors. No other TV show has ever had me caring about light sources, and how the light helps to tell a story. Bravo Serge. Beautiful work.
Ginger
# Ginger 2012-01-15 13:10
Let me second that tribute to Serge Ladouceur. I was locked on the lightning throughout the whole episode. What a terrific job he always does.

Even the music, set designs, and costumes were perfect in the episode, so I'll just state my kudos to the whole production crew on this one.
Bevie
# Bevie 2012-01-15 13:11
I loved the episode and I'm loving your reviews. They leave me with such an "up" feeling.

With you, I'm loving the closeness we are seeing now, with the teasing and snark that have been missing mostly since season 3. Whew! It's been a long time since I've felt entirely easy with the brothers' relationship.

I hope they can keep Robbie Thompson for a long time as he seems to know how the brothers operate together.

An epic episode indeed. I'm old enough to remember the TV Untouchables I used to watch faithfully. Ness and his untouchable team were heroes to me. Now my hero Dean has jointed that team! :roll:
Bevie
# Bevie 2012-01-15 13:13
Haha! I MEANT "joined" that team. :oops:
sweetondean
# sweetondean 2012-01-16 00:09
A-ha... ;-)
LEAH
# LEAH 2012-01-15 13:37
I discovered this website about a year ago and only recently (days ago)have been able to make comments. How totally refreshing to read your excellent review and get away from the "controversy" for awhile. I agree with your comments about Ness/Lea, he was a fun character and his no nonsense attitude seemed appropiate to the time period.
Did anyone else think that Sam eating a burger was emphasized a bit much? Maybe it's just me.
I hope to continue to be able to share my thought with others who share my love for this show.
Dru
# Dru 2012-01-15 13:53
Loved your review ...awesome! Yes yes yes yes to everything..... and "middleaged lassies" across the globe fainted at THAT kiss....::DDDD
buffsgirl
# buffsgirl 2012-01-15 14:10
What a fabulous and refreshing review! I really loved everything you had to say and, even though I enjoyed the episode, your review made me enjoy it even more! :-)

Side note on the comment made by Sam about Gods needing worshipers to be strong, this concept was first discussed in S5 "Fallen Idols" - or as far as I can remember anyway. Also Eric Kripke once mentioned in an interview that he had partly based the Supernatural series on a book by Neil Gaiman called "American Gods." The book is basically all about Gods roaming the back roads of America with no power anymore because no one worships them. An interesting read if you are into that sort of thing.

Anyway..... thanks again for the fun and enthusiastic review!
Sylvie
# Sylvie 2012-01-15 14:43
That was a great review Amy. I'm glad to find you here on WFB with all my other favourite reviewers. First off, I love the movie "The Untouchables", although I'm more of a Sean Connery fan, but Kevin Costner owned that role big time. I was feeling giddy all over again reading your review, I'm actually going to rewatch the episode right after I post this.

I've said in another post that Robbie Thompson is a most wonderful writer. It feels like he's been with the show since season one, he knows these characters so well. I've been missing Jeremy Carver, I think I've finally found someone who's worthy to be his replacement. Everything about this episode was near perfect for me. And, oh boy, did Jensen wear those period clothes beautifully! Loved Nicholas Lea as Eliott Ness, and Jason Dohring as Chronos. He was my favourite character on "Veronica Mars". Here's hoping we see Jody Mills a lot more in the future, black ooze or no. She and Sam had a such a beautiful rapport.

Now we have to wait what, two weeks for the next episode? Not fair, we just got back from Hellatus!
Yvonne
# Yvonne 2012-01-16 16:32
Oh yes, Jason Dohring. LOVE him. He was the reason I checked out "Veronica Mars". What an incredible and underrated actor. That guy...I didn't realize how good he was till I saw him play an uptight republican in a skit. Seeing him on Supernatural was like an unknown dream come true. Only disapointment, he was killed off/made a one off character. Sigh.
sylia91
# sylia91 2012-01-15 18:27
I totally agree with everything you said. The brother banter and obvious affection was back. The boys were in sync again coming to the same conclusions across the span of time. Actually the only thing I did have a complaint about was the fact that the guest stars were each so good that I really could have used some more time with each one of them. Dean did seem to regain some of his joie de vivre and seemed to be drinking less as well or at least they were focusing on it less. I also liked the fact that the monster was interesting and somewhat sympathetic since he was doing it out of love. This episode was definitely one of my favorites. I get the sense in these episodes that everyone: cast, crew, writers and director were all geeking out and really enjoying themselves.
Belinda williams
# Belinda williams 2012-01-15 18:48
Without a doubt I just love your reviews Amy.

They make me laugh with your side comments but everything you say is completely agreeable. I always love when shows do old periods in time especially the early years of the century. Other then the camera angles & the wardrobe & the sets the music for me really pulled me in.

Sheriff Mills I could really get used to seeing her face around a lot more & it would have been fabulous to see Sam in the same outfit as Dean but I would have laughed hard at that short woman trying to dress a massive Sam hahaha.

It is a great thing to see Sam & Dean working together and not having all that mistrust & anger, so round of applause for having that change in characters.

Wouldn't object to a naked Dean lying on the ground either.

February 3....February 3....February 3....February 3 :P
newenglishwoman
# newenglishwoman 2012-01-16 15:39
delightful Amy! so excited for you getting to write here! and awesome as always. as what usually happens in the
newenglishwoman
# newenglishwoman 2012-01-16 16:53
sorry Amy! It did cut out! what I was going to say was that we hit much of the same stuff. that often happens when we both truly love an eppie! :D awesome review. join the debate about the RPS match! I think we're probably thinking WAAAAAAYYYYY too hard on this, but then again, we usually do! ILU Amy! :D
sweetondean
# sweetondean 2012-01-17 02:34
Thanks Nicole! ILU2! :D
Yvonne
# Yvonne 2012-01-16 16:24
Yessss! Loved the episode! Loved the review. Especially loved the review because, honestly, I need a rewatch. The moment Dean came out in zoot suit wearing that shoulder holster, my brain turned off.

All I heard was my heart going thunckity thunk, Winchester hot.

Sooo, I kinda lost sight of plot. Bad fangirl.

I will say that I especially enjoyed the interaction between Sherrif Mills and Sam. It made me realize that we've never really seen Sam interact with a Mother figure before. (Other than his brief shock and awe with Mary). Plus, I think this may be the first 'good' character that Sam seems to be having a more significant relationship with. Dean has always been the one who seems to connect easier with other people.

Cas, a bunch of lesser characters (like Hendrickson, Ronald Ressnick) and even Bobby all gravited toward Dean. Or else, I should say, Dean kept that door open for them to gravitate to. Not that I can blame Sam, he should definately have trust issues for how often people/monsters have tried to use him. From Lucifer to Alpha vamp to freaky Becky, everyone is always trying to highjack him. And this comment has gotten way off of topic. Apologies.

Great article, off to rewatch.
Marilyn
# Marilyn 2012-01-16 23:14
Thank you for a great review. :lol: I loved Dean in the 1940s and Elliott Ness. I loved Ezra kissing Dean- I am sure many women wish they were in her shoes.
I adore Dean as the technology expert.
I thought it was wonderful when Sam And the Sheriff worked together and mourned Bobby together.
The editing and directing were great as both stories were seamlessly tied together. The lighting, costumes, and sets were spot on.
I am a big Robbie Thompson fan. :-) I thoroughly enjoyed slash fiction, but I loved this episode. He really gets Sam and Dean. Please, let him write more episodes.
PS: My daughter thinks my looking forward to a shirtless Dean in the Feb 3rd episode
Marilyn
# Marilyn 2012-01-16 23:15
( rest of comment) is a little shall we say "undignified."
sweetondean
# sweetondean 2012-01-17 02:36
Don't worry Marilyn, I think we're all there right alongside you! ;-)
Kay Collette
# Kay Collette 2012-01-20 16:57
I really loved this episode. Dean was beautiful in his 40s suit and fedora (tho he is always beautiful with or without clothes) and his fangirlness was adorable. I liked his interaction with Ness and thought Nick Lea did a great job. Jason Lohring was one of my favorite characters in Moonlight so was happy to see him here. Also glad to see Jodie Mills again. I like her character and hope to see more of her. Mostly I loved seeing the brothers' relationship restored to its' pre-apocalypse status. I've really missed their natural brotherly interaction and humor over the last couple of seasons. Too much angst was bringing the show down.
Paulathe Cat
# Paulathe Cat 2012-01-23 14:17
Usually, I have to re-watch episodes alone because Hubby is annoyed with the unrelenting angst... he likes his angst with breaks for humor. I have multiple reviewing with him this episode. I love the humor interspersed with shouts out to those who have gone on... I keep having the line "We're all stuck in 1944, ya bunny," go through my head.