Article Index


Sam:  What am I, Dracula?
Dean:  George Hamilton Dracula.



Dean:  Dude, you have a camel in the backyard
Gen:  That's an alpaca dumbass.



"You married fake Ruby?"


 
Dean:  Well, it looks like you did alright.
Sam:  Yeah.  I should figure out her name.


 
"Money man, there is nothing like it.  Alright, couch, TV star, beauty rest." 



"You have been Sam Winchester way too long."



"Dean Cain was like that on Lois, and that man's a real actor." 



"Don't look at the camera.  Look anywhere but the camera." 



Sam:  Who wrote this?  Nobody says "penultimate."  
Dean:  Gun, mouth, now.
Misha:  IMHO J&J had a late one last night.



Sera:  Spell it out for me please.  What is our terror alert level here?  
Bob Singer:  I don't know Sera, orange maybe.  They started talking to each other.  
Sera:  But that's a good thing.  
Bob Singer:  Right I thought so.  But now Jensen's living at Jared's house plus Clif says they're smuggling in illegal stuff from Mexico.
Producer:  Misha's celebrity tweets says it's a black market organ thing, I'm betting drugs." 



"Maybe we cannot get out of earth #2 right now, but at least we can get the Hell out of the Canadian part of it.  If I hear one more conversation about hockey I'm going to puke." 
 

 
Bob Singer:  Well Sera, we really don't understand it ourselves, but it appears that Jared and Jensen were seen beating an extra to death.
Jim:  Listen, Jim here Sera and it wasn't all the way to death, only part way so that's a plus.
Producer:  He could definitely still run.
Bob Singer:  And we'll certainly follow up on that. 



 
"He sold Octocobra?  Mother of God, they'll buy anything." 



 
Sam:  You're kidding.  Your character in the show, Bobby Singer- 
Dean:  What kind of a douchebag names a character after himself?
Sam:  Oh that's not right.



 
"You heard my brother.  That's right my brother.  You know what, we're not actors.  We're hunters.  We're the Winchesters, always have been and always will be.  And where we're from, people don't know who we are.  But you know what, we matter to that world.  In fact we even save a son of a bitch once or twice.  And yeah okay here there's probably some fans who give a crap about this nonsense, but Bob Singer, if that even is your name, tell me this, what does it all mean?" 

 

Comments  

Yvonne
# Yvonne 2011-02-28 20:56
Seriously? I get to comment first? Saweeet!

As to the plot line...whatevs. I keep going back just to watch the funny chunk in the middle. I was verrrry leery of this ep, but decided to watch in the mindset of "I'm eating candy!" And had a blast. And it is all just too re-watchable!! Candy! Yum!!!! :lol: :D :-)

Yay for the dinger review says I! Laughed my way through this. So ya, all of that above. Really only two notes.

If I had to pick a favorite moment, I would have to choose during the acting scene when we saw them through the window from Bob Singers viewpoint. Off goes The Dean, trying to figure things out, and shortly after follows a scared, and completely out of his element Sammy. It was just so...so...cute. And I couldn't help but see it as the boys, especially Sam, reverting to childhood ways. I love how the boy's relationship is maturing, but it was just awesome to see how Sammy still looks to his older brother to lead the way. I mean, Dean's side-bar directing to Sam, his 'acting' face compared to Sam's puppy face, and of course, my favorite, off Dean goes and Sam chases after. "Wait up!" Aaaand I'm so totally gushing! sorry.

Second note, it appears to be official. "Research" is a code word. First in 'Changing Channels' and now in 'The French Mistake'. And on this subject, BAD, Baaaaaad Sammy! And poor Jared and Gen!!!

Oh ya, one more thing. Is there anyone else hoping that a camera was running when Jared and Jensen got a first glimpse at "their" house and trailer? Cause it would make my heart happy to see that on the gag reel.
Jasminka
# Jasminka 2011-03-01 03:23
Here's me rooting with you for a hilarious gag reel with lots of moments from this episode!!!
:lol: , Jas
Sablegreen
# Sablegreen 2011-02-28 21:05
Good review Alice. This was a fun episode.
Sam_Maddy
# Sam_Maddy 2011-02-28 22:34
Awesome recap, Alice!
Ra-e
# Ra-e 2011-03-01 00:33
Speaking of the second to last pic you posted.. what was up with that guy dodging the bullets matrix style?? LOL! GREAT review I agree completely..
rmoats8621
# rmoats8621 2011-03-01 00:53
Great recap! I laughed through it all. Thanks. :lol:
CitizenKane2
# CitizenKane2 2011-03-01 02:27
I liked the way you tackled this review - very nice touch with so many pictorials. :)

(And I did enjoy this episode generally - there were some parts which I probably understood less well, probably because some of the "inside" jokes / references may have been lost on me).
Ellie
# Ellie 2011-03-01 02:39
That acting scene was the funniest thing I have seen in ages .
Jasminka
# Jasminka 2011-03-01 03:24
Ben Edlund’s scripts are hilarious, but – also deep. There isn’t only the one layer, and those behind the obvious tend to creep up on you and get you when you don’t expect it…

I loved the episode! The ‘bad’ acting (and it’s hard, when you are a good actor, to pretend to be that bad!), the vanity trailer/house, the pic of the Alpaca next to Jared and Gen’s wedding picture, the cowboy poster behind Jared’s desk. Ha!

And you wonderfully point out those other layers, Alice. This is a perfect example of Generation Me. Perfect. And that’s not funny. Those people born in the late sixties, seventies, eighties and nineties belong to that generation, more or less, they feel more entitled than ever but are also more miserable than ever. And in this episode we find countless examples of that attitude.

The fangirl in me would like to believe that the ‘what you’re Polish’ came from the story I told Jim Beaver (with the request to pass it on to Jared) about that Polish patient I once had who was so proud of Jared and so grateful that he didn’t change his Polish name when entering show business. I remember Jim saying to me : ‘Oh, I know what Jared will say: What, I’m Polish?!’
It’s just a hilarious thought and a little fangirl’s dream… bwah :-x

And I also loved that the vanity Warhol of Jared was my all-time favourite picture of the man. Well chosen, prop guys.

All in all, this was a fabulous comedic episode. At this point I’m not going to delve into the unlayering of layers. I just want to have fun with this one.
Thanks a lot for this fun recap, Alice! Love, Jas
Junkerin
# Junkerin 2011-03-01 05:46
Verry good review. I still have to smile when I think about there "acting"

And the boys didn´t mind staring at Gens rear
Karen
# Karen 2011-03-01 07:57
Hi Alice
I Loved this episode, your review and the pictures you chose.
This episode was such a delight!
I can't even choose my favourite funniest moment, there is just too many.
Julie
# Julie 2011-03-01 08:01
This was lovely Alice thanks.
How could anyone not enjoy this episode, It`s great that just looking at the screencaps from it can make me laugh like an idiot. It needs so many re watches to get all the nuances and in jokes, something I am sure we are all willing to do ( and have already done).
So hard to pick a fav bit but I guess it has to be the wonderful `acting` I mean really " We have no other choice" :lol:
Bevie
# Bevie 2011-03-01 14:43
Thanks Alice!

Great funny episode and great funny review!

;-) :lol:
nancyL
# nancyL 2011-03-01 18:31
What a fun and funny episode.

Alice, this episode was not major plot building, or myth heavy, it was light and fluffy and made everybody :D .

We did learn something about the great war of Heaven, but basically it was how Jensen and Jared are self centered, materialistic divas. :lol: :lol:
And Dean and Sam Winchester, even when they are out of their element, are still the heroes we know and love. :D

But, honestly can we really trust Balthazar? He tried to get the Soulless One to kill Bobby, and he did it to f**k with Dean.

'I remember laughing all the way through "Bad Day At Black Rock" until Bela shot Sam. Fun over.'
You know the saying, it is all fun and games until someone gets hurt. Poor Misha. :D

I agree, Sam and Dean would have gotten bored of spending all the money and then of course there is the 'acting' that they would be required to do. They would want to get out and hunt something.

Question: Is it cheating on your husband, if you believe that the man you are sleeping with is your husband??? :D

They shot God, I mean Eric Kripke. :lol:

I am truly enjoying this second half of the season. One more episode, which has Rufus and Bobby against Gramps, until the next hellatus.
MetamorphicRocks
# MetamorphicRocks 2011-03-01 21:15
This episode was alot of fun to watch. Like many others posted, my favorite part was also the "acting" scene! Throughout certain episodes, Supernatural has given me many chuckles; but I don't remember an episode ever making me laugh this heartily or more often!
BagginsDVM
# BagginsDVM 2011-03-01 23:08
This episode was so much fun!
The dingers were great! There were so many it is hard to pick a favorite!
I must admit, however, it was disturbing to see Misha get his throat slit!
anonymousN
# anonymousN 2011-03-02 06:04
Did Sam sleep with Gen(hopefully not)or not....
Suze
# Suze 2011-03-02 10:52
I've been off doing stuff far away from computers for a couple of weeks and this came as a total shock ...

Very funny whan I got my head round it but as far as I'm concerned they can stop the worlds-within-w orlds-double-th inky stuff now as my brain's starting to curl up round the edges.

PS. I do so hope that stoopid cowboy picture behind Sam isn't the shape of western episodes to come, they wouldn't be that cruel ... What am I saying? Of course they would ...
Misteree
# Misteree 2011-03-02 14:52
Did anyone else think there might be some reason, we see Raphael in a girl meat suit right after we meet the big bad of the season who is also a woman?
Mstngsali1
# Mstngsali1 2011-03-03 21:46
Loved it Alice! I wasn't as thrilled with this episode as I wanted to be but the more I watch it, the more it grows on me.
kaj
# kaj 2011-03-07 03:48
I really really love this ep!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
love it soooo much i can't stop laughing. Even if this AU is very close to real but it's still a make up universe. J squared here are not even the real ones but did anybody notice that the real Jensen and Jared are there too? ;-)
No? Because i read several reviews of this ep and nobody said anything about it.
okay... if you re-watch the scene where Sam and Dean walk into J. Ackles' trailer for the first time. Didn't you ever think it weird that Jensen let the big screen plasma tv on while he's not there? (Okay, he is a big TV star, he can do whatever he likes) That Plasma TV serves a purpose. It’s already on when the boys came in. The TV plays a movie with Jensen wearing a black suit talking to someone on it.

And watch.... when Dean turned his back from the tv to talk to Sam about the Spell ...Notice that Jensen that's in the TV WINKS at us then it turns out that he is talking to Jared because then Jared turns around and he too WINKS at us. OMG!!!!!!!! :eek:

I noticed it right away the first time i watch the scene. Because somehow i was drawn to that TV since the first time the boys walk in. First, i noticed only Jared because he suddenly turns around. So, just to make sure i rewind it (i did not watch it live) again and again 3 times and i am sure it's there. Jensen Winks first then Jared. The real J2 are there on TV as if they shout out “Gotcha!” at us. Nice prank, guys! ;-)


Oh i almost forget, have any of you find out what picture that Misha took when he sit behind Sam? Is it true that he take picture of Sam's back with his phone just before he tweeted "J and J had a late night"

I love Bob's horror when he phones Sera that Jensen is now sleeping at Jared's house..... a poke at Wincest's fan maybe? (Sorry, i don't mean to offend)

God! I love this ep! I love this show!!
(forgive my English, it's not my mother tongue)
Alice
# Alice 2011-03-08 15:50
Jensen DID live with Jared. For a year, at Jared's house during season four. He moved out when both got engaged. Jared ended up selling the house anyway and moved into a condo. It was one of those things where Jensen had to move out of his rental and needed a place to go fast. Jared, coming off a rather devastating break up with his fiancee, offered his basement to Jensen and he took it. I believe at a con later Jensen confessed that he moved in not only because he needed a convenient place fast (plus it was easier on Clif to pick them up every morning), but Jared really needed a friend at the time. Yes, the fan girls in that room melted into a puddle when they heard that story. :-)
McMaggie
# McMaggie 2011-05-07 19:27
I believe at a con later Jensen confessed that he moved in not only because he needed a convenient place fast (plus it was easier on Clif to pick them up every morning), but Jared really needed a friend at the time.

Alice,do you know which convention? I'd love to see a video of this if it is available