Yes, I'm incredibly fortunate again to get from Warner Brothers a critics episode preview.  This time, I got to see the milestone 100th episode of Supernatural, "The Point of No Return" in its entirety.  So what did I think?

  I'm taking a risk of sounding a broken record (not to mention risking my professionalism), but here goes.   HOLY FREAKING MOTHER OF GOD!!  WHAT A STUNNER!!  I'M A COMPLETE WRECK!!

After 100 episodes, there aren't words anymore. I've stretched my thesaurus farther than it was ever intended to go. How many times can I use words like "epic," "emotional," "dramatic," "brilliant," (especially with the acting) "superior," "touching," "jaw dropping," or just "the best" without sounding redundant?  I suppose if those words worked for the first 99 episodes, they'll work for the hundredth as well.  "Point of No Return" is all those things and more. Prepare for the episode that will make fans fall in love with this show all over again.
      
I have a fun little story to share about watching this.  I was away and unfortunately suffered an internet free weekend (it was torture) and in between coming back from that and taking my daughter to the mall, I HAD to work in this preview. How could I not? So, I made my daughter a promise. If she let's mom watch the episode, we'd go to the mall immediately after.  So, guess who was a TOTAL FREAKING BASKET CASE by the time we got to the mall?? I was so lost in my shock over this completely engrossing drama that kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time that I don't even remember driving to the mall. I couldn't even look at a flannel shirt without busting out in tears. When an episode affects me like that, it's something special. 

As I've done with other episode previews, I'll share some "teasing" statements. These are little clues that are slightly spoilery but don't give away the farm. I've especially been sworn to secrecy on four MAJOR plot twists that will have everyone buzzing by the end.  Yes, a lot happens.
 

So, if you want to be totally unspoiled, look away NOW. 
********************************************
Sam desperately tries to hold everything and everyone together and WOW, this is not the Sammy of old. He takes plenty of bashing but holds on in a big way, even though he has points where he's about to lose it. It's so exciting to see him act like this.     
Oh Dean, poor poor Dean. What can I say? His burden is huge and his heart is heavy. Dean gets his own time in the panic room but it's not anywhere near as long or dramatic as what Sam got in "When The Levee Breaks." Two powerhouse scenes come from that setting though.   
The Sam and Dean brotherly drama is VERY intense and the core of this episode. Their brotherly bond faces the most critical test ever and the results push the limits of everyone involved, including any fan that gets really emotionally involved in these episodes (you know, all of us). This is the most emotional, most dramatic, and most satisfying brotherly drama I've seen on this show yet.
You know what else is really intense? Castiel. He gets a huge storyline and his scenes are every bit as shocking and exciting as the Winchester brothers. The Minions will be doing backflips. There's deep friction between Cas and Dean the entire episode and because of that he follows Sam's lead.     
Bobby is in the episode too, but other than one explosive exchange with Dean (yes, one of the clips), he's more there as a supporting player. It is thrilling to see all four of our heroes working together in the same room though. 
As said in the episode synopsis, Adam returns. How he comes back though is really cool and he's not close to the Adam from "Jump The Shark." We get to know him all over again and he isn't exactly happy over the family reunion. When the plan for Adam is revealed, it's one of those moments that sets this episode up for greatness.   
Zachariah is in this episode and he's a bigger dick here than any other time, including "Dark Side of The Moon." Just when we thought he couldn't go any farther, he does. 
There's a scene twenty minutes in where my heart gets crushed into a million pieces.  I had to pause for several minutes to pull myself together. The final scene got me pretty hard too. 
The story continuity is excellent, especially from "Dark Side of The Moon," "Jump The Shark" and well, all the other episodes. John Winchester is brought up a few times and not in a flattering light. Daddy issues for everyone!
The "Green Room" from "Lucifer Rising" makes another appearance. It's really amusing where it turns out to be. 
A minor point, but the episode is directed by Phil Sgriccia, not John Showalter which is what the synopsis published by The CW says. That's great too, because he has a masterpiece on his hands.  

(ETA) How could I forget this???  There's a brief moment of bare chested Castiel. 
*************************
That's all I can share for now without giving away too much.   It's a HUGE setup for what's coming for the rest of the season, so hold on and we can "white knuckle" it together. 

Comments  

Kara
# Kara 2010-04-11 21:17
Thank you so so much. It sounds like it already might become my new favourite. It has everything i want in an episode plus more. 4 days to go. This week is all about this episode. I want to sleep my way through until i can see it. i am so jealous of you yet still so excited that i am yet to witness all this. Love it already. xo
elle2
# elle2 2010-04-11 21:29
Alice,

This sounds awesome (yeah, my thesaurus is exhausted too)

I'm really looking forward to the brotherly moments (and everything else as well) and really hope that they are as satisfactory as you say (although you and I tend to be on the same page regarding these moments so I think I'll be satisfied)

I can't say enough about how much I really like Kurt Fuller as Zach. Just finished watching Dark Side of the Moon again this evening (fifth or so viewing) and he is superb in that and I just relish his scenes, so I'm so happy to know he's got another goodie on his hands.

I'm very intrigued, having read yours and another's preview of the 100th eppie, to find out just where the green room is. Both of you reviewers indicate it's either funny or amusing -- I'm intrigued!

Bare-chested Castiel???? Really????

What crushed you into a million pieces? I'll be checking my timer on Thursday but to be sure I'll have no trouble figuring it out.

Only 95.5 hours until Point of No Return. GOod thing I've got a busy week ahead of me to help move the time along.

Thanks for the preview -- WB has figured out a good thing, sent out the milestone eps and let the hardworking fans work their magic and get the word out. You've done another great job and deserve all the kudos you get (and previews and anything else the WB sends you.)

Thanks for hunkering down right away and sending out the word.
hepcat
# hepcat 2010-04-11 21:54
Glad this sounds like such a brother episode. Until the sneak previews came out with positive Sam information, I was worried that he'd be all but cut out of it like in In the Beginning and The End. I was really dreading episode 100 until last week. I am glad it sounds so good.
Kara
# Kara 2010-04-11 22:05
elle2: i really love Zach too....well, love to hate him, you know what i mean. Kurt Fuller is really amazing - we are so lucky to have him. i just can't believe how good he is as Zach. It blows my mind really.
Megan
# Megan 2010-04-11 23:22
Good God. I already can't handle it, and I haven't even seen the freaking episode yet. Thursday will be the death of me, I just know it.

Thanks so much for sharing! I didn't think I could possibly get more excited for an episode, but you've proven me wrong!
JenMarie
# JenMarie 2010-04-11 23:58
I'm not a minion but I'll be doing backflips too! Go Cas!

And can't wait for the brotherly scenes!

Thnks for the report!
Alice
# Alice 2010-04-12 00:13
I've already gotten some comments over "concern" that one brother comes out looking better than the other. Not the case at all. Both brothers have equal moments of trial and triumph and both are right in their actions. I just couldn't elaborate a lot more than I did at risk of giving away major spoilers.
anene
# anene 2010-04-12 00:19
Yes to Sam and Dean's brotherly drama. That by far is the most interesting thing i'm looking forward to.
I wasn't all that excited about this episode before even with the clips they released. But now that you mention that tidbit, i just want to watch the ending scene already.

And oh yes, Adam sounds cool too.

A shirtless Castiel? I like the fantasy of picturing what is under that trenchcoat better than knowing what is really under the trenchcoat.:rol l::

What we need is another full frontal Sam Winchester scene. :-)
Tiecg1
# Tiecg1 2010-04-12 01:32
Dangit, I read this b/4 going to bed and I shouldn't have. Now I won't be able to sleep for another hour... too excited. :-) What's worse, my thurs wk hrs are from 12-9pm, so I won't be able to watch the new ep until friday morning, and I don't like to read people's reactions prior to watching it. *sigh*

The only thing I read from your preview that bugs me is more daddy issues (why are they destroying John Winchester's character?) *double sigh*

Oh, I hope it's as awesome as you say, cause I'm stoked to see Sam bend (but not break). This show has had many intense eps, but the only one that has gotten me super emotional was the scene in "When the Levee Breaks" when Sam is pleading with hallucination!D ean when he/it's calling him a monster. That part gets me all misty-eyed everytime I see it (actually, the whole ep was traumatic). I'm not talking about Sam's puppydog eyes; if Sammy is somewhat near that state like he was in WtLB, I'll be a happy/traumatiz ed SN fan.

It will be interesting to see where depressed/distr aught Dean does after 99 problems, where Dean left thinking "What the hell???" He's finally cracking, and it's been a long time coming.

By the way Alice, I just recently found your recaps (on another site?) and love them to pieces. Can't wait to read your latest. And to think I just found out about thsi show when they syndicated it on TNT in January. That's sad, but I've watched every ep since (and I never backtrack that far for a show... ever).
Tiecg1
# Tiecg1 2010-04-12 01:38
CORRECTION: Dean left *me* thinking ... sorry :|
Tigershire
# Tigershire 2010-04-12 01:43
OK, this is not helping me be patient until Thursday!!

Seriously though, Alice, thanks so much for this. I am really looking forward to SuperN's 100th!
Ardeospina
# Ardeospina 2010-04-12 01:49
Oh, man, it's going to be so good! Thursday, hurry up already.
daraobriain
# daraobriain 2010-04-12 02:06
"Both brothers have equal moments of trial and triumph and both are right in their actions. "
Yes! This is what I needed to hear! I can't wait!

Alice, please reassure me that this episode won't break the Dean-Cas friendship either!
immie_8
# immie_8 2010-04-12 02:49
SQUEEE!!! Oh, thank you so much for posting! I'd seen a couple of snippets yesterday, but was wondering how much would be allowed out before the episode aired. So glad to hear about all the exciting things that happens. I'm sitting on edge waiting for Thursday when I'm sure Dean'll break my heart, Sam will warm it with his supportiveness, and Cas will jsut make me grin like a loon with what he decides to do.

Never has a television show captured my heart the way SN has and I can't wait for the rollercoaster to kick into an even higher gear with Thursday's episode!

Thanks again! :D
Muse
# Muse 2010-04-12 03:34
Yeah I'm concerned about the Dean-Castiel friendship too. I've heard Castiel basically turns his back on Dean in favor of Sam? Is that true and how can that possibly be earned given everything Dean and Cas have been through together. I have to admit, this is very upsetting to me.
AbbyJ
# AbbyJ 2010-04-12 04:30
I'm another person worried about the Dean-Castiel dynamic. I get that Castiel's upset about Dean "giving in" because it means he's made all his sacrifices for nothing, but everything I've seen and heard so far are about Sam and Castiel teaming up against Dean. :/
anene
# anene 2010-04-12 05:10
I personally don't care about the Dean-Castiel dynamic being broken or believe it ever existed in the first place. But i can surely put myself in the people's shoes who think otherwise and see what they see.

That is why i think you guys shouldn't be worried. The idea of Castiel teaming with Sam and going against Dean isn't to be taken so superficially. It seems more like Castiel is siding with Sam because when it comes down to it, Sam knows Dean more than anyone and Castiel wants nothing better than to stop Dean from making the biggest mistake of his life by saying yes which is in Dean's best interest. That is what you do for a friend. You help him stop self-destructin g or half the world-sabotage in Dean's case. So logically, he would ally himself with Sam because they are both right in helping save Dean. Castiel is helping Sam with Dean.
And what is wrong with Castiel teaming up with Sam? You guys make it sound like adultery. Sam is the only sane one left anyways and is currently in charge of Team Free Will. And Castiel considers him his friend. And not to mention, Dean teamed up with Castiel to help save Sam in MATEOTB. No big deal then, no big deal now. And most importantly, since Sam is Dean's brother; he knows exactly how to deal with Dean with Castiel's help.
Sandra
# Sandra 2010-04-12 06:13
Thank you, thank you for the review.

Please, Please, Please let Dean and Cas be alright.

I'm also very excited about Sam and Adam sounds great, I so can't wait to see it.
margaret
# margaret 2010-04-12 06:26
Thanks so much for your early review.
I am really pleased that we are going to get a goood look at both brothers in this one.
The only dynamic I am concerned with is the Sam and Dean one, the true one.
Castiel is cool and I like him, but for the the only relationship that matters is Sam and Deans.
Also really pleased to hear Sam isn't cut out of this episode, such a fantastic character deserves his time in the spotlight.
Amelia
# Amelia 2010-04-12 07:27
Thanks, Alice, especially for the clarification in the comments! The first review of this to come out was from someone on the Limp!Sam site who has clearly expressed, on dozens of occasions, how much she absolutely despises Dean. So when she was doing cartwheels about how great it was, as a fan of both brothers, I felt really awful about whether Dean was going to survive this thing with his character growth intact, or whether it was just going to be another repetitive "I'm so sorry, I suck, I promise I'll never have an original thought again, and by the way, Sammy, I'm responsible for EVERYTHING you did last year and you should go ahead and embrace that demon blood after all, because I sure as heck can't do anything. Here, let me hold your cape. Yeah, Cas, you go follow Sam, I'll stay here and bake you cookies. Oh, hi, Michael! Sam's your vessel after all, not me? Oh, that's good, I sure never deserved this place in the mytharc." :P

(Seriously, that's about all I could imagine satisfying this person, from a Dean perspective!)

I'm SO glad to hear it's a balanced episode, and that no one is torn down at the expense of anyone else. It sounds like we get some of mature early season 2 Sam back, which is absolutely delightful, and although I'm horrified that Cas and Dean might be breaking up, I have faith that those two crazy kids will make up before the season's over. ;-) Thanks so much for the review!
Patricia
# Patricia 2010-04-12 08:40
Is the scene that crushed you 20 minutes between Sam and Dean?

Also, would you consider this to be one of the best 10 episodes of Supernatural?

You're so lucky, i'm so jealous! The wait is killing me.
Alex
# Alex 2010-04-12 09:17
I can't believe that people are seriously still going on about how both brothers MUST be completely, equally wonderful. God forbid Dean does something naughty, or Sam speaks to Cas, or *gasp* someone is not perfectly behaved. Everyone needs to get a grip - this is a t.v. show!

And I don't think the plot twists are all that twisty. Let me guess: Zach plans on using Adam as Michael's vessel (way to jump that shark, Kripke), Sam locks Dean in the panic room to prevent him from saying yes, Cas and Sam fight over saying yes, Dean and Sam fight over saying yes, Sam pleads with Dean that they all stick together for Team Free Will because that's the only power they have left. Ta-da!
Deanna
# Deanna 2010-04-12 09:37
Hi! I know you can't say anything, but can you give us a litle tidbit, when first spoilers came out for this ep it was said that we will see relationship Michael has with Dean, are we? considering all the spoilers so far are about W brothers and new plan by Zach, not that I'm complaining, I'm just curious cos I wanna get some answers regarding Dean/Michael.

Zach been baddie even worse, that I can't wait to see.
Hope that Dean/Cas will be ok and Dean/Sam will work all out, Cas been badass = awsome.
Team free will working together and all 3 brothers interacting. Yay for that.
Sablegreen
# Sablegreen 2010-04-12 09:55
I REALLY hope this episode shows the REAL brotherly bond again. That is something the show really needs now.

I'm glad they are REALLY hyping the 100th episode. I can't tell you how much hype went into 'Bones' 100th last week. Maybe CW will do a special promo too, like they did with 'Changing Channels'

I already saw Dean in the panic room, so that wasn't a surprise, but I was hoping Sam would be stuck in there too, until the boys got ALL THEIR ISSUES buried, and come out as the Winchester brothers. That would be nice for the 100th episode.

Alice, I hope your not doing an 'Ausiello' twist again. WE'RE YOUR FANS, ALICE ! Be NICE to us!!! :D
Diana
# Diana 2010-04-12 09:58
Cas teaming with Sam against Dean reminds me of that flashback where little Sam had already eat his part of cereal but he wanted more and whine until Dean give him his part. It suck, I hope it is not as it seems.
KateJo
# KateJo 2010-04-12 10:09
Hey Alice, can you set those who are worried about this episode ruining Dean/Cas bond at ease? Will we come away with any hope that their friendship can be restored?

Also any protective big brother Dean moments when it comes to Sam?
daraobriain
# daraobriain 2010-04-12 10:16
I am the one who first asked about Dean and Cas earlier. I was just concerned that the fight between them might lead to the loss of their friendship. That's all. There was no underlying Dean vs. Sam in my question.

I don't believe that Sam and Cas are turning their backs on Dean or teaming up against him. And I don't believe that Dean and Cas having their own bond is any detriment to Dean and Sam's relationship which is the core of the show.

I love both Sam and Dean, and I'm happy that Sam and Cas are getting along better. I'm just worried about the fight in the alley and I need to know if Dean and Cas's friendship is in danger. I hope you will be able to answer, Alice, if it's not too spoilery. I just need to be put at ease. Thank you! :-)
Whiskey
# Whiskey 2010-04-12 10:34
I think I need a screencap of these comments, so the next time someone tries to claim that no one ever jumps on Sam, or Sam fans, without them starting it, I'll have some proof.

I loved this review, and yes, I'm thrilled to finally have some proof that Sam actually exists in this episode beyond a background role. Every single spoiler about the 100th has been about Dean, Castiel, Michael or Zachariah and Adam. I was beginning to think we had a third repeat of the no Sam show on our hands. I'm so, so, SO happy that the brotherly bond seems to be the focus, because that was upsetting me too, the way that the spoilers made it seem as though the angels were the focus of this episode. The brothers, and their relationship, ARE the show, in my opinion. For the 100th episode to focus on any thing else would be nothing short of a crime. I was dreading this episode, but now I'm actually kind of looking forward to it. Thank you for that!
Syd
# Syd 2010-04-12 10:48
@ Amelia: "I felt really awful about whether Dean was going to survive this thing with his character growth intact, or whether it was just going to be another repetitive "I'm so sorry, I suck, I promise I'll never have an original thought again, and by the way, Sammy, I'm responsible for EVERYTHING you did last year...'"


Oh... well, now that I know someone from *that* forum loved this episode, I'm going to assume this is EXACTLY what is going to happen. Yikes!

I'm assuming Dean will be shown to be WRONG about everything because I assume he doesn't say yes to Michael. So, he'll get questioned by Sam, yelled at by Bobby, beaten up by Cas - who will now side with Sam because Dean is an idiot.

From the previews I've read it seems that the entire point of this episode is to show us how very stupid and wrong Dean has been all along to even consider saying yes. I guess Sam was right last season to think that Dean is too weak to handle anything.

So an entire episode of Dean being weak and wrong and then in the end, I assume he'll apologize to everyone for being so weak and so very wrong about everything. Oh well.

I do hope the brothers' relationship improves and I am looking forward to them becoming close again. I miss my "Sam'n'Dean". I just really hope they don't throw Dean under the bus in order to accomplish this.
Lonnie
# Lonnie 2010-04-12 12:23
That sounds cool! I love that we get equally important scenes for both brothers!! And I NEED them to start fixing their relationship soon! I miss it SO much!! That's why I friggin' love the show! Because of Sam AND Dean!
Lonnie
# Lonnie 2010-04-12 12:34
Okay so I just had to comment on Amelia and Syd's posts.
I'm a member on that forum you're talking about and hell - as mean as it sounds, I have gotten that impression myself from some users there, BUT that's exactly the impressions some "Dean girls" on whatever sites (I don't go to many forums/sites) gives off to them! To the point to! "Dean fans" and "Sam fans" are just as bad as the other!

I personally HAAAATE all this "Sam vs Dean" shit. Gosh! I adore both brothers, I do NOT want a show with one brother, I don't want any of those characters to fuck up and get no belivable redemption!
Geez I wish people could cut down on the fan wars...
Like I said in my previous post - I am SO happy that the episode will be with both brothers
Martha
# Martha 2010-04-12 12:56
Thanks Alice. I've been a bit iffy about this episode because of the previous lack of any Sam spoilers coming out for it. Your review has made this Sam girl a very happy...and very excited... camper.
Leah
# Leah 2010-04-12 13:00
Couldn't care less about Castiel, but the Sam and Dean drama is SO welcome to me, finally it sounds like they will come together again, i've missed their teamwork SO much and it's high time Sam came back into strong, leader role. Excellent review and thanks for the tease, i'll have my tissues for this one.
Joanna-beth
# Joanna-beth 2010-04-12 13:08
YES!!! Sam's going to feature heavily, high time.

I'm hoping this is the end of Castiel, i've never been a fan and even if you are a fan you have to admit after the apocalypse there's no real need to keep an angel around on the show if they're going back to basics as rumoured. I hope Castiel goes out in a nice way for him, but that he goes out all the same. He's never got me on side.

Very happy for the Sam and Dean brotherly relationship, I only hope Sam rescues the samulet and gives it back. Love me some Winchesters.
Sharon
# Sharon 2010-04-12 13:17
Whatever happens, I'm along for the ride. I've never understood, really, why it has to be either/or with the characters. Love Castiel? Then you must hate Sam. Love Sam? Then you must hate Dean. Love Dean? Then you must hate Sam. I mean COME ON. All 3 characters have qualities that are immensely likable and watchable. All of them are going to take their lumps and bumps. If Kripke steers the show where (I think) it ought to go, then all 3 characters will come out on top, one way or another. GO TEAM FREE WILL! :-)
Bevie
# Bevie 2010-04-12 13:35
Wow! Thanks Alice, you've got me hyperventilatin g already in anticipation (in spite of the downers Dean vs Sam postings).

Love the Winchester brothers myself and the two of them are the reasons I watch this show after 5 years. Nothing would make me happier than to see them get back to the former relationship they had before, even though it would have to be on a different level now. LOVE LOVE LOVE Dean and Sam and Sam and Dean. Without that dynamic there is NO SHOW! Hate and despise the fan wars, that's why I cut out most of the other sites and stick to this one.

Don't know if I will survive the 100th episode after reading your comments Alice. :shock:
Carlos
# Carlos 2010-04-12 13:58
I´m very excited with this episode and i think that will be one of the bests.
Sharon
# Sharon 2010-04-12 14:16
Alice, forgive my ill manners, I meant to thank you for this (pre)review. Lovely job, as always! I don't always comment because some of the posters kinda scare me, but I do so enjoy your blog and recaps. Supernatural is in my top five favorite shows on TV and I never miss it. Your enthusiasm helps me enjoy it even more. Thanks!
Jasminka
# Jasminka 2010-04-12 16:45
Even if you did sound like a broken record, I wouldn't care - go ahead as much as you like.... thesaurus? Who need that?

Sammy... if flannel shirts made you cry, that will not mean that something will happen to him, eh? Just nod if I'm safe, okay? What if Dean is too broken to serve as a vessel? What will the Panic Room do to him? Bobby! Castiel!

I know I should not watch this episode before going to work on Friday, but I also know that I will. and be a wreck. Again. Who cares.

I love you for giving us this preview. Rightnow I live on spoilers like this. I can't believe we have only five episodes to go... This will be over too, too soon....

;-)Jas
Evelyn
# Evelyn 2010-04-12 17:57
Thanks for the review Alice. I'm still kind of a wreck from last week's episode and wanting so much to see some more love between the brothers and see Dean get some of his fighting spirit back, but afraid that is not going to happen here. Very anxious for this episode and to see what happens between Dean and Sam. I don't know how I am going to last until Thursday.

I don't know if you can say, but Jensen and Jared alluded to a big fight between them in a future episode at the LA Con. Does that fight happen here?
Elizabeth
# Elizabeth 2010-04-12 18:13
This is awesome - thanks so much for writing it up!

The ep sounds so good and full of brotherly love, yay. You probably can't say, but do we get another brotherly hug at long last? The last few episodes have been fantastic, but have depressed the hell out of me with their bleakness. I need bro!hugs!
annielicious14
# annielicious14 2010-04-12 18:25
OMG!!! thank you! and OMD
Alegreta
# Alegreta 2010-04-12 18:45
Thanks for the review. I'm very excited for this episode. I love Supernatural. Love both Dean and Sam. And I love Bobby and Castiel too.

I like Sam teaming with Cas. They need to help Dean. And I love badass Cas.

Please, please let in the End Dean, Sam and Cas be alright.
hepcat
# hepcat 2010-04-12 18:49
Ever since John died, Sam's feelings have been shoved into a corner by this show, and it has been a massive, massive, neverending disappointment to me. No one has to worry about Dean, as he is truly always taken care of by the writers. He is the biggest victim character on tv, and nothing is truly ever his fault, because no matter what he does, he is treated heroically for it. That is, his mistakes are as heroic as his best actions - they are treated the same. Virtually everything is looked at from Dean's POV, which means he directs the way people look at things and it is easy for people to understand him.

Not so for Sam, where even his most heroic actions are treated as nonexistent or cast in a negative light. Sam's journey as a whole on SPN has been a huge disappointment to me. I have had to struggle with Sam's story being wiped out in season 3 (16 episodes was plenty of time!), his original saving of Dean from hell being erased, his addiction storyline being told off screen in season 4, his not ever, EVER, being allowed to be right about anything since the series actually began 5 seasons ago, have all led to giving me a deep case of cynicism and bitterness regarding this show and the writing staff. Worst of all is Sam not being given his own voice, a valid emotional point of view on the show. It has done more harm to Sam than anything else. Now, we have to watch Sam being cut out of whole episodes, because the writers don't think it matters if he is even there for really important episodes. Frankly, that is why I dreaded Episode 100 more than other episode, based on Kripke and Gamble both saying it was about Dean's relationship with Michael, and not even botherinig to mention Sam by name. It hurt, bad.

And to me, being a Sam fan also involves me being a Dean fan, because SPN to me is about Sam and Dean, and if the writers cannot show me this, then they haven't been doing their jobs properly (which they haven't). So, I for one, am glad that Sam and Dean both are present and accounted for in this episode. I have felt like something vital and important has been missing from SPN since season 4 began, and I hope this is the beginning of that being restored finally.
Uriels Buddy
# Uriels Buddy 2010-04-12 18:58
WORD Hepcat, big fat freaking word. As a Sam fan, who totally loves Dean too, it made me very angry to see them constantly use Sam as a scapegoat it was ridiculous watching them use him to make the mistakes while whatever Dean did he was supposed to end up smelling of roses, uhhhh that's what made a lot of us stop loving the show for a while, i am incredibly happy to see the last episode and to hear that Sam is being allowed to have some god damned character growth again, because he has been far too often slighted in the past. When Sam is back front and centre alongside his brother rather than in the background where he never deserved to be, that's what makes the show epic and loved again.

Winchesters against the world, alone, solitary and hounded but alone together.

And I can even give or take Bobby and Castiel because I love Sam and Dean best when they're completely alone in the world with only one another. Go Winchesters, take them all down.
Nicole1120
# Nicole1120 2010-04-12 19:35
So, Alice, you are one lucky lady, yes? But, I just wanted to thank you for writing this up and for answering questions. You're article has gone a long way in making me feel so much better after people were buzzing about Dean redeeming himself (to which I couldn't figure out what he needed to be redeemed for) and all these things that seemed to indicate he was being a royal pain.

But now you've got me scared that my poor heart won't be able to handle these intense scenes. Especially the 20 minutes between Sam and Dean. Is there any possibility you could set my family up with a night out so I can blubber in peace and without witness?

So, you say someone's feelings get really hurt in the panic room (to compare with Levee's scene)...will this get resolved by the end of this ep or will it be let go? Is the comment made out of line? Do I have to just wait and see, lol?! Will my heart recover?! :o

Man, my heart already hurts just reading your description.
AndreaW
# AndreaW 2010-04-12 20:11
Alice, right now you're one of the two luckiest women in the world - in my opinion. The other is Genevieve Cortese. ;-) Sorry for the little shallow moment but I'm a DIEHARD Sam/Jared girl. So do you think I'll have reasons to be happy about this episode as far as Sam is concerned?

I'm relieved beyond words that this episode is about the BROTHER's relationship. This is SO right. I agree with everyone who thinks that the relationship is the soul and heart of the show. Of course it is. Castiel may be cool to many people, but Supernatural is not really about him. But if he's to stay, it's only right that he teams up with Sam too. Like someone said, we're not talking about adultery here.
Syd
# Syd 2010-04-12 21:38
@ Lonnie -- well I usually only read LJ and some other blogs like this one and Mo Ryan. But I have read that Sam forum before so I thought I'd look at the spoilers for their preview comments -- I really wish I hadn't. A lot of the discussion is about what a horrible brother Dean is and criticizing Jensen's acting. :sad:

So I'd like to think it's just some very extreme Sam fans. I hope so. I love these brothers and the actors and I don't understand the need for such hatred. I am happy to hear there will be good brotherly moments in this episode.

Thank you Alice for previewing it for us and for giving us the tidbits that you have! I appreciate it!!
Ana-Lucia
# Ana-Lucia 2010-04-12 22:23
Thanks so much Alice! I'm so excited for this episode; sounds like everyone's going through the wringer (and would I be watching Supernatural if that didn't fill me with glee?).

I admit I'm partial to Cas, though, and I was wondering if this alleged shirtlessness is gruesome or gratuitous. His guts aren't going to be falling out when this happens, are they? Because Kripke would totally do that.

If you can't tell me then thanks for the review anyway and rest assured I'm hopping up and down with excitement over here. :-)
Tiecg1
# Tiecg1 2010-04-12 23:33
TNT is one of my fave networks. I figure if it ends on TNT, it's a quality show. On the other hand, I avoid the CW network like the plague.

I guess that was my mistake. :-)
Amelia
# Amelia 2010-04-12 23:46
How weird, that the episode has nothing to do with the Michael/Dean relationship! This is the link to the original spoiler:

http://ausiellofiles.ew.com/2009/11/23/supernatural-scoop-100th-episode/

“We’re aiming for it to be a big mythology episode,” reveals Supernatural boss Eric Kripke, adding that, “The Archangel Michael plays a very large part as we explore his relationship with Dean.”

I wonder if Kripke has decided to save all of that for a later episode? I'm disappointed in that regard... I was very much looking forward to the episode advancing the mythology, seeing as we're so close to the end of the season.
Amelia
# Amelia 2010-04-13 00:16
It's not his word I'm taking, it's Kripke's. You could certainly be right about Ausiello lying about the episode Kripke was referring to, though, in which case we'll hopefully find out more about Dean and Michael in a future ep. :-)
Anitje
# Anitje 2010-04-13 04:07
you saying the scene 20 minutes rivals one in WTLB has made this very hard for me. I have been traumatized by that episode.
but then you say this ep redeems both brothers...
so that makes me think about and HOPE for the last scene. but then i'm afraid of hoping because it could be beat down so hard... lol, this is an impossible situation.

But thank you so much for the review! I don't want to seem ungrateful, but i am so worried for the thing most important to me in this show.
anene
# anene 2010-04-13 06:57
I feel bad for you Alice. It has become your job to console all the people crying over something or another. I'm sure you're just as excited as the rest of us and some fans have a lot of misgivings regarding this episode. All the same, it feels like the burden still lies with you to reassure everyone and make everyone happy on here no matter the concern. If i could buy you a coke and send it to you, i would. If it were me, i wouldn't even bother trying so i have to give to you. Kudos.
AndreaW
# AndreaW 2010-04-13 07:58
Alice, no more fangirlishness on my part. :oops:

There are only 2 questions I'd like to ask and then I'll try to survive until Thursday:

1) You mentioned lots of bashing for Sam. Is it in a physical sense?
2) Is there any hint about the Amulet in this episode? (I understand if you can't answer this one)
Supernaturlisch
# Supernaturlisch 2010-04-13 09:55
WOWOWOWOWOWOW! Castiel BARE CHESTED??? This is the next best to a Castiel shower scene! I know, I'm a little pervert... x)
Toni G
# Toni G 2010-04-13 11:41
Amelia and Alice - it wasn't just Kripke, Sera Gamble said the episode was going to be dealing largely with Michael, in two different interviews. They are direct quotes from her.

Here is one(from January):

Sera Interview: "The 100th episode! Congratulations ! What can you tell us about the episode?"

"We want it to feel appropriately substantial. The most I can say right now is that it's about the Archangel Michael...." (and this was done the week the they filmed it? Which is what I don't get)

And yes the next is from Ausiello(Februa ry but could have been done earlier obviously) but he is quoting her:

"In the milestone episode, airing April 15, a very important character will sacrifice themselves in a suicide mission, reveals exec producer Sera Gamble. "We definitely kept in mind that this was [an important] episode. We wanted to deliver something with real scope; it's about the Archangel Michael. Crises will come to a head for Dean and Castiel. And you'll see characters you never thought you'd see again."

Some of that is true but really it doesn't seem nearly as epic. It seems like the only character returning is Adam, which while I liked him in Jump the Shark I never particularly wanted to see him again, no matter what his personality was(and we already have a Dean, I don't think we need a new one). Things do come to a head for Dean and Castiel, in a way. Dean's the only one trying to sacrifice anything but they won't let him so...

However, apparently, according to both Alice and Mousista, there is very little to do with Michael or Dean's relationship to him, at least not that is any different from what it was before.

"But Dean's relationship with Michael isn't going to be what people were assuming."

People were largely assuming he was a vessel for him(because that is what the show said), nothing any sources have reported appears to change that. He was vessel who had to say "yes" or say "no". It appears he is still a vessel who has to say yes or say no.

(sorry if this posted more than once, I had trouble with word verification)

"All the same, it feels like the burden still lies with you to reassure everyone and make everyone happy on here no matter the concern. "

Awww...just like Dean has been doing his whole life. :D At least if they were ever stuck in a haunted elevator together they'd have something to commiserate over(besides the ghost trying to kill them of course:-)
Daldos
# Daldos 2010-04-13 12:52
Is Lucifer really going to be in this episode or not? I hope I dont sound rude, but I am just curious if that was one of those real spoilers or not...
Goblet
# Goblet 2010-04-13 12:57
To Tony G
The confirmation of season 6 happened between the interviews and the filming of ep 100. I am sure that changed a lot.

Thanks for the preview info, Alice! I was skipping this one hearing about the initial spoilers but with this info I think I will watch. I'm not expecting miracles but if Sam has even one scene that gives his character anything else but wall-paper status I think it's worth a shot.
immie_8
# immie_8 2010-04-13 13:41
"Let's just say Dean and Cas stay up in the air."

*sigh* I hope everything's okay between Dean and Cas - next to Sam and Dean, Dean and Castiel's friendship has been a highlight of the series for me. I hope everything goes works out between them, because I now couldn't imagine the series without Cas as Dean's faithful friend and ally.
CP
# CP 2010-04-13 14:01
Thanks Alice for your thoughtful insights, patience and reassurances. This show has burned some of us viewers in the past so I'm sure you can understand all of the concerns people have over how thier favorite characters will be handled.

I am a Dean girl, but like Sam as well! I use to love Bobby but can't stand him anymore because of his tirades, lack of respect for the boys and the fact he has now pulled a gun on them. Some father figure. He proved to be no better than John! I like Cas but am still bothered by the fact that he has yet to acknowlege his part in starting the apocalypse. He witheld info from Dean and Sam that could have avoided the entire mess. He let Sam out of the panic room and he aided in holding Dean hostage until it was to late to stop the whole thing. It's not that his actions haven't redeemed him because they have. But his lack of acknowlegement of his own culpability and tendency to point fingers, bothers me to no end. Plus he is pissed because he fell for Dean. What was his alternative? Remain Zach's minion? So I will not be rooting for his smackdown of Dean!

Please tell me that Cass will feel remorse for his actions.
MarieG
# MarieG 2010-04-13 14:34
I agree CP. I've always felt Cas should have to own up to his part in all this. And the series just skimmed over his turning Anna in. I always wondered if he and Dean would have been such good friends if Dean had known everything. Yes, he has done a lot to make up for it, but God did bring him back, and maybe that was so he COULD fix things. Don't know until the end.
Sylvia
# Sylvia 2010-04-13 15:22
Hear! Hear! CP. The whole part of the clips that irks me and made me originally loose interest in this episode was that exchange or more like monologuing. "I fell for you" Besides it being ridiculous and soap opera sounding, It doesn't make Castiel look noble at all. Sam and Dean have been doing this due to a loss of family and are still doing it because they know it is the right thing and they truly want to save lives and spare people from experiencing the same tragedy as their family. They don't expect thanks in return and have gotten nothing but pain, loss, and heartache and have each died as a result but they still go out there and save lives.
Then here comes Castiel spitting out that he did it for Dean and Dean owes him. Selfish much? And not to mention, Dean doesn't need another person or an angel that is supposed to be a warrior of God putting their own selfish expectations on him. He is only human. Castiel should known better. He is thousands of years old not 2. And there i was finally liking the direction they were taking him towards the second half of this season. Now that just blew it. I thought Castiel chose to listen to Dean because he knew it was the right thing to do to help stop the apocalypse from happening. This just confirms it to me that he isn't noble and no longer an angel of God. Like someone else said, if he didn't listen to Dean, what is the alternative? Turn into a scumbag like Zach and Lucifer and even Michael? Seriously. For such an angel of the lord who used to do things because it was the right thing, he sure has fallen very far and not in the good sense. Bullying Dean is not winning my trust. He needs to take some anger management class. I hope it is out of context and the episode sheds some light on it because i would hate to no longer like the character as he was developing quite nicely and his new relationship with Sam is something that excites me.
Nic02
# Nic02 2010-04-13 16:36
Thanks, Alice!

"2) No amulet makes an appearance in this episode. Sorry!"
I'm sad now... I hoped that the end of the episode that everyone is describing as so emotional would feature Dean's amulet (as in Sam giving it back and Dean accepting).

Now I'm worried that instead of a brotherly bond at the end we'll actually have a bigger hole between the brothers... Oh, well...
Toni G
# Toni G 2010-04-13 17:25
"The confirmation of season 6 happened between the interviews and the filming of ep 100. I am sure that changed a lot."

But they were filming episode 100 at the time of the interview, they did that interview at the time of the 100th episode party. It's not like they could have gone back and re-filmed the whole thing. :-) So why did she say that?

And honestly I don't think they would have changed it because of the Season 6 pick up(especially as they pretty much assumed it was happening) because being about Michael has nothing to do with next season. It is directly related to THIS season's arc. They have stated repeatedly that the arc ends this season, Season 6 or no. So while some details might change - the basic arc itself should have remained essentially similar.

We've still had virtually nothing about Michael or about Michael and Dean. Lucifer has had major appearances in two episodes--he has influenced events in one or two others(like the demons having a "bounty" on Dean's head and the horsemen roaming around).

Michael had 3 minutes at the end of one episode and that is it and has seemed to be totally uninvolved besides that.

I just really feel they seriously shortchanged this part of the arc and I feel that Dean's part of the arc has suffered for it.
Nic02
# Nic02 2010-04-13 17:52
To Toni G:
I understand and agree, I don't think that they changed anything because of season 6 for the reasons you said.

But as for me, I'm happy and relieved that this episode focus on Sam and Dean relationship instead of Michael. Because if it wasn't because of these two brothers, Supernatural wouldn't get its 100th episode.

(And honestly, I don't really miss Michael)
Leah
# Leah 2010-04-13 18:02
I'm loving all the spoilers and can't wait to see the ep but at the same time I'm also sad that we won't get Michael interacting with Dean, I was so hoping for that, this third hand information about him doesn't help at all.

Thank you Alice for answering the questions.
daraobriain
# daraobriain 2010-04-14 09:00
Maybe we can all wait to watch the episode before passing judgment on the characters? Not a single one of them is perfect. Each has his flaws and each has something he has to answer for.

And these guys are allies. They are all working together to stop the Apocalypse and they've all saved each other's lives several times over.

Contrary to what you are thinking right now, those other horrible!nasty! unforgivable characters actually care for your favorite guy. Really.
mc43
# mc43 2010-04-15 18:16
Hi Alice. Thanks for the review. I usually don't read the pre-reviews because I don't want to be that spoiled going into an episode. But I am really glad I did so that manage my disappointment and maybe just enjoy the episode anyway.

I was pretty excited with all the spoilers talking about Michael and how this episode would flesh out their relationship. I have to say that I have been quite disappointed in how they are handling the Michael part of the story as well and I think it's really too bad they backed off this storyline for whatever reason.

Michael is one of the most iconic figures in Christian mythology, not to mention tied to the arc of one of the two leads in the show. But he's hardly had any presence at all. It just seems like a huge waste of potential to me, especially during a season that has some pretty major low points. Right now, season 5 has been my least favorite in terms of the mythology. just because it has failed so badly to live up to the potential set up in season 4. I really do hope they can pull it together by the end the season.