WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

Supernatural Bits & Pieces May 28, 2017

Alice's Review: Supernatural 12.23 "All Along The Watchtower" aka A Death...

Fan Video of the Week: Supernatural Reflections "Who We Are"

Family Don't End With Blood - Revelations from Supernatural Cast and Fans

Alice's Review: Supernatural 12.22 "Who We Are," aka A Family Healed

Wednesday’s Watching Supernatural 12.22 “Who We Are”

WFB Supernatural Gift Guide

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

26 May 2017 14:18

Jared and Gen Padalecki both spoke in support of David's Law, a Texas law which targets cyber bullyi

26 May 2017 09:14

Jared started part four of his relaunch.

24 May 2017 15:07

Editor's Note: This article chronologically presents the reports and tweets on Mark Sheppard's statu

24 May 2017 09:41

 Now that season 12 is over, our stars are working for charity.

21 May 2017 09:14

Jared has launched part two of his AKF campaign.

20 May 2017 16:46

We have a few spoilers that came out of the Jus In Bello Convention this weekend.

19 May 2017 11:25

Here are the ratings for last night's finale episodes.

18 May 2017 21:38

Well, we were uninamous, but that's not necessarily good.  All four of us at the TV Fanatic Rou

18 May 2017 15:34

Jared talks about the season finale, season 13 spoilers and relaunching his Always Keep Fighting Cam

18 May 2017 12:05

We are getting our first spoilers for next season at the CW upfront presentation.

18 May 2017 08:52

The CW has released its schedule for next season.

17 May 2017 14:21

EW has published an interview with Andrew Dabb about the final episodes of season 12.

15 May 2017 07:44

The shows continue to fall as networks are poised to announce their 2017-2018 schedule.

13 May 2017 13:42

Yes, NBC changed its mind and renewed Timeless

13 May 2017 07:14

Our wonderful Lilah Kane made screengrabs of the Shaving People, Punting Things Promo.

13 May 2017 00:46

Apologies, but the total **** storm generated by 12.21 made me forget to put up the link for the TV

12 May 2017 14:02

Here are the pictures for the finale.

12 May 2017 12:20

We have the preliminary ratings for last night's episode.

11 May 2017 21:33

The trailer for the season 12 finale

11 May 2017 07:07

It's been a bad week for our former writing staff.

10 May 2017 13:01

We have a sneak peek for episode 21.

08 May 2017 19:16

The CW canceled two freshman shows today.

08 May 2017 10:53

Jeffrey Dean Morgan won the 2017 MTV Award for Best Villain for his role as Negan on The Walking Dea

05 May 2017 14:51

We have pictures for the next episode.

05 May 2017 12:45

The ratings for episode 20  'Twigs & Twine and Tasha Banes'

04 May 2017 21:16

The trailer for the next episode.

03 May 2017 15:09

We have the sneak peek for episode 20

30 Apr 2017 15:42

Supernatural won Best Writing in Canadagraphs's "Best of TV" Awards!

28 Apr 2017 15:08

We have the pictures for episode 20.

28 Apr 2017 11:16

Here are the ratings for Supernatural's 'The Future':

27 Apr 2017 21:42

The trailer for episode 20.

27 Apr 2017 21:15

The CW has released the synopses for episode 22 and 23

25 Apr 2017 23:27

It's really funny how Nightsky and I seem to be on opposite sides of the spectrum when it comes to a

25 Apr 2017 14:28

April 24 was Baby's 50th birthday and Eric Kripke's 43rd. Congratulations flooded in from our cast.

24 Apr 2017 20:32

Andrew Dabb sat down with TV Line to discuss the end of season 12.

24 Apr 2017 12:31

TVLine and EW have posted their Season Finale Previews for several shows.

20 Apr 2017 20:55

We have the synopsis for episode 21.

20 Apr 2017 07:46

We have pictures for next week's episode.

14 Apr 2017 15:14

The people from Shaving People, Punting things have done it again.

14 Apr 2017 11:46

Here are the ratings for 'The Memory Remains'

14 Apr 2017 00:08

At this week's TV Fanatic Roundtable, the good news is our group, myself, Nightsky and Christine Las

13 Apr 2017 21:20

The trailer for the April 27 episode

13 Apr 2017 19:06

We have the synopsis for episode 20.

12 Apr 2017 13:31

We have our sneak peek for this week's episode

12 Apr 2017 10:09

It's that time of year! The fun of GISHWHES is about to begin.

10 Apr 2017 16:13

Pictures for episode 18

WFB Feature Articles

May 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Alice

  I struggle with Andrew Dabb scripts. While Robert Berens turned his script into a work of ar

Read more...
May 31 2017 | LK

 

"Never forget what you are, for surely the world will not. Make it your strength. Then it

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Farawayeyes

Family Don’t End with Blood: How Supernatural Has Changed Lives

Edited by Lynn Zubernis, Rel

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Alice

Thank you, thank you, thank you Robert Berens!  I just can’t say that enough.  I was lef

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Wednesday

  A Thirst Quenching Gem!

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Elle

Who We Are and All Along the Watchtower were excellent, both independent and united. Season twelve h

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week!

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Nightsky

The Morning After

I am overwhelmed. Emotionally drained and intellectually stunned. THAT is the Sup

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Bookdal

This recap will address both 12.22 and 12.23. The first hour of the finale was written by Robert Ber

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Percysowner

It's the season 12 finale! Here's what we know. Now with sneak peek

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Nightsky

Six Days Later

I’m a little late to the party this week. Usually "Threads" is The WFB’s first r

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Wednesday

Aspects To Love & A Little Something About Eileen

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Alice

I've struggled with this review for several days.  I've considered, started, and then reconside

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Elle

While not at all what I expected from where we left off last week, There’s Something About Mary

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news.

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Bookdal

 

This episode, written by Ross-Leming and Buckner, is titled “There’s Something About Mar

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Percysowner

What we know about episode 21.

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Wednesday

That was Scary! Craftily Entwined Resurrections and Reveals.  

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Alice

Episode 20 in this show has always been a bit of an odd duck.  It’s meant to be the warmup to

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Elle

Twigs & Twine & Tasha Banes had all the perfect ingredients and knew exactly how to blend th

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week!

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Nightsky

The Morning After

Well that was a depressing, nobody wins episode! Supernatural’s “Twigs and Tw

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Bookdal

This episode, written by Steven Yockey and directed by Richard Speight Jr., is titled “Twigs &

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Percysowner

What we know about episode 20.

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Elle

Whoa! That was quite the unexpected episode in some of the best ways. The Future was all about addre

Read more...
May 31 2017 | Wednesday

The Script “Winging it” With Angelic Direction.

Read more...

BurningQuestions
SaveSaveSaveSaveSaveSave
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save
Save

Nightsky's New Book!


Anyone out there see The Wedding Singer?  The lead character, played by Adam Sandler, is the happiest wedding singer alive.  Weddings and the idea of marriage thrill him - until he’s cruelly jilted at the alter by his bride to be.  Suddenly, he’s down on everything involving marriage and love.  Unfortunately he still has to pay the bills so when he goes to work, he ends up ruining a wedding reception by leading the loners and losers in the room through a biting rendition of “Love Stinks.”  To say the least, it ended up not being a good idea at the time given his head space.  It also got him punched.   

So why am I bringing up a film whose female lead was almost doomed to the name of Julia Gulia? (My daughter's name is Julia, so we call her that a lot).  Easy, back in October I was going through my own “clouded headspace” issues, I did something foolish that in retrospect I should have NEVER attempted.  I did a review on a book celebrating fandom at a time when I was so sour on the mere existence of fandom, I was leading the band in the biting rendition of “Fandom Stinks.”  I didn’t get punched, but I should have.  It was a poorly done review, and not a very fair one. 

What’s lovely about life though is every once in a while, we get to call, “do-over!”  I get to do this review over.  It comes with a fresher perspective and a new appreciation for not only the Supernatural fandom, but the idea of fandom in general.  It really is a phenomenon that changes our lives in many different ways.  So settle in and join me in a thorough yet balanced analysis of Fangasm: Supernatural Fangirls.

Review

If I had to describe Fangasm: Supernatural Fangirls in a nutshell, it’s a personal story about celebrating fandom.  That’s a very crude summary though, and I’ve never been one for crude summaries.  After all, anyone who’s been part of this mind-boggling experience knows that there’s nothing simple about being in a fandom at all.  Especially fans of the TV show Supernatural.  

How about, it’s an open, honest, well-written narrative about two women who fell in love with a TV program and found there was so much more to this show than a piece of entertainment that took an hour of their lives each week.  By jumping into this roller coaster world of the Supernatural fandom head first, Lynn Zubernis and Kathy Larsen found new identities, formed meaningful friendships, became immersed in the inner circle of meeting and socializing those involved with their favorite show, and experienced some very surreal and profound changes to their personal lives.  The entire story reads like a whirlwind and that’s because it is. 

For anyone that’s ever been involved in a fandom, this book will evoke a myriad of feelings because of the personal nature of their story.  Those feelings will be as individual as everyone's experiences have been.  We all can relate in some way to the stories Lynn and Kathy share, even if they aren’t engaged in all aspects of Supernatural fan activities.  It’s enough where it triggers recollections of our own adventures, and helps us celebrate our own feelings of excitement the first time we saw two brothers hit the road in a bitchin’ 1967 Chevy Impala hunting demons and monsters.      

The message of the book is not to wave in our faces all of their amazing experiences ever since Supernatural came into their lives (and they’ve had some amazing experiences).  It’s to tell fans that have gone or want to go to conventions, and/or spend countless hours online discussing the show, and/or write fan fiction, and/or make or share fan videos, and/or hang out on places like Twitter, Facebook and Tumblr participating in rapid chatter, etc. that it’s okay to act this way, no matter what your age.  Fandom isn’t just for preteens and teens.  Although when you engage in all this, you feel like one.   

Raise your hand if you’ve ever had someone look at you funny when you said you were traveling somewhere for a fan convention - Or when you just had a conversation online about Supernatural or any another show and someone else in the room thought you’d lost your mind - Or when you experienced that pang of guilt because you ignored a household duty or family obligation to finish that Sam and Dean fan fiction.  Yeah, that’s all in there, and much, much more.

Lynn and Kathy are college professors, so there is some academic based dialogue, but it’s mostly the fangirl point of view.  It makes for a very interesting combo, but it works.  Often times the narrative shares a wild experience and then the psychologist kicks in and explains in detail why the act is okay and even rational.  It’s justification that we often struggle with in our own minds when after staying up late chattering like mad about the latest episode on a work night.  It answers the questions, “Why am I doing this?” or “Why can’t I get a real life?”  Trust me, fandom is as real as it gets.

I will admit, Lynn and Kathy travel way more than the average fan.  I wouldn’t have traveled all the way to Dallas to see my favorite TV actor in a play during the show’s offseason.  Most of us wouldn’t.  But the point is if these two people of seemingly rational and respectable lives go and do something like that, then you shouldn’t feel bad about gleefully sharing photos and videos of the same actor constantly with other fans online for hours.  It also says that if you can act on an impulse like traveling halfway across the country on the hope of meeting an actor, it’s not as crazy as you think.  Others were there too and everything turned out alright.  

For me personally, I related to their stories of the behind the scenes thrill of getting to interview people like creator Eric Kripke, writer Sera Gamble, actors Jared Padalecki and Jensen Ackles, or anyone ever associated with the show.  It’s a profound experience that forces one to balance professionalism with the “scream-your-fool-head-off” inner fan girl.  Sometimes that balance isn’t so easy!  Lynn and Kathy discovered (as I did) that the people behind the show are fans just like us and have their own fan boy/fan girl experiences to pool from.  These people have managed to make a living from their inspirations and you can’t help but admire that.  The interviews shared are very down to earth and offer perspective that the Supernatural cast, producers, and crew are just like you and me.  Their stake in the show is as personal as a fan’s, even more so since it’s their creation.  It’s not just a job to them.  

Fandom is a volatile thing too, so it’s not all joy and happiness.  Waving your fandom flag proudly does come with a social stigma.  Lynn and Kathy found that stigma from others at every turn and shared those stories as well.  There were some very painful experiences and there is disappointment that comes when being an avid fan.  It also had a big impact on their personal lives, both good and bad.  Relationships fell apart, and the struggle of being a fan and being true to their families resulted in plenty of conflict and guilt.  But they also never felt more thrilled and alive during their experiences.  The book title says it all; they found their fangasm.

Lynn and Kathy, despite their years of professional wisdom, were also not prepared for the politics that comes with the entertainment business.  Hollywood has a different mentality than the real world and is all about good PR.  Certain lines cannot be crossed.  When they first jumped into the fandom, Lynn and Kathy settled into that online niche that adored reading and writing slash fan fiction.  With a show like Supernatural, the pairing of the two Winchester brothers, commonly called Wincest, is a very controversial and a morally outrageous aspect of the fandom to many.  Lynn and Kathy spent a lot of time pushing that envelope though, trying to break through that social taboo which they really wanted to discuss.  In this book and in their conversations with people involved with the show, slash and Wincest comes up a lot.  As a reader of this book, some will applaud their audacity.  Others will find the subject matter very uncomfortable to read.  I personally fall in the latter category, but I also understand why they had to go that route.  They needed to show fans of all parts of the fandom that they belonged in this community, even those associated with what is considered the “fringier” elements.  Fandom isn’t a cookie cutter, “everything is just peachy” phenomenon like Hollywood PR likes to project.  It comes with plenty of counter cultural and volatile elements, which makes the identity of a fandom all that more real.   

My biggest disappointment with Fangasm is that the story ended right around the time when I first met Lynn and Kathy at the first Salute to Supernatural convention in New Jersey.  They’ve had so many great adventures since then and a deeper, more profound experience with the fandom.  That’s just a personal disappointment though and one that can be easily rectified by reading their stories through their Fangasm blog and fandom studies publications.  We can always hope for a follow-up to Fangasm too!   

This book may be geared toward the very colorful (and often outspoken) Supernatural fandom, but anyone that’s been involved with any fandom will enjoy the stories and can relate.  Some will perceive this to be a celebration.  Others will feel better about liking what they want to like and doing what makes them feel happy.  Others will take it as a cautionary tale.  Whatever the reactions we are all better from experiencing at least in part Lynn and Kathy’s wild ride through all things Supernatural. 

Fangasm: Supernatural Fangirls is published by the University of Iowa press and can be found at Amazon.com. 
 

Paperback                   Kindle Edition