WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

More Supernatural Interviews From Comic Con 2017 - Misha Collins

More Supernatural Interviews From Comic Con 2017 - Jensen Ackles

More Supernatural Interviews From Comic Con 2017 - Jared Padalecki

Supernatural Interviews Comic Con 2017 - Andrew Dabb

Interview With Executive Producer Robert Singer - Comic Con 2017

Interview With Jensen Ackles - Comic Con 2017

Check out all our San Diego Comic Con coverage, including on scene reports from Nightsky!  

 

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

24 Jul 2017 14:25

Nightsky posted her video of the Kansas performance at Comic Con.

23 Jul 2017 20:11

We may be getting several of these today.

23 Jul 2017 14:56

The cast for Wayward Sisters has been announced.

23 Jul 2017 14:01

The 2017 San Diego Comic Con "Supernatural" panel was one for the ages.  A surprise concert, a

23 Jul 2017 00:16

Today was a very special panel involving one of our prominent #SPNFAMILY members, Genevieve Padaleck

22 Jul 2017 22:37

The photos from Nightsky have been coming in slowly and we are keeping an archive of everything take

22 Jul 2017 21:41

The Tick has had a big presence at Comic Con.

22 Jul 2017 13:54

EW sat down with Jared, Jensen and Misha at Comic Con.

21 Jul 2017 22:30

The Facebook Live chat with Jared, Jensen and Misha is now available.

21 Jul 2017 14:27

Catching up with Supernatural Alumni at Comic Con.

21 Jul 2017 00:09

Today was the big Timeless panel at San Diego Comic Con.  Our master Eric Kripke was there to t

20 Jul 2017 14:59

The cast will appear live tomorrow, July 21, 2017 and will be seen on the Supernatural Facebook page

20 Jul 2017 11:52

The first clip from Jared and Jensen's appearance on Conan O'Brien

20 Jul 2017 06:45

The WB has released the poster for next season.

19 Jul 2017 17:35

The Conan O'Brien show has put out a teaser for tonight's appearance.

16 Jul 2017 14:44

Mark Pellegrino is in the running for a Tean Choice Award

16 Jul 2017 01:45

We have the first spoilers from this year's TV Guide article covering Comic Con.

15 Jul 2017 12:23

Warner Brothers is having a Gift Pack Giveaway.

14 Jul 2017 15:27

We have the images on the Comic Con bags for this year's Comic Con.

12 Jul 2017 16:28

Conan O'Brien is going to Comic Con and he's going to have Jared and Jensen on his show.

12 Jul 2017 13:22

Jensen and others are posting on social media from Vancouver. No Spoilers.

12 Jul 2017 10:20

San Diego Comic Con must be just around the corner!  Each year at this time we get some awesome

08 Jul 2017 19:22

Rogue Events, the company that hosted the Asylum conventions, is going out of business.

29 Jun 2017 14:55

IMDB has posted casting for episode 13.01

29 Jun 2017 14:08

It's official, Supernatural is coming to Comic Con this year.

27 Jun 2017 21:32

As your Winchester Family Business Editor-in-Chief, I have an exciting announcement to share.  

20 Jun 2017 14:00

Reportedly, Wayward Sisters (not Daughters) will be given a backdoor pilot in season 13.

20 Jun 2017 08:33

The Teen Choice Awards announced the first round of their nominations yesterday and Supernatural is

08 Jun 2017 15:20

We have a date for the end of Hellatus!

06 Jun 2017 21:28

Ty Olsson (Benny Lafitte) just won a Leo Award.

03 Jun 2017 14:53

Jared has announced the final phase of the relaunch of his AKF campaign.

01 Jun 2017 23:33

Oh yeah, we had a LOT to discuss!  This is a supersized TV Fanatic Roundtable this time, design

01 Jun 2017 15:30

Jared and Jensen have both spoken about their daughters recently.

01 Jun 2017 10:22

Jared has relaunched part five of his Always Keep Fighting campaign.

31 May 2017 08:44

We have the first information on the season 12 DVD.

26 May 2017 14:18

Jared and Gen Padalecki both spoke in support of David's Law, a Texas law which targets cyber bullyi

26 May 2017 09:14

Jared started part four of his relaunch.

24 May 2017 15:07

Editor's Note: This article chronologically presents the reports and tweets on Mark Sheppard's statu

24 May 2017 09:41

 Now that season 12 is over, our stars are working for charity.

21 May 2017 09:14

Jared has launched part two of his AKF campaign.

20 May 2017 16:46

We have a few spoilers that came out of the Jus In Bello Convention this weekend.

19 May 2017 11:25

Here are the ratings for last night's finale episodes.

18 May 2017 21:38

Well, we were uninamous, but that's not necessarily good.  All four of us at the TV Fanatic Rou

18 May 2017 15:34

Jared talks about the season finale, season 13 spoilers and relaunching his Always Keep Fighting Cam

18 May 2017 12:05

We are getting our first spoilers for next season at the CW upfront presentation.

18 May 2017 08:52

The CW has released its schedule for next season.

WFB Feature Articles

Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

The final actor is Misha Collins.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Jensen spoke to different outlets at Comic Con this year.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

We return to the actors who were interviewed at Comic Con. This time Jared Padalecki.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Press Room Interviews with Andrew Dabb.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

 Last interview up and it's with the man who holds it all together, Robert Singer.  He giv

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

An interview with Jensen is always a pleasure!  The interview started out casually - talk about

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

It's Misha's turn!  In our roundtable interview in the San Diego Comic Con press room today, he

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

Today was a pretty awesome day!  Here's the WFB roundtable interview with Jared Padalecki. &nbs

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.17 "The British Invasion". Once again

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Mallena

This episode introduces us to Anna Milton.  She isn’t a normal girl, like she appears, but is

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Alice

The nominations were collected, the votes have been cast, the results have been tabulated, and the w

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

San Diego Comic Con 2017 is this week! The most anticipated comic book, superhero, scifi/fantasy gen

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Elle

12 Years of Big Boss Battles: Supernatural Villainy for the Ages

“I'm glad, honestly. I'm not s

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | LK

 

"The gleam in their eyes telegraphs only too clearly that they are hoping for a headline,

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Here's what we know about this year's event!

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Mallena

I was underwhelmed with season ten for most of its run, so it was wonderful to watch an episode as t

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural on the web this week!

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series! For Supernatural 12.13 "Family Feud", I put tog

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Alice

The moment is finally here!  The nominations have been tabulated, now it's time to vote.  

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | LK

 

"The unreal is more powerful than the real, because nothing is as perfect as you can imagine

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to "Memorable Moments" of Supernatural! This edition focuses on episode 12.12 "Stuck In

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Mallena

There has been a lot of talk lately about Jody and the women of Supernatural.  In honor of the

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Elle

Rich, riveting, complex and so full of story details and character threads that it's impossible to m

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | LK

 "Yesterday is but today's memory, and tomorrow is today's dream." — Khalil Gibran

Loosing

Read more...

WFB Motivational Posters - Comic Con

ComicConCosplay.jpg

Nightsky's New Book!


Anyone out there see The Wedding Singer?  The lead character, played by Adam Sandler, is the happiest wedding singer alive.  Weddings and the idea of marriage thrill him - until he’s cruelly jilted at the alter by his bride to be.  Suddenly, he’s down on everything involving marriage and love.  Unfortunately he still has to pay the bills so when he goes to work, he ends up ruining a wedding reception by leading the loners and losers in the room through a biting rendition of “Love Stinks.”  To say the least, it ended up not being a good idea at the time given his head space.  It also got him punched.   

So why am I bringing up a film whose female lead was almost doomed to the name of Julia Gulia? (My daughter's name is Julia, so we call her that a lot).  Easy, back in October I was going through my own “clouded headspace” issues, I did something foolish that in retrospect I should have NEVER attempted.  I did a review on a book celebrating fandom at a time when I was so sour on the mere existence of fandom, I was leading the band in the biting rendition of “Fandom Stinks.”  I didn’t get punched, but I should have.  It was a poorly done review, and not a very fair one. 

What’s lovely about life though is every once in a while, we get to call, “do-over!”  I get to do this review over.  It comes with a fresher perspective and a new appreciation for not only the Supernatural fandom, but the idea of fandom in general.  It really is a phenomenon that changes our lives in many different ways.  So settle in and join me in a thorough yet balanced analysis of Fangasm: Supernatural Fangirls.

Review

If I had to describe Fangasm: Supernatural Fangirls in a nutshell, it’s a personal story about celebrating fandom.  That’s a very crude summary though, and I’ve never been one for crude summaries.  After all, anyone who’s been part of this mind-boggling experience knows that there’s nothing simple about being in a fandom at all.  Especially fans of the TV show Supernatural.  

How about, it’s an open, honest, well-written narrative about two women who fell in love with a TV program and found there was so much more to this show than a piece of entertainment that took an hour of their lives each week.  By jumping into this roller coaster world of the Supernatural fandom head first, Lynn Zubernis and Kathy Larsen found new identities, formed meaningful friendships, became immersed in the inner circle of meeting and socializing those involved with their favorite show, and experienced some very surreal and profound changes to their personal lives.  The entire story reads like a whirlwind and that’s because it is. 

For anyone that’s ever been involved in a fandom, this book will evoke a myriad of feelings because of the personal nature of their story.  Those feelings will be as individual as everyone's experiences have been.  We all can relate in some way to the stories Lynn and Kathy share, even if they aren’t engaged in all aspects of Supernatural fan activities.  It’s enough where it triggers recollections of our own adventures, and helps us celebrate our own feelings of excitement the first time we saw two brothers hit the road in a bitchin’ 1967 Chevy Impala hunting demons and monsters.      

The message of the book is not to wave in our faces all of their amazing experiences ever since Supernatural came into their lives (and they’ve had some amazing experiences).  It’s to tell fans that have gone or want to go to conventions, and/or spend countless hours online discussing the show, and/or write fan fiction, and/or make or share fan videos, and/or hang out on places like Twitter, Facebook and Tumblr participating in rapid chatter, etc. that it’s okay to act this way, no matter what your age.  Fandom isn’t just for preteens and teens.  Although when you engage in all this, you feel like one.   

Raise your hand if you’ve ever had someone look at you funny when you said you were traveling somewhere for a fan convention - Or when you just had a conversation online about Supernatural or any another show and someone else in the room thought you’d lost your mind - Or when you experienced that pang of guilt because you ignored a household duty or family obligation to finish that Sam and Dean fan fiction.  Yeah, that’s all in there, and much, much more.

Lynn and Kathy are college professors, so there is some academic based dialogue, but it’s mostly the fangirl point of view.  It makes for a very interesting combo, but it works.  Often times the narrative shares a wild experience and then the psychologist kicks in and explains in detail why the act is okay and even rational.  It’s justification that we often struggle with in our own minds when after staying up late chattering like mad about the latest episode on a work night.  It answers the questions, “Why am I doing this?” or “Why can’t I get a real life?”  Trust me, fandom is as real as it gets.

I will admit, Lynn and Kathy travel way more than the average fan.  I wouldn’t have traveled all the way to Dallas to see my favorite TV actor in a play during the show’s offseason.  Most of us wouldn’t.  But the point is if these two people of seemingly rational and respectable lives go and do something like that, then you shouldn’t feel bad about gleefully sharing photos and videos of the same actor constantly with other fans online for hours.  It also says that if you can act on an impulse like traveling halfway across the country on the hope of meeting an actor, it’s not as crazy as you think.  Others were there too and everything turned out alright.  

For me personally, I related to their stories of the behind the scenes thrill of getting to interview people like creator Eric Kripke, writer Sera Gamble, actors Jared Padalecki and Jensen Ackles, or anyone ever associated with the show.  It’s a profound experience that forces one to balance professionalism with the “scream-your-fool-head-off” inner fan girl.  Sometimes that balance isn’t so easy!  Lynn and Kathy discovered (as I did) that the people behind the show are fans just like us and have their own fan boy/fan girl experiences to pool from.  These people have managed to make a living from their inspirations and you can’t help but admire that.  The interviews shared are very down to earth and offer perspective that the Supernatural cast, producers, and crew are just like you and me.  Their stake in the show is as personal as a fan’s, even more so since it’s their creation.  It’s not just a job to them.  

Fandom is a volatile thing too, so it’s not all joy and happiness.  Waving your fandom flag proudly does come with a social stigma.  Lynn and Kathy found that stigma from others at every turn and shared those stories as well.  There were some very painful experiences and there is disappointment that comes when being an avid fan.  It also had a big impact on their personal lives, both good and bad.  Relationships fell apart, and the struggle of being a fan and being true to their families resulted in plenty of conflict and guilt.  But they also never felt more thrilled and alive during their experiences.  The book title says it all; they found their fangasm.

Lynn and Kathy, despite their years of professional wisdom, were also not prepared for the politics that comes with the entertainment business.  Hollywood has a different mentality than the real world and is all about good PR.  Certain lines cannot be crossed.  When they first jumped into the fandom, Lynn and Kathy settled into that online niche that adored reading and writing slash fan fiction.  With a show like Supernatural, the pairing of the two Winchester brothers, commonly called Wincest, is a very controversial and a morally outrageous aspect of the fandom to many.  Lynn and Kathy spent a lot of time pushing that envelope though, trying to break through that social taboo which they really wanted to discuss.  In this book and in their conversations with people involved with the show, slash and Wincest comes up a lot.  As a reader of this book, some will applaud their audacity.  Others will find the subject matter very uncomfortable to read.  I personally fall in the latter category, but I also understand why they had to go that route.  They needed to show fans of all parts of the fandom that they belonged in this community, even those associated with what is considered the “fringier” elements.  Fandom isn’t a cookie cutter, “everything is just peachy” phenomenon like Hollywood PR likes to project.  It comes with plenty of counter cultural and volatile elements, which makes the identity of a fandom all that more real.   

My biggest disappointment with Fangasm is that the story ended right around the time when I first met Lynn and Kathy at the first Salute to Supernatural convention in New Jersey.  They’ve had so many great adventures since then and a deeper, more profound experience with the fandom.  That’s just a personal disappointment though and one that can be easily rectified by reading their stories through their Fangasm blog and fandom studies publications.  We can always hope for a follow-up to Fangasm too!   

This book may be geared toward the very colorful (and often outspoken) Supernatural fandom, but anyone that’s been involved with any fandom will enjoy the stories and can relate.  Some will perceive this to be a celebration.  Others will feel better about liking what they want to like and doing what makes them feel happy.  Others will take it as a cautionary tale.  Whatever the reactions we are all better from experiencing at least in part Lynn and Kathy’s wild ride through all things Supernatural. 

Fangasm: Supernatural Fangirls is published by the University of Iowa press and can be found at Amazon.com. 
 

Paperback                   Kindle Edition