WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 3

Fan Video of the Week: Supernatural Reflections "The British Invasion”

Supernatural Bits & Pieces September 17, 2017

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 2

Mallena's Supernatural Musings: 3.11 "Mystery Spot"

Supernatural Match Game #4

Check out all our San Diego Comic Con coverage, including on scene reports from Nightsky!  

 

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

Sep 18 2017

Jeffrey Dean Morgan and Hillary Burton showed off her baby bump at last night's Emmy Awards ceremony

Sep 18 2017

The actor, who once played Gordon Walker, won an Emmy last night for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Dra

Sep 17 2017

We have a copy of the EW preview for Supernatural and BTS pictures of episode 6.

Sep 13 2017

We're getting close. The CW released a short promo.

Sep 12 2017

EW just published a big spoiler for season 13. TVLine Spoilers added!

Sep 12 2017

September 13 is Supernatural Day!

Sep 08 2017

TVLine released it's fall preview and had this to say about Supernatural

Sep 06 2017

With the DVD for season 12 hitting the shelves yesterday, several oulets have posted deleted scenes

Sep 04 2017

Misha Collins made the announcement today.

Sep 01 2017

Stories continue to come out on Jensen Ackles fundraiser to help Texas after the devastation of Hurr

Aug 31 2017

The Supernatural Family's work to aid in disaster rescue and recovery efforts has even been noticed

Aug 30 2017

Buddy TV posted a new deleted scene from last season.

Aug 28 2017

Jensen and Danneel Ackles are spearheading an effort to help victims of Hurricane Harvey

Aug 24 2017

We have titles for episodes through 12.

Aug 23 2017

TV Line has some spoilers for this season.

Aug 23 2017

There are a lot of Behing-The-Scenes shots from episodes 3 of Supernatural season 13!

Aug 20 2017

The cast is wishing Misha a Happy Birthday!

Aug 18 2017

Christine Kilmer's latest vlog is up and it's seems rather timely given the latest events.  In

Aug 12 2017

Spoiler TV posted the titles for the first nine episodes and episode 16

Aug 12 2017

Recently, I had to shut down the site because of horrible, negative, disrespectful fighting in our c

Aug 09 2017

We have casting news for season 13.

Jul 24 2017

Nightsky posted her video of the Kansas performance at Comic Con.

Jul 23 2017

We may be getting several of these today.

Jul 23 2017

The cast for Wayward Sisters has been announced.

Jul 23 2017

The 2017 San Diego Comic Con "Supernatural" panel was one for the ages.  A surprise concert, a

Jul 23 2017

Today was a very special panel involving one of our prominent #SPNFAMILY members, Genevieve Padaleck

Jul 22 2017

The photos from Nightsky have been coming in slowly and we are keeping an archive of everything take

Jul 22 2017

The Tick has had a big presence at Comic Con.

Jul 22 2017

EW sat down with Jared, Jensen and Misha at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

The Facebook Live chat with Jared, Jensen and Misha is now available.

Jul 21 2017

Catching up with Supernatural Alumni at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

Today was the big Timeless panel at San Diego Comic Con.  Our master Eric Kripke was there to t

Jul 20 2017

The cast will appear live tomorrow, July 21, 2017 and will be seen on the Supernatural Facebook page

Jul 20 2017

The first clip from Jared and Jensen's appearance on Conan O'Brien

Jul 20 2017

The WB has released the poster for next season.

Jul 19 2017

The Conan O'Brien show has put out a teaser for tonight's appearance.

Jul 16 2017

Mark Pellegrino is in the running for a Tean Choice Award

Jul 16 2017

We have the first spoilers from this year's TV Guide article covering Comic Con.

Jul 15 2017

Warner Brothers is having a Gift Pack Giveaway.

Jul 14 2017

We have the images on the Comic Con bags for this year's Comic Con.

Jul 12 2017

Conan O'Brien is going to Comic Con and he's going to have Jared and Jensen on his show.

Jul 12 2017

Jensen and others are posting on social media from Vancouver. No Spoilers.

Jul 12 2017

San Diego Comic Con must be just around the corner!  Each year at this time we get some awesome

Jul 08 2017

Rogue Events, the company that hosted the Asylum conventions, is going out of business.

Jun 29 2017

IMDB has posted casting for episode 13.01

Jun 29 2017

It's official, Supernatural is coming to Comic Con this year.

Jun 27 2017

As your Winchester Family Business Editor-in-Chief, I have an exciting announcement to share.  

WFB Feature Articles

Sep 20 2017 | LK

 Welcome to Part 3 of my tale of attending my very first Supernatural convention! You'll want t

Read more...
Sep 18 2017 | LK

 

" I write about the power of trying, because I want to be okay with failing. I write about

Read more...
Sep 17 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural around the web this week.

Read more...
Sep 15 2017 | LK

Welcome to part 2 of my tale of attending my first Supernatural convention! If you missed Part 1, it

Read more...
Sep 14 2017 | Mallena

Richard Speight, Jr.’s birthday was on September 4th and in his honor, I’m writing a review of o

Read more...
Sep 13 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #4

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way. It's a qu

Read more...
Sep 12 2017 | LK

Introduction

 

Boy, this will be a long one! That is probably the sentence I will hear

Read more...
Sep 11 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.17 "The British Invasion". Once again

Read more...
Sep 10 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week

Read more...
Sep 09 2017 | LK

 

" For there is no friend like a sister in calm or stormy weather; To cheer one on the tediou

Read more...
Sep 08 2017 | Elle

One of the last Supernatural episodes of season 12 that was more formulaic and standard MOTW than bi

Read more...
Sep 07 2017 | Mallena

 

Who loves the idea of time travel? I do!  The possibilities are endless as I contemplat

Read more...
Sep 06 2017 | LK

 

"Don't call the world dirty because you forgot to clean your glasses.” — Joseph Addi

Read more...
Sep 04 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.16 "Ladies Drink Free". Once again I h

Read more...
Sep 03 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural and Family in the news this week!

Read more...
Sep 01 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #3

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a qu

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Percysowner

What are Supernatural fans up to? Here's the latest scoop as of August, 2017!

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Alice

My choices for part one were revealed, so without further delay, here are the Supernatural Season Tw

Read more...
Aug 28 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for Supernatural! For 12.15, "Somewhere Between Heave

Read more...
Aug 27 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 26 2017 | Nightsky

One of the unique attractions of San Diego Comic-Con is wandering the vendor floor looking at the am

Read more...
Aug 25 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #2

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a quick a

Read more...
Aug 24 2017 | Mallena

This week, I’ve been musing about family dramas.  There are many great examples of the genre

Read more...
Aug 21 2017 | Alice

Today I was utterly dismayed to hear about the closure of a long time fan site which the Wincheste

Read more...
Aug 19 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 18 2017 | Alice

Just like every year, The WFB doesn't stop with just the fan choice awards!  Your friendly neig

Read more...
Aug 16 2017 | LK

 

"The stars shall fade away, the sun himself Grow dim with age, and nature sink in years, B

Read more...

WFB Motivational Posters

Anna.jpg

Nightsky's New Book!


Anyone out there see The Wedding Singer?  The lead character, played by Adam Sandler, is the happiest wedding singer alive.  Weddings and the idea of marriage thrill him - until he’s cruelly jilted at the alter by his bride to be.  Suddenly, he’s down on everything involving marriage and love.  Unfortunately he still has to pay the bills so when he goes to work, he ends up ruining a wedding reception by leading the loners and losers in the room through a biting rendition of “Love Stinks.”  To say the least, it ended up not being a good idea at the time given his head space.  It also got him punched.   

So why am I bringing up a film whose female lead was almost doomed to the name of Julia Gulia? (My daughter's name is Julia, so we call her that a lot).  Easy, back in October I was going through my own “clouded headspace” issues, I did something foolish that in retrospect I should have NEVER attempted.  I did a review on a book celebrating fandom at a time when I was so sour on the mere existence of fandom, I was leading the band in the biting rendition of “Fandom Stinks.”  I didn’t get punched, but I should have.  It was a poorly done review, and not a very fair one. 

What’s lovely about life though is every once in a while, we get to call, “do-over!”  I get to do this review over.  It comes with a fresher perspective and a new appreciation for not only the Supernatural fandom, but the idea of fandom in general.  It really is a phenomenon that changes our lives in many different ways.  So settle in and join me in a thorough yet balanced analysis of Fangasm: Supernatural Fangirls.

Review

If I had to describe Fangasm: Supernatural Fangirls in a nutshell, it’s a personal story about celebrating fandom.  That’s a very crude summary though, and I’ve never been one for crude summaries.  After all, anyone who’s been part of this mind-boggling experience knows that there’s nothing simple about being in a fandom at all.  Especially fans of the TV show Supernatural.  

How about, it’s an open, honest, well-written narrative about two women who fell in love with a TV program and found there was so much more to this show than a piece of entertainment that took an hour of their lives each week.  By jumping into this roller coaster world of the Supernatural fandom head first, Lynn Zubernis and Kathy Larsen found new identities, formed meaningful friendships, became immersed in the inner circle of meeting and socializing those involved with their favorite show, and experienced some very surreal and profound changes to their personal lives.  The entire story reads like a whirlwind and that’s because it is. 

For anyone that’s ever been involved in a fandom, this book will evoke a myriad of feelings because of the personal nature of their story.  Those feelings will be as individual as everyone's experiences have been.  We all can relate in some way to the stories Lynn and Kathy share, even if they aren’t engaged in all aspects of Supernatural fan activities.  It’s enough where it triggers recollections of our own adventures, and helps us celebrate our own feelings of excitement the first time we saw two brothers hit the road in a bitchin’ 1967 Chevy Impala hunting demons and monsters.      

The message of the book is not to wave in our faces all of their amazing experiences ever since Supernatural came into their lives (and they’ve had some amazing experiences).  It’s to tell fans that have gone or want to go to conventions, and/or spend countless hours online discussing the show, and/or write fan fiction, and/or make or share fan videos, and/or hang out on places like Twitter, Facebook and Tumblr participating in rapid chatter, etc. that it’s okay to act this way, no matter what your age.  Fandom isn’t just for preteens and teens.  Although when you engage in all this, you feel like one.   

Raise your hand if you’ve ever had someone look at you funny when you said you were traveling somewhere for a fan convention - Or when you just had a conversation online about Supernatural or any another show and someone else in the room thought you’d lost your mind - Or when you experienced that pang of guilt because you ignored a household duty or family obligation to finish that Sam and Dean fan fiction.  Yeah, that’s all in there, and much, much more.

Lynn and Kathy are college professors, so there is some academic based dialogue, but it’s mostly the fangirl point of view.  It makes for a very interesting combo, but it works.  Often times the narrative shares a wild experience and then the psychologist kicks in and explains in detail why the act is okay and even rational.  It’s justification that we often struggle with in our own minds when after staying up late chattering like mad about the latest episode on a work night.  It answers the questions, “Why am I doing this?” or “Why can’t I get a real life?”  Trust me, fandom is as real as it gets.

I will admit, Lynn and Kathy travel way more than the average fan.  I wouldn’t have traveled all the way to Dallas to see my favorite TV actor in a play during the show’s offseason.  Most of us wouldn’t.  But the point is if these two people of seemingly rational and respectable lives go and do something like that, then you shouldn’t feel bad about gleefully sharing photos and videos of the same actor constantly with other fans online for hours.  It also says that if you can act on an impulse like traveling halfway across the country on the hope of meeting an actor, it’s not as crazy as you think.  Others were there too and everything turned out alright.  

For me personally, I related to their stories of the behind the scenes thrill of getting to interview people like creator Eric Kripke, writer Sera Gamble, actors Jared Padalecki and Jensen Ackles, or anyone ever associated with the show.  It’s a profound experience that forces one to balance professionalism with the “scream-your-fool-head-off” inner fan girl.  Sometimes that balance isn’t so easy!  Lynn and Kathy discovered (as I did) that the people behind the show are fans just like us and have their own fan boy/fan girl experiences to pool from.  These people have managed to make a living from their inspirations and you can’t help but admire that.  The interviews shared are very down to earth and offer perspective that the Supernatural cast, producers, and crew are just like you and me.  Their stake in the show is as personal as a fan’s, even more so since it’s their creation.  It’s not just a job to them.  

Fandom is a volatile thing too, so it’s not all joy and happiness.  Waving your fandom flag proudly does come with a social stigma.  Lynn and Kathy found that stigma from others at every turn and shared those stories as well.  There were some very painful experiences and there is disappointment that comes when being an avid fan.  It also had a big impact on their personal lives, both good and bad.  Relationships fell apart, and the struggle of being a fan and being true to their families resulted in plenty of conflict and guilt.  But they also never felt more thrilled and alive during their experiences.  The book title says it all; they found their fangasm.

Lynn and Kathy, despite their years of professional wisdom, were also not prepared for the politics that comes with the entertainment business.  Hollywood has a different mentality than the real world and is all about good PR.  Certain lines cannot be crossed.  When they first jumped into the fandom, Lynn and Kathy settled into that online niche that adored reading and writing slash fan fiction.  With a show like Supernatural, the pairing of the two Winchester brothers, commonly called Wincest, is a very controversial and a morally outrageous aspect of the fandom to many.  Lynn and Kathy spent a lot of time pushing that envelope though, trying to break through that social taboo which they really wanted to discuss.  In this book and in their conversations with people involved with the show, slash and Wincest comes up a lot.  As a reader of this book, some will applaud their audacity.  Others will find the subject matter very uncomfortable to read.  I personally fall in the latter category, but I also understand why they had to go that route.  They needed to show fans of all parts of the fandom that they belonged in this community, even those associated with what is considered the “fringier” elements.  Fandom isn’t a cookie cutter, “everything is just peachy” phenomenon like Hollywood PR likes to project.  It comes with plenty of counter cultural and volatile elements, which makes the identity of a fandom all that more real.   

My biggest disappointment with Fangasm is that the story ended right around the time when I first met Lynn and Kathy at the first Salute to Supernatural convention in New Jersey.  They’ve had so many great adventures since then and a deeper, more profound experience with the fandom.  That’s just a personal disappointment though and one that can be easily rectified by reading their stories through their Fangasm blog and fandom studies publications.  We can always hope for a follow-up to Fangasm too!   

This book may be geared toward the very colorful (and often outspoken) Supernatural fandom, but anyone that’s been involved with any fandom will enjoy the stories and can relate.  Some will perceive this to be a celebration.  Others will feel better about liking what they want to like and doing what makes them feel happy.  Others will take it as a cautionary tale.  Whatever the reactions we are all better from experiencing at least in part Lynn and Kathy’s wild ride through all things Supernatural. 

Fangasm: Supernatural Fangirls is published by the University of Iowa press and can be found at Amazon.com. 
 

Paperback                   Kindle Edition