WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 3

Fan Video of the Week: Supernatural Reflections "The British Invasion”

Supernatural Bits & Pieces September 17, 2017

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 2

Mallena's Supernatural Musings: 3.11 "Mystery Spot"

Supernatural Match Game #4

Check out all our San Diego Comic Con coverage, including on scene reports from Nightsky!  

 

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

Sep 18 2017

Jeffrey Dean Morgan and Hillary Burton showed off her baby bump at last night's Emmy Awards ceremony

Sep 18 2017

The actor, who once played Gordon Walker, won an Emmy last night for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Dra

Sep 17 2017

We have a copy of the EW preview for Supernatural and BTS pictures of episode 6.

Sep 13 2017

We're getting close. The CW released a short promo.

Sep 12 2017

EW just published a big spoiler for season 13. TVLine Spoilers added!

Sep 12 2017

September 13 is Supernatural Day!

Sep 08 2017

TVLine released it's fall preview and had this to say about Supernatural

Sep 06 2017

With the DVD for season 12 hitting the shelves yesterday, several oulets have posted deleted scenes

Sep 04 2017

Misha Collins made the announcement today.

Sep 01 2017

Stories continue to come out on Jensen Ackles fundraiser to help Texas after the devastation of Hurr

Aug 31 2017

The Supernatural Family's work to aid in disaster rescue and recovery efforts has even been noticed

Aug 30 2017

Buddy TV posted a new deleted scene from last season.

Aug 28 2017

Jensen and Danneel Ackles are spearheading an effort to help victims of Hurricane Harvey

Aug 24 2017

We have titles for episodes through 12.

Aug 23 2017

TV Line has some spoilers for this season.

Aug 23 2017

There are a lot of Behing-The-Scenes shots from episodes 3 of Supernatural season 13!

Aug 20 2017

The cast is wishing Misha a Happy Birthday!

Aug 18 2017

Christine Kilmer's latest vlog is up and it's seems rather timely given the latest events.  In

Aug 12 2017

Spoiler TV posted the titles for the first nine episodes and episode 16

Aug 12 2017

Recently, I had to shut down the site because of horrible, negative, disrespectful fighting in our c

Aug 09 2017

We have casting news for season 13.

Jul 24 2017

Nightsky posted her video of the Kansas performance at Comic Con.

Jul 23 2017

We may be getting several of these today.

Jul 23 2017

The cast for Wayward Sisters has been announced.

Jul 23 2017

The 2017 San Diego Comic Con "Supernatural" panel was one for the ages.  A surprise concert, a

Jul 23 2017

Today was a very special panel involving one of our prominent #SPNFAMILY members, Genevieve Padaleck

Jul 22 2017

The photos from Nightsky have been coming in slowly and we are keeping an archive of everything take

Jul 22 2017

The Tick has had a big presence at Comic Con.

Jul 22 2017

EW sat down with Jared, Jensen and Misha at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

The Facebook Live chat with Jared, Jensen and Misha is now available.

Jul 21 2017

Catching up with Supernatural Alumni at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

Today was the big Timeless panel at San Diego Comic Con.  Our master Eric Kripke was there to t

Jul 20 2017

The cast will appear live tomorrow, July 21, 2017 and will be seen on the Supernatural Facebook page

Jul 20 2017

The first clip from Jared and Jensen's appearance on Conan O'Brien

Jul 20 2017

The WB has released the poster for next season.

Jul 19 2017

The Conan O'Brien show has put out a teaser for tonight's appearance.

Jul 16 2017

Mark Pellegrino is in the running for a Tean Choice Award

Jul 16 2017

We have the first spoilers from this year's TV Guide article covering Comic Con.

Jul 15 2017

Warner Brothers is having a Gift Pack Giveaway.

Jul 14 2017

We have the images on the Comic Con bags for this year's Comic Con.

Jul 12 2017

Conan O'Brien is going to Comic Con and he's going to have Jared and Jensen on his show.

Jul 12 2017

Jensen and others are posting on social media from Vancouver. No Spoilers.

Jul 12 2017

San Diego Comic Con must be just around the corner!  Each year at this time we get some awesome

Jul 08 2017

Rogue Events, the company that hosted the Asylum conventions, is going out of business.

Jun 29 2017

IMDB has posted casting for episode 13.01

Jun 29 2017

It's official, Supernatural is coming to Comic Con this year.

Jun 27 2017

As your Winchester Family Business Editor-in-Chief, I have an exciting announcement to share.  

WFB Feature Articles

Sep 20 2017 | LK

 Welcome to Part 3 of my tale of attending my very first Supernatural convention! You'll want t

Read more...
Sep 18 2017 | LK

 

" I write about the power of trying, because I want to be okay with failing. I write about

Read more...
Sep 17 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural around the web this week.

Read more...
Sep 15 2017 | LK

Welcome to part 2 of my tale of attending my first Supernatural convention! If you missed Part 1, it

Read more...
Sep 14 2017 | Mallena

Richard Speight, Jr.’s birthday was on September 4th and in his honor, I’m writing a review of o

Read more...
Sep 13 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #4

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way. It's a qu

Read more...
Sep 12 2017 | LK

Introduction

 

Boy, this will be a long one! That is probably the sentence I will hear

Read more...
Sep 11 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.17 "The British Invasion". Once again

Read more...
Sep 10 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week

Read more...
Sep 09 2017 | LK

 

" For there is no friend like a sister in calm or stormy weather; To cheer one on the tediou

Read more...
Sep 08 2017 | Elle

One of the last Supernatural episodes of season 12 that was more formulaic and standard MOTW than bi

Read more...
Sep 07 2017 | Mallena

 

Who loves the idea of time travel? I do!  The possibilities are endless as I contemplat

Read more...
Sep 06 2017 | LK

 

"Don't call the world dirty because you forgot to clean your glasses.” — Joseph Addi

Read more...
Sep 04 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.16 "Ladies Drink Free". Once again I h

Read more...
Sep 03 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural and Family in the news this week!

Read more...
Sep 01 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #3

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a qu

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Percysowner

What are Supernatural fans up to? Here's the latest scoop as of August, 2017!

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Alice

My choices for part one were revealed, so without further delay, here are the Supernatural Season Tw

Read more...
Aug 28 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for Supernatural! For 12.15, "Somewhere Between Heave

Read more...
Aug 27 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 26 2017 | Nightsky

One of the unique attractions of San Diego Comic-Con is wandering the vendor floor looking at the am

Read more...
Aug 25 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #2

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a quick a

Read more...
Aug 24 2017 | Mallena

This week, I’ve been musing about family dramas.  There are many great examples of the genre

Read more...
Aug 21 2017 | Alice

Today I was utterly dismayed to hear about the closure of a long time fan site which the Wincheste

Read more...
Aug 19 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 18 2017 | Alice

Just like every year, The WFB doesn't stop with just the fan choice awards!  Your friendly neig

Read more...
Aug 16 2017 | LK

 

"The stars shall fade away, the sun himself Grow dim with age, and nature sink in years, B

Read more...

WFB Motivational Posters

Gardeners.jpg

Nightsky's New Book!

It's that time again....new episode time and it's time for Sam to meet Benny....

Ok, so,I need to tell you first up, I'm pretty excited to see this one. This was the episode that was shooting while I was at VanCon and this was the episode I watched a couple of scenes being shot for! When I saw the preview clip I nearly jumped 10 foot in the air, because I was there, just over Jared's shoulder and to the right! Exciting!
  
So with any further ado, let's get down to business.
 
THEN
 
We best step back a bit,before the Teen Wolf episode....
 
Dean has returned from Purgatory with a vampire in tow. We haven't seen hide nor fang of the vampire Benny since Dean's last conversation with him on the phone, where they both told each other to keep their noses clean. Dean hasn't told Sam about Benny, he's been vague about Purgatory, how he got out and what happened with Castiel. Did he leave Cass behind or was he not responsible? Was Benny in someway responsible for Hot Wings not making it back topside? What was that flashback of Cass reaching for Dean and calling his name?
 
Sam is being vague about his gap year from hunting. We've seen Sam pining for the life he had while Dean was at Big Ps, but we don't know why he walked out on it in the middle of the night. Was it really all sunshine, puppies and birthday cakes? Or was something else going on with Sam? Why did he head to Rufus' cabin and why did he never unpack the trunk of the Impala if he was forever out of the game? What happened to make him walk away from the woman he remembers so fondly and the life he says he always wanted?
 
Kevin is in the wind, the God tablet and Crowley are parts unknown and the mysterious figure outside of Sam's house remains mysterious.
 
NOW
 
We resume our regularly scheduled programming,.
 
Episode 8.05 "Blood Brother" is written by Ben Edlund. Ben says it's the first script he's ever turned in on time! It's the one that he coined the term "Vampirates" for at Comic Con this year. The episode is directed by Guy Bee. This will be Guy's seventh episode of "Supernatural" and his third Edlund script, having directed "Hello, Cruel World" and "How to Win Friends and Influence Monsters" in season seven. Interestingly, he's also directed three Dabb and Loflin scripts.
 
Let's look at the official synopsis,.
 
BENNY CALLS DEAN FOR HELP"” After Benny gets brutally beat up by some vampires, he calls Dean for help. Dean abruptly packs up and tells a confused Sam that he's taking a "personal day." Benny confesses that he's going after his Maker (guest star Patrick Stafford) so Dean offers to help, flashing back on the many times Benny helped him and Castiel in Purgatory. Meanwhile, Sam uses his solo time to reflect on the life he left behind with Amelia (guest star Liane Balaban). However, when things go bad for Dean and Benny, Dean calls Sam for help, which makes everything very complicated.
 
Squee!
 
So Sam is going to meet Benny and at least one of Dean's Purgatory secrets is about to be revealed! Awkard. I'm excited for this meeting, even though we know it's going to mean some Winchester argy-bargy! I'm looking forward to getting at least one secret out in the open!
 
The promo shows us Dean coming to Benny's rescue after the vampire gets into a spot of bother. It also appears Dean bought some takeout with him, in the guise of some blood bank blood. Ewwww. I wonder if we are going to see him "“ em "“ acquire the blood? We see Benny stating he drinks blood, he doesn't drink people,.why don't I believe him? He must have drunk people at some point. Maybe he just doesn't take into account the people aspect attached to his dinner. Or maybe he's been subsisting on blood bags since his return to the human world? Whatever, Sam looks unimpressed.
 
The promo shows that there are going to be some Purgatory flashbacks in this episode too. The CW promo doesn't show much, but the CHCH promo does give us a glimpse of Castiel (p.s. their promos are better). I'm including that one this week because it's got meat on its bones. The last scene is a corker. If you don't want to watch it, then you don't have to.
 
The preview clip shows Sam and Dean arguing about Dean suddenly taking off on a "personal day". Sam says they're on the hunt for Kevin, what's he thinking. Dean says they don't know where Kevin is, Sam has some research to do, Dean needs a day to do his own grown up personal crap "“ so he's going and Sam's staying, looking frustrated and angry and by the way, can he take the Toblerone! Dean mentions Sam's year again, which is obviously bubbling away under the surface for him, as he doesn't understand why Sam chose to walk away and not look for Dean. Though, I suspect the tables are about to turn when Sam discovers how Dean spent his year being buddies with a monster. Tit for tat with these boys,
 
Now,this scene over the Impala is the scene I saw them doing on location at the 2400 Motel. I also saw a scene with Dean coming out of the motel room and talking on the phone "“ one has to assume, to Benny. In addition, I saw part of Sam's flashback scene being shot "“ well, not the actual scene, that was inside a room, but I saw Jared and a hairy co-star in-between takes. So though it's not in the promo, Sam has flashbacks in "Blood Brother" too. If you're interested in reading my set report, you can read it here.

Ben Edlund's episodes are some of the most eagerly anticipated by fans of "Supernatural" and they often turn out to be standout episodes of the season. As one of the senior writers on "Supernatural" he always seems to manage to get all the plates spinning, which many of the other writers struggle to do. I'm looking forward to seeing him juggle the brother's burgeoning stories with a sprinkling of that unique Edlundesque humour.
 
So, maybe a few nuggets of both the Winchester's mysteries will get revealed this week. I'm excited for both stories and I'm enjoying this slow burn. The anticipation is killing me, but I'm looking forward to watching how it all plays out. It's certainly got me itching for each new episode each week.
 
Oh and I love that opening shot in the CW promo with Dean slinging his legs over the bow of the boat. Makes me giggle every time I watch it. Who'd a thunk it?
 
So it's back to the big story,well I think it's the big story, Sam and Dean's story,that God tablet thing can wait for a bit.
 
Are you excited for this episode? Worried? Freaking out? How do you think Sam's going to react to Benny? How do you feel about Benny?

Don't forget, for spoiles articles, photos and interviews, visit our Spoiler page.
 
Enjoy everyone!
 
Thanks for reading and see you in reviewland.
-sweetondean