WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 3

Fan Video of the Week: Supernatural Reflections "The British Invasion”

Supernatural Bits & Pieces September 17, 2017

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 2

Mallena's Supernatural Musings: 3.11 "Mystery Spot"

Supernatural Match Game #4

Check out all our San Diego Comic Con coverage, including on scene reports from Nightsky!  

 

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

Sep 18 2017

Jeffrey Dean Morgan and Hillary Burton showed off her baby bump at last night's Emmy Awards ceremony

Sep 18 2017

The actor, who once played Gordon Walker, won an Emmy last night for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Dra

Sep 17 2017

We have a copy of the EW preview for Supernatural and BTS pictures of episode 6.

Sep 13 2017

We're getting close. The CW released a short promo.

Sep 12 2017

EW just published a big spoiler for season 13. TVLine Spoilers added!

Sep 12 2017

September 13 is Supernatural Day!

Sep 08 2017

TVLine released it's fall preview and had this to say about Supernatural

Sep 06 2017

With the DVD for season 12 hitting the shelves yesterday, several oulets have posted deleted scenes

Sep 04 2017

Misha Collins made the announcement today.

Sep 01 2017

Stories continue to come out on Jensen Ackles fundraiser to help Texas after the devastation of Hurr

Aug 31 2017

The Supernatural Family's work to aid in disaster rescue and recovery efforts has even been noticed

Aug 30 2017

Buddy TV posted a new deleted scene from last season.

Aug 28 2017

Jensen and Danneel Ackles are spearheading an effort to help victims of Hurricane Harvey

Aug 24 2017

We have titles for episodes through 12.

Aug 23 2017

TV Line has some spoilers for this season.

Aug 23 2017

There are a lot of Behing-The-Scenes shots from episodes 3 of Supernatural season 13!

Aug 20 2017

The cast is wishing Misha a Happy Birthday!

Aug 18 2017

Christine Kilmer's latest vlog is up and it's seems rather timely given the latest events.  In

Aug 12 2017

Spoiler TV posted the titles for the first nine episodes and episode 16

Aug 12 2017

Recently, I had to shut down the site because of horrible, negative, disrespectful fighting in our c

Aug 09 2017

We have casting news for season 13.

Jul 24 2017

Nightsky posted her video of the Kansas performance at Comic Con.

Jul 23 2017

We may be getting several of these today.

Jul 23 2017

The cast for Wayward Sisters has been announced.

Jul 23 2017

The 2017 San Diego Comic Con "Supernatural" panel was one for the ages.  A surprise concert, a

Jul 23 2017

Today was a very special panel involving one of our prominent #SPNFAMILY members, Genevieve Padaleck

Jul 22 2017

The photos from Nightsky have been coming in slowly and we are keeping an archive of everything take

Jul 22 2017

The Tick has had a big presence at Comic Con.

Jul 22 2017

EW sat down with Jared, Jensen and Misha at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

The Facebook Live chat with Jared, Jensen and Misha is now available.

Jul 21 2017

Catching up with Supernatural Alumni at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

Today was the big Timeless panel at San Diego Comic Con.  Our master Eric Kripke was there to t

Jul 20 2017

The cast will appear live tomorrow, July 21, 2017 and will be seen on the Supernatural Facebook page

Jul 20 2017

The first clip from Jared and Jensen's appearance on Conan O'Brien

Jul 20 2017

The WB has released the poster for next season.

Jul 19 2017

The Conan O'Brien show has put out a teaser for tonight's appearance.

Jul 16 2017

Mark Pellegrino is in the running for a Tean Choice Award

Jul 16 2017

We have the first spoilers from this year's TV Guide article covering Comic Con.

Jul 15 2017

Warner Brothers is having a Gift Pack Giveaway.

Jul 14 2017

We have the images on the Comic Con bags for this year's Comic Con.

Jul 12 2017

Conan O'Brien is going to Comic Con and he's going to have Jared and Jensen on his show.

Jul 12 2017

Jensen and others are posting on social media from Vancouver. No Spoilers.

Jul 12 2017

San Diego Comic Con must be just around the corner!  Each year at this time we get some awesome

Jul 08 2017

Rogue Events, the company that hosted the Asylum conventions, is going out of business.

Jun 29 2017

IMDB has posted casting for episode 13.01

Jun 29 2017

It's official, Supernatural is coming to Comic Con this year.

Jun 27 2017

As your Winchester Family Business Editor-in-Chief, I have an exciting announcement to share.  

WFB Feature Articles

Sep 20 2017 | LK

 Welcome to Part 3 of my tale of attending my very first Supernatural convention! You'll want t

Read more...
Sep 18 2017 | LK

 

" I write about the power of trying, because I want to be okay with failing. I write about

Read more...
Sep 17 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural around the web this week.

Read more...
Sep 15 2017 | LK

Welcome to part 2 of my tale of attending my first Supernatural convention! If you missed Part 1, it

Read more...
Sep 14 2017 | Mallena

Richard Speight, Jr.’s birthday was on September 4th and in his honor, I’m writing a review of o

Read more...
Sep 13 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #4

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way. It's a qu

Read more...
Sep 12 2017 | LK

Introduction

 

Boy, this will be a long one! That is probably the sentence I will hear

Read more...
Sep 11 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.17 "The British Invasion". Once again

Read more...
Sep 10 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week

Read more...
Sep 09 2017 | LK

 

" For there is no friend like a sister in calm or stormy weather; To cheer one on the tediou

Read more...
Sep 08 2017 | Elle

One of the last Supernatural episodes of season 12 that was more formulaic and standard MOTW than bi

Read more...
Sep 07 2017 | Mallena

 

Who loves the idea of time travel? I do!  The possibilities are endless as I contemplat

Read more...
Sep 06 2017 | LK

 

"Don't call the world dirty because you forgot to clean your glasses.” — Joseph Addi

Read more...
Sep 04 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.16 "Ladies Drink Free". Once again I h

Read more...
Sep 03 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural and Family in the news this week!

Read more...
Sep 01 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #3

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a qu

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Percysowner

What are Supernatural fans up to? Here's the latest scoop as of August, 2017!

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Alice

My choices for part one were revealed, so without further delay, here are the Supernatural Season Tw

Read more...
Aug 28 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for Supernatural! For 12.15, "Somewhere Between Heave

Read more...
Aug 27 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 26 2017 | Nightsky

One of the unique attractions of San Diego Comic-Con is wandering the vendor floor looking at the am

Read more...
Aug 25 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #2

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a quick a

Read more...
Aug 24 2017 | Mallena

This week, I’ve been musing about family dramas.  There are many great examples of the genre

Read more...
Aug 21 2017 | Alice

Today I was utterly dismayed to hear about the closure of a long time fan site which the Wincheste

Read more...
Aug 19 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 18 2017 | Alice

Just like every year, The WFB doesn't stop with just the fan choice awards!  Your friendly neig

Read more...
Aug 16 2017 | LK

 

"The stars shall fade away, the sun himself Grow dim with age, and nature sink in years, B

Read more...

WFB Motivational Posters

Fireworks.jpg

Nightsky's New Book!

 
DOUBLE TROUBLE

alt
 
In this Friday’s new episode of “Supernatural”, we find the boys investigating a very unusual case of cursed objects, one of which is a pair of ballet slippers.  The boys read about a ballerina who apparently danced herself to death and discover that the slippers she wore were cursed.
 
altalt
 
Interestingly, this sounds a lot like the ballet of the “Red Shoes” which was about a dancer who was forced to dance continually in her cursed red shoes until she died. 

alt
 
The ballet roughly follows the fairy tale of the same name penned by Hans Christian Andersen, and, needless to say, it was a grim and gory tale.  And we all know how the series LOVES grim and gory!  alt
 
The tale was about a vain young girl who thought more about her beautiful pair of red shoes than she did about the people who loved her. She spent so much time wanting people to admire her shoes, she was eventually forced to continually dance in them.  No matter what she did, she couldn’t stop dancing even after she had her feet amputated.  The shoes, with the amputated feet still in them, just kept dancing. YUCK, and yes, *definitely* “Supernatural” material.  
 
Andersen explained the origins of the story in an incident he witnessed as a small child. By his report, his father was sent a piece of red silk by a rich lady customer, to make a pair of dancing slippers for her daughter. Using red leather along with the silk, he worked very carefully on the shoes, only to have the rich lady tell him they were trash. She said he had done nothing but spoil her silk. "In that case," he said, "I may as well spoil my leather too," and he cut up the shoes in front of her.
 
The lesson here seems to be one of vanity, selfishness and inconsideration toward others.  And given the description of the other characters in this episode, this seems to fit quite well.
 
So who are the other characters?  Bryan Cuprill  (Accidentally on Purpose) is set to guest star as George, as a man stuck as a job assistant to a nightmare of a boss named Joyce, played by Mary Page Keller.  
 
alt
 
Joyce and George are in real estate, and Joyce, besides being the boss from hell, is “high up the totem pole" in town.  She is in the process of “trying to buy some stores in Portland” and I’m assuming she plans to sell them at a much higher price.  I’m also guessing she doesn’t much care how she goes about getting them.  One spoiler said the “producers ask us to think of George as Anne Hathaway and Joyce as Meryl Streep from the “Devil Wears Prada.” Interesting!
 
Also interesting is that George is listed as a ‘recurring’ guest star but not so Joyce.  I think Joyce’s days are numbered.  
 
Other photos stills show Dean looking in a box with a strange sigil etched on the side and neither Dean nor Sam seems too happy to see them.  
 
alt
 
Turns out the boxes are curse boxes that an antiques dealer found in a safe he unwittingly opened.  So part of the episode involves the boys rounding up all the cursed objects to keep them from killing people.  The dancing shoes are just the start.  What the other part of the episode involves, i.e. the duo of Joyce and George is being kept a mystery.
 
alt
 
Once Dean and Sam discover the boxes, they are none too pleased with the antique owner.
 
alt
 
We know from the cursed rabbit’s foot we saw in "Bad Day at Blaxck Rock", any of these objects can never be touched without acquiring the cursed yourself.  The question is, did they find the curse boxes, before or after Dean touched the shoes, oh and yes, we do know that he does….touch the shoes…sad to say,
 
So how does that come about?  The boys apparently trace the cursed shoes to a young ballerina, named Tracy (Taya Clyne).  
 
alt
 
Unfortunately they don’t catch up to her before she dons the cursed slippers…. and from the look on the faces of all three, seems the shoes really pack a wallop of evil.
 
alt
 
The boys try to help her remove them and quite a scuffle ensues, at least that’s the way it looks in the trailer scene as well as an even briefer glimpse in the CHCH promo. Seems the shoes just don’t want to come off!

alt
 
In the end, the boys do get the shoes off, but not before Dean touches them and the curse is transfered.
 
alt

In a last minute spoiler release, we get some insight into Dean’s curse from Sera Gamble herself.

"Our boys pick up a crazy case in which a ballerina dances her feet off; her shoes are a cursed object," says Gamble. "There's a lot of pretty famous fairy tales in Western folklore, like 'The Red Shoes,' that are similar. In the case of this cursed object, if you touch the shoes, you become so enamored of them, you just want to put them on. They kind of follow you around until you do, and we see this happen to a couple different people.

"In the course of wrestling them off somebody, Dean does touch them," she continues. "So he starts to get the urge to put them on. It becomes a high-stakes race as to where this cursed object came from, and are there curse boxes they can shove it back into quickly before Dean becomes the next victim."

Will Dean prevail? Or will he also pull on a tutu? Gamble adds, "I don't know if Jensen would want to put one on, as comical as it would seem.”

I’m taking that as a no… Just can’t wait to see ballerina slippers following Dean around.(Smile)

alt
 
Besides the shoes, the photo stills also show the boys very gingerly handling an antique teapot in a kitchen, which they take with them when they leave….another one of the cursed objects found.  Have to wonder if these will all end up in Daddy Winchester’s storage locker.
 
alt
 
alt

One has to wonder what a ‘cursed’ teapot would cause people to do.  That has a comic feel to it.  But, have to say, with multiple cursed objects the boys have to round up, I can see the episode being very dark and grim.   We also know from the producer’s promo that there is a larger more dangerous evil in the town that the boys eventually uncover.  Maybe we will get a sneak peak at some leviathan action this week.  And as we have a new writing team this episode, we have no idea how their mind sets works.  Should be interesting.
 
Here I have to say; BOY the guys are really sharply dressed in these stills!  On Twitter we were wondering how they could afford such nice clothes now that the leviathans had made it impossible for them to forge credit cards.  We decided, WHO CARES!  Let’s just revel in the eye candy whenever we can get a chance!  
 
Besides the photo stills, we do get some tidbits from the promos released. The CW has released a trailer and a sneak peek  and a Producer’s Promo.  And the Canadian station CHCH also released a promo.
 
The trailer was a mixture of the next two episodes.  So, the scenes of Sam on the stretcher, Cass, Dean and Meg were from 7.17.  That is an episode with lots of hype.
 
It opens with a young boy discovering and listening rather intently to an old victrola. 

alt
altalt
 
It almost seems like the child is being mesmerized in some way because later on we see that same child with a raised knife, posed to strike.  Somehow this is another one of the cursed objects

altalt
 
In the CHCH promo we see that is exactly what the child does -or at least – tries to do.

altalt
 
I say ‘tries’ because just before the scene changes we do see someone coming up behind the boy.  Looks like another curse object has surfaced….a cursed victrola?  alt
 
The trailer also gives us a quick glimpse of Dean and Sam rushing into a building and a very interesting shot looking out from inside a cabinet.  

The CHCH promo seemed to be mostly a random series of quick edits that gives quick looks at shock and worry on a lot of faces.  It also seems to show George is the bad guy right along with Joyce, although that is not a sure thing. What and who all these people are, we will have to wait until Friday to find out.  

alt
 
Sure looks like an action packed episode!
 
One final spoiler, a recent article, claimed that Sam gets to play with a sword during the episode.   I’m guessing that the one quick blip we saw in the CHCH promo of a shadow with a sword must be Sam, though we have no idea why or who he is wielding the sword at.
 
The CW sneak peak gives us Sam talking about his Luci problem, Dean not being able to get a straight answer out of Frank, an outline of this week’s escapade, some much needed brotherly banter in the form of Sam’s supposed surprise at Dean’s over-active libido, and a panorama that it surreal in its beauty.
  
alt

We get to see some of that beautiful snow fall Vancouver had just before filming started on this episode.  Russ Hamilton tweeted on 1/18: “Tomorrow is Day One of Filming Supernatural Season Seven, Episode 716, thank you for all the snow, won't be a problem, AT ALL!!!!” 

alt
 
I’ll have to say the vista for this scene was picture postcard beautiful…gorgeous scenery. I had to take extra screen caps just for that.  And it just wouldn’t have been the same without all that snow!  Job well done, Russ Hamiltion (@RUSS_MOVIEGOD) !  (For those of you who don’t know, Russ Hamilton is the Location Manager for the series.)   But the poor boys just didn’t look warm at all.  Hope they didn’t have to do too many takes for this scene!
 
Anyway, the clip opens with Dean on the phone to Frank, who Dean is becoming increasingly annoyed with.  Seems ‘having a cranky totally paranoid as your go-to guy” is not sitting well with Dean.  

alt alt

We also learn that Sam has told Dean about his escalading problems with Luci. They talk awhile about Sam’s measures for keeping Luci under control and, as we already know, they are no longer working.  Seems Luci has been keeping Sam up nights too, hence Sam’s rather huge consumption of coffee lately. 
  
alt alt

Dean once again cautions Sam that Luci is not real, and although Sam verbally agrees, unfortunately he doesn’t really believe that. 

alt
  
Dean shoots Sam some very concerned looks as Sam begins to tell Dean what he’s found in the paper.

alt
 
After Sam explained about the dead ballerina, Dean surprised him with a comment that seems to be from a very happy memory for Dean. “Dancers, they are toe-shoes full of crazy.”  Sam puzzled, wants more of an explanation and Dean very proudly says he has seen “Black Swan” -----twice!
 
alt

Even after Dean’s very *plausible* reasoning for seeing the ballet (LOL), Sam still seems to be surprised at his bro after all these years.  Come on Sammy, like you don’t know your brother yet!  Hehehe.

alt
  
Guess Sam is just too tired to beleaguer the point even with all the coffee he is drinking to try to stay awake.  Anyway, Dean is interested in the story, so the two take off for Portland.  Dean’s final comment, he hopes Sam can get some sleep on the way.  

alt
 
Yeah….doesn’t seem Sammy is to sure that will happen.

Yep…just had to throw in one more landscape shot!  alt

alt
 
Wonder if that will be all the mention of Luci we see in the episode.  I am a bit curious, though, to see if Sam has his breakdown at the end of this episode.  That would be a great cliffhanger for 7.17, especially with all the hype that has been put out about Cass’ return.  At least we won’t have to wait long to find out.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 
Official Synopsis: After a ballerina is found dead from dancing herself to death, Sam and Dean look into the case and discover the ballet slippers she wore were cursed. When Dean accidentally touches the shoes the power of the curse starts to take hold of him. Written by CW Publicity  
 
Veteran director John Showalter directed this episode, his 7th for the series.  He also directed one of my favorites “Dead Men Don't Wear Plaid.” His other credits include “Two and a Half Men,”  “Clap Your Hands If You Believe,” “Let It Bleed” and “Slash Fiction” 
 
Executive Producer Robert Singer penned the episode along with Jenny Klein.  Mr. Singer has co-authored two other episodes of “Supernatural”, “Sin City” with the very talented Jeremy Carver and “Appointment in Samarra” with Executive Producer Sera Gamble.  
 
Jenny Klein makes her writing debut with this episode.  Though she is new to writing for the series, she has been an assistant writer on “Supernatural” since 2008.  She has two story credits to her name, one for “Caged Heat” with Brett Matthews and one “The Curious Case of Dean Winchester” with EP Sera Gamble. She is extremely excited about her debut and talks a bit more about it in an interview which you can find here. Needless to say, I wish her the best of luck this week.  Being a script writer in any capacity is a very great achievement indeed!

Cast (IMDb) includes Jensen Ackles, Jared Padalecki, Bryan Cuprill (George), Mary Page Keller  (Joyce), Taya Clyne (Tracy), Howie Lai (Cop), Lindsay Sutton  (Irena Koganzon)  

Just for completeness sake, IMDb *does* have Misha Collins as Castiel listed as being in the episode.  All spoiler reports and even direct tweets from Jim Michaels (@TheJimMichaels) states that Misha doesn’t return until episode 7.17 “The Born-Again Identity” which airs on March 23rd.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 
There were a number of individuals who managed to get BTS shots of the cast and crew filming the episode.  Seems they all had a great time in the snow.  
 
A few of the photos are below.  To see them all click on the link provided.

altalt
altalt
altalt
 
alt
 
http://ontd-spnparty.livejournal.com/508109.html
 
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The photo still for the episode can be viewed here.
 
Promo Trailer:

 
Sneak Peak:

 
Producer’s Promo:

 
Canadian Station CHCH:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?&v=tK7g318SP_g

 
 
HAPPY EPISODE EVERYONE!  
 
 
For spoiler updates, follow me on Twitter at @sblgrn