WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

Mallena's Supernatural Musings: 10.05 "Fan Fiction"

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 3

Fan Video of the Week: Supernatural Reflections "The British Invasion”

Supernatural Bits & Pieces September 17, 2017

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 2

Mallena's Supernatural Musings: 3.11 "Mystery Spot"

Check out all our San Diego Comic Con coverage, including on scene reports from Nightsky!  

 

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

Sep 21 2017

We have an extended version of the trailer!

Sep 18 2017

Jeffrey Dean Morgan and Hillary Burton showed off her baby bump at last night's Emmy Awards ceremony

Sep 18 2017

The actor, who once played Gordon Walker, won an Emmy last night for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Dra

Sep 17 2017

We have a copy of the EW preview for Supernatural and BTS pictures of episode 6.

Sep 13 2017

We're getting close. The CW released a short promo.

Sep 12 2017

EW just published a big spoiler for season 13. TVLine Spoilers added!

Sep 12 2017

September 13 is Supernatural Day!

Sep 08 2017

TVLine released it's fall preview and had this to say about Supernatural

Sep 06 2017

With the DVD for season 12 hitting the shelves yesterday, several oulets have posted deleted scenes

Sep 04 2017

Misha Collins made the announcement today.

Sep 01 2017

Stories continue to come out on Jensen Ackles fundraiser to help Texas after the devastation of Hurr

Aug 31 2017

The Supernatural Family's work to aid in disaster rescue and recovery efforts has even been noticed

Aug 30 2017

Buddy TV posted a new deleted scene from last season.

Aug 28 2017

Jensen and Danneel Ackles are spearheading an effort to help victims of Hurricane Harvey

Aug 24 2017

We have titles for episodes through 12.

Aug 23 2017

TV Line has some spoilers for this season.

Aug 23 2017

There are a lot of Behing-The-Scenes shots from episodes 3 of Supernatural season 13!

Aug 20 2017

The cast is wishing Misha a Happy Birthday!

Aug 18 2017

Christine Kilmer's latest vlog is up and it's seems rather timely given the latest events.  In

Aug 12 2017

Spoiler TV posted the titles for the first nine episodes and episode 16

Aug 12 2017

Recently, I had to shut down the site because of horrible, negative, disrespectful fighting in our c

Aug 09 2017

We have casting news for season 13.

Jul 24 2017

Nightsky posted her video of the Kansas performance at Comic Con.

Jul 23 2017

We may be getting several of these today.

Jul 23 2017

The cast for Wayward Sisters has been announced.

Jul 23 2017

The 2017 San Diego Comic Con "Supernatural" panel was one for the ages.  A surprise concert, a

Jul 23 2017

Today was a very special panel involving one of our prominent #SPNFAMILY members, Genevieve Padaleck

Jul 22 2017

The photos from Nightsky have been coming in slowly and we are keeping an archive of everything take

Jul 22 2017

The Tick has had a big presence at Comic Con.

Jul 22 2017

EW sat down with Jared, Jensen and Misha at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

The Facebook Live chat with Jared, Jensen and Misha is now available.

Jul 21 2017

Catching up with Supernatural Alumni at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

Today was the big Timeless panel at San Diego Comic Con.  Our master Eric Kripke was there to t

Jul 20 2017

The cast will appear live tomorrow, July 21, 2017 and will be seen on the Supernatural Facebook page

Jul 20 2017

The first clip from Jared and Jensen's appearance on Conan O'Brien

Jul 20 2017

The WB has released the poster for next season.

Jul 19 2017

The Conan O'Brien show has put out a teaser for tonight's appearance.

Jul 16 2017

Mark Pellegrino is in the running for a Tean Choice Award

Jul 16 2017

We have the first spoilers from this year's TV Guide article covering Comic Con.

Jul 15 2017

Warner Brothers is having a Gift Pack Giveaway.

Jul 14 2017

We have the images on the Comic Con bags for this year's Comic Con.

Jul 12 2017

Conan O'Brien is going to Comic Con and he's going to have Jared and Jensen on his show.

Jul 12 2017

Jensen and others are posting on social media from Vancouver. No Spoilers.

Jul 12 2017

San Diego Comic Con must be just around the corner!  Each year at this time we get some awesome

Jul 08 2017

Rogue Events, the company that hosted the Asylum conventions, is going out of business.

Jun 29 2017

IMDB has posted casting for episode 13.01

Jun 29 2017

It's official, Supernatural is coming to Comic Con this year.

WFB Feature Articles

Sep 21 2017 | Mallena

It’s Rob Benedict’s birthday on Sept 21 and it wasn’t easy picking the story to review that fe

Read more...
Sep 20 2017 | LK

 Welcome to Part 3 of my tale of attending my very first Supernatural convention! You'll want t

Read more...
Sep 18 2017 | LK

 

" I write about the power of trying, because I want to be okay with failing. I write about

Read more...
Sep 17 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural around the web this week.

Read more...
Sep 15 2017 | LK

Welcome to part 2 of my tale of attending my first Supernatural convention! If you missed Part 1, it

Read more...
Sep 14 2017 | Mallena

Richard Speight, Jr.’s birthday was on September 4th and in his honor, I’m writing a review of o

Read more...
Sep 13 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #4

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way. It's a qu

Read more...
Sep 12 2017 | LK

Introduction

 

Boy, this will be a long one! That is probably the sentence I will hear

Read more...
Sep 11 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.17 "The British Invasion". Once again

Read more...
Sep 10 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week

Read more...
Sep 09 2017 | LK

 

" For there is no friend like a sister in calm or stormy weather; To cheer one on the tediou

Read more...
Sep 08 2017 | Elle

One of the last Supernatural episodes of season 12 that was more formulaic and standard MOTW than bi

Read more...
Sep 07 2017 | Mallena

 

Who loves the idea of time travel? I do!  The possibilities are endless as I contemplat

Read more...
Sep 06 2017 | LK

 

"Don't call the world dirty because you forgot to clean your glasses.” — Joseph Addi

Read more...
Sep 04 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.16 "Ladies Drink Free". Once again I h

Read more...
Sep 03 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural and Family in the news this week!

Read more...
Sep 01 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #3

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a qu

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Percysowner

What are Supernatural fans up to? Here's the latest scoop as of August, 2017!

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Alice

My choices for part one were revealed, so without further delay, here are the Supernatural Season Tw

Read more...
Aug 28 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for Supernatural! For 12.15, "Somewhere Between Heave

Read more...
Aug 27 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 26 2017 | Nightsky

One of the unique attractions of San Diego Comic-Con is wandering the vendor floor looking at the am

Read more...
Aug 25 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #2

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a quick a

Read more...
Aug 24 2017 | Mallena

This week, I’ve been musing about family dramas.  There are many great examples of the genre

Read more...
Aug 21 2017 | Alice

Today I was utterly dismayed to hear about the closure of a long time fan site which the Wincheste

Read more...
Aug 19 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 18 2017 | Alice

Just like every year, The WFB doesn't stop with just the fan choice awards!  Your friendly neig

Read more...

WFB Motivational Posters

ActionCass.jpg

Nightsky's New Book!

alt

After last week’s episode I found myself wondering if we would learn any more about the Men of Letters. As it turns out, we’ve only scratched the surface of secret, magical societies. While I am intrigued, I have to say that this episode had my head spinning a bit. Maybe it was just me, but in the past two weeks I’ve gone into a bit of an information overload. Don’t get me wrong, I’m really excited about where the writers are taking the story, but I’m still trying to grasp the fact that Sam and Dean’s grandfather came out of that closet. But I have taken a little time, and copious notes, and I feel like I’ve got a better grasp on things. Was anyone else having a little trouble keeping up with the story?

First off, let’s talk about the box. Last week I was wondering if Sam and Dean would just take it straight to the coordinates and destroy it like they were told. Of course they didn’t. And how could they? A key to everything they ever wanted to know, it’s the proverbial apple and they are Adam and Eve. (I’ll leave you to discuss which one is Eve.) Of course, the box didn’t work exactly as I suspected. First of all, I didn’t expect a physical key. Maybe it’s just the nerd in me, but I expected it to work like Pandora’s box. I thought that if they opened the box they would magically obtain the knowledge it held. I was actually happy to see a physical key. Magically obtaining knowledge would have felt like a cop out. The key did, however, lead to knowledge in the form of the mother of all libraries. Sam looked like he was in Heaven. His “son of a bitch” said it all. He couldn’t wait to crack open the books and even jumped to catalog their newest addition. I think we have a Man of Letters in the making.

alt

I do wonder though about the old man’s warning to destroy the box. (Forgive me, but I can’t remember his name.) Was it just that he was worried that Abbadon would get a hold of it? Or was it a larger concern about having the knowledge? I’m going back to my Adam and Eve comparison for a moment here. (I’m sure I’m not the first to make it.) If the key is the apple, Sam and Dean have both taken a bite. I find myself wondering if there will be backlash for obtaining this knowledge. What do you guys think? Is there a downside for having all this information at their disposal?

I mentioned earlier that it looks like we’re just scratching the surface when it comes to secret, magical societies. In this episode alone we learned about the Judah Initiative and the Thule Society. Did I mention my head and all the spinning? We have the Judah Initiative of badass rabbis on one side. From my understanding they are not a branch of the Men of Letters but it sounds like they may have worked together in the past. They do not seem to practice magic per se, but they do have at least one giant Golem at their disposal. This was my first time learning about a Golem which is shaped from clay and brought to life by a rabbi for their protection. Would we call that magic? Divine intervention? I don’t know, it’s cool either way. On the other side we have the Thule Society, the evil Nazi necromancers. They definitely practice magic; performing all kinds of terrible experiments and bringing the dead back to life to do their bidding. That is a lot of magic-wielding secret societies! And who knows what else is out there. It blows my mind that these groups existed all this time without hunters having any knowledge of them. Although Henry did mention that a few hunters knew of the Men of Letters, it seems like it was only the most elite. I do wonder how the Winchesters could not be a part lf that list! Complete bias aside, I think the Winchesters are a pretty big deal. But now that Sam and Dean know all about the Men of Letters I wonder if other knowledgeable hunters will start to come out of the woodwork? That could be really interesting!

alt

So it seems that the Thule Society may be a recurring enemy for Sam and Dean. They did manage to kill Eckhardt, but another member of the Thule got away. And you know what happens when a bad guy gets away, he goes back to get more bad guys. If Aaron is the last living member of the Judah initiative it’s on Sam and Dean to stop the Thule Society. And was it just me or did they make way too big a deal out of the ring on Eckhardt’s finger. There’s definitely something going on with that. What do you all think? Will we see the Thule Society again? Have any ideas about the ring? If you know a spoiler, please clearly mark it as one in the comments section!

So those are my thoughts on this whirlwind of an episode! I really like the direction the show is taking. It seems like the building blocks of season nine and ten. I think we could go the distance! What do you guys think? Are you intrigued by this magic-filled mytharc? Sound off below!

Dean: “The water pressure is marvelous”

Dean: “Listen brother, let’s not go all geek on this stuff.”

Sam: “You gonna take off the dead guy robe?”

Bass: “I hope they pay you good to keep the bug up your ass.”

It sounds like Cass is off the grid and Dean is worried. I miss Cass too!

Dean: “Why you following me, gingerbread?”

This whole interaction between Aaron and Dean was hilarious.

Dean: “Ok, citizen...” Dean just cannot handle these situations.

Sam: “That would explain why I have something stuck to my shoe.” These boys are so clever...

Dean: “I thought I was being followed earlier, it turned out to be a gay thing.”
Sam: “What?”
Dean: “Nevermind.”
Dean: “I told you I was being followed. He was my gay thing.”

Aaron: “This big, naked potato face idiot wakes up and goes crazy.”
Golem: “I did not go crazy.”
I laughed pretty hard at their interaction.

Enough of Sam and Dean going off alone when they could just as easily have gone together. There was no reason for Sam to go find the book by himself.

Golem: “The boy smoked the pages.” Don’t smoke your user manual!

Sam: “What did you do? You cast a forever 21 spell on yourself?”

Dean seemed so proud that Sam is embracing his inner Man of Letters. It seems like a great fit for him and we all know Dean would be happy to play with swords, drink old whiskey and wear a dead man’s robe.

I am certainly ready for next week’s episode! God’s obstacle course should prove to be very interesting!