WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

Mallena's Supernatural Musings: 10.05 "Fan Fiction"

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 3

Fan Video of the Week: Supernatural Reflections "The British Invasion”

Supernatural Bits & Pieces September 17, 2017

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 2

Mallena's Supernatural Musings: 3.11 "Mystery Spot"

Check out all our San Diego Comic Con coverage, including on scene reports from Nightsky!  

 

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

Sep 21 2017

We have an extended version of the trailer!

Sep 18 2017

Jeffrey Dean Morgan and Hillary Burton showed off her baby bump at last night's Emmy Awards ceremony

Sep 18 2017

The actor, who once played Gordon Walker, won an Emmy last night for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Dra

Sep 17 2017

We have a copy of the EW preview for Supernatural and BTS pictures of episode 6.

Sep 13 2017

We're getting close. The CW released a short promo.

Sep 12 2017

EW just published a big spoiler for season 13. TVLine Spoilers added!

Sep 12 2017

September 13 is Supernatural Day!

Sep 08 2017

TVLine released it's fall preview and had this to say about Supernatural

Sep 06 2017

With the DVD for season 12 hitting the shelves yesterday, several oulets have posted deleted scenes

Sep 04 2017

Misha Collins made the announcement today.

Sep 01 2017

Stories continue to come out on Jensen Ackles fundraiser to help Texas after the devastation of Hurr

Aug 31 2017

The Supernatural Family's work to aid in disaster rescue and recovery efforts has even been noticed

Aug 30 2017

Buddy TV posted a new deleted scene from last season.

Aug 28 2017

Jensen and Danneel Ackles are spearheading an effort to help victims of Hurricane Harvey

Aug 24 2017

We have titles for episodes through 12.

Aug 23 2017

TV Line has some spoilers for this season.

Aug 23 2017

There are a lot of Behing-The-Scenes shots from episodes 3 of Supernatural season 13!

Aug 20 2017

The cast is wishing Misha a Happy Birthday!

Aug 18 2017

Christine Kilmer's latest vlog is up and it's seems rather timely given the latest events.  In

Aug 12 2017

Spoiler TV posted the titles for the first nine episodes and episode 16

Aug 12 2017

Recently, I had to shut down the site because of horrible, negative, disrespectful fighting in our c

Aug 09 2017

We have casting news for season 13.

Jul 24 2017

Nightsky posted her video of the Kansas performance at Comic Con.

Jul 23 2017

We may be getting several of these today.

Jul 23 2017

The cast for Wayward Sisters has been announced.

Jul 23 2017

The 2017 San Diego Comic Con "Supernatural" panel was one for the ages.  A surprise concert, a

Jul 23 2017

Today was a very special panel involving one of our prominent #SPNFAMILY members, Genevieve Padaleck

Jul 22 2017

The photos from Nightsky have been coming in slowly and we are keeping an archive of everything take

Jul 22 2017

The Tick has had a big presence at Comic Con.

Jul 22 2017

EW sat down with Jared, Jensen and Misha at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

The Facebook Live chat with Jared, Jensen and Misha is now available.

Jul 21 2017

Catching up with Supernatural Alumni at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

Today was the big Timeless panel at San Diego Comic Con.  Our master Eric Kripke was there to t

Jul 20 2017

The cast will appear live tomorrow, July 21, 2017 and will be seen on the Supernatural Facebook page

Jul 20 2017

The first clip from Jared and Jensen's appearance on Conan O'Brien

Jul 20 2017

The WB has released the poster for next season.

Jul 19 2017

The Conan O'Brien show has put out a teaser for tonight's appearance.

Jul 16 2017

Mark Pellegrino is in the running for a Tean Choice Award

Jul 16 2017

We have the first spoilers from this year's TV Guide article covering Comic Con.

Jul 15 2017

Warner Brothers is having a Gift Pack Giveaway.

Jul 14 2017

We have the images on the Comic Con bags for this year's Comic Con.

Jul 12 2017

Conan O'Brien is going to Comic Con and he's going to have Jared and Jensen on his show.

Jul 12 2017

Jensen and others are posting on social media from Vancouver. No Spoilers.

Jul 12 2017

San Diego Comic Con must be just around the corner!  Each year at this time we get some awesome

Jul 08 2017

Rogue Events, the company that hosted the Asylum conventions, is going out of business.

Jun 29 2017

IMDB has posted casting for episode 13.01

Jun 29 2017

It's official, Supernatural is coming to Comic Con this year.

WFB Feature Articles

Sep 21 2017 | Mallena

It’s Rob Benedict’s birthday on Sept 21 and it wasn’t easy picking the story to review that fe

Read more...
Sep 20 2017 | LK

 Welcome to Part 3 of my tale of attending my very first Supernatural convention! You'll want t

Read more...
Sep 18 2017 | LK

 

" I write about the power of trying, because I want to be okay with failing. I write about

Read more...
Sep 17 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural around the web this week.

Read more...
Sep 15 2017 | LK

Welcome to part 2 of my tale of attending my first Supernatural convention! If you missed Part 1, it

Read more...
Sep 14 2017 | Mallena

Richard Speight, Jr.’s birthday was on September 4th and in his honor, I’m writing a review of o

Read more...
Sep 13 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #4

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way. It's a qu

Read more...
Sep 12 2017 | LK

Introduction

 

Boy, this will be a long one! That is probably the sentence I will hear

Read more...
Sep 11 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.17 "The British Invasion". Once again

Read more...
Sep 10 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week

Read more...
Sep 09 2017 | LK

 

" For there is no friend like a sister in calm or stormy weather; To cheer one on the tediou

Read more...
Sep 08 2017 | Elle

One of the last Supernatural episodes of season 12 that was more formulaic and standard MOTW than bi

Read more...
Sep 07 2017 | Mallena

 

Who loves the idea of time travel? I do!  The possibilities are endless as I contemplat

Read more...
Sep 06 2017 | LK

 

"Don't call the world dirty because you forgot to clean your glasses.” — Joseph Addi

Read more...
Sep 04 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.16 "Ladies Drink Free". Once again I h

Read more...
Sep 03 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural and Family in the news this week!

Read more...
Sep 01 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #3

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a qu

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Percysowner

What are Supernatural fans up to? Here's the latest scoop as of August, 2017!

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Alice

My choices for part one were revealed, so without further delay, here are the Supernatural Season Tw

Read more...
Aug 28 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for Supernatural! For 12.15, "Somewhere Between Heave

Read more...
Aug 27 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 26 2017 | Nightsky

One of the unique attractions of San Diego Comic-Con is wandering the vendor floor looking at the am

Read more...
Aug 25 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #2

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a quick a

Read more...
Aug 24 2017 | Mallena

This week, I’ve been musing about family dramas.  There are many great examples of the genre

Read more...
Aug 21 2017 | Alice

Today I was utterly dismayed to hear about the closure of a long time fan site which the Wincheste

Read more...
Aug 19 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 18 2017 | Alice

Just like every year, The WFB doesn't stop with just the fan choice awards!  Your friendly neig

Read more...

WFB Motivational Posters

Fireworks.jpg

Nightsky's New Book!

OMG, OMG, OMG, was that...character development?  Am I actually feeling...warm fuzzies?  Did Sam and Dean actually have something good happen to them?  My Chuck, what just happened here and why am I so flipping happy? 
  
I keep digging back long and hard, trying to remember when at the end of a “Supernatural” episode I felt so cheery.  â€œFresh Blood” in season three comes to mind, as does the episode that followed, “A Very Supernatural Christmas.”  “Monster Movie,” another Edlund contribution, comes to mind as well.  After that, I got nothing.
  
It’s not that I haven’t felt good after “Supernatural” episodes.  I mean the warrior ending from two weeks ago was positively epic and goes down as one of the best endings ever.  I’m not talking about thrilled, shocked, scared, emotionally wrecked, ecstatic, etc.  What I’m talking about is happy.  Warm fuzzies on this show since season four is just about as elusive as those damn tablets.   

Characterization has been my number one complaint with the writing of this show for three seasons now.  It’s seemed that these newer crop of writers try so hard to do things the way the brothers stereotypically are that the heart of their stories end up missing.  Ben Edlund, even in his lesser scripts, always manages to get the brothers right, both together and individually.  In this episode, which is not one of his lesser scripts by far, he managed to advance both Sam and Dean what seems like light years, or at least farther along than any other time this season, and he did it by blending it all in impeccably into the story.  He didn’t do any fancy speeches or overwrought dramatic tricks.  He just did the one thing we’ve been DYING to see for seasons.  He gave the brothers a break.  
 
This week, Ben was reunited with Phil Sgriccia, who has been off with Eric Kripke doing “Revolution” and hasn’t directed a “Supernatural” episode all season.  Phil’s trademark to this show is undeniable, and I knew it was him the second the first scene was shown.  You see, Ben and Phil are from the old days, and remember what a thing called “heart” was like in storytelling.  Also deserving high kudos, Jerry Wanek and team, who really, really outdid themselves with the latest set.  I can’t wait to see the other rooms, like that amazing shower that Dean enjoyed.  I feel like we’ve all been dipped in magic waters (okay, perhaps I’m getting a bit too dramatic).   
 
I already knew this episode was going to be different when I read “Nazi Necromancers” in the synopsis, as well as a Nazi bashing Golem.  Chatting with Ben Edlund earlier this week reinforced that.   Through this hat tipping to Inglourious Basterds, a couple sacred “Supernatural” themes were revisited – family and legacy.  Remember, this is after all a family business.  Just because they are now embracing another part of the family history, it doesn’t mean that the main theme has changed. 
 
This episode is a Sam fan’s dream.  Not only do we see him finally find his place in this world, spending weeks pouring through all the Men of Letters research looking like a kid at Christmas, but he got to wear a tweed jacket and sweater vest?  Play research geek at the library, which isn’t much of a stretch since he is one?  Then, on top of that whole nerdy smart guy look, his hair was positively smoking?  Okay, I know I’m sounding like a hormonally charged middle aged woman, but I’ll just call out the costume and hair department.  They started it!  Isn’t it amazing what can happen when at least one of them isn’t playing an FBI agent (that’s still old!).  Plus, Sam was the one that got to say “Son of a bitch” this week.  Honestly, has that ever happened?  He also figured out that the Rabbi left a library of congress number.  Oh, the theme was obvious.  Adorable yet sexy dorks rule! 

Dean had his chance to shine too though.  He may not have been buying into the whole Men of Letters thing, thinking they were doing just fine without it, but at least he figured out quickly how to enjoy a hot shower and a comfy robe!  He didn’t seem to care when Sam asked if he was going to take off the dead guy’s robe.  But the really funny happened when Dean had a gay encounter, and was strangely flattered by it!  Flustered, but flattered.  He almost seemed disappointed when he found out it was a fake gay thing.  I just love Sam’s reaction when Dean said “He was my gay thing.”  On top of all that though, Dean delivered my favorite line, “Well, now we know; paper beats Golem, fire beats undead Nazi Zombie freaks.”  In a very close second, he makes a reference to my favorite "Saturday Night Live" sketch as a kid.  “How do we ‘Oh, No! Mr. Bill’ over there?”  For those that don’t get the reference, Mr. Bill was a clay figure that kept getting squashed in these short films.  Every time this happened, the tagline would be “Oh No!” 
 
Everything came together in this episode.  Notice how this week we got continuity, not shoutouts?  All it took was a few sentences of Dean coming back and filling us in on where things stand.  Castiel won’t answer (remember him?), Garth says Hi, Kevin is still carrying on with the tablet.  Notice how there wasn’t a single “You’ve been Garthed” in there?  I love mature writing, don’t you?
 
For once, the parallel between a brother and the person of the week wasn’t heavy handed.  It was perfect because their situations were relevant despite their differences.  Aaron grew up hearing about the Judah Initiative from his grandfather, but he just thought he was a crazy old man.  He hadn’t experienced the family tragedies and the hunter’s secrets when he was young.  His parents thought it was all crazy talk too, or at least did that to protect Aaron.  It’s funny how reluctant heroes are often the slackers that are forced into something like this.  Maybe that’s why I loved Aaron so much.  It’s clear he has so much to learn, but he choose at the end to take on that responsibility knowing the Thule, which are a threat to his people, are still out there.  Plus he’s got a seven foot Golem to take care of because there’s no one else.  To think, this is the same guy that smoked his Golem users manual in college because it had perfect paper for rolling.  Yes, that kind of absurdity screams Edlund. 

On the other side is Sam.  It’s no accident that the focus was on his lit up face when Dean turned on the lights.  It’s like he’s been searching for this place is whole life.  Seeing him so engrossed in those books, lost in geek Heaven, embracing the legacy that was left on him, it was quite inspirational.  He looked like a man that had just found Jesus.  After hearing Aaron’s story about his grandfather, it’s Sam that’s willing to associate him and Dean with the Men of Letters.  I adore how he got the Golem’s trust by saying their grandfather was from the Men of Letters.  He remembered they were good to the Judah Initiative, and it prevented him from cracking Sam and Dean’s skulls. 

The story had so many things - Funny, exciting, ass kicking, and some of the most interesting and creative mythology.  The fascinating thing is the Thule Society was a real group.  The fact that Sam and Dean are breaking their way into this unknown world of secret societies really pushes things into exciting new places.  I’m also thrilled to pieces that Aaron’s grandfather was so brilliantly played by Hal Linden!  His part was short, but so wonderful.  It does seem natural that spontaneous combustion would be a tool when fighting Nazi Necromancers.  Another great benefit of fighting Nazi Necromancers is when you kill one they have to be burned within twelve hours.  Kudos to Sam for taking advantage of a cold winter evening by keeping his hands warm over a nice Nazi corpse fire.  No wonder Aaron thought they were psychopaths.  I won’t even get into how both Sam and Dean didn’t hesitate in blowing the Nazis’ head off.  Brad Pitt would be proud.

I know I positively freaked after Sam was attacked by the dead Nazi with the dart.  He started turning all purple and pale!  Same with Aaron, and poor Dean there left to figure out what to do as they both turned dead.  Send in the Golem!  The dart hits the Golem, but he’s not deterred.  He just reaches through the books and smacks the living s*** of the Nazi!  Then he drags him down the stairs.  “Long live the Thule,” the battered Nazi says, just before his neck is broken by the Golem.  “Or not,” Dean quips.  I love how scary and funny blend together so seamlessly. 
 
What I liked the most about this massive Golem, other than any creature that towers over Sam is a true anomaly, is how deep his convictions ran.  He was true to his religion and the traditions he was trying to protect.  He tried to keep Aaron in line with those beliefs.  That added some layers to a creature that is stereotypically a giant bruiser made of clay.  I’m with Edlund though, this guy’s voice did sound like a church bell rolling down hill.  He was perfect. 
 
The best part of this episode obviously is the closing scene.  We’ve been dying for a while now for a solid, honest, brotherly moment and this goes down as one of the best.  Sam gets to make his contribution to the vast library, adding the copies of the Thule journal.  While doing this with enthusiasm, Dean sees the writing on the wall.  Sam wants to be a Man of Letters.  “Good.”  He puts away the beers and pours them some fine scotch instead.  This is a new dawn, and they aren’t marking this moment with the cheap stuff.  Sam doesn’t say a word but his face says it all.  Yes, this is what he is now. It fits.  The shot closes out with both of them drinking together at the table, getting cozy in their new home.  Cue me, the inner fan girl squealing, smiling so wide my cheeks are hurting.  I’m still smiling! 

Implications
 
I’ve already read fan concern that this show will start taking plots where Sam stays behind working the bat cave while Dean, with possibly Castiel, goes out and does the hunts.  Did that happen in this case?  No, Sam found a lead and both he and Dean took off to Eastern Pennsylvania (from Lebanon, Kansas) to check it out.  If Sam’s current quest is information, then he needs to be out in the field too.  Plus he knows that he has to be there to have his brother’s back. 
 
As for Dean, the end said it all.  Dean isn’t ready, and may never be, to take on the role of supernatural librarian and man of knowledge, but he found value in Sam accepting that role.  This outdated info did help them in a case.  But most important, this role is making Sam happy.  Dean hasn’t seen Sam this happy in a very long time.  As long as Sam’s happy, he is too, thus the approval at the end, complete with toast. 
 
Don’t think that Dean will leave all the researching up to Sam though.  No doubt he’ll be digging through these books and documents at times as well.  In the meantime, Dean is perfectly content having a nice place to call home.  They’ve been quite lost since Bobby’s house burned down, and having a home base is good.  It’s always nice to have something to come back to, especially a place with a family connection.  My only disappointment (and it’s minor) is we didn’t get to see the rest of the place, like where they’re sleeping.  I’m sure that will come in time. 
 
Think about it, the Men of Letters were organizers too, and a support group to various people and societies.  Sam and Dean have a network right now, but it’s not coordinated.  Garth has been trying to get things together on the hunting end, so that makes him a valuable contact right now.  Sam and Dean also have access to a heavenly prophet, and an angel too.  Heck, if Meg ever surfaces, they might even have a demon ally.  They’re actually in the position to expand the network farther than the Men of Letters possibly could.  Sam and Dean have always been the nerve center if you think about it, so now there’s a place to go along with that.  As Sam so eloquently observed, they could use a break. 

It’s a brave new world, and the lowest levels are currently being driven by Sam, Aaron, and Garth.  These guys are hardly in command and only getting started in what will be their lifelong quests, but they’re connected, and they’re not alone, even if they are last descendants of their groups.  They’re all carrying on family legacies of hope, even Garth, who saw Bobby as a father figure and felt compelled to carry on his work.  Luckily Sam has Dean as his reliable (and equal) partner that helps pull everything together, and Aaron has his Golem.  On the other side Kevin and Castiel are doing their parts too, and I sense when it all comes together, it’s going to be something spectacular. 
 
Oh, but I hear the purists, “This show is about Sam and Dean out there together, hunting.”  No, it was about that in season one.  It hasn’t been that way ever since the special children were introduced.  As more beings were introduced into their universe, the more profound and complex things got.  Their simple ways are long done, so it’s nice to finally see something come of all that rather than Sam and Dean floundering with no resources, like last season. 
 
I’m giving “Everybody Hates Hitler” a big A, and it earns the title of my personal favorite of the season.  I’m still smiling!
  
(P.S.  For those looking for Screencaps for this episode, they're up in our Photo Gallery.)