WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 3

Fan Video of the Week: Supernatural Reflections "The British Invasion”

Supernatural Bits & Pieces September 17, 2017

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 2

Mallena's Supernatural Musings: 3.11 "Mystery Spot"

Supernatural Match Game #4

Check out all our San Diego Comic Con coverage, including on scene reports from Nightsky!  

 

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

Sep 18 2017

Jeffrey Dean Morgan and Hillary Burton showed off her baby bump at last night's Emmy Awards ceremony

Sep 18 2017

The actor, who once played Gordon Walker, won an Emmy last night for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Dra

Sep 17 2017

We have a copy of the EW preview for Supernatural and BTS pictures of episode 6.

Sep 13 2017

We're getting close. The CW released a short promo.

Sep 12 2017

EW just published a big spoiler for season 13. TVLine Spoilers added!

Sep 12 2017

September 13 is Supernatural Day!

Sep 08 2017

TVLine released it's fall preview and had this to say about Supernatural

Sep 06 2017

With the DVD for season 12 hitting the shelves yesterday, several oulets have posted deleted scenes

Sep 04 2017

Misha Collins made the announcement today.

Sep 01 2017

Stories continue to come out on Jensen Ackles fundraiser to help Texas after the devastation of Hurr

Aug 31 2017

The Supernatural Family's work to aid in disaster rescue and recovery efforts has even been noticed

Aug 30 2017

Buddy TV posted a new deleted scene from last season.

Aug 28 2017

Jensen and Danneel Ackles are spearheading an effort to help victims of Hurricane Harvey

Aug 24 2017

We have titles for episodes through 12.

Aug 23 2017

TV Line has some spoilers for this season.

Aug 23 2017

There are a lot of Behing-The-Scenes shots from episodes 3 of Supernatural season 13!

Aug 20 2017

The cast is wishing Misha a Happy Birthday!

Aug 18 2017

Christine Kilmer's latest vlog is up and it's seems rather timely given the latest events.  In

Aug 12 2017

Spoiler TV posted the titles for the first nine episodes and episode 16

Aug 12 2017

Recently, I had to shut down the site because of horrible, negative, disrespectful fighting in our c

Aug 09 2017

We have casting news for season 13.

Jul 24 2017

Nightsky posted her video of the Kansas performance at Comic Con.

Jul 23 2017

We may be getting several of these today.

Jul 23 2017

The cast for Wayward Sisters has been announced.

Jul 23 2017

The 2017 San Diego Comic Con "Supernatural" panel was one for the ages.  A surprise concert, a

Jul 23 2017

Today was a very special panel involving one of our prominent #SPNFAMILY members, Genevieve Padaleck

Jul 22 2017

The photos from Nightsky have been coming in slowly and we are keeping an archive of everything take

Jul 22 2017

The Tick has had a big presence at Comic Con.

Jul 22 2017

EW sat down with Jared, Jensen and Misha at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

The Facebook Live chat with Jared, Jensen and Misha is now available.

Jul 21 2017

Catching up with Supernatural Alumni at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

Today was the big Timeless panel at San Diego Comic Con.  Our master Eric Kripke was there to t

Jul 20 2017

The cast will appear live tomorrow, July 21, 2017 and will be seen on the Supernatural Facebook page

Jul 20 2017

The first clip from Jared and Jensen's appearance on Conan O'Brien

Jul 20 2017

The WB has released the poster for next season.

Jul 19 2017

The Conan O'Brien show has put out a teaser for tonight's appearance.

Jul 16 2017

Mark Pellegrino is in the running for a Tean Choice Award

Jul 16 2017

We have the first spoilers from this year's TV Guide article covering Comic Con.

Jul 15 2017

Warner Brothers is having a Gift Pack Giveaway.

Jul 14 2017

We have the images on the Comic Con bags for this year's Comic Con.

Jul 12 2017

Conan O'Brien is going to Comic Con and he's going to have Jared and Jensen on his show.

Jul 12 2017

Jensen and others are posting on social media from Vancouver. No Spoilers.

Jul 12 2017

San Diego Comic Con must be just around the corner!  Each year at this time we get some awesome

Jul 08 2017

Rogue Events, the company that hosted the Asylum conventions, is going out of business.

Jun 29 2017

IMDB has posted casting for episode 13.01

Jun 29 2017

It's official, Supernatural is coming to Comic Con this year.

Jun 27 2017

As your Winchester Family Business Editor-in-Chief, I have an exciting announcement to share.  

WFB Feature Articles

Sep 20 2017 | LK

 Welcome to Part 3 of my tale of attending my very first Supernatural convention! You'll want t

Read more...
Sep 18 2017 | LK

 

" I write about the power of trying, because I want to be okay with failing. I write about

Read more...
Sep 17 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural around the web this week.

Read more...
Sep 15 2017 | LK

Welcome to part 2 of my tale of attending my first Supernatural convention! If you missed Part 1, it

Read more...
Sep 14 2017 | Mallena

Richard Speight, Jr.’s birthday was on September 4th and in his honor, I’m writing a review of o

Read more...
Sep 13 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #4

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way. It's a qu

Read more...
Sep 12 2017 | LK

Introduction

 

Boy, this will be a long one! That is probably the sentence I will hear

Read more...
Sep 11 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.17 "The British Invasion". Once again

Read more...
Sep 10 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week

Read more...
Sep 09 2017 | LK

 

" For there is no friend like a sister in calm or stormy weather; To cheer one on the tediou

Read more...
Sep 08 2017 | Elle

One of the last Supernatural episodes of season 12 that was more formulaic and standard MOTW than bi

Read more...
Sep 07 2017 | Mallena

 

Who loves the idea of time travel? I do!  The possibilities are endless as I contemplat

Read more...
Sep 06 2017 | LK

 

"Don't call the world dirty because you forgot to clean your glasses.” — Joseph Addi

Read more...
Sep 04 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.16 "Ladies Drink Free". Once again I h

Read more...
Sep 03 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural and Family in the news this week!

Read more...
Sep 01 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #3

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a qu

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Percysowner

What are Supernatural fans up to? Here's the latest scoop as of August, 2017!

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Alice

My choices for part one were revealed, so without further delay, here are the Supernatural Season Tw

Read more...
Aug 28 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for Supernatural! For 12.15, "Somewhere Between Heave

Read more...
Aug 27 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 26 2017 | Nightsky

One of the unique attractions of San Diego Comic-Con is wandering the vendor floor looking at the am

Read more...
Aug 25 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #2

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a quick a

Read more...
Aug 24 2017 | Mallena

This week, I’ve been musing about family dramas.  There are many great examples of the genre

Read more...
Aug 21 2017 | Alice

Today I was utterly dismayed to hear about the closure of a long time fan site which the Wincheste

Read more...
Aug 19 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 18 2017 | Alice

Just like every year, The WFB doesn't stop with just the fan choice awards!  Your friendly neig

Read more...
Aug 16 2017 | LK

 

"The stars shall fade away, the sun himself Grow dim with age, and nature sink in years, B

Read more...

WFB Motivational Posters

Gabriel.jpg

Nightsky's New Book!

 

“I freaking hate time travel man.”  Well Dean, I find these stories quite amazing.  But every time this happens, it does sort of put you guys in a pickle, huh?  Like trying to explain laptops to a time traveler. 
 
Once again, the Winchesters are privy to an amazing twist of fate.  John Winchester grew up without a father and Sam and Dean find out, strangely enough, that’s because dear grandpa time travelled to the future, ended up saving them from a demon, and got killed in the process. Also a twist of fate, because Henry didn’t come back, John never found out about his secret society, Men of Letters, and never carried on the family tradition of being what is essentially the librarians of the supernatural.

Sure, growing up without a dad is a fact that wasn’t known before, but I guess if you look at it sideways it could work.  It’s not like John ever talked about his Dad (yes, I know about “In The Beginning”).  The twist about the Men of Letters though makes a ton of sense to me, and it makes me smile.  It connects a good number of things that we’ve learned through the years.
 

The mandated union of John and Mary Winchester up in Heaven makes so much more sense now, as appropriately eluded by Sam in the ending scene.  Connecting a blood line of hunting prowess of the Campbells (brawn) with the deep supernatural knowledge of the Winchesters (brains)?  That ties in with Dean’s natural ability for hunting and Sam’s natural ability for research.  This especially makes me happy for Sam, who we know has struggled his entire life with identity.  We always knew that hunting was in the family blood, but now we know that blood holds an innate skill for research.  The thought of future Sam now carrying on the family line of keepers of the knowledge, while Dean carries on the hunting ways (while working together), makes me all sorts of happy. 

But I’m getting ahead, because there’s so much more to this story than a secret society.  When your grandfather from the past, one that was absent in your family history, suddenly pops out of your closet, that’s bound to surface some emotional baggage.  For Dean, it’s his lifelong abandonment issues.  For Sam, it’s…well…um, it’s placating Dean’s lifelong abandonment issues.  Eventually both brothers form a connection with their grandfather in their own way, just in time to watch Henry get killed.  Story of their lives.

The brotherly bond was at least strong in this episode, and as a fan I’ll never tire of Dean going all out and doing what it takes to save Sam.  The fact that he and Henry came up with a plan together, it does remind me of the Dean of old and I’ll always smile over a family plan.  The best part though is Sam and Dean are talking about things, sharing their ambivalent feelings about this sudden family reunion rather than withdrawing from each other.  The emotional markers were all there, and they had a big impact. 

Let’s talk about Henry.  I loved Henry and what Gil McKinney put into this role.  He wasn’t some badass that didn’t care about his family.  He loved John and was truly devastated when he found out John had died.  I do admit to tearing up over his response when Dean asked what it meant to him.  “Everything.”  He was truly broken up over the fact that John grew up believing his father had left him.  He also cared about his grandsons, felt proud of what they’d become and how they’re carrying on the family name.  It maybe cliché that he said this in his dying breath, but I still love these words anyway. “I didn’t know my son as a man, but having met you two, I know I would have been proud of him.”  That’s a stark contrast to the gruff Samuel Campbell, who for some reason (*cough* poor writing *cough*) never really cared for his grandsons and their legacy.  It’s a truly refreshing perspective.  

Henry is an intellect too, so that explains where Sam gets that from.  He showed some really quick thinking and calmness under pressure when escaping Abaddon, and always kept his manners.  Granted manners is probably due to the time period he came from, but it’s nice to know he wasn’t some uncorked lunatic.  But what intrigued me the most is Henry’s respect for legacy and tradition.  Being in the Men of Letters meant a lot to him just because it was important to his dad and his dad before him.  That mirrors what Dean has always thought in terms of hunting.  He always wanted to be as good as his dad.  Even though Dean and Henry butted heads, in that aspect it was the case again of the apple not falling far from the tree.

I’m especially amused with how little Henry thought of hunting, for it was too primitive.  Plus the dude knows his legends.  The one laugh out loud moment for me was when Henry saw the 2013 tag on the Impala.  “Guess the Mayans were wrong.”  It was sad to see him go, but he couldn’t have survived either, and he definitely couldn’t have gone back.  He becomes yet another tragic victim in the Winchester family tree, which was properly echoed with Dean’s comment that all he saw in it was a whole lot of dead.
 
Then there’s a new kind of demon in town, part of the Knights of Hell.  Hand chosen by Lucifer himself.  I have a quibble with the demon story that I’ll get to in a minute, but I will say I did love Alaina Huffman in this role.  Her character, Abaddon, brought something that we haven’t seen in a long time with demons outside of Crowley.  Charisma and smarts.  She’s pure evil, pure fun, and she’s a threat to be reckoned with.  Demons in the past few years have been overly characterized as stupid and incompetent, and Abaddon was anything but. She even had that cool using-black-smoke-to-see-the-recent-events trick.  Too bad it resulted in those unwilling sharers ending up dead. 

However, despite all the good, there was the bad.  In writing, I’m someone who believes everything should come full circle. I love a tightly written script, and this was something “Supernatural” did oh so well in the first five seasons.  This script succeeded in some ways, and miserably failed in others.  I do accept that there’s only 42 minutes to tell such a complex story, but it was that inability to control various elements that prevented this episode from being a true classic.

First, why in the world was Dean so hostile with Henry?  Because he chose duty over family?  That made little sense, especially considering the hard choices both Sam and Dean made recently with Benny and Amelia.  All Sam and Dean have ever done is put the job and duty above their own happiness and Dean has the nerve to hold Henry to a different standard?  He claimed it was about John, but John did the exact same thing by raising them hunters.  Was Dean trying to say through that outburst that if Henry stayed with John, then none of this misery would have ever happened?  That’s really stretching things a bit, don’t you think? 

Dean was also the one that stopped Henry from going back and essentially changing time.  This is despite the fact that Dean twice tried to do the exact same thing in “In the Beginning” and “The Song Remains The Same.”  He even argued that he and Sam wouldn’t exist, which was actually something they were okay with in “The Song Remains The Same.”  All he had to do was tell Henry something like, “Trust me, I’ve been there, nothing good can come of it,” and I would have been happy.  Maybe even a reference to “What is and What Should Never Be” with him realizing that all those people they saved would of died.  Instead, Dean looked like a hypocrite.  It all comes across as false drama being created for the sake of scenery chewing.   I theorize that Adam Glass watched “Jump the Shark” and went from there, forgetting all the history that happened after that.

Also, how in the world could this story ignore Sam’s prominent role in the demon mythology?  How can a powerful demon chosen by Lucifer himself not even acknowledge that Sam was Lucifer’s vessel?  I know she was from the past, but the knowledge about Sam was foretold by both angels and demons for a long time.  Past time travelers have usually been able to sense something different about someone.  She had to have found out in the future what Sam and Dean did to derail the apocalypse, and how Sam spent a huge amount of time with Lucifer in the cage.  When none of that crucial back story works its way into this demon drama, it almost seems like Carver and company are trying to sweep that history under the rug like it never happened.  The symmetry is ruined.  One comment by Dean about stopping the apocalypse during a heated discussion doesn’t cut it.  

I also didn’t like how passive Sam was when in the custody of Abaddon.  He looked like a kicked puppy.  He’s usually sneering and very hostile toward demons.  He also has been around the block with them a few times and has a few tricks up his sleeve.  Heck, no one should know demons better!  It’s hard to believe this guy once wiped out demons with his mind.  I miss those days.  However, upon retrospect, there just wasn’t enough time in this episode to show a defiant Sam talking up history with Abaddon, so I guess I’ll let that nitpick slide, even if it gives the impression that Sam was acting out of character.  Which he was.

Also, I’ve read complaints that there was a lack of chemistry between Dean, Sam and Henry, and I honestly believe that was due to the writing.  Dean’s hostility made things awkward, not intriguing.  Sam passively doing nothing about it either, or not even trying to talk to Henry in an open manner didn’t help.  Because the interaction was poorly written, the scenes together just didn’t blend the way they should, and could have.  Adam Glass is usually pretty good at mythology, but characterization is his glaring weakness.  This script showed it.  I thought he actually got it right in “Southern Comfort,” but here it was a fail.
 
I’ve believed this ever since season six, but this newer crop of writers seem to be more interested a lot of time in writing in shout-outs more than tying in the current story with continuity of the past.  John’s journal in this episode was a prime example.  Hey, let’s give it a backstory!  It was really Henry’s.  Did the journal really need a backstory, especially when John’s upbringing was such a surprise to us?  Considering John never showed any Daddy issues at all and they were never mentioned before?  Considering Sam and Dean never noticed the “HW” before?  It’s a weakness in the writing that has driven me crazy for three seasons now and it remains despite Jeremy Carver’s vast improvements in the storylines this year. 

I also question a couple of other creative choices.  Why did John believe that Henry walked out on him?  Didn’t anyone suspect foul play?  It just seemed like they were stretching to create daddy issues.  For once I’d like to see a prominent character on this show that didn’t have daddy issues.  I will however theorize that Dean keeps extra car windows handy in the trunk since they’re getting smashed so much, and can install them in a flash.  Either that or Henry time travelled backward and stopped himself from breaking that window.  Speaking of which, how does a guy from 1958 know how to hot wire a car from 1967? 

Technical Notes

Serge Ladoucer in his directing debut did a great job, but that was to be expected.  This guy has been amazing us for eight seasons now with his gift of setting the perfect mood for scenes, so directing should have come second nature.  It sure seemed liked it did anyway.  I like how long time camera operator Brad Creasser got to be DP again, for the second episode in a row.  He’s learned from the master, and done remarkably well. 

The decision to go with semi shaky camera work, using quick edits back and forth in the scenes is a very interesting creative choice, thus adding to the disjointed nature of the story.  The camera never really stayed focused on one shot  too long, accenting the instability of this whole situation.  Notice how when Henry was in the past, everything was calm and right.  Kudos Mr. Ladoucer for trying something different and adding to the effectiveness of this unique episode.

I am going to bring up one thinky-thought for discussion.  Henry said in his parting words, “You’re also Winchesters. As long as we’re alive there’s always hope.”  Now, there’s been some discussion on this site that because of Sam and Amelia’s last fling, that Amelia would end up pregnant.  Do you think that opened the door for something like that in the future, or was it just some writer grasping for a good line?  Do you think a season or two down the road Sam and/or Dean find out about a kid of theirs (hey it could be Lisa too) and the Winchester legacy will continue?  In a way, I kind of hope so.  I hate for all this rich family history to die off with the boys.  Both bloodlines deserve to continue.  On the other hand, the surprise pregnancy is the most overdone thing in TV. 

Overall, I give “As Time Goes By” a B.  Coming up next, it’s Edlund.  You know it’s going to be memorable. 

(Screencaps from Home of The Nutty).