WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

Memorable Moments: Supernatural 12.18 "The Memory Remains"

Mallena's Supernatural Musings: 10.05 "Fan Fiction"

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 3

Fan Video of the Week: Supernatural Reflections "The British Invasion”

Supernatural Bits & Pieces September 17, 2017

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 2

This long until Supernatural Season 13...

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

Sep 22 2017

TV Line has a short spoiler for the upcoming season

Sep 21 2017

We have an extended version of the trailer!

Sep 18 2017

Jeffrey Dean Morgan and Hillary Burton showed off her baby bump at last night's Emmy Awards ceremony

Sep 18 2017

The actor, who once played Gordon Walker, won an Emmy last night for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Dra

Sep 17 2017

We have a copy of the EW preview for Supernatural and BTS pictures of episode 6.

Sep 13 2017

We're getting close. The CW released a short promo.

Sep 12 2017

EW just published a big spoiler for season 13. TVLine Spoilers added!

Sep 12 2017

September 13 is Supernatural Day!

Sep 08 2017

TVLine released it's fall preview and had this to say about Supernatural

Sep 06 2017

With the DVD for season 12 hitting the shelves yesterday, several oulets have posted deleted scenes

Sep 04 2017

Misha Collins made the announcement today.

Sep 01 2017

Stories continue to come out on Jensen Ackles fundraiser to help Texas after the devastation of Hurr

Aug 31 2017

The Supernatural Family's work to aid in disaster rescue and recovery efforts has even been noticed

Aug 30 2017

Buddy TV posted a new deleted scene from last season.

Aug 28 2017

Jensen and Danneel Ackles are spearheading an effort to help victims of Hurricane Harvey

Aug 24 2017

We have titles for episodes through 12.

Aug 23 2017

TV Line has some spoilers for this season.

Aug 23 2017

There are a lot of Behing-The-Scenes shots from episodes 3 of Supernatural season 13!

Aug 20 2017

The cast is wishing Misha a Happy Birthday!

Aug 18 2017

Christine Kilmer's latest vlog is up and it's seems rather timely given the latest events.  In

Aug 12 2017

Spoiler TV posted the titles for the first nine episodes and episode 16

Aug 12 2017

Recently, I had to shut down the site because of horrible, negative, disrespectful fighting in our c

Aug 09 2017

We have casting news for season 13.

Jul 24 2017

Nightsky posted her video of the Kansas performance at Comic Con.

Jul 23 2017

We may be getting several of these today.

Jul 23 2017

The cast for Wayward Sisters has been announced.

Jul 23 2017

The 2017 San Diego Comic Con "Supernatural" panel was one for the ages.  A surprise concert, a

Jul 23 2017

Today was a very special panel involving one of our prominent #SPNFAMILY members, Genevieve Padaleck

Jul 22 2017

The photos from Nightsky have been coming in slowly and we are keeping an archive of everything take

Jul 22 2017

The Tick has had a big presence at Comic Con.

Jul 22 2017

EW sat down with Jared, Jensen and Misha at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

The Facebook Live chat with Jared, Jensen and Misha is now available.

Jul 21 2017

Catching up with Supernatural Alumni at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

Today was the big Timeless panel at San Diego Comic Con.  Our master Eric Kripke was there to t

Jul 20 2017

The cast will appear live tomorrow, July 21, 2017 and will be seen on the Supernatural Facebook page

Jul 20 2017

The first clip from Jared and Jensen's appearance on Conan O'Brien

Jul 20 2017

The WB has released the poster for next season.

Jul 19 2017

The Conan O'Brien show has put out a teaser for tonight's appearance.

Jul 16 2017

Mark Pellegrino is in the running for a Tean Choice Award

Jul 16 2017

We have the first spoilers from this year's TV Guide article covering Comic Con.

Jul 15 2017

Warner Brothers is having a Gift Pack Giveaway.

Jul 14 2017

We have the images on the Comic Con bags for this year's Comic Con.

Jul 12 2017

Conan O'Brien is going to Comic Con and he's going to have Jared and Jensen on his show.

Jul 12 2017

Jensen and others are posting on social media from Vancouver. No Spoilers.

Jul 12 2017

San Diego Comic Con must be just around the corner!  Each year at this time we get some awesome

Jul 08 2017

Rogue Events, the company that hosted the Asylum conventions, is going out of business.

Jun 29 2017

IMDB has posted casting for episode 13.01

WFB Feature Articles

Sep 22 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for Supernatural episode 12.18, "The Memory Remains".

Read more...
Sep 21 2017 | Mallena

It’s Rob Benedict’s birthday on Sept 21 and it wasn’t easy picking the story to review that fe

Read more...
Sep 20 2017 | LK

 Welcome to Part 3 of my tale of attending my very first Supernatural convention! You'll want t

Read more...
Sep 18 2017 | LK

 

" I write about the power of trying, because I want to be okay with failing. I write about

Read more...
Sep 17 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural around the web this week.

Read more...
Sep 15 2017 | LK

Welcome to part 2 of my tale of attending my first Supernatural convention! If you missed Part 1, it

Read more...
Sep 14 2017 | Mallena

Richard Speight, Jr.’s birthday was on September 4th and in his honor, I’m writing a review of o

Read more...
Sep 13 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #4

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way. It's a qu

Read more...
Sep 12 2017 | LK

Introduction

 

Boy, this will be a long one! That is probably the sentence I will hear

Read more...
Sep 11 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.17 "The British Invasion". Once again

Read more...
Sep 10 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week

Read more...
Sep 09 2017 | LK

 

" For there is no friend like a sister in calm or stormy weather; To cheer one on the tediou

Read more...
Sep 08 2017 | Elle

One of the last Supernatural episodes of season 12 that was more formulaic and standard MOTW than bi

Read more...
Sep 07 2017 | Mallena

 

Who loves the idea of time travel? I do!  The possibilities are endless as I contemplat

Read more...
Sep 06 2017 | LK

 

"Don't call the world dirty because you forgot to clean your glasses.” — Joseph Addi

Read more...
Sep 04 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.16 "Ladies Drink Free". Once again I h

Read more...
Sep 03 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural and Family in the news this week!

Read more...
Sep 01 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #3

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a qu

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Percysowner

What are Supernatural fans up to? Here's the latest scoop as of August, 2017!

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Alice

My choices for part one were revealed, so without further delay, here are the Supernatural Season Tw

Read more...
Aug 28 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for Supernatural! For 12.15, "Somewhere Between Heave

Read more...
Aug 27 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 26 2017 | Nightsky

One of the unique attractions of San Diego Comic-Con is wandering the vendor floor looking at the am

Read more...
Aug 25 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #2

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a quick a

Read more...
Aug 24 2017 | Mallena

This week, I’ve been musing about family dramas.  There are many great examples of the genre

Read more...
Aug 21 2017 | Alice

Today I was utterly dismayed to hear about the closure of a long time fan site which the Wincheste

Read more...
Aug 19 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...

WFB Motivational Posters

Motivationalposters.jpg

Nightsky's New Book!

Warning!!!  If you haven't seen "As Time Goes By" yet, read no further!  There will be plot discussion and lots of spoilers, so don't ruin it for yourself!  Watch the episode before you come and chat about it.


I have a feeling I'm going to be in the minority with this opinion, and that's totally fine, but I did not like this episode.  Like, at all.  I just had so many issues with it that I couldn't enjoy it.  In fact, I disliked it so much that I'm going to do a little speculating and then bullet point the rest because I honestly don't feel like writing up anything more than that.  I don't want to spend more time on this episode than I have to.  Bad, right?  Yep, that's how much I disliked it.  Feel free to try and change my mind in the comments section!

Speculation Station (shh, just let me have that bad rhyme)
10-1 there's a tablet in this "supernatural motherlode" repository or whatever it is.  I'm hoping it's a really mundane one, though, like "How To Make Coffee the Way God Likes It" or "Gabriel's Favorite Dirty Jokes" or something like that.  I'd settle for a "How To Resurrect Fallen Angels" though.  Think they're gonna have Garth and Kevin hole up there?  I know Garth would love to get his hands on that kind of material.  And this key thing, is that just to open the door to this secret knowledge area or does it translate everything for you or what's going on with the key?  Honestly, I did not understand most of that exposition between Sam and the old man.  I kept getting distracted by the whole "inside the box there is a key," and I was like, "there must be a lock, then.  Damn it!"  And what do you think Sam and the old man were talking about by "that thing" Abaddon really couldn't get her hands on, like it would be a game changer?  Tablet is my guess.

Umm, that's kind of all I've got because everything else is just gonna be me poking at what I considered plot holes.  So here goes!

The Rest

  • I felt like this episode tried to set up too much.  Men of Letters, Knights of Hell (really, though?), the origin of Ruby's knife, this supernatural book repository, John Winchester's sudden father issues.  There was too much going on, so none of it got fleshed out properly.
  • I also felt like this was a little repetitive, with the whole "Sam and Dean have a family member with a secret life they never knew about" thing.  Mary's reveal was much better.
  • I guess Dean's favorite gun got restored from feathers at some point in last week's episode.
  • The John Winchester Dean met in a diner did not seem like the kind of person with crippling daddy issues.  In fact, another patron told John to "say hi to his father," and John replied that he would.  Who is this other father?  Stepfather?  Continuity error?  John had a lot of issues, but daddy issues?  I don't see it.  Retcon of the worst kind.
  • Speaking of John, Dean is suddenly his champion again?  Sam suddenly is angry at him now?  Because when we last dealt with John issues, these two came down on the opposite side of where they did tonight.
  • Did anyone else find it a bit odd that Dean was SO gung-ho about saving Sam and being so demonstrative about how important he was to him, etc.?  Like, I get that when Sam is in trouble, Dean's gonna save him.  No brainer.  But the Dean of now, who has very recently had some serious issues with his brother, would be more likely to say something along the lines of, "he's my brother, and no matter what's going on between us at the time, I'm gonna save him if I can."  See what I did there?  I acknowledged things that happened in previous episodes!
  • If Henry was such a bookworm, where did he learn that handcuff trick?
  • So now angels leave real feathers lying around?  And Dean just happens to have some in his trunk?
  • Dean and Sam are both very smart people, and we've seen them be innovative countless times.  Neither of them thought about a devil's trap on a bullet before?  That was pretty cool, though.
  • Abaddon and Crowley needed to have some screen time together in this episode.  Snark city!
  • Can one person on this show NOT have daddy issues?
  • Just a casual reminder, Dean, that you do have family aside from Sam.  He's your half-brother, Adam, and he's in HELL.  Remember him?  No?  Okay then.
  • Normal, Illinois.  Nice try!  No one is normal on this show, not even Illinois!
  • "Dudes travelling through motel closets, that's what we've come to?"  That was a good line.
  • Henry broke Baby's window.  Bad John!  No!  No!  But Dean miraculously got it fixed before the drive at the end.  Unless that was some really glass-like plastic sheeting.
  • That demon smoke spying thing was pretty rad.  I'm guessing only the Knights of Hell (again, really?) can do it, though, since we haven't seen it before?
I'm gonna stop here, I think.  What did you think about the episode?  Am I crazy for not liking it?  I just didn't warm up to the story at all.  Henry didn't move me, we didn't click.  The Winchester music cue of sadness kept telling me I should be having emotions that I wasn't having.  So was it the story or was it me?  Tell me in the comments!