WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

More Supernatural Interviews From Comic Con 2017 - Misha Collins

More Supernatural Interviews From Comic Con 2017 - Jensen Ackles

More Supernatural Interviews From Comic Con 2017 - Jared Padalecki

Supernatural Interviews Comic Con 2017 - Andrew Dabb

Interview With Executive Producer Robert Singer - Comic Con 2017

Interview With Jensen Ackles - Comic Con 2017

Check out all our San Diego Comic Con coverage, including on scene reports from Nightsky!  

 

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

24 Jul 2017 14:25

Nightsky posted her video of the Kansas performance at Comic Con.

23 Jul 2017 20:11

We may be getting several of these today.

23 Jul 2017 14:56

The cast for Wayward Sisters has been announced.

23 Jul 2017 14:01

The 2017 San Diego Comic Con "Supernatural" panel was one for the ages.  A surprise concert, a

23 Jul 2017 00:16

Today was a very special panel involving one of our prominent #SPNFAMILY members, Genevieve Padaleck

22 Jul 2017 22:37

The photos from Nightsky have been coming in slowly and we are keeping an archive of everything take

22 Jul 2017 21:41

The Tick has had a big presence at Comic Con.

22 Jul 2017 13:54

EW sat down with Jared, Jensen and Misha at Comic Con.

21 Jul 2017 22:30

The Facebook Live chat with Jared, Jensen and Misha is now available.

21 Jul 2017 14:27

Catching up with Supernatural Alumni at Comic Con.

21 Jul 2017 00:09

Today was the big Timeless panel at San Diego Comic Con.  Our master Eric Kripke was there to t

20 Jul 2017 14:59

The cast will appear live tomorrow, July 21, 2017 and will be seen on the Supernatural Facebook page

20 Jul 2017 11:52

The first clip from Jared and Jensen's appearance on Conan O'Brien

20 Jul 2017 06:45

The WB has released the poster for next season.

19 Jul 2017 17:35

The Conan O'Brien show has put out a teaser for tonight's appearance.

16 Jul 2017 14:44

Mark Pellegrino is in the running for a Tean Choice Award

16 Jul 2017 01:45

We have the first spoilers from this year's TV Guide article covering Comic Con.

15 Jul 2017 12:23

Warner Brothers is having a Gift Pack Giveaway.

14 Jul 2017 15:27

We have the images on the Comic Con bags for this year's Comic Con.

12 Jul 2017 16:28

Conan O'Brien is going to Comic Con and he's going to have Jared and Jensen on his show.

12 Jul 2017 13:22

Jensen and others are posting on social media from Vancouver. No Spoilers.

12 Jul 2017 10:20

San Diego Comic Con must be just around the corner!  Each year at this time we get some awesome

08 Jul 2017 19:22

Rogue Events, the company that hosted the Asylum conventions, is going out of business.

29 Jun 2017 14:55

IMDB has posted casting for episode 13.01

29 Jun 2017 14:08

It's official, Supernatural is coming to Comic Con this year.

27 Jun 2017 21:32

As your Winchester Family Business Editor-in-Chief, I have an exciting announcement to share.  

20 Jun 2017 14:00

Reportedly, Wayward Sisters (not Daughters) will be given a backdoor pilot in season 13.

20 Jun 2017 08:33

The Teen Choice Awards announced the first round of their nominations yesterday and Supernatural is

08 Jun 2017 15:20

We have a date for the end of Hellatus!

06 Jun 2017 21:28

Ty Olsson (Benny Lafitte) just won a Leo Award.

03 Jun 2017 14:53

Jared has announced the final phase of the relaunch of his AKF campaign.

01 Jun 2017 23:33

Oh yeah, we had a LOT to discuss!  This is a supersized TV Fanatic Roundtable this time, design

01 Jun 2017 15:30

Jared and Jensen have both spoken about their daughters recently.

01 Jun 2017 10:22

Jared has relaunched part five of his Always Keep Fighting campaign.

31 May 2017 08:44

We have the first information on the season 12 DVD.

26 May 2017 14:18

Jared and Gen Padalecki both spoke in support of David's Law, a Texas law which targets cyber bullyi

26 May 2017 09:14

Jared started part four of his relaunch.

24 May 2017 15:07

Editor's Note: This article chronologically presents the reports and tweets on Mark Sheppard's statu

24 May 2017 09:41

 Now that season 12 is over, our stars are working for charity.

21 May 2017 09:14

Jared has launched part two of his AKF campaign.

20 May 2017 16:46

We have a few spoilers that came out of the Jus In Bello Convention this weekend.

19 May 2017 11:25

Here are the ratings for last night's finale episodes.

18 May 2017 21:38

Well, we were uninamous, but that's not necessarily good.  All four of us at the TV Fanatic Rou

18 May 2017 15:34

Jared talks about the season finale, season 13 spoilers and relaunching his Always Keep Fighting Cam

18 May 2017 12:05

We are getting our first spoilers for next season at the CW upfront presentation.

18 May 2017 08:52

The CW has released its schedule for next season.

WFB Feature Articles

Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

The final actor is Misha Collins.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Jensen spoke to different outlets at Comic Con this year.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

We return to the actors who were interviewed at Comic Con. This time Jared Padalecki.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Press Room Interviews with Andrew Dabb.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

 Last interview up and it's with the man who holds it all together, Robert Singer.  He giv

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

An interview with Jensen is always a pleasure!  The interview started out casually - talk about

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

It's Misha's turn!  In our roundtable interview in the San Diego Comic Con press room today, he

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

Today was a pretty awesome day!  Here's the WFB roundtable interview with Jared Padalecki. &nbs

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.17 "The British Invasion". Once again

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Mallena

This episode introduces us to Anna Milton.  She isn’t a normal girl, like she appears, but is

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Alice

The nominations were collected, the votes have been cast, the results have been tabulated, and the w

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

San Diego Comic Con 2017 is this week! The most anticipated comic book, superhero, scifi/fantasy gen

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Elle

12 Years of Big Boss Battles: Supernatural Villainy for the Ages

“I'm glad, honestly. I'm not s

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | LK

 

"The gleam in their eyes telegraphs only too clearly that they are hoping for a headline,

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Here's what we know about this year's event!

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Mallena

I was underwhelmed with season ten for most of its run, so it was wonderful to watch an episode as t

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural on the web this week!

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series! For Supernatural 12.13 "Family Feud", I put tog

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Alice

The moment is finally here!  The nominations have been tabulated, now it's time to vote.  

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | LK

 

"The unreal is more powerful than the real, because nothing is as perfect as you can imagine

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to "Memorable Moments" of Supernatural! This edition focuses on episode 12.12 "Stuck In

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Mallena

There has been a lot of talk lately about Jody and the women of Supernatural.  In honor of the

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Elle

Rich, riveting, complex and so full of story details and character threads that it's impossible to m

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | LK

 "Yesterday is but today's memory, and tomorrow is today's dream." — Khalil Gibran

Loosing

Read more...

WFB Motivational Posters - Comic Con

ComicCon2.jpg

Nightsky's New Book!

“I can’t enjoy a world I need to save, Dean.  I can enjoy it when this is all over with.  Right now, there’s nothing more important than this.” 

Kevin pretty much summed up this entire episode in one sentence.  It’s an important lesson, putting all else above your happiness, but that’s probably why in the end this wasn’t an enjoyable episode either.  We care about these characters, we love these characters, but sometimes their misery gets a bit too overwhelming.  And it seems these guys have a ton to be miserable about.  

Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t hate “Torn and Frayed.”  In construction, there’s some important stuff in there, stuff that was sorely needed at this time and place.  Jenny Klein did a great job in her first solo script.  It’s just the end had the result fans have been dying to see all season, but the fun was sucked out of it.  We were left pretty empty. 

Before going into the analysis, let me get my big, seething, “Hated it!” complaint out of the way first.  It’s time for the big midseason kick off, and they go with Bob Seger’s “Katmandu?”  That’s not only the worst song ever by Bob Seger, it’s one of the worst rock songs ever done.  It’s not exactly kick ass, is it?  It’s cheesy.  Growing up in Detroit every single time that song came on the radio (which was a lot since Bob Seger is a native son), it was an instant channel change for me.  So MAJOR FAIL there guys.  

Anyway, this episode in construction had a good mixture of brotherly drama vs. angel/demon story and flowed very well.  Poor Samandriel.  He was the good angel, one that actually believed in Castiel.  Why is it on this show the good ones have to suffer and die?  Naomi had to know that Crowley had captured Samandriel.  He’d been missing for weeks.  She after all had programmed him and they didn’t have that pin in his skull when he was first captured in “A Little Slice of Kevin.”  She wanted him tortured for a reason.  

I’m in the camp not totally convinced that angels are at work here.  It’s too much of a coincidence the two angels being controlled are the two angels that have been in touch with Crowley recently.  Perhaps it’s a set of rogue angels working with Crowley?  Maybe Naomi isn’t in Heaven and Crowley is controlling all this?  Is there someone else we don’t know about?  I know these questions aren’t anything new, so I’ll push those aside and pull them out when there’s more info.  I still say it’s related to the person who was spying on Sam in the season opener.  Duh, I’m stating the obvious again.  

In the meantime, Castiel is a pawn.  Man, will this poor angel ever catch a break?  I long for the days back in season five when he was a fallen angel, roaming the earth, slowly losing his abilities but fighting the good fight (and going on a bender here and there for fun).  I love how he’s at least healing babies.  That’s always a step in the right direction on redemption.  That woman will always wonder now why angels wear trenchcoats.  

So Castiel was given this mission to save Samandriel just so he could kill him?  That’s just plain sad.  Was Naomi hoping that Castiel would get him before he revealed things to Crowley, or did she want Crowley to know that info?  It was obvious after the rescue judging by Samandriel’s panic he was dead no matter what happened.  It just destroyed me to see Castiel be mind controlled into killing him.  Cass should have been the one who tried to save him, find another way.  On thing’s for sure, Castiel is coming apart.  His distress is so real, so unnerving given how stoic and strong he can be.  

Castiel remembering the torture scenes in “Heaven” is a good bit of info, but I was hoping for more progression in the angel story in this episode.  It just wasn’t enough.  The pacing of this mytharc has been sluggish enough this season, this episode just made it drag on more.  

Another thing that bothered me, why was Crowley surprised there was an angel tablet?  There’s a demon one, there’s a leviathan one, so why wouldn’t there be an angel one?  Heck there’s probably a human one.  It reveals the secrets for banishing us all from the Walmart.  What I want to know is where in the universe is Crowley going to find it?  Did Samandriel reveal that secret?  Maybe that’s the setup for the rest of the season, the search for the lost tablets.  Given the fact I’ve seen the episode pitches for the bulk of the season, I’m thinking those searches won’t be dominating a lot of time.  Then again, Mr. Carver has been keeping plots close to the vest.  

Sam and Dean Act Like Adults

The major strength of the episode was the brother scenes.  I did love all that was said and done and man was it a long time coming.  After everything, Sam and Dean decided they needed to be both feet in and choose to fight together.  That meant giving up relationships that meant the world to them, relationships that made them happy.  

Both are talking, so that’s huge.  That’s the one thing they haven’t been able to do all season.  You know Sam wanted to talk when he saw Dean at the motel and tried to slam the door, but then stopped himself.  Dean went right with the story of how Benny killed Martin in self defense.  “Like it or not, that’s the truth.  There was a time when that meant something.”  Yeah, don’t remind me Dean.  

The Sam of old probably would have walked away, or said nothing, so it’s wonderful to see him open up instead.  He made it clear his anger had nothing to do with Benny.  Sam couldn’t believe that Dean would pull that stunt with the text knowing his past emotional scars.  “To be afraid that what happened to Jessica, what happened to everybody we care about would happen to her?”  In that context, it makes Dean’s defense, if Sam had trusted him the first place they wouldn’t be there, pretty weak.  “Is that where we are?  You save a vampire by making me believe the woman I love might be dead?”  Good point Sam.  

Dean’s frustration at this moment reflects his frustration with Sam ever since he got back from Purgatory.  He doesn’t know how to make things right.  This time Sam makes it clear how, ditch Benny.  Dean isn’t willing to do that, and goes back to the cabin, ready to go on without Sam.  Just think what could have happened if Castiel hadn’t had  other ideas and the ability to retrieve Sam in a flash?  It’s the siege on the warehouse, working well together as a team, that reminds them they’re both better off together than apart when saving the world.    

After their adventure gone awry, the brothers finally choose to talk with less hostility and have one very refreshing adult conversation.  Dean does figure out a way to make things right and breaks the impasse, reminding Sam he has a girl to get back to.  “I don’t know, I’m just tired of all the fighting.  And maybe I’m a little bit jealous.  I could never separate myself from the job like you could.  Hell, maybe it’s time for at least one of us to be happy.” 

It’s a nice sentiment and Dean is endearing in his sincerity, but Sam is a guy that’s never handled guilt well.  Just knowing his brother would be out there, fighting a fight that he walked away from, it would have torn him apart.  Amelia never stood a chance in that decision.   Sam knows Amelia would make him happy, but he’s needed in this fight too.  

While Sam walks, Dean makes his choice and calls Benny.  I find Dean’s decision huge, because theirs is a very unique bond that Sam could never understand.  Benny may be a vampire, but he’s Dean’s brother in arms too.  Two soldiers sharing something on the battlefield that no one but each other could possibly understand.  That kind of loyalty means a ton to Dean.

It’s interesting how they both made the decision to carry on together separately, with each not knowing how the other would choose.  Maybe they intuitively knew, but I don’t believe that.  They both have changed so much in their year apart, they’re having too much trouble recognizing one another.  

At the end, sitting on the couch with beers and a meal watching TV, Sam and Dean didn’t look very happy together.  There are no words, which always results something special thanks to Jared and Jensen.  Dean gives Sam an “Are you sure?” gaze, and Sam nods.  His face is tinged with regret though.  He carries on with his meal, because the choice is made.  The brothers are on the same team again, but it’s bittersweet.  

In the end both Sam and Dean know they made the right decisions, but it seems like it hurt.  Both are probably left wondering what they did to poor Benny and Amelia, two people that looked like they were left in a bad place.  That’s not exactly making the brotherly reunion very satisfying.  It’s not a happy ending, that’s for sure.  

Other Random Thoughts

My favorite part of this episode is when Castiel came and got Sam.  I’m always wishing for more scenes with Castiel and Sam.  Cass just shows up on the park bench, startling Sam, making a comment about how watching humans never gets old.  Speak for yourself Cass!  That’s long enough to break the tension before they’re back in a flash with Dean and Kevin.  When the brothers exchange words, Castiel knows how to handle it.  “I need the both of you to, how you say, stow your crap!”  Yes sir Mr. Pretty Boy Angel!  

Sam and Amelia slept together.  Considering it resulted in a shirtless Winchester (after getting three very fine shirtless moments in “Arrow”), I’m cool with it.  Did you notice how wearing his shirt practically swallowed her?  Nice dress lady.  Sam looked extremely guilty afterward though.  That’s probably another reason why he chose to stay with Dean.  That’s really all I have to say about that.  

The Burning Bush!  Manifest through shrubbery!  It was only a month or so ago we were running a game on Twitter where you replaced a word in your favorite “Supernatural” lines with “shrubbery.”  It seems Samandriel was tuning into that.  :)

Plain and simple, I don’t enjoy episodes that bum me out.  Make me a weepy mess?  Yes.  Make me laugh myself to injury?  Yes.  Get me excited with adventure and the good guys winning one?  Yes.  The boys driving off into the sunset in the Impala ready to take on another day?  Yes, yes!  This episode had none of that.  It served it’s purpose though, moving the story along, so I’m ready to learn from this, much like Sam and Dean, and move on.  Bring on the LARPing!  I need to feel good again.