WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 3

Fan Video of the Week: Supernatural Reflections "The British Invasion”

Supernatural Bits & Pieces September 17, 2017

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 2

Mallena's Supernatural Musings: 3.11 "Mystery Spot"

Supernatural Match Game #4

Check out all our San Diego Comic Con coverage, including on scene reports from Nightsky!  

 

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

Sep 18 2017

Jeffrey Dean Morgan and Hillary Burton showed off her baby bump at last night's Emmy Awards ceremony

Sep 18 2017

The actor, who once played Gordon Walker, won an Emmy last night for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Dra

Sep 17 2017

We have a copy of the EW preview for Supernatural and BTS pictures of episode 6.

Sep 13 2017

We're getting close. The CW released a short promo.

Sep 12 2017

EW just published a big spoiler for season 13. TVLine Spoilers added!

Sep 12 2017

September 13 is Supernatural Day!

Sep 08 2017

TVLine released it's fall preview and had this to say about Supernatural

Sep 06 2017

With the DVD for season 12 hitting the shelves yesterday, several oulets have posted deleted scenes

Sep 04 2017

Misha Collins made the announcement today.

Sep 01 2017

Stories continue to come out on Jensen Ackles fundraiser to help Texas after the devastation of Hurr

Aug 31 2017

The Supernatural Family's work to aid in disaster rescue and recovery efforts has even been noticed

Aug 30 2017

Buddy TV posted a new deleted scene from last season.

Aug 28 2017

Jensen and Danneel Ackles are spearheading an effort to help victims of Hurricane Harvey

Aug 24 2017

We have titles for episodes through 12.

Aug 23 2017

TV Line has some spoilers for this season.

Aug 23 2017

There are a lot of Behing-The-Scenes shots from episodes 3 of Supernatural season 13!

Aug 20 2017

The cast is wishing Misha a Happy Birthday!

Aug 18 2017

Christine Kilmer's latest vlog is up and it's seems rather timely given the latest events.  In

Aug 12 2017

Spoiler TV posted the titles for the first nine episodes and episode 16

Aug 12 2017

Recently, I had to shut down the site because of horrible, negative, disrespectful fighting in our c

Aug 09 2017

We have casting news for season 13.

Jul 24 2017

Nightsky posted her video of the Kansas performance at Comic Con.

Jul 23 2017

We may be getting several of these today.

Jul 23 2017

The cast for Wayward Sisters has been announced.

Jul 23 2017

The 2017 San Diego Comic Con "Supernatural" panel was one for the ages.  A surprise concert, a

Jul 23 2017

Today was a very special panel involving one of our prominent #SPNFAMILY members, Genevieve Padaleck

Jul 22 2017

The photos from Nightsky have been coming in slowly and we are keeping an archive of everything take

Jul 22 2017

The Tick has had a big presence at Comic Con.

Jul 22 2017

EW sat down with Jared, Jensen and Misha at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

The Facebook Live chat with Jared, Jensen and Misha is now available.

Jul 21 2017

Catching up with Supernatural Alumni at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

Today was the big Timeless panel at San Diego Comic Con.  Our master Eric Kripke was there to t

Jul 20 2017

The cast will appear live tomorrow, July 21, 2017 and will be seen on the Supernatural Facebook page

Jul 20 2017

The first clip from Jared and Jensen's appearance on Conan O'Brien

Jul 20 2017

The WB has released the poster for next season.

Jul 19 2017

The Conan O'Brien show has put out a teaser for tonight's appearance.

Jul 16 2017

Mark Pellegrino is in the running for a Tean Choice Award

Jul 16 2017

We have the first spoilers from this year's TV Guide article covering Comic Con.

Jul 15 2017

Warner Brothers is having a Gift Pack Giveaway.

Jul 14 2017

We have the images on the Comic Con bags for this year's Comic Con.

Jul 12 2017

Conan O'Brien is going to Comic Con and he's going to have Jared and Jensen on his show.

Jul 12 2017

Jensen and others are posting on social media from Vancouver. No Spoilers.

Jul 12 2017

San Diego Comic Con must be just around the corner!  Each year at this time we get some awesome

Jul 08 2017

Rogue Events, the company that hosted the Asylum conventions, is going out of business.

Jun 29 2017

IMDB has posted casting for episode 13.01

Jun 29 2017

It's official, Supernatural is coming to Comic Con this year.

Jun 27 2017

As your Winchester Family Business Editor-in-Chief, I have an exciting announcement to share.  

WFB Feature Articles

Sep 20 2017 | LK

 Welcome to Part 3 of my tale of attending my very first Supernatural convention! You'll want t

Read more...
Sep 18 2017 | LK

 

" I write about the power of trying, because I want to be okay with failing. I write about

Read more...
Sep 17 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural around the web this week.

Read more...
Sep 15 2017 | LK

Welcome to part 2 of my tale of attending my first Supernatural convention! If you missed Part 1, it

Read more...
Sep 14 2017 | Mallena

Richard Speight, Jr.’s birthday was on September 4th and in his honor, I’m writing a review of o

Read more...
Sep 13 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #4

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way. It's a qu

Read more...
Sep 12 2017 | LK

Introduction

 

Boy, this will be a long one! That is probably the sentence I will hear

Read more...
Sep 11 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.17 "The British Invasion". Once again

Read more...
Sep 10 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week

Read more...
Sep 09 2017 | LK

 

" For there is no friend like a sister in calm or stormy weather; To cheer one on the tediou

Read more...
Sep 08 2017 | Elle

One of the last Supernatural episodes of season 12 that was more formulaic and standard MOTW than bi

Read more...
Sep 07 2017 | Mallena

 

Who loves the idea of time travel? I do!  The possibilities are endless as I contemplat

Read more...
Sep 06 2017 | LK

 

"Don't call the world dirty because you forgot to clean your glasses.” — Joseph Addi

Read more...
Sep 04 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.16 "Ladies Drink Free". Once again I h

Read more...
Sep 03 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural and Family in the news this week!

Read more...
Sep 01 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #3

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a qu

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Percysowner

What are Supernatural fans up to? Here's the latest scoop as of August, 2017!

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Alice

My choices for part one were revealed, so without further delay, here are the Supernatural Season Tw

Read more...
Aug 28 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for Supernatural! For 12.15, "Somewhere Between Heave

Read more...
Aug 27 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 26 2017 | Nightsky

One of the unique attractions of San Diego Comic-Con is wandering the vendor floor looking at the am

Read more...
Aug 25 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #2

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a quick a

Read more...
Aug 24 2017 | Mallena

This week, I’ve been musing about family dramas.  There are many great examples of the genre

Read more...
Aug 21 2017 | Alice

Today I was utterly dismayed to hear about the closure of a long time fan site which the Wincheste

Read more...
Aug 19 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 18 2017 | Alice

Just like every year, The WFB doesn't stop with just the fan choice awards!  Your friendly neig

Read more...
Aug 16 2017 | LK

 

"The stars shall fade away, the sun himself Grow dim with age, and nature sink in years, B

Read more...

WFB Motivational Posters

KungFu.jpg

Nightsky's New Book!

“I can’t enjoy a world I need to save, Dean.  I can enjoy it when this is all over with.  Right now, there’s nothing more important than this.” 

Kevin pretty much summed up this entire episode in one sentence.  It’s an important lesson, putting all else above your happiness, but that’s probably why in the end this wasn’t an enjoyable episode either.  We care about these characters, we love these characters, but sometimes their misery gets a bit too overwhelming.  And it seems these guys have a ton to be miserable about.  

Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t hate “Torn and Frayed.”  In construction, there’s some important stuff in there, stuff that was sorely needed at this time and place.  Jenny Klein did a great job in her first solo script.  It’s just the end had the result fans have been dying to see all season, but the fun was sucked out of it.  We were left pretty empty. 

Before going into the analysis, let me get my big, seething, “Hated it!” complaint out of the way first.  It’s time for the big midseason kick off, and they go with Bob Seger’s “Katmandu?”  That’s not only the worst song ever by Bob Seger, it’s one of the worst rock songs ever done.  It’s not exactly kick ass, is it?  It’s cheesy.  Growing up in Detroit every single time that song came on the radio (which was a lot since Bob Seger is a native son), it was an instant channel change for me.  So MAJOR FAIL there guys.  

Anyway, this episode in construction had a good mixture of brotherly drama vs. angel/demon story and flowed very well.  Poor Samandriel.  He was the good angel, one that actually believed in Castiel.  Why is it on this show the good ones have to suffer and die?  Naomi had to know that Crowley had captured Samandriel.  He’d been missing for weeks.  She after all had programmed him and they didn’t have that pin in his skull when he was first captured in “A Little Slice of Kevin.”  She wanted him tortured for a reason.  

I’m in the camp not totally convinced that angels are at work here.  It’s too much of a coincidence the two angels being controlled are the two angels that have been in touch with Crowley recently.  Perhaps it’s a set of rogue angels working with Crowley?  Maybe Naomi isn’t in Heaven and Crowley is controlling all this?  Is there someone else we don’t know about?  I know these questions aren’t anything new, so I’ll push those aside and pull them out when there’s more info.  I still say it’s related to the person who was spying on Sam in the season opener.  Duh, I’m stating the obvious again.  

In the meantime, Castiel is a pawn.  Man, will this poor angel ever catch a break?  I long for the days back in season five when he was a fallen angel, roaming the earth, slowly losing his abilities but fighting the good fight (and going on a bender here and there for fun).  I love how he’s at least healing babies.  That’s always a step in the right direction on redemption.  That woman will always wonder now why angels wear trenchcoats.  

So Castiel was given this mission to save Samandriel just so he could kill him?  That’s just plain sad.  Was Naomi hoping that Castiel would get him before he revealed things to Crowley, or did she want Crowley to know that info?  It was obvious after the rescue judging by Samandriel’s panic he was dead no matter what happened.  It just destroyed me to see Castiel be mind controlled into killing him.  Cass should have been the one who tried to save him, find another way.  On thing’s for sure, Castiel is coming apart.  His distress is so real, so unnerving given how stoic and strong he can be.  

Castiel remembering the torture scenes in “Heaven” is a good bit of info, but I was hoping for more progression in the angel story in this episode.  It just wasn’t enough.  The pacing of this mytharc has been sluggish enough this season, this episode just made it drag on more.  

Another thing that bothered me, why was Crowley surprised there was an angel tablet?  There’s a demon one, there’s a leviathan one, so why wouldn’t there be an angel one?  Heck there’s probably a human one.  It reveals the secrets for banishing us all from the Walmart.  What I want to know is where in the universe is Crowley going to find it?  Did Samandriel reveal that secret?  Maybe that’s the setup for the rest of the season, the search for the lost tablets.  Given the fact I’ve seen the episode pitches for the bulk of the season, I’m thinking those searches won’t be dominating a lot of time.  Then again, Mr. Carver has been keeping plots close to the vest.  

Sam and Dean Act Like Adults

The major strength of the episode was the brother scenes.  I did love all that was said and done and man was it a long time coming.  After everything, Sam and Dean decided they needed to be both feet in and choose to fight together.  That meant giving up relationships that meant the world to them, relationships that made them happy.  

Both are talking, so that’s huge.  That’s the one thing they haven’t been able to do all season.  You know Sam wanted to talk when he saw Dean at the motel and tried to slam the door, but then stopped himself.  Dean went right with the story of how Benny killed Martin in self defense.  “Like it or not, that’s the truth.  There was a time when that meant something.”  Yeah, don’t remind me Dean.  

The Sam of old probably would have walked away, or said nothing, so it’s wonderful to see him open up instead.  He made it clear his anger had nothing to do with Benny.  Sam couldn’t believe that Dean would pull that stunt with the text knowing his past emotional scars.  “To be afraid that what happened to Jessica, what happened to everybody we care about would happen to her?”  In that context, it makes Dean’s defense, if Sam had trusted him the first place they wouldn’t be there, pretty weak.  “Is that where we are?  You save a vampire by making me believe the woman I love might be dead?”  Good point Sam.  

Dean’s frustration at this moment reflects his frustration with Sam ever since he got back from Purgatory.  He doesn’t know how to make things right.  This time Sam makes it clear how, ditch Benny.  Dean isn’t willing to do that, and goes back to the cabin, ready to go on without Sam.  Just think what could have happened if Castiel hadn’t had  other ideas and the ability to retrieve Sam in a flash?  It’s the siege on the warehouse, working well together as a team, that reminds them they’re both better off together than apart when saving the world.    

After their adventure gone awry, the brothers finally choose to talk with less hostility and have one very refreshing adult conversation.  Dean does figure out a way to make things right and breaks the impasse, reminding Sam he has a girl to get back to.  “I don’t know, I’m just tired of all the fighting.  And maybe I’m a little bit jealous.  I could never separate myself from the job like you could.  Hell, maybe it’s time for at least one of us to be happy.” 

It’s a nice sentiment and Dean is endearing in his sincerity, but Sam is a guy that’s never handled guilt well.  Just knowing his brother would be out there, fighting a fight that he walked away from, it would have torn him apart.  Amelia never stood a chance in that decision.   Sam knows Amelia would make him happy, but he’s needed in this fight too.  

While Sam walks, Dean makes his choice and calls Benny.  I find Dean’s decision huge, because theirs is a very unique bond that Sam could never understand.  Benny may be a vampire, but he’s Dean’s brother in arms too.  Two soldiers sharing something on the battlefield that no one but each other could possibly understand.  That kind of loyalty means a ton to Dean.

It’s interesting how they both made the decision to carry on together separately, with each not knowing how the other would choose.  Maybe they intuitively knew, but I don’t believe that.  They both have changed so much in their year apart, they’re having too much trouble recognizing one another.  

At the end, sitting on the couch with beers and a meal watching TV, Sam and Dean didn’t look very happy together.  There are no words, which always results something special thanks to Jared and Jensen.  Dean gives Sam an “Are you sure?” gaze, and Sam nods.  His face is tinged with regret though.  He carries on with his meal, because the choice is made.  The brothers are on the same team again, but it’s bittersweet.  

In the end both Sam and Dean know they made the right decisions, but it seems like it hurt.  Both are probably left wondering what they did to poor Benny and Amelia, two people that looked like they were left in a bad place.  That’s not exactly making the brotherly reunion very satisfying.  It’s not a happy ending, that’s for sure.  

Other Random Thoughts

My favorite part of this episode is when Castiel came and got Sam.  I’m always wishing for more scenes with Castiel and Sam.  Cass just shows up on the park bench, startling Sam, making a comment about how watching humans never gets old.  Speak for yourself Cass!  That’s long enough to break the tension before they’re back in a flash with Dean and Kevin.  When the brothers exchange words, Castiel knows how to handle it.  “I need the both of you to, how you say, stow your crap!”  Yes sir Mr. Pretty Boy Angel!  

Sam and Amelia slept together.  Considering it resulted in a shirtless Winchester (after getting three very fine shirtless moments in “Arrow”), I’m cool with it.  Did you notice how wearing his shirt practically swallowed her?  Nice dress lady.  Sam looked extremely guilty afterward though.  That’s probably another reason why he chose to stay with Dean.  That’s really all I have to say about that.  

The Burning Bush!  Manifest through shrubbery!  It was only a month or so ago we were running a game on Twitter where you replaced a word in your favorite “Supernatural” lines with “shrubbery.”  It seems Samandriel was tuning into that.  :)

Plain and simple, I don’t enjoy episodes that bum me out.  Make me a weepy mess?  Yes.  Make me laugh myself to injury?  Yes.  Get me excited with adventure and the good guys winning one?  Yes.  The boys driving off into the sunset in the Impala ready to take on another day?  Yes, yes!  This episode had none of that.  It served it’s purpose though, moving the story along, so I’m ready to learn from this, much like Sam and Dean, and move on.  Bring on the LARPing!  I need to feel good again.