WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 3

Fan Video of the Week: Supernatural Reflections "The British Invasion”

Supernatural Bits & Pieces September 17, 2017

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 2

Mallena's Supernatural Musings: 3.11 "Mystery Spot"

Supernatural Match Game #4

Check out all our San Diego Comic Con coverage, including on scene reports from Nightsky!  

 

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

Sep 18 2017

Jeffrey Dean Morgan and Hillary Burton showed off her baby bump at last night's Emmy Awards ceremony

Sep 18 2017

The actor, who once played Gordon Walker, won an Emmy last night for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Dra

Sep 17 2017

We have a copy of the EW preview for Supernatural and BTS pictures of episode 6.

Sep 13 2017

We're getting close. The CW released a short promo.

Sep 12 2017

EW just published a big spoiler for season 13. TVLine Spoilers added!

Sep 12 2017

September 13 is Supernatural Day!

Sep 08 2017

TVLine released it's fall preview and had this to say about Supernatural

Sep 06 2017

With the DVD for season 12 hitting the shelves yesterday, several oulets have posted deleted scenes

Sep 04 2017

Misha Collins made the announcement today.

Sep 01 2017

Stories continue to come out on Jensen Ackles fundraiser to help Texas after the devastation of Hurr

Aug 31 2017

The Supernatural Family's work to aid in disaster rescue and recovery efforts has even been noticed

Aug 30 2017

Buddy TV posted a new deleted scene from last season.

Aug 28 2017

Jensen and Danneel Ackles are spearheading an effort to help victims of Hurricane Harvey

Aug 24 2017

We have titles for episodes through 12.

Aug 23 2017

TV Line has some spoilers for this season.

Aug 23 2017

There are a lot of Behing-The-Scenes shots from episodes 3 of Supernatural season 13!

Aug 20 2017

The cast is wishing Misha a Happy Birthday!

Aug 18 2017

Christine Kilmer's latest vlog is up and it's seems rather timely given the latest events.  In

Aug 12 2017

Spoiler TV posted the titles for the first nine episodes and episode 16

Aug 12 2017

Recently, I had to shut down the site because of horrible, negative, disrespectful fighting in our c

Aug 09 2017

We have casting news for season 13.

Jul 24 2017

Nightsky posted her video of the Kansas performance at Comic Con.

Jul 23 2017

We may be getting several of these today.

Jul 23 2017

The cast for Wayward Sisters has been announced.

Jul 23 2017

The 2017 San Diego Comic Con "Supernatural" panel was one for the ages.  A surprise concert, a

Jul 23 2017

Today was a very special panel involving one of our prominent #SPNFAMILY members, Genevieve Padaleck

Jul 22 2017

The photos from Nightsky have been coming in slowly and we are keeping an archive of everything take

Jul 22 2017

The Tick has had a big presence at Comic Con.

Jul 22 2017

EW sat down with Jared, Jensen and Misha at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

The Facebook Live chat with Jared, Jensen and Misha is now available.

Jul 21 2017

Catching up with Supernatural Alumni at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

Today was the big Timeless panel at San Diego Comic Con.  Our master Eric Kripke was there to t

Jul 20 2017

The cast will appear live tomorrow, July 21, 2017 and will be seen on the Supernatural Facebook page

Jul 20 2017

The first clip from Jared and Jensen's appearance on Conan O'Brien

Jul 20 2017

The WB has released the poster for next season.

Jul 19 2017

The Conan O'Brien show has put out a teaser for tonight's appearance.

Jul 16 2017

Mark Pellegrino is in the running for a Tean Choice Award

Jul 16 2017

We have the first spoilers from this year's TV Guide article covering Comic Con.

Jul 15 2017

Warner Brothers is having a Gift Pack Giveaway.

Jul 14 2017

We have the images on the Comic Con bags for this year's Comic Con.

Jul 12 2017

Conan O'Brien is going to Comic Con and he's going to have Jared and Jensen on his show.

Jul 12 2017

Jensen and others are posting on social media from Vancouver. No Spoilers.

Jul 12 2017

San Diego Comic Con must be just around the corner!  Each year at this time we get some awesome

Jul 08 2017

Rogue Events, the company that hosted the Asylum conventions, is going out of business.

Jun 29 2017

IMDB has posted casting for episode 13.01

Jun 29 2017

It's official, Supernatural is coming to Comic Con this year.

Jun 27 2017

As your Winchester Family Business Editor-in-Chief, I have an exciting announcement to share.  

WFB Feature Articles

Sep 20 2017 | LK

 Welcome to Part 3 of my tale of attending my very first Supernatural convention! You'll want t

Read more...
Sep 18 2017 | LK

 

" I write about the power of trying, because I want to be okay with failing. I write about

Read more...
Sep 17 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural around the web this week.

Read more...
Sep 15 2017 | LK

Welcome to part 2 of my tale of attending my first Supernatural convention! If you missed Part 1, it

Read more...
Sep 14 2017 | Mallena

Richard Speight, Jr.’s birthday was on September 4th and in his honor, I’m writing a review of o

Read more...
Sep 13 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #4

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way. It's a qu

Read more...
Sep 12 2017 | LK

Introduction

 

Boy, this will be a long one! That is probably the sentence I will hear

Read more...
Sep 11 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.17 "The British Invasion". Once again

Read more...
Sep 10 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week

Read more...
Sep 09 2017 | LK

 

" For there is no friend like a sister in calm or stormy weather; To cheer one on the tediou

Read more...
Sep 08 2017 | Elle

One of the last Supernatural episodes of season 12 that was more formulaic and standard MOTW than bi

Read more...
Sep 07 2017 | Mallena

 

Who loves the idea of time travel? I do!  The possibilities are endless as I contemplat

Read more...
Sep 06 2017 | LK

 

"Don't call the world dirty because you forgot to clean your glasses.” — Joseph Addi

Read more...
Sep 04 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.16 "Ladies Drink Free". Once again I h

Read more...
Sep 03 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural and Family in the news this week!

Read more...
Sep 01 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #3

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a qu

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Percysowner

What are Supernatural fans up to? Here's the latest scoop as of August, 2017!

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Alice

My choices for part one were revealed, so without further delay, here are the Supernatural Season Tw

Read more...
Aug 28 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for Supernatural! For 12.15, "Somewhere Between Heave

Read more...
Aug 27 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 26 2017 | Nightsky

One of the unique attractions of San Diego Comic-Con is wandering the vendor floor looking at the am

Read more...
Aug 25 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #2

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a quick a

Read more...
Aug 24 2017 | Mallena

This week, I’ve been musing about family dramas.  There are many great examples of the genre

Read more...
Aug 21 2017 | Alice

Today I was utterly dismayed to hear about the closure of a long time fan site which the Wincheste

Read more...
Aug 19 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 18 2017 | Alice

Just like every year, The WFB doesn't stop with just the fan choice awards!  Your friendly neig

Read more...
Aug 16 2017 | LK

 

"The stars shall fade away, the sun himself Grow dim with age, and nature sink in years, B

Read more...

WFB Motivational Posters

Mishapocalypse.jpg

Nightsky's New Book!

I’m setting aside all conspiracy theories this week.  I’m taking the whole episode for what we were given, because taking this suspense filled hour anywhere else will blow my freaking mind.  

Now that’s out of the way, HOLY MOTHER OF CHUCK! 

That was one very emotionally gut wrenching, dig-my-nails-into-the-armchair hour of television.  I cried, I screamed, but most of all my heart shattered for these brothers, who don’t mean to hurt each other, but they just can’t avoid it right now.  They both think they’re doing what’s best, and sadly that’s not putting them on the same page.  It’s not making their predicaments any better either, and that pushes this emotional story into Shakespearian tragedy range.  Or Shakespeare if it played out in the deep south.  That tends to involve a lot of country music. 

“Sometimes it’s not easy to see things for what they are.” 
 
Out of that entire hour of suspense, mixed loyalties, heartbreak, and intense drama it was this above quote from Sam that stuck with me the most.  There’s the whole crux of the entire episode.  Often times the players in this story weren’t able to look past their own perceptions, and it got them into a whole mess of trouble.

On the superficial level, that quote is about Benny and his new life, but it also applies to Sam and his relationship with Amelia.  No matter how hard they want to pretend, they weren’t meant for those lives. But this comment also applies to Sam and Dean’s current relationship.  It’s fractured right now and neither are seeing each other’s point of view.    

Sam started all this by bringing in Martin.  His logic was sound, he was helping out an old friend and tracking a vampire that he wasn’t sure was staying in line.  He thought he had control of the situation, he thought he was protecting innocents.  I’m sure he didn’t expect checking out two vampire kills would push him and Dean into an extreme test of loyalty.  When Dean told him, “Every relationship I’ve ever had has gone to crap at some point.  But the one thing I can say about Benny is he has never let me down,” the hurt on Sam’s face was obvious.  Sure he responded with a sarcastic, “Well good on you Dean, it must be great finding someone you can trust after all these years,” but that ended up setting the boundaries.  Sam would take care of the situation with Martin and not Dean, because Dean wasn’t seeing straight.

The fact that Dean a while ago programmed one of their extra phones to emulate Amelia’s number, knowing one day he might need that to lure away or trick Sam, that action became both strategically brilliant and emotionally devastating.  That trick delivered poor Sammy a deep blow to his already shaky state.  He literally abandoned the hunt in process (Martin’s a big boy, he could handle himself) just because he thought Amelia was in trouble.  It’s a mode he jumps into out of instinct, a mode he does often for Dean.  Dean knew that, and he chose to play it.  No, Sam was not expecting to find that Amelia and Don were together again and doing fine (or so it seemed through the window). 

Judging by the fact that Sam was in a bar in Kermit after that drowning his sorrows with whiskey, something he only drinks alone when he’s truly upset, the decoy shook him pretty hard.  He’s hurt by the two people he cares for the most, the two people he’d bail on a hunt midway for.  In that hurt, Sam refused to hear the whole story from Dean.  All he knew is Martin was dead and Benny wasn’t.  I really, really wonder where Sam was going to go before running into Amelia.  I think he was going after Benny.  

In defense of Dean though, he didn’t fail Sam’s loyalty test.  He passed it, albeit in a rather dickish way that only continued to alienate his brother.  Dean is still operating in survival mode.  There’s no room for sparing feelings, including Sam’s.  Dean sent that text message to protect both Sam and Benny.  To him it was the only way.  He knew that Benny was strong and would kill Sam in defense, but as he warned Benny Sam couldn’t be underestimated either.  It gave them some time to kill the rogue vampire and give Benny a head start in going underground, all while keeping Sam out of harms way.  He didn’t choose one over another.  However, in order to achieve that purpose, he played on Sam’s deep emotional trigger, knowing he would drop everything.

No doubt that was a hard choice.  No doubt Dean knew Sam would be pissed at him and I’m sure he wondered if it was wise to send Sam running to Amelia.  He told Benny, “Guys like us, we don’t get a home, and we don’t get family.” Benny replied, “You’ve got Sam.”  Dean gave him an uncertain, “Yeah.”  He didn’t know at that point how things stood with his brother, but he knew it wasn’t good.  I’m sure he wondered if Sam would ever talk to him again.  He definitely knows trust is out the window. 

I doubt Dean regrets his actions and felt like he did the right thing because both Benny and Sam are alive.  He could also justify it since Sam pushed him into that predicament in the first place.  Dean’s more hard edged now and he isn’t going to sugarcoat things.  There’s no room for hurt feelings.  He had his reasons and it’s done.  He also figures that Sam is a big boy and he’ll get over this.  They after all have a history with this sort of thing.  Not that he won’t try to make things right.  As we see in the preview, he goes to find Sam.  He’s not giving up on his brother.  

So, there's the impasse, the inability for both brothers to see things the way they are.  Dean can’t see the deep emotional impact that having a normal life did to Sam.  He thinks she’s just a girl.  Sam can’t see that Dean has been profoundly changed by Purgatory and that Benny is more to him that a friend.  He’s a brother.  By being unable to accept the other people in their lives, they can’t accept each other. 


Other Notes

I was really glad to see the return of Martin, but it shouldn’t have been shocking to find out he was that unbalanced.  He did after all come out of a nuthouse.  He was clearly in no shape to hunt, and every one of his actions showed it, like him sharply stabbing ice cubes out of an ice tray.  The person who deserves the most blame for killing Martin is Martin.  He was warned, but in that theme of not seeing things for what they are, let his hatred for monsters blind his judgment.  Using an innocent human as bait is low, especially a girl that was nothing but sweet to him.  He ahd it coming.  Did you notice that Martin brought up John and how he wouldn’t approve of what Dean was doing?  John’s been coming up a lot this season.  You suppose that’s intentional? 

Oh Benny.  I was so scared for Benny the whole episode.  I really thought they would kill him.  Thank you, thank you, thank you for not killing him!!  TPTB played on our fear of characters we like dying by adding a lot of suspense over whose dead body was in the restaurant when Dean arrived.  When Benny laid his head on the counter with tears in his eyes, staring into the teary face of his great granddaughter, I lost it. Well, well done. Ty Olsson, you rule. 

So, did Benny kill Martin or Elizabeth?  There was no sign of bite marks, and the presence of a lot of blood indicates Benny didn’t feed.  I say Benny did it.  Considering the knife was in Martin’s left hand, Benny likely blocked the machete strike from his right hand, grabbed the knife and started slicing.  Elizabeth was right in the middle of it to get all the splatter.  Only a forensics expert can tell me I’m wrong!  

This was the first appearance as director for Nick Copus onSupernatural and what an amazing job he did.  He’s previously done work on Nikita, another favorite show of mine.  He used some very interesting and unique camera angles that set the tone of this tragic story perfectly.  He added tension during Martin’s talk on the phone with Benny by focusing on the slow way Martin was pushing around the pie on the plate.  He used slightly distorted close-ups of Martin holding a knife to Elizabeth’s throat to accent Martin’s unhinged state and Benny’s growing fire within.  My two favorite shots though were the POV from the bucket of water as Benny washed his bloody hands, and the shot through the screen door from inside the restaurant, with Elizabeth sitting on the porch and the headlights of the Impala in the hazy night approaching.  Both were very ominous and notched up the horror by a lot. 

This was also the first solo script for Daniel Loflin.  He and Andrew Dabb are the most senior writers on the show aside from Ben Edlund, so I’m actually stunned it took this long for him to get a solo turn.  He delivered in a massive way, giving us the best episode of the season thus far.  The problem is a lot of these stories over the last couple of seasons haven’t had the nail biting suspense or kept me guessing all the way to the end.  They’ve also seemed very formulaic.  With this episode, I was on the edge of my seat all the way through and couldn’t predict any of it.  To be able to do that in season eight of a very suspense filled show says a lot.  Given Andrew Dabb’s decent script from last week as well, I vote these guys start writing on their own from now on.    
   
Overall Grade, an A.  When the show comes back on January 16th (what????), it looks like we’ll be getting a pivotal episode in what’s happening to Castiel.  Hopefully this will explain some things with Sam and Dean as well.  Six weeks isn't so long, right?  Yeah, I'll be a wreck too.