WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

Mallena's Supernatural Musings: 10.05 "Fan Fiction"

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 3

Fan Video of the Week: Supernatural Reflections "The British Invasion”

Supernatural Bits & Pieces September 17, 2017

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 2

Mallena's Supernatural Musings: 3.11 "Mystery Spot"

Check out all our San Diego Comic Con coverage, including on scene reports from Nightsky!  

 

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

Sep 21 2017

We have an extended version of the trailer!

Sep 18 2017

Jeffrey Dean Morgan and Hillary Burton showed off her baby bump at last night's Emmy Awards ceremony

Sep 18 2017

The actor, who once played Gordon Walker, won an Emmy last night for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Dra

Sep 17 2017

We have a copy of the EW preview for Supernatural and BTS pictures of episode 6.

Sep 13 2017

We're getting close. The CW released a short promo.

Sep 12 2017

EW just published a big spoiler for season 13. TVLine Spoilers added!

Sep 12 2017

September 13 is Supernatural Day!

Sep 08 2017

TVLine released it's fall preview and had this to say about Supernatural

Sep 06 2017

With the DVD for season 12 hitting the shelves yesterday, several oulets have posted deleted scenes

Sep 04 2017

Misha Collins made the announcement today.

Sep 01 2017

Stories continue to come out on Jensen Ackles fundraiser to help Texas after the devastation of Hurr

Aug 31 2017

The Supernatural Family's work to aid in disaster rescue and recovery efforts has even been noticed

Aug 30 2017

Buddy TV posted a new deleted scene from last season.

Aug 28 2017

Jensen and Danneel Ackles are spearheading an effort to help victims of Hurricane Harvey

Aug 24 2017

We have titles for episodes through 12.

Aug 23 2017

TV Line has some spoilers for this season.

Aug 23 2017

There are a lot of Behing-The-Scenes shots from episodes 3 of Supernatural season 13!

Aug 20 2017

The cast is wishing Misha a Happy Birthday!

Aug 18 2017

Christine Kilmer's latest vlog is up and it's seems rather timely given the latest events.  In

Aug 12 2017

Spoiler TV posted the titles for the first nine episodes and episode 16

Aug 12 2017

Recently, I had to shut down the site because of horrible, negative, disrespectful fighting in our c

Aug 09 2017

We have casting news for season 13.

Jul 24 2017

Nightsky posted her video of the Kansas performance at Comic Con.

Jul 23 2017

We may be getting several of these today.

Jul 23 2017

The cast for Wayward Sisters has been announced.

Jul 23 2017

The 2017 San Diego Comic Con "Supernatural" panel was one for the ages.  A surprise concert, a

Jul 23 2017

Today was a very special panel involving one of our prominent #SPNFAMILY members, Genevieve Padaleck

Jul 22 2017

The photos from Nightsky have been coming in slowly and we are keeping an archive of everything take

Jul 22 2017

The Tick has had a big presence at Comic Con.

Jul 22 2017

EW sat down with Jared, Jensen and Misha at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

The Facebook Live chat with Jared, Jensen and Misha is now available.

Jul 21 2017

Catching up with Supernatural Alumni at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

Today was the big Timeless panel at San Diego Comic Con.  Our master Eric Kripke was there to t

Jul 20 2017

The cast will appear live tomorrow, July 21, 2017 and will be seen on the Supernatural Facebook page

Jul 20 2017

The first clip from Jared and Jensen's appearance on Conan O'Brien

Jul 20 2017

The WB has released the poster for next season.

Jul 19 2017

The Conan O'Brien show has put out a teaser for tonight's appearance.

Jul 16 2017

Mark Pellegrino is in the running for a Tean Choice Award

Jul 16 2017

We have the first spoilers from this year's TV Guide article covering Comic Con.

Jul 15 2017

Warner Brothers is having a Gift Pack Giveaway.

Jul 14 2017

We have the images on the Comic Con bags for this year's Comic Con.

Jul 12 2017

Conan O'Brien is going to Comic Con and he's going to have Jared and Jensen on his show.

Jul 12 2017

Jensen and others are posting on social media from Vancouver. No Spoilers.

Jul 12 2017

San Diego Comic Con must be just around the corner!  Each year at this time we get some awesome

Jul 08 2017

Rogue Events, the company that hosted the Asylum conventions, is going out of business.

Jun 29 2017

IMDB has posted casting for episode 13.01

Jun 29 2017

It's official, Supernatural is coming to Comic Con this year.

WFB Feature Articles

Sep 21 2017 | Mallena

It’s Rob Benedict’s birthday on Sept 21 and it wasn’t easy picking the story to review that fe

Read more...
Sep 20 2017 | LK

 Welcome to Part 3 of my tale of attending my very first Supernatural convention! You'll want t

Read more...
Sep 18 2017 | LK

 

" I write about the power of trying, because I want to be okay with failing. I write about

Read more...
Sep 17 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural around the web this week.

Read more...
Sep 15 2017 | LK

Welcome to part 2 of my tale of attending my first Supernatural convention! If you missed Part 1, it

Read more...
Sep 14 2017 | Mallena

Richard Speight, Jr.’s birthday was on September 4th and in his honor, I’m writing a review of o

Read more...
Sep 13 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #4

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way. It's a qu

Read more...
Sep 12 2017 | LK

Introduction

 

Boy, this will be a long one! That is probably the sentence I will hear

Read more...
Sep 11 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.17 "The British Invasion". Once again

Read more...
Sep 10 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week

Read more...
Sep 09 2017 | LK

 

" For there is no friend like a sister in calm or stormy weather; To cheer one on the tediou

Read more...
Sep 08 2017 | Elle

One of the last Supernatural episodes of season 12 that was more formulaic and standard MOTW than bi

Read more...
Sep 07 2017 | Mallena

 

Who loves the idea of time travel? I do!  The possibilities are endless as I contemplat

Read more...
Sep 06 2017 | LK

 

"Don't call the world dirty because you forgot to clean your glasses.” — Joseph Addi

Read more...
Sep 04 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.16 "Ladies Drink Free". Once again I h

Read more...
Sep 03 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural and Family in the news this week!

Read more...
Sep 01 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #3

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a qu

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Percysowner

What are Supernatural fans up to? Here's the latest scoop as of August, 2017!

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Alice

My choices for part one were revealed, so without further delay, here are the Supernatural Season Tw

Read more...
Aug 28 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for Supernatural! For 12.15, "Somewhere Between Heave

Read more...
Aug 27 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 26 2017 | Nightsky

One of the unique attractions of San Diego Comic-Con is wandering the vendor floor looking at the am

Read more...
Aug 25 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #2

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a quick a

Read more...
Aug 24 2017 | Mallena

This week, I’ve been musing about family dramas.  There are many great examples of the genre

Read more...
Aug 21 2017 | Alice

Today I was utterly dismayed to hear about the closure of a long time fan site which the Wincheste

Read more...
Aug 19 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 18 2017 | Alice

Just like every year, The WFB doesn't stop with just the fan choice awards!  Your friendly neig

Read more...

WFB Motivational Posters

Fingerpaint7.jpg

Nightsky's New Book!

I love going into a Supernatural episode and not knowing what to expect.  Usually when that happens, I’m pleasantly surprised.  Not that I’m ranking “Hunteri Heroici” was one of the series best or most innovative, but I came away entertained instead of cursing so that’s something.
 
The day after a Supernatural episode I end up judging it on how much thinking it triggered.  The last new episode, “A Little Slice of Kevin” didn’t quite trigger the same thinky thoughts that “Hunter Heroici” did.  Probably because last night’s episode came with some deeper character study.  All of you know how my head gets a spinning when Sam Winchester is put under the microscope. 

Before I get to my whirly thoughts on Sam, let’s go for the premise.  I really thought cartoon world would bomb.  In the past these types of episodes have me nitpicking all sorts of plot holes.  This one though actually made sense.  What happens with a psychokinetic loses his mind due to old age?  He reverts to a happier time, and who can’t relate to Looney Tunes?  I myself recall the happy days when I was glued to the TV set with glee on Saturday mornings (yes, once upon a time you could only watch cartoons on Saturday mornings) just to see Wile E. Coyote hang in thin air before he falls to the ground with an inexplicable anvil falling right behind him. 

Live action attempts usually fall flat, but Supernatural didn’t go overboard. They used the right amout that was believable.  My absolutely favorite, laugh out loud moment was when Dean went to tackle the doctor in the bank.  The freeze frame of “Dean Winchester – Hunterus Heroicus” and “Dr. Mahoney – “Grosteques Villainous” had me howling.  In my twisted upbringing I often use these latin names in everyday conversation!   My kitty for example is “Domesticus Housecatis.”  Andrew Dabb, you and I are truly kindred spirits of the same warped childhood. 

 I think we’ll forever understand the concept  you can’t bring a gun to a gag fight.  That’s been canon our entire existence.  You can however bring an angel, and Sam and Dean suddenly found themselves with a third wheel.  I still love how seasoned Castiel is to the earth, yet he still has issues with literal terms.  Like when Dean asks him ”What’s the word Cass?”  “My name, shortened,” is by all means a correct answer, yet that's not quite what he was looking for.   Angel or not, he’s learned he must never attempt to rob Sam Winchester from his rightful spot of shotgun.  Too bad there wasn’t a hockey arena around, because when Sam pushed Castiel out of the way to get to the front seat, that was one of the more impressive cross –checks I’ve seen.  And poor Castiel’s rejected look.  They’re all like children, aren’t they? 

Might I also take a second to gush over Mike Farrell?  Yes, I grew up watching M*A*S*H and I loved him on that show, but isn’t wonderful to see these beloved actors age gracefully?  You can always tell a seasoned veteran actor from a hack, and Mike Farrell proved why he’s one of the best, still.  Being locked in a happy mind isn’t so bad, is it?  Castiel actually seemed envious, but then again Castiel can read minds. 

So, since we’re on the topic of reading minds, let’s segue into the younger Winchester, shall we?  My, my, what is happening to Sam?  There have been some theories bounced around here (and Ardeospina is doing an awesome job driving that bus), but I’ve stayed pretty silent about it so far.  Probably because I’m still stinging from last season where I entertained some dream theories and by season’s end experienced extreme disappointment when I had to take everything at face value.  The question is, did Jeremy Carver read all our crazy theories (and others) and decide that he’d play with us rather than go for that “what you see is what you get” philosophy of Sera Gamble?  After all, new showrunner, new rules. 

Rather than waste a lot of time over the possible motives of a showrunner, how about I go with what we’ve got?  First, Sam’s flashbacks have always had a soft white light quality to them, but this one was oversaturated with white, more than before.  Either that or my new TV is strobing too much white.  Does the bright light mean something?  Considering the camera operators are usually the same each week, I don’t think it's a technical mishap.  Such bright light suggests a dream like state, which coincides with Sam’s constant statements he's running and hiding in a dream world.  What is this halo effect really telling us though?  I could go into all sorts of dream interpretation research, but one common belief is it’s someone near death. 

I’ve brought this up before, but anyone ever see the movie Jacob’s Ladder? (Spoilers coming for that movie if you haven’t).  The main character, Jacob, was caught in some kind of crazy limbo and various forces were eventually revealed to be trying to free him from earth so he can move on into the white light.  It’s a lot creepier than that, and we didn’t know he was dying into the end (the shocking surprise), but that’s what it was.  In that movie, Jacob found himself in a strange new relationship with a woman.  He suddenly wasn’t married to his wife anymore.  The other characters were doing their best to pass on hints that it was time to let go, and of course psychoanalyze the guilt, heartache, and demons of his life that he was clinging onto along the way.  There were also crazy hallucinations, but that doesn’t seem to be happening to Sam, yet anyway.
 
I couldn’t stop going back to this movie the entire time that Sam was remembering Amelia’s father.  He seemed EXACTLY like one of these characters.  Sam Winchester is not an open book.  This guy read him a bit too easily, don’t you think?  Every single one of his statements dug into Sam like a knife.  They hit the really, really sore spots.  Also, why in the world would Sam not only use his real name, but mention that he went to Stanford?  Isn’t he trying to hide the fact that he’s supposed to be dead?  That’s a very easy Google search.  He isn’t that careless.  Is that lazy writing again or a big clue?  In dreams, or perhaps coma like states, you don’t use aliases.  Your name has to be real, your sense of identity. 

Also, in that movie, Jacob was estranged from his family.  Disconnected.  The same was true for The Sixth Sense.  Those characters' were surrounded by strangers and unfamiliar situations.  Hmm, do you think Sam has looked comfortable at all in these flashbacks?  Then the flashback ends with Don being alive.  There is no way it’s a mere coincidence that it happens immediately after Sam admits he ran because Dean was dead.  That was the trigger.  Why do I have visions of Sam going into cardiac arrest or something on the other side?

The question becomes, what is really happening to Sam?  Is he dying in a coma somewhere, in an insane asylum dreaming the whole thing, are the angels manipulating his memories, or do we pull out last year’s theory that he’s still in Hell?  Or, is it a combination of one or more of these things?  Maybe this is all just diabolical mustache twisting by Mr. Carver and it comes out at face value?  I don’t know anymore, but one thing is certain, these flashbacks are getting weirder and weirder.  They aren’t believable anymore, if they ever were.
    
The other being going through some weirdness is poor Castiel.  He may be a powerful angel, but he’s really lacking in the skills necessary to be a hunter, don’t you think?  He can’t absorb the obvious human clues like having an affair.  He certainly can smell infections though.  He still has friends in Sam and Dean though, so it’s not all so bad, back seat or not.  

Unlike Sam, Cass didn’t need a character in a flashback to remind him of his checkered past.  He outright knew.   If he went back to Heaven, he might kill himself out of guilt from the devastation he caused.  His outright honesty and heart to heart with Dean was so refreshing and very heart wrenching for me.  I love how not only is he talking to Dean, but Dean’s listening (which is why I still think Sam is stuck in some sort of altered state).  I don’t think that was angel manipulation, because Cass decided not to run and go back to Heaven.  That’s when Naomi stepped him and denied him access.  I’m not about to speculate what’s up with Naomi and her kind, but perhaps she realized that hanging out with the Winchesters was forcing Cass to ask too many questions.  Maybe it was best he go do what he wants until he’s needed.
  
There’s a lot hidden underneath the guise of a goofy cartoon story, don’t you think?  I’m very certain we aren’t going to get a lot of answers during the midseason finale either, so there will be plenty of time for speculation during the month long break.  I give Hunteri Heroici a B+.  It was light, yet it was very, very dark.  Plus now I’m going to leave black circles on the wall just to f*** with people. That and I am so training my cats to talk.