WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 3

Fan Video of the Week: Supernatural Reflections "The British Invasion”

Supernatural Bits & Pieces September 17, 2017

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 2

Mallena's Supernatural Musings: 3.11 "Mystery Spot"

Supernatural Match Game #4

Check out all our San Diego Comic Con coverage, including on scene reports from Nightsky!  

 

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

Sep 18 2017

Jeffrey Dean Morgan and Hillary Burton showed off her baby bump at last night's Emmy Awards ceremony

Sep 18 2017

The actor, who once played Gordon Walker, won an Emmy last night for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Dra

Sep 17 2017

We have a copy of the EW preview for Supernatural and BTS pictures of episode 6.

Sep 13 2017

We're getting close. The CW released a short promo.

Sep 12 2017

EW just published a big spoiler for season 13. TVLine Spoilers added!

Sep 12 2017

September 13 is Supernatural Day!

Sep 08 2017

TVLine released it's fall preview and had this to say about Supernatural

Sep 06 2017

With the DVD for season 12 hitting the shelves yesterday, several oulets have posted deleted scenes

Sep 04 2017

Misha Collins made the announcement today.

Sep 01 2017

Stories continue to come out on Jensen Ackles fundraiser to help Texas after the devastation of Hurr

Aug 31 2017

The Supernatural Family's work to aid in disaster rescue and recovery efforts has even been noticed

Aug 30 2017

Buddy TV posted a new deleted scene from last season.

Aug 28 2017

Jensen and Danneel Ackles are spearheading an effort to help victims of Hurricane Harvey

Aug 24 2017

We have titles for episodes through 12.

Aug 23 2017

TV Line has some spoilers for this season.

Aug 23 2017

There are a lot of Behing-The-Scenes shots from episodes 3 of Supernatural season 13!

Aug 20 2017

The cast is wishing Misha a Happy Birthday!

Aug 18 2017

Christine Kilmer's latest vlog is up and it's seems rather timely given the latest events.  In

Aug 12 2017

Spoiler TV posted the titles for the first nine episodes and episode 16

Aug 12 2017

Recently, I had to shut down the site because of horrible, negative, disrespectful fighting in our c

Aug 09 2017

We have casting news for season 13.

Jul 24 2017

Nightsky posted her video of the Kansas performance at Comic Con.

Jul 23 2017

We may be getting several of these today.

Jul 23 2017

The cast for Wayward Sisters has been announced.

Jul 23 2017

The 2017 San Diego Comic Con "Supernatural" panel was one for the ages.  A surprise concert, a

Jul 23 2017

Today was a very special panel involving one of our prominent #SPNFAMILY members, Genevieve Padaleck

Jul 22 2017

The photos from Nightsky have been coming in slowly and we are keeping an archive of everything take

Jul 22 2017

The Tick has had a big presence at Comic Con.

Jul 22 2017

EW sat down with Jared, Jensen and Misha at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

The Facebook Live chat with Jared, Jensen and Misha is now available.

Jul 21 2017

Catching up with Supernatural Alumni at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

Today was the big Timeless panel at San Diego Comic Con.  Our master Eric Kripke was there to t

Jul 20 2017

The cast will appear live tomorrow, July 21, 2017 and will be seen on the Supernatural Facebook page

Jul 20 2017

The first clip from Jared and Jensen's appearance on Conan O'Brien

Jul 20 2017

The WB has released the poster for next season.

Jul 19 2017

The Conan O'Brien show has put out a teaser for tonight's appearance.

Jul 16 2017

Mark Pellegrino is in the running for a Tean Choice Award

Jul 16 2017

We have the first spoilers from this year's TV Guide article covering Comic Con.

Jul 15 2017

Warner Brothers is having a Gift Pack Giveaway.

Jul 14 2017

We have the images on the Comic Con bags for this year's Comic Con.

Jul 12 2017

Conan O'Brien is going to Comic Con and he's going to have Jared and Jensen on his show.

Jul 12 2017

Jensen and others are posting on social media from Vancouver. No Spoilers.

Jul 12 2017

San Diego Comic Con must be just around the corner!  Each year at this time we get some awesome

Jul 08 2017

Rogue Events, the company that hosted the Asylum conventions, is going out of business.

Jun 29 2017

IMDB has posted casting for episode 13.01

Jun 29 2017

It's official, Supernatural is coming to Comic Con this year.

Jun 27 2017

As your Winchester Family Business Editor-in-Chief, I have an exciting announcement to share.  

WFB Feature Articles

Sep 20 2017 | LK

 Welcome to Part 3 of my tale of attending my very first Supernatural convention! You'll want t

Read more...
Sep 18 2017 | LK

 

" I write about the power of trying, because I want to be okay with failing. I write about

Read more...
Sep 17 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural around the web this week.

Read more...
Sep 15 2017 | LK

Welcome to part 2 of my tale of attending my first Supernatural convention! If you missed Part 1, it

Read more...
Sep 14 2017 | Mallena

Richard Speight, Jr.’s birthday was on September 4th and in his honor, I’m writing a review of o

Read more...
Sep 13 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #4

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way. It's a qu

Read more...
Sep 12 2017 | LK

Introduction

 

Boy, this will be a long one! That is probably the sentence I will hear

Read more...
Sep 11 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.17 "The British Invasion". Once again

Read more...
Sep 10 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week

Read more...
Sep 09 2017 | LK

 

" For there is no friend like a sister in calm or stormy weather; To cheer one on the tediou

Read more...
Sep 08 2017 | Elle

One of the last Supernatural episodes of season 12 that was more formulaic and standard MOTW than bi

Read more...
Sep 07 2017 | Mallena

 

Who loves the idea of time travel? I do!  The possibilities are endless as I contemplat

Read more...
Sep 06 2017 | LK

 

"Don't call the world dirty because you forgot to clean your glasses.” — Joseph Addi

Read more...
Sep 04 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.16 "Ladies Drink Free". Once again I h

Read more...
Sep 03 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural and Family in the news this week!

Read more...
Sep 01 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #3

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a qu

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Percysowner

What are Supernatural fans up to? Here's the latest scoop as of August, 2017!

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Alice

My choices for part one were revealed, so without further delay, here are the Supernatural Season Tw

Read more...
Aug 28 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for Supernatural! For 12.15, "Somewhere Between Heave

Read more...
Aug 27 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 26 2017 | Nightsky

One of the unique attractions of San Diego Comic-Con is wandering the vendor floor looking at the am

Read more...
Aug 25 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #2

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a quick a

Read more...
Aug 24 2017 | Mallena

This week, I’ve been musing about family dramas.  There are many great examples of the genre

Read more...
Aug 21 2017 | Alice

Today I was utterly dismayed to hear about the closure of a long time fan site which the Wincheste

Read more...
Aug 19 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 18 2017 | Alice

Just like every year, The WFB doesn't stop with just the fan choice awards!  Your friendly neig

Read more...
Aug 16 2017 | LK

 

"The stars shall fade away, the sun himself Grow dim with age, and nature sink in years, B

Read more...

WFB Motivational Posters

Fingerpaint3.jpg

Nightsky's New Book!



I promised it, and I’m delivering!  After my procedure Tuesday, I have risen like a phoenix from the ashes (preferably one that has reformed and/or hasn’t killed so I can get the Winchester brothers to decide not to do me in...) and am working on my review.  O.K., I’m being a little melodramatic...it really wasn’t a big deal, but still, it has meant I haven’t been able to work out all week...or really do much of anything--like go to the library and download the episode to watch.  And dealing with my parents...but that is another story for another day...



 

The story of the day is “A Little Slice of Kevin”, the episode of Supernatural that aired last week.  As is typical with boys (or at least our boys), the angst between Sam and Dean has been put aside to deal with more important things--like a string of random kidnappings...and Dean’s man-pain over leaving Cas in Purgatory.  We got a lot of Flashback Purgatory moments, and Dean looks so amazingly splendiferous all dirty and feral that I thought I would write a sonnet to better illustrate:



 

A Sonnet to Dean Winchester

 

Oh Dean, your man-pain always hurts my heart,

When seeing you does bring me so much glee,

You know the fight is yours to take your part,

And look so sexy that you make me squee.

 

But on your shoulders so much weight you bear,

And fail to see the good that you have done,

Each time you shed that manly single tear,

You brace yourself and stay when others run.

 

Although so many times you have been told,

Impossible it is to save them all,

You blame yourself for leaving Cas out cold,

You blame yourself whenever others fall.

 

If only you would hear what others speak,

You’d see your strengths and see you are not weak.

 

It was touch and go for a minute whether the sonnet would be about Sam or Dean...Jared Padalecki’s hair may warrant a sonnet all on its own.  We will see where the season takes me.  A sonnet has been requested about Miles Matheson’s hair (Revolution.  If you aren’t watching, you may want to get on that).  I write reviews for Revolution on the www.tvfortherestofus.com site.

 

I may or may not have sighed a bit when I read in the credits that the episode was written by Brad Buckner and Eugenie Ross-Leming.  They are the writing team that brought us Route 666 and Slice Girls.  While I always am ready for a Dean!Sex scene, the storylines were not my favorites.  The director was Charles Robert Carner, who I IMDB searched, but didn’t recognize anything he has done.

 

 

I was pleasantly surprised about the episode, though. The fact that Mama Tran was duped by a witch left me underwhelmed--a slight bit obvious.  Witches tend to be bad news in the SPNverse. Ms. Tran busting out the way she did with the massive water-launcher was glorious!  As was finding out that prophets are a lot like vampire slayers (Buffyverse).  I was happy to see Chuck brought up.  We haven’t really heard anything about Chuck, and you’d think this whole “prophet of the Lord” thing would have sparked a renewed interest like “hey, what happened to Chuck?” I think most of us have questioned if Chuck was really a prophet or something else--maybe God himself.  The way “Swan Song” was done definitely seemed that way.  I suppose Chuck throwing his name on a list wouldn’t be that big a deal...The angels don’t see to have any knowledge of the prophets other than their names. It is very possible...especially since the angels don’t seem to know what happened to Chuck.

 

So much more than the witch betrayal and finding out about the other potential prophets happened though.  There was a lot of movement in this episode!  Cas returned,  we met Naomi (Amanda Tapping), and got to see that we aren’t done questioning the intention of the angels.  Dean’s man-pain was showing, and Sam was worried about his brother and Cas...

 

Like Sam and Dean, Crowley has been searching for Kevin Tran...but Crowley has decided to buy himself some insurance in the process.  Only one prophet exists at a time, but all angels have the knowledge of each potential prophet in the currently living generation.  As such, Crowley has kidnapped Samandriel and tortures him for the names of the potentials. He then sends demons out for them.  Ms. Tran employs a witch to help them find ingredients for “demon bombs” with disasterous results, and Dean’s guilt over leaving Cas in Purgatory reaches new levels...or does it?

 

And on to the analysis...



 

After last episode’s blow up, this episode was a breath of fresh air.  We saw Sam and Dean working together and deciding together that they should look into the random kidnappings.  We saw Sam worried about his brother’s new level of distraction, and Sam listen to Dean when Dean mentioned his misgivings about how Cas got out of Purgatory.  All in all, it was a very healthy brotherly exchange, complete with the hand on the shoulder showing support.

 

Part of me worries about this brush over of the issues that came out the episode before.  Are we just glossing over what happened? Tucking it into a pocket and forgetting about it?  But then I remember, these are guys.  They fought it out a bit last time, but the moment has passed and they probably want to get back to what they do.  Dean said things while under ghost influence, Sam said things in anger.  I’m sure neither one of them wants to dwell on it.  I’m also sure that since Dean is actually showing some willingness to discuss some aspects of things today, Sam wouldn’t want to infringe on that potentiality for growth in their relationship in any way.

 

What I really loved seeing was just how well Sam and Cas know Dean.  He isn’t much of a talker.  He is someone who is a real “guy’s guy” and wants so badly to appear strong and together.  Part of it is being the older brother.  He feels like he always has to be the strong one.  This attitude has been part of his life and part of his psyche.  Because it is so ingrained in his personality, we’ve even seen it in the way he treats Cas. In this episode Cas knew, and I’m sure Sam did too, that even though Dean was saying he didn’t “understand why he (Cas) didn’t try harder” and how it wasn’t on him that Dean blamed himself.  He was saying these things not so much to convince Cas or convince Sam, but to convince himself.  I loved that moment when Cas says “So you think this was your fault?”. I love that Cas knows Dean well enough to not try to talk him through understanding.  That would mean that Dean would be putting what Cas said against his own memory of what happened.  Instead, Cas showed Dean what happened. Dean couldn’t refute that.  As Cas said, Dean remembered it the way he needed to remember it.

 

Dean always tries so hard to save everyone.  I love that Cas and Sam see that as one of Dean’s strengths.  Both of them have at times seen this differently, however. Dean’s attempts to save everyone also seem to mean that, to an extent, Dean is always trying to control the situation.  He remembers how he failed people, or how he could have made things work out differently.  He doesn’t factor into things how other people’s will can affect the outcome.  Cas points out that he was stronger than Dean and able to push Dean away.  Sam has seen this in the past as Dean always treating him like a little brother and not like an equal. 

 

In this episode he was doing a little ordering around of Cas, but I do see where he has been trying to make corrections where Sam is concerned.  I think Dean feels that with what happened with Crowley, what happened in Purgatory, and the fact that Cas has no memory of how he got out of Purgatory, that maybe Cas isn’t ready for big decision making on his own.  

 

Maybe with Sam laying it on the line Dean is ready to give some of that control over to Sam.  I feel that we can see a beginning of this when Dean talked to Sam this episode about seeing Cas, and then after about his misgivings about Cas and how he got out of Purgatory. 

 

Turns out Dean’s hesitancy regarding how Cas got out of Purgatory was well founded. We know that a group of angels stormed Purgatory to get Cas.  My question is why at that particular moment?  Did the fact that Cas pushed Dean into the rift, sacrificing himself, make him worthy of redemption?  Was it a higher order that called him back?  Is this like when God saved Cas? And that whole ultra-blue eyes, showing his wings show he gave Crowley symbolic of that whole thing we learned about back with Chuck? 



In “The Monster At the End of This Book” we found out that if a Prophet of the Lord is threatened, an archangel shows up to smite whatever is threatening him/her. Could Cas have been elevated to archangel?  If so, why did that visit with Naomi seem like they were brainwashing him somehow? What are the angels after?  I am trying not to be too cynical. Maybe they were just interested in finding out what was going on with “the word” and making sure it didn’t fall into the wrong hands.  We have seen the angels doing some pretty sneaky things though...

 

And what was Kevin about to read in that post script from Metatron? I am very curious about that. We now know that there are a compendium of these tablets.  more than just leviathan and demons.  Angels? Monsters? The possibilities are endless.  Is there a tablet about God himself?  I love that there are endless possibilities.  I worry about the whole is Cas being played as a chump thing...I really don’t think Dean is going to fall for it.  Dean has been burned before by Cas.  I don’t think he’ll be so quick to overlook odd occurrences this time.  That power the angels have to pull him out and return him to the same moment so that they never know he is gone will make seeing through Cas very difficult. Cas isn’t supposed to remember the meetings.  Poor Cas!

 

I really liked Ms. Tran’s kick butt behavior in this episode!  We got to see her get her mom on (being not impressed by her son staring at Delta’s butt). She was so great taking that demon on, AND tying him up and putting him in her trunk to bring over to the Winchesters!  Her whole hiring a witch thing showed she is still a newbie at this...And there was even that wonderful moment where we see the generational differences! (“Casual encounters.  That means no questions asked.” “No, Mom, that’s another section of Craig’s List.”).  Looks like Cas will be able to fix that finger for Kevin!  And I loved the Garth reference!  Ms. Tran and Kevin are going to Garth’s!  This shows that Sam and Dean respect and trust Garth.  Sure, he may not be Bobby, but he’s earned their respect, and that is awesome. I’m excited for the chance to see Garth again. He brings an optimism into the mix that Sam and Dean have been lacking.  They have both had to shoulder so much crap for so long, that Garth is really good for them.  In my opinion anyway.

 

I also liked how Sam brought up the possibility that Dean seeing Cas could be “survivor’s guilt”.  Maybe the oddness we’ve seen from Sam so far this season (lines that don’t totally seem like “Sam” things to say, or looking for a fight) have to do with Sam’s issues regarding that as well. Did Sam have a “Xander” moment and feel that maybe Dean was in a better place--that he didn’t have the right to drag Dean back.  Maybe he really had to work at it himself to walk past losing Dean (like he was trying to tell Dean he needed to do about Cas).  We saw that there might have been an issue wit this in “Southern Comfort” when Sam told Amelia about how horrible it was losing Dean.

 

The Purgatory scenes were as amazing as they have been all season.  I especially loved seeing the leviathans rise up out of the ooze and form into people Death Eater Levi style!  I also loved seeing Benny’s soul dematerialize into light and go into Dean’s arm.  The “trust” moment where Dean comments that Benny has “earned it” was great. I also liked Benny’s side comment to Cas about how he thought they (angels) were “all about faith”.  Faith and trust came up a lot in that convo right before getting to the rift...

 

With Sam and Dean, Cas and Benny, this episode has a bunch of moments, allusions and side notes to trust and faith. Dean’s faith in Cas is not there, but what is definitely there is a desire to find that faith again.  Standing in the way of that is the lack of understanding of how Cas got out of Purgatory.  Now we also have the possibility of Cas as the reluctant spy. Benny wasn’t in this episode other than in flashback, but we know from past flashbacks, as well as what Dean said to him in one of these flashbacks that Benny has earned trust as far as Dean is concerned.  The fact that Dean was confiding his fears to Sam in this episode is demonstrative that Dean is working on their relationship as “equals."

 

Kevin and Ms. Tran thought they could do better on their own, but have shown a “green-ness” when it comes to understanding just who they can and can’t trust, and to what extent people will go.  They definitely couldn’t be left alone, and are being left with Garth, someone who has shown Sam and Dean worthy of their trust.

 

And just because I love to give y’all the music from the eppie... add “We Gotta Get Out Of This Place” by The Animals to your playlist!

 

Let me know what you thought of the episode!  Unfortunately, we have to wait another week for a new one--not this Wednesday, but NEXT Wednesday.  Thanks for reading!

Screencaps from http://homeofthenutty.com/supernatural/screencaps