WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

More Supernatural Interviews From Comic Con 2017 - Misha Collins

More Supernatural Interviews From Comic Con 2017 - Jensen Ackles

More Supernatural Interviews From Comic Con 2017 - Jared Padalecki

Supernatural Interviews Comic Con 2017 - Andrew Dabb

Interview With Executive Producer Robert Singer - Comic Con 2017

Interview With Jensen Ackles - Comic Con 2017

Check out all our San Diego Comic Con coverage, including on scene reports from Nightsky!  

 

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

24 Jul 2017 14:25

Nightsky posted her video of the Kansas performance at Comic Con.

23 Jul 2017 20:11

We may be getting several of these today.

23 Jul 2017 14:56

The cast for Wayward Sisters has been announced.

23 Jul 2017 14:01

The 2017 San Diego Comic Con "Supernatural" panel was one for the ages.  A surprise concert, a

23 Jul 2017 00:16

Today was a very special panel involving one of our prominent #SPNFAMILY members, Genevieve Padaleck

22 Jul 2017 22:37

The photos from Nightsky have been coming in slowly and we are keeping an archive of everything take

22 Jul 2017 21:41

The Tick has had a big presence at Comic Con.

22 Jul 2017 13:54

EW sat down with Jared, Jensen and Misha at Comic Con.

21 Jul 2017 22:30

The Facebook Live chat with Jared, Jensen and Misha is now available.

21 Jul 2017 14:27

Catching up with Supernatural Alumni at Comic Con.

21 Jul 2017 00:09

Today was the big Timeless panel at San Diego Comic Con.  Our master Eric Kripke was there to t

20 Jul 2017 14:59

The cast will appear live tomorrow, July 21, 2017 and will be seen on the Supernatural Facebook page

20 Jul 2017 11:52

The first clip from Jared and Jensen's appearance on Conan O'Brien

20 Jul 2017 06:45

The WB has released the poster for next season.

19 Jul 2017 17:35

The Conan O'Brien show has put out a teaser for tonight's appearance.

16 Jul 2017 14:44

Mark Pellegrino is in the running for a Tean Choice Award

16 Jul 2017 01:45

We have the first spoilers from this year's TV Guide article covering Comic Con.

15 Jul 2017 12:23

Warner Brothers is having a Gift Pack Giveaway.

14 Jul 2017 15:27

We have the images on the Comic Con bags for this year's Comic Con.

12 Jul 2017 16:28

Conan O'Brien is going to Comic Con and he's going to have Jared and Jensen on his show.

12 Jul 2017 13:22

Jensen and others are posting on social media from Vancouver. No Spoilers.

12 Jul 2017 10:20

San Diego Comic Con must be just around the corner!  Each year at this time we get some awesome

08 Jul 2017 19:22

Rogue Events, the company that hosted the Asylum conventions, is going out of business.

29 Jun 2017 14:55

IMDB has posted casting for episode 13.01

29 Jun 2017 14:08

It's official, Supernatural is coming to Comic Con this year.

27 Jun 2017 21:32

As your Winchester Family Business Editor-in-Chief, I have an exciting announcement to share.  

20 Jun 2017 14:00

Reportedly, Wayward Sisters (not Daughters) will be given a backdoor pilot in season 13.

20 Jun 2017 08:33

The Teen Choice Awards announced the first round of their nominations yesterday and Supernatural is

08 Jun 2017 15:20

We have a date for the end of Hellatus!

06 Jun 2017 21:28

Ty Olsson (Benny Lafitte) just won a Leo Award.

03 Jun 2017 14:53

Jared has announced the final phase of the relaunch of his AKF campaign.

01 Jun 2017 23:33

Oh yeah, we had a LOT to discuss!  This is a supersized TV Fanatic Roundtable this time, design

01 Jun 2017 15:30

Jared and Jensen have both spoken about their daughters recently.

01 Jun 2017 10:22

Jared has relaunched part five of his Always Keep Fighting campaign.

31 May 2017 08:44

We have the first information on the season 12 DVD.

26 May 2017 14:18

Jared and Gen Padalecki both spoke in support of David's Law, a Texas law which targets cyber bullyi

26 May 2017 09:14

Jared started part four of his relaunch.

24 May 2017 15:07

Editor's Note: This article chronologically presents the reports and tweets on Mark Sheppard's statu

24 May 2017 09:41

 Now that season 12 is over, our stars are working for charity.

21 May 2017 09:14

Jared has launched part two of his AKF campaign.

20 May 2017 16:46

We have a few spoilers that came out of the Jus In Bello Convention this weekend.

19 May 2017 11:25

Here are the ratings for last night's finale episodes.

18 May 2017 21:38

Well, we were uninamous, but that's not necessarily good.  All four of us at the TV Fanatic Rou

18 May 2017 15:34

Jared talks about the season finale, season 13 spoilers and relaunching his Always Keep Fighting Cam

18 May 2017 12:05

We are getting our first spoilers for next season at the CW upfront presentation.

18 May 2017 08:52

The CW has released its schedule for next season.

WFB Feature Articles

Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

The final actor is Misha Collins.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Jensen spoke to different outlets at Comic Con this year.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

We return to the actors who were interviewed at Comic Con. This time Jared Padalecki.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Press Room Interviews with Andrew Dabb.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

 Last interview up and it's with the man who holds it all together, Robert Singer.  He giv

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

An interview with Jensen is always a pleasure!  The interview started out casually - talk about

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

It's Misha's turn!  In our roundtable interview in the San Diego Comic Con press room today, he

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

Today was a pretty awesome day!  Here's the WFB roundtable interview with Jared Padalecki. &nbs

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.17 "The British Invasion". Once again

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Mallena

This episode introduces us to Anna Milton.  She isn’t a normal girl, like she appears, but is

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Alice

The nominations were collected, the votes have been cast, the results have been tabulated, and the w

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

San Diego Comic Con 2017 is this week! The most anticipated comic book, superhero, scifi/fantasy gen

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Elle

12 Years of Big Boss Battles: Supernatural Villainy for the Ages

“I'm glad, honestly. I'm not s

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | LK

 

"The gleam in their eyes telegraphs only too clearly that they are hoping for a headline,

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Here's what we know about this year's event!

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Mallena

I was underwhelmed with season ten for most of its run, so it was wonderful to watch an episode as t

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural on the web this week!

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series! For Supernatural 12.13 "Family Feud", I put tog

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Alice

The moment is finally here!  The nominations have been tabulated, now it's time to vote.  

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | LK

 

"The unreal is more powerful than the real, because nothing is as perfect as you can imagine

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to "Memorable Moments" of Supernatural! This edition focuses on episode 12.12 "Stuck In

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Mallena

There has been a lot of talk lately about Jody and the women of Supernatural.  In honor of the

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Elle

Rich, riveting, complex and so full of story details and character threads that it's impossible to m

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | LK

 "Yesterday is but today's memory, and tomorrow is today's dream." — Khalil Gibran

Loosing

Read more...

WFB Motivational Posters - Comic Con

ComicCon2.jpg

Nightsky's New Book!



I promised it, and I’m delivering!  After my procedure Tuesday, I have risen like a phoenix from the ashes (preferably one that has reformed and/or hasn’t killed so I can get the Winchester brothers to decide not to do me in...) and am working on my review.  O.K., I’m being a little melodramatic...it really wasn’t a big deal, but still, it has meant I haven’t been able to work out all week...or really do much of anything--like go to the library and download the episode to watch.  And dealing with my parents...but that is another story for another day...



 

The story of the day is “A Little Slice of Kevin”, the episode of Supernatural that aired last week.  As is typical with boys (or at least our boys), the angst between Sam and Dean has been put aside to deal with more important things--like a string of random kidnappings...and Dean’s man-pain over leaving Cas in Purgatory.  We got a lot of Flashback Purgatory moments, and Dean looks so amazingly splendiferous all dirty and feral that I thought I would write a sonnet to better illustrate:



 

A Sonnet to Dean Winchester

 

Oh Dean, your man-pain always hurts my heart,

When seeing you does bring me so much glee,

You know the fight is yours to take your part,

And look so sexy that you make me squee.

 

But on your shoulders so much weight you bear,

And fail to see the good that you have done,

Each time you shed that manly single tear,

You brace yourself and stay when others run.

 

Although so many times you have been told,

Impossible it is to save them all,

You blame yourself for leaving Cas out cold,

You blame yourself whenever others fall.

 

If only you would hear what others speak,

You’d see your strengths and see you are not weak.

 

It was touch and go for a minute whether the sonnet would be about Sam or Dean...Jared Padalecki’s hair may warrant a sonnet all on its own.  We will see where the season takes me.  A sonnet has been requested about Miles Matheson’s hair (Revolution.  If you aren’t watching, you may want to get on that).  I write reviews for Revolution on the www.tvfortherestofus.com site.

 

I may or may not have sighed a bit when I read in the credits that the episode was written by Brad Buckner and Eugenie Ross-Leming.  They are the writing team that brought us Route 666 and Slice Girls.  While I always am ready for a Dean!Sex scene, the storylines were not my favorites.  The director was Charles Robert Carner, who I IMDB searched, but didn’t recognize anything he has done.

 

 

I was pleasantly surprised about the episode, though. The fact that Mama Tran was duped by a witch left me underwhelmed--a slight bit obvious.  Witches tend to be bad news in the SPNverse. Ms. Tran busting out the way she did with the massive water-launcher was glorious!  As was finding out that prophets are a lot like vampire slayers (Buffyverse).  I was happy to see Chuck brought up.  We haven’t really heard anything about Chuck, and you’d think this whole “prophet of the Lord” thing would have sparked a renewed interest like “hey, what happened to Chuck?” I think most of us have questioned if Chuck was really a prophet or something else--maybe God himself.  The way “Swan Song” was done definitely seemed that way.  I suppose Chuck throwing his name on a list wouldn’t be that big a deal...The angels don’t see to have any knowledge of the prophets other than their names. It is very possible...especially since the angels don’t seem to know what happened to Chuck.

 

So much more than the witch betrayal and finding out about the other potential prophets happened though.  There was a lot of movement in this episode!  Cas returned,  we met Naomi (Amanda Tapping), and got to see that we aren’t done questioning the intention of the angels.  Dean’s man-pain was showing, and Sam was worried about his brother and Cas...

 

Like Sam and Dean, Crowley has been searching for Kevin Tran...but Crowley has decided to buy himself some insurance in the process.  Only one prophet exists at a time, but all angels have the knowledge of each potential prophet in the currently living generation.  As such, Crowley has kidnapped Samandriel and tortures him for the names of the potentials. He then sends demons out for them.  Ms. Tran employs a witch to help them find ingredients for “demon bombs” with disasterous results, and Dean’s guilt over leaving Cas in Purgatory reaches new levels...or does it?

 

And on to the analysis...



 

After last episode’s blow up, this episode was a breath of fresh air.  We saw Sam and Dean working together and deciding together that they should look into the random kidnappings.  We saw Sam worried about his brother’s new level of distraction, and Sam listen to Dean when Dean mentioned his misgivings about how Cas got out of Purgatory.  All in all, it was a very healthy brotherly exchange, complete with the hand on the shoulder showing support.

 

Part of me worries about this brush over of the issues that came out the episode before.  Are we just glossing over what happened? Tucking it into a pocket and forgetting about it?  But then I remember, these are guys.  They fought it out a bit last time, but the moment has passed and they probably want to get back to what they do.  Dean said things while under ghost influence, Sam said things in anger.  I’m sure neither one of them wants to dwell on it.  I’m also sure that since Dean is actually showing some willingness to discuss some aspects of things today, Sam wouldn’t want to infringe on that potentiality for growth in their relationship in any way.

 

What I really loved seeing was just how well Sam and Cas know Dean.  He isn’t much of a talker.  He is someone who is a real “guy’s guy” and wants so badly to appear strong and together.  Part of it is being the older brother.  He feels like he always has to be the strong one.  This attitude has been part of his life and part of his psyche.  Because it is so ingrained in his personality, we’ve even seen it in the way he treats Cas. In this episode Cas knew, and I’m sure Sam did too, that even though Dean was saying he didn’t “understand why he (Cas) didn’t try harder” and how it wasn’t on him that Dean blamed himself.  He was saying these things not so much to convince Cas or convince Sam, but to convince himself.  I loved that moment when Cas says “So you think this was your fault?”. I love that Cas knows Dean well enough to not try to talk him through understanding.  That would mean that Dean would be putting what Cas said against his own memory of what happened.  Instead, Cas showed Dean what happened. Dean couldn’t refute that.  As Cas said, Dean remembered it the way he needed to remember it.

 

Dean always tries so hard to save everyone.  I love that Cas and Sam see that as one of Dean’s strengths.  Both of them have at times seen this differently, however. Dean’s attempts to save everyone also seem to mean that, to an extent, Dean is always trying to control the situation.  He remembers how he failed people, or how he could have made things work out differently.  He doesn’t factor into things how other people’s will can affect the outcome.  Cas points out that he was stronger than Dean and able to push Dean away.  Sam has seen this in the past as Dean always treating him like a little brother and not like an equal. 

 

In this episode he was doing a little ordering around of Cas, but I do see where he has been trying to make corrections where Sam is concerned.  I think Dean feels that with what happened with Crowley, what happened in Purgatory, and the fact that Cas has no memory of how he got out of Purgatory, that maybe Cas isn’t ready for big decision making on his own.  

 

Maybe with Sam laying it on the line Dean is ready to give some of that control over to Sam.  I feel that we can see a beginning of this when Dean talked to Sam this episode about seeing Cas, and then after about his misgivings about Cas and how he got out of Purgatory. 

 

Turns out Dean’s hesitancy regarding how Cas got out of Purgatory was well founded. We know that a group of angels stormed Purgatory to get Cas.  My question is why at that particular moment?  Did the fact that Cas pushed Dean into the rift, sacrificing himself, make him worthy of redemption?  Was it a higher order that called him back?  Is this like when God saved Cas? And that whole ultra-blue eyes, showing his wings show he gave Crowley symbolic of that whole thing we learned about back with Chuck? 



In “The Monster At the End of This Book” we found out that if a Prophet of the Lord is threatened, an archangel shows up to smite whatever is threatening him/her. Could Cas have been elevated to archangel?  If so, why did that visit with Naomi seem like they were brainwashing him somehow? What are the angels after?  I am trying not to be too cynical. Maybe they were just interested in finding out what was going on with “the word” and making sure it didn’t fall into the wrong hands.  We have seen the angels doing some pretty sneaky things though...

 

And what was Kevin about to read in that post script from Metatron? I am very curious about that. We now know that there are a compendium of these tablets.  more than just leviathan and demons.  Angels? Monsters? The possibilities are endless.  Is there a tablet about God himself?  I love that there are endless possibilities.  I worry about the whole is Cas being played as a chump thing...I really don’t think Dean is going to fall for it.  Dean has been burned before by Cas.  I don’t think he’ll be so quick to overlook odd occurrences this time.  That power the angels have to pull him out and return him to the same moment so that they never know he is gone will make seeing through Cas very difficult. Cas isn’t supposed to remember the meetings.  Poor Cas!

 

I really liked Ms. Tran’s kick butt behavior in this episode!  We got to see her get her mom on (being not impressed by her son staring at Delta’s butt). She was so great taking that demon on, AND tying him up and putting him in her trunk to bring over to the Winchesters!  Her whole hiring a witch thing showed she is still a newbie at this...And there was even that wonderful moment where we see the generational differences! (“Casual encounters.  That means no questions asked.” “No, Mom, that’s another section of Craig’s List.”).  Looks like Cas will be able to fix that finger for Kevin!  And I loved the Garth reference!  Ms. Tran and Kevin are going to Garth’s!  This shows that Sam and Dean respect and trust Garth.  Sure, he may not be Bobby, but he’s earned their respect, and that is awesome. I’m excited for the chance to see Garth again. He brings an optimism into the mix that Sam and Dean have been lacking.  They have both had to shoulder so much crap for so long, that Garth is really good for them.  In my opinion anyway.

 

I also liked how Sam brought up the possibility that Dean seeing Cas could be “survivor’s guilt”.  Maybe the oddness we’ve seen from Sam so far this season (lines that don’t totally seem like “Sam” things to say, or looking for a fight) have to do with Sam’s issues regarding that as well. Did Sam have a “Xander” moment and feel that maybe Dean was in a better place--that he didn’t have the right to drag Dean back.  Maybe he really had to work at it himself to walk past losing Dean (like he was trying to tell Dean he needed to do about Cas).  We saw that there might have been an issue wit this in “Southern Comfort” when Sam told Amelia about how horrible it was losing Dean.

 

The Purgatory scenes were as amazing as they have been all season.  I especially loved seeing the leviathans rise up out of the ooze and form into people Death Eater Levi style!  I also loved seeing Benny’s soul dematerialize into light and go into Dean’s arm.  The “trust” moment where Dean comments that Benny has “earned it” was great. I also liked Benny’s side comment to Cas about how he thought they (angels) were “all about faith”.  Faith and trust came up a lot in that convo right before getting to the rift...

 

With Sam and Dean, Cas and Benny, this episode has a bunch of moments, allusions and side notes to trust and faith. Dean’s faith in Cas is not there, but what is definitely there is a desire to find that faith again.  Standing in the way of that is the lack of understanding of how Cas got out of Purgatory.  Now we also have the possibility of Cas as the reluctant spy. Benny wasn’t in this episode other than in flashback, but we know from past flashbacks, as well as what Dean said to him in one of these flashbacks that Benny has earned trust as far as Dean is concerned.  The fact that Dean was confiding his fears to Sam in this episode is demonstrative that Dean is working on their relationship as “equals."

 

Kevin and Ms. Tran thought they could do better on their own, but have shown a “green-ness” when it comes to understanding just who they can and can’t trust, and to what extent people will go.  They definitely couldn’t be left alone, and are being left with Garth, someone who has shown Sam and Dean worthy of their trust.

 

And just because I love to give y’all the music from the eppie... add “We Gotta Get Out Of This Place” by The Animals to your playlist!

 

Let me know what you thought of the episode!  Unfortunately, we have to wait another week for a new one--not this Wednesday, but NEXT Wednesday.  Thanks for reading!

Screencaps from http://homeofthenutty.com/supernatural/screencaps