WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 3

Fan Video of the Week: Supernatural Reflections "The British Invasion”

Supernatural Bits & Pieces September 17, 2017

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 2

Mallena's Supernatural Musings: 3.11 "Mystery Spot"

Supernatural Match Game #4

Check out all our San Diego Comic Con coverage, including on scene reports from Nightsky!  

 

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

Sep 18 2017

Jeffrey Dean Morgan and Hillary Burton showed off her baby bump at last night's Emmy Awards ceremony

Sep 18 2017

The actor, who once played Gordon Walker, won an Emmy last night for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Dra

Sep 17 2017

We have a copy of the EW preview for Supernatural and BTS pictures of episode 6.

Sep 13 2017

We're getting close. The CW released a short promo.

Sep 12 2017

EW just published a big spoiler for season 13. TVLine Spoilers added!

Sep 12 2017

September 13 is Supernatural Day!

Sep 08 2017

TVLine released it's fall preview and had this to say about Supernatural

Sep 06 2017

With the DVD for season 12 hitting the shelves yesterday, several oulets have posted deleted scenes

Sep 04 2017

Misha Collins made the announcement today.

Sep 01 2017

Stories continue to come out on Jensen Ackles fundraiser to help Texas after the devastation of Hurr

Aug 31 2017

The Supernatural Family's work to aid in disaster rescue and recovery efforts has even been noticed

Aug 30 2017

Buddy TV posted a new deleted scene from last season.

Aug 28 2017

Jensen and Danneel Ackles are spearheading an effort to help victims of Hurricane Harvey

Aug 24 2017

We have titles for episodes through 12.

Aug 23 2017

TV Line has some spoilers for this season.

Aug 23 2017

There are a lot of Behing-The-Scenes shots from episodes 3 of Supernatural season 13!

Aug 20 2017

The cast is wishing Misha a Happy Birthday!

Aug 18 2017

Christine Kilmer's latest vlog is up and it's seems rather timely given the latest events.  In

Aug 12 2017

Spoiler TV posted the titles for the first nine episodes and episode 16

Aug 12 2017

Recently, I had to shut down the site because of horrible, negative, disrespectful fighting in our c

Aug 09 2017

We have casting news for season 13.

Jul 24 2017

Nightsky posted her video of the Kansas performance at Comic Con.

Jul 23 2017

We may be getting several of these today.

Jul 23 2017

The cast for Wayward Sisters has been announced.

Jul 23 2017

The 2017 San Diego Comic Con "Supernatural" panel was one for the ages.  A surprise concert, a

Jul 23 2017

Today was a very special panel involving one of our prominent #SPNFAMILY members, Genevieve Padaleck

Jul 22 2017

The photos from Nightsky have been coming in slowly and we are keeping an archive of everything take

Jul 22 2017

The Tick has had a big presence at Comic Con.

Jul 22 2017

EW sat down with Jared, Jensen and Misha at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

The Facebook Live chat with Jared, Jensen and Misha is now available.

Jul 21 2017

Catching up with Supernatural Alumni at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

Today was the big Timeless panel at San Diego Comic Con.  Our master Eric Kripke was there to t

Jul 20 2017

The cast will appear live tomorrow, July 21, 2017 and will be seen on the Supernatural Facebook page

Jul 20 2017

The first clip from Jared and Jensen's appearance on Conan O'Brien

Jul 20 2017

The WB has released the poster for next season.

Jul 19 2017

The Conan O'Brien show has put out a teaser for tonight's appearance.

Jul 16 2017

Mark Pellegrino is in the running for a Tean Choice Award

Jul 16 2017

We have the first spoilers from this year's TV Guide article covering Comic Con.

Jul 15 2017

Warner Brothers is having a Gift Pack Giveaway.

Jul 14 2017

We have the images on the Comic Con bags for this year's Comic Con.

Jul 12 2017

Conan O'Brien is going to Comic Con and he's going to have Jared and Jensen on his show.

Jul 12 2017

Jensen and others are posting on social media from Vancouver. No Spoilers.

Jul 12 2017

San Diego Comic Con must be just around the corner!  Each year at this time we get some awesome

Jul 08 2017

Rogue Events, the company that hosted the Asylum conventions, is going out of business.

Jun 29 2017

IMDB has posted casting for episode 13.01

Jun 29 2017

It's official, Supernatural is coming to Comic Con this year.

Jun 27 2017

As your Winchester Family Business Editor-in-Chief, I have an exciting announcement to share.  

WFB Feature Articles

Sep 20 2017 | LK

 Welcome to Part 3 of my tale of attending my very first Supernatural convention! You'll want t

Read more...
Sep 18 2017 | LK

 

" I write about the power of trying, because I want to be okay with failing. I write about

Read more...
Sep 17 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural around the web this week.

Read more...
Sep 15 2017 | LK

Welcome to part 2 of my tale of attending my first Supernatural convention! If you missed Part 1, it

Read more...
Sep 14 2017 | Mallena

Richard Speight, Jr.’s birthday was on September 4th and in his honor, I’m writing a review of o

Read more...
Sep 13 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #4

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way. It's a qu

Read more...
Sep 12 2017 | LK

Introduction

 

Boy, this will be a long one! That is probably the sentence I will hear

Read more...
Sep 11 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.17 "The British Invasion". Once again

Read more...
Sep 10 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week

Read more...
Sep 09 2017 | LK

 

" For there is no friend like a sister in calm or stormy weather; To cheer one on the tediou

Read more...
Sep 08 2017 | Elle

One of the last Supernatural episodes of season 12 that was more formulaic and standard MOTW than bi

Read more...
Sep 07 2017 | Mallena

 

Who loves the idea of time travel? I do!  The possibilities are endless as I contemplat

Read more...
Sep 06 2017 | LK

 

"Don't call the world dirty because you forgot to clean your glasses.” — Joseph Addi

Read more...
Sep 04 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.16 "Ladies Drink Free". Once again I h

Read more...
Sep 03 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural and Family in the news this week!

Read more...
Sep 01 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #3

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a qu

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Percysowner

What are Supernatural fans up to? Here's the latest scoop as of August, 2017!

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Alice

My choices for part one were revealed, so without further delay, here are the Supernatural Season Tw

Read more...
Aug 28 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for Supernatural! For 12.15, "Somewhere Between Heave

Read more...
Aug 27 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 26 2017 | Nightsky

One of the unique attractions of San Diego Comic-Con is wandering the vendor floor looking at the am

Read more...
Aug 25 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #2

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a quick a

Read more...
Aug 24 2017 | Mallena

This week, I’ve been musing about family dramas.  There are many great examples of the genre

Read more...
Aug 21 2017 | Alice

Today I was utterly dismayed to hear about the closure of a long time fan site which the Wincheste

Read more...
Aug 19 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 18 2017 | Alice

Just like every year, The WFB doesn't stop with just the fan choice awards!  Your friendly neig

Read more...
Aug 16 2017 | LK

 

"The stars shall fade away, the sun himself Grow dim with age, and nature sink in years, B

Read more...

WFB Motivational Posters

EMFMeter.jpg

Nightsky's New Book!



Thoughts on "A Little Slice of Kevin"
 

Season eight of "Supernatural" has been one of my favourites thus far. It's up there among season four (my favourite season bar none) and season five, my second favourite season, though season eight is certainly edging up there. The writing this season has been strong and feels much more focused and cohesive as compared to some of the recent past seasons. I think so far, A Little Slice of Kevin is favourite season eight installment. There was so much character and plot advancement and some good action to boot.


Witches and Hell Kings: Not that Trustworthy

8x 07 2a


We finally get a peak at what the Tran's have been up to since they ditched Sam and Dean and it certainly isn't glamorous. What was great was the ability of these two to live on the road and protect themselves so definitively against demons, etc. using what they've learned about Devil Traps, salt lines and the like.

One small thing that bothers me is given Mrs. Tran's proclivity for dousing everyone in holy water multiple times and who knows what else to ensure their non-possession status, it was then a surprising move to hire a witch and what was more surprising was that Mrs. Tran really, truly thought she could be trusted even a bit. Obviously, this was a necessary plot thread to get Kevin to Crowley and Mrs. Tran to the Winchesters for help, nevertheless it felt a touch out of line with everything we know about this character.

Crowley and the Starship Enterprise

8x07 3

Mark Sheppard never fails to entertain as Crowley. So evil, so calculating and so witty. As plans go, kidnapping all future prophets to allow for the killing of an uncooperative Kevin if necessary was a pretty good one. The set of the octagonal table and steel room was the perfect interrogation scene for these FP's, and really did have that spaceship or Avenger's-Assemble meeting room feel. The writing wasn't lacking during these scenes either, particularly when one FB asked if Crowley was an alien "“ I laughed out loud. One thing that I so enjoy about the character of Crowley is that despite his unquestionable evilness the character does not act on this evil nature in an absolutely, base way. Yes, he tortures, but long before he gets to that stage he plays word games "“ and he's very good at them. Diabolical is always more fun to watch that violent, in my opinion.

8x07 4

Speaking about torture, poor Samandriel did not last long before giving up the prophets names. Admittedly, I was taken aback that the angel gave up the information at all, at least this easily. I expected him to have lied or left out some key details that would later cause great trouble for Crowley's plan. Kevin seemed to last better, considering he is a human. Ultimately, I enjoyed this entire plot of the kidnapped prophets and the broken tablet. It feels like a good way to keep the tablet plot moving forward with some interest and new developments, which is much preferred to rehashing the same thing over and over until they either figure out how to close the gates of Hell or not. (Pure speculation on my part is that they'll close the gates in the end and then spend the next seasons hunting down was left and cleaning up the Earth).

Hallucinations

8x07 5

This week was something of a change in Dean - his grief/guilt was played more subtle than we've seen before. The random glimpses of Castiel probably would have driven him crazy after too long, and I'm glad the writers chose not to go down that road.

SPN 0359

It was also interesting to see Sam in the guilt counselor role in this episode. He was genial, calm, reassuring and just listened without pushing anything. This isn't to say that Sam hasn't been these things for Dean before "“ of course he has in some capacity, they're very close brothers after all - but to see it now is so refreshing in the character after all the suffering and mental anguish of recent years. Sam has come so, so far over the last year and despite my unfavourable feelings about his lovely doctor, it's obvious she helped him heal in some way. I do look forward to seeing more flashbacks and watching how this came to be.

Broken Tablets and Intriguing Messages

8x07 6a

Kevin gave Crowley some more information on the tablet this week and we in turn gained some of our own. Hearing the words as written on the stone almost suggested there was information written on that tablet that maybe even Heaven didn't really want getting out. And if not on the tablet, somewhere for someone to find and act upon. Perhaps this is why the Guys in White have commandeered Castiel's mind as they have. The final battle was exciting this week "“ introducing the new demon bomb that we've heard so much about again. How handy is that sucker? Time to stock up on those, I'd say. Also, it was good to see Castiel strap on his angel wings and it allowed for the tablet to be divided as well as a way for Crowley to escape to fight another day (and from both a plot view and a viewer perspective, this is a good thing).

 "You can't save everyone, my friend."

8x07 7

I doubt it's a secret that I love Castiel and have from the beginning. Well, after his exchange with Dean my affection for this angel has grown tri-fold. The conversation between Dean and Cas was something that Dean has long needed to hear and to have Cas deliver it in his blunt, straightforward way was probably one of the few ways that Dean would actually have heard the message. Dean is not responsible for everyone and everything that goes wrong but for eight years on "Supernatural" we've watched him should this burden quietly and in truth we know it dates back to when he was young and his father put baby Sammy in his arms to carry out of the fire. In this instance, it was interesting to see how post-traumatic stress and survivor's guilt came together to actually change the memory of Dean leaving purgatory without Cas. Knowing Dean as we do, it's been speculated that he did not literally abandon Cas, but that some other factor impacted the ability for both angel and man to escape. Not only was this the case, but Castiel had intended all along to stay behind for penance and he was wild card factor stopping his own escape from purgatory.

8x07 8

So far this season the purgatory flashbacks have been excellent "“ on point, not overdone and informative. This one in particular and the reveals that stemmed from it were poignantly conjured and acted with subtle potency. From a writing standpoint, I thought this entire conversation and reveal was well written, wholly in character and just emotional enough for the circumstances. With any luck, this is a turning point for Dean.

Castiel: Unwitting Spy

8x07 9

"Supernatural's" take on Heaven and the Angels always makes me grin at the clever interpretations. Heaven is more often than not just as devious as the Hell legions, but almost more so because they are perceived to be gentle, loving and warm when they are really warriors in battle. In this case, we have some secret white room and some blonde who makes one want to reach out and smack that all-knowing, condescending smile from her face representing Heaven and its interests. I'm not altogether clear as to the end game here, as I'm sure this chick and her bosses would want Hell sealed for good just as much as Sam and Dean do "“ at least, it would be in their best interests as far as I can tell. Perhaps they just want to keep informed but I sense more devious intentions, what with the mind control and secretive nature of the meeting. Maybe they are the big bad of the season? Will the Winchesters be making another deal with Crowley for the sake of humankind? Time will tell, I suppose. One thing is for certain though, I am intrigued.

Final Thoughts

8x07 9b

As I've said, great episode top to bottom. This season has been really good at keeping the pieces moving around the board and not leaving plot threads simply dangling or growing stale by being ignored. Now we have Kevin and Mama Tran with Garth and totally willing to work the Winchesters (finally cottoned on that that would be the best course of action, only took almost dying due to one's own stupidity and losing a finger to figure that out), The boys and Cas together and the tablet split in two between good and bad . Not even all the future prophets had to die and we got to see that fantastic demon bomb again "“ I'm really looking forward to the boys building a few of those for their arsenal, certainly quicker and easier and less vis-a-vis than the knife, that's for sure. What did you think about this episode? People in White - good, bad, or otherwise? The demon bomb destroys the host and this has been a point of discussion recently "“ thoughts? Finally, is Chuck really dead? Personally, that nugget of information felt too deliberate to be accurate, so I'm betting he's not dead, which begs the question of what and where he is then.

Sadly, we have a bit of a break between now and the next installment. But wow, does that episode ever look amusing.