WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

More Supernatural Interviews From Comic Con 2017 - Misha Collins

More Supernatural Interviews From Comic Con 2017 - Jensen Ackles

More Supernatural Interviews From Comic Con 2017 - Jared Padalecki

Supernatural Interviews Comic Con 2017 - Andrew Dabb

Interview With Executive Producer Robert Singer - Comic Con 2017

Interview With Jensen Ackles - Comic Con 2017

Check out all our San Diego Comic Con coverage, including on scene reports from Nightsky!  

 

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

24 Jul 2017 14:25

Nightsky posted her video of the Kansas performance at Comic Con.

23 Jul 2017 20:11

We may be getting several of these today.

23 Jul 2017 14:56

The cast for Wayward Sisters has been announced.

23 Jul 2017 14:01

The 2017 San Diego Comic Con "Supernatural" panel was one for the ages.  A surprise concert, a

23 Jul 2017 00:16

Today was a very special panel involving one of our prominent #SPNFAMILY members, Genevieve Padaleck

22 Jul 2017 22:37

The photos from Nightsky have been coming in slowly and we are keeping an archive of everything take

22 Jul 2017 21:41

The Tick has had a big presence at Comic Con.

22 Jul 2017 13:54

EW sat down with Jared, Jensen and Misha at Comic Con.

21 Jul 2017 22:30

The Facebook Live chat with Jared, Jensen and Misha is now available.

21 Jul 2017 14:27

Catching up with Supernatural Alumni at Comic Con.

21 Jul 2017 00:09

Today was the big Timeless panel at San Diego Comic Con.  Our master Eric Kripke was there to t

20 Jul 2017 14:59

The cast will appear live tomorrow, July 21, 2017 and will be seen on the Supernatural Facebook page

20 Jul 2017 11:52

The first clip from Jared and Jensen's appearance on Conan O'Brien

20 Jul 2017 06:45

The WB has released the poster for next season.

19 Jul 2017 17:35

The Conan O'Brien show has put out a teaser for tonight's appearance.

16 Jul 2017 14:44

Mark Pellegrino is in the running for a Tean Choice Award

16 Jul 2017 01:45

We have the first spoilers from this year's TV Guide article covering Comic Con.

15 Jul 2017 12:23

Warner Brothers is having a Gift Pack Giveaway.

14 Jul 2017 15:27

We have the images on the Comic Con bags for this year's Comic Con.

12 Jul 2017 16:28

Conan O'Brien is going to Comic Con and he's going to have Jared and Jensen on his show.

12 Jul 2017 13:22

Jensen and others are posting on social media from Vancouver. No Spoilers.

12 Jul 2017 10:20

San Diego Comic Con must be just around the corner!  Each year at this time we get some awesome

08 Jul 2017 19:22

Rogue Events, the company that hosted the Asylum conventions, is going out of business.

29 Jun 2017 14:55

IMDB has posted casting for episode 13.01

29 Jun 2017 14:08

It's official, Supernatural is coming to Comic Con this year.

27 Jun 2017 21:32

As your Winchester Family Business Editor-in-Chief, I have an exciting announcement to share.  

20 Jun 2017 14:00

Reportedly, Wayward Sisters (not Daughters) will be given a backdoor pilot in season 13.

20 Jun 2017 08:33

The Teen Choice Awards announced the first round of their nominations yesterday and Supernatural is

08 Jun 2017 15:20

We have a date for the end of Hellatus!

06 Jun 2017 21:28

Ty Olsson (Benny Lafitte) just won a Leo Award.

03 Jun 2017 14:53

Jared has announced the final phase of the relaunch of his AKF campaign.

01 Jun 2017 23:33

Oh yeah, we had a LOT to discuss!  This is a supersized TV Fanatic Roundtable this time, design

01 Jun 2017 15:30

Jared and Jensen have both spoken about their daughters recently.

01 Jun 2017 10:22

Jared has relaunched part five of his Always Keep Fighting campaign.

31 May 2017 08:44

We have the first information on the season 12 DVD.

26 May 2017 14:18

Jared and Gen Padalecki both spoke in support of David's Law, a Texas law which targets cyber bullyi

26 May 2017 09:14

Jared started part four of his relaunch.

24 May 2017 15:07

Editor's Note: This article chronologically presents the reports and tweets on Mark Sheppard's statu

24 May 2017 09:41

 Now that season 12 is over, our stars are working for charity.

21 May 2017 09:14

Jared has launched part two of his AKF campaign.

20 May 2017 16:46

We have a few spoilers that came out of the Jus In Bello Convention this weekend.

19 May 2017 11:25

Here are the ratings for last night's finale episodes.

18 May 2017 21:38

Well, we were uninamous, but that's not necessarily good.  All four of us at the TV Fanatic Rou

18 May 2017 15:34

Jared talks about the season finale, season 13 spoilers and relaunching his Always Keep Fighting Cam

18 May 2017 12:05

We are getting our first spoilers for next season at the CW upfront presentation.

18 May 2017 08:52

The CW has released its schedule for next season.

WFB Feature Articles

Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

The final actor is Misha Collins.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Jensen spoke to different outlets at Comic Con this year.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

We return to the actors who were interviewed at Comic Con. This time Jared Padalecki.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Press Room Interviews with Andrew Dabb.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

 Last interview up and it's with the man who holds it all together, Robert Singer.  He giv

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

An interview with Jensen is always a pleasure!  The interview started out casually - talk about

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

It's Misha's turn!  In our roundtable interview in the San Diego Comic Con press room today, he

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

Today was a pretty awesome day!  Here's the WFB roundtable interview with Jared Padalecki. &nbs

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.17 "The British Invasion". Once again

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Mallena

This episode introduces us to Anna Milton.  She isn’t a normal girl, like she appears, but is

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Alice

The nominations were collected, the votes have been cast, the results have been tabulated, and the w

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

San Diego Comic Con 2017 is this week! The most anticipated comic book, superhero, scifi/fantasy gen

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Elle

12 Years of Big Boss Battles: Supernatural Villainy for the Ages

“I'm glad, honestly. I'm not s

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | LK

 

"The gleam in their eyes telegraphs only too clearly that they are hoping for a headline,

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Here's what we know about this year's event!

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Mallena

I was underwhelmed with season ten for most of its run, so it was wonderful to watch an episode as t

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural on the web this week!

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series! For Supernatural 12.13 "Family Feud", I put tog

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Alice

The moment is finally here!  The nominations have been tabulated, now it's time to vote.  

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | LK

 

"The unreal is more powerful than the real, because nothing is as perfect as you can imagine

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to "Memorable Moments" of Supernatural! This edition focuses on episode 12.12 "Stuck In

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Mallena

There has been a lot of talk lately about Jody and the women of Supernatural.  In honor of the

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Elle

Rich, riveting, complex and so full of story details and character threads that it's impossible to m

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | LK

 "Yesterday is but today's memory, and tomorrow is today's dream." — Khalil Gibran

Loosing

Read more...

WFB Motivational Posters - Comic Con

ComicComMayhem.jpg

Nightsky's New Book!



Thoughts on "A Little Slice of Kevin"
 

Season eight of "Supernatural" has been one of my favourites thus far. It's up there among season four (my favourite season bar none) and season five, my second favourite season, though season eight is certainly edging up there. The writing this season has been strong and feels much more focused and cohesive as compared to some of the recent past seasons. I think so far, A Little Slice of Kevin is favourite season eight installment. There was so much character and plot advancement and some good action to boot.


Witches and Hell Kings: Not that Trustworthy

8x 07 2a


We finally get a peak at what the Tran's have been up to since they ditched Sam and Dean and it certainly isn't glamorous. What was great was the ability of these two to live on the road and protect themselves so definitively against demons, etc. using what they've learned about Devil Traps, salt lines and the like.

One small thing that bothers me is given Mrs. Tran's proclivity for dousing everyone in holy water multiple times and who knows what else to ensure their non-possession status, it was then a surprising move to hire a witch and what was more surprising was that Mrs. Tran really, truly thought she could be trusted even a bit. Obviously, this was a necessary plot thread to get Kevin to Crowley and Mrs. Tran to the Winchesters for help, nevertheless it felt a touch out of line with everything we know about this character.

Crowley and the Starship Enterprise

8x07 3

Mark Sheppard never fails to entertain as Crowley. So evil, so calculating and so witty. As plans go, kidnapping all future prophets to allow for the killing of an uncooperative Kevin if necessary was a pretty good one. The set of the octagonal table and steel room was the perfect interrogation scene for these FP's, and really did have that spaceship or Avenger's-Assemble meeting room feel. The writing wasn't lacking during these scenes either, particularly when one FB asked if Crowley was an alien "“ I laughed out loud. One thing that I so enjoy about the character of Crowley is that despite his unquestionable evilness the character does not act on this evil nature in an absolutely, base way. Yes, he tortures, but long before he gets to that stage he plays word games "“ and he's very good at them. Diabolical is always more fun to watch that violent, in my opinion.

8x07 4

Speaking about torture, poor Samandriel did not last long before giving up the prophets names. Admittedly, I was taken aback that the angel gave up the information at all, at least this easily. I expected him to have lied or left out some key details that would later cause great trouble for Crowley's plan. Kevin seemed to last better, considering he is a human. Ultimately, I enjoyed this entire plot of the kidnapped prophets and the broken tablet. It feels like a good way to keep the tablet plot moving forward with some interest and new developments, which is much preferred to rehashing the same thing over and over until they either figure out how to close the gates of Hell or not. (Pure speculation on my part is that they'll close the gates in the end and then spend the next seasons hunting down was left and cleaning up the Earth).

Hallucinations

8x07 5

This week was something of a change in Dean - his grief/guilt was played more subtle than we've seen before. The random glimpses of Castiel probably would have driven him crazy after too long, and I'm glad the writers chose not to go down that road.

SPN 0359

It was also interesting to see Sam in the guilt counselor role in this episode. He was genial, calm, reassuring and just listened without pushing anything. This isn't to say that Sam hasn't been these things for Dean before "“ of course he has in some capacity, they're very close brothers after all - but to see it now is so refreshing in the character after all the suffering and mental anguish of recent years. Sam has come so, so far over the last year and despite my unfavourable feelings about his lovely doctor, it's obvious she helped him heal in some way. I do look forward to seeing more flashbacks and watching how this came to be.

Broken Tablets and Intriguing Messages

8x07 6a

Kevin gave Crowley some more information on the tablet this week and we in turn gained some of our own. Hearing the words as written on the stone almost suggested there was information written on that tablet that maybe even Heaven didn't really want getting out. And if not on the tablet, somewhere for someone to find and act upon. Perhaps this is why the Guys in White have commandeered Castiel's mind as they have. The final battle was exciting this week "“ introducing the new demon bomb that we've heard so much about again. How handy is that sucker? Time to stock up on those, I'd say. Also, it was good to see Castiel strap on his angel wings and it allowed for the tablet to be divided as well as a way for Crowley to escape to fight another day (and from both a plot view and a viewer perspective, this is a good thing).

 "You can't save everyone, my friend."

8x07 7

I doubt it's a secret that I love Castiel and have from the beginning. Well, after his exchange with Dean my affection for this angel has grown tri-fold. The conversation between Dean and Cas was something that Dean has long needed to hear and to have Cas deliver it in his blunt, straightforward way was probably one of the few ways that Dean would actually have heard the message. Dean is not responsible for everyone and everything that goes wrong but for eight years on "Supernatural" we've watched him should this burden quietly and in truth we know it dates back to when he was young and his father put baby Sammy in his arms to carry out of the fire. In this instance, it was interesting to see how post-traumatic stress and survivor's guilt came together to actually change the memory of Dean leaving purgatory without Cas. Knowing Dean as we do, it's been speculated that he did not literally abandon Cas, but that some other factor impacted the ability for both angel and man to escape. Not only was this the case, but Castiel had intended all along to stay behind for penance and he was wild card factor stopping his own escape from purgatory.

8x07 8

So far this season the purgatory flashbacks have been excellent "“ on point, not overdone and informative. This one in particular and the reveals that stemmed from it were poignantly conjured and acted with subtle potency. From a writing standpoint, I thought this entire conversation and reveal was well written, wholly in character and just emotional enough for the circumstances. With any luck, this is a turning point for Dean.

Castiel: Unwitting Spy

8x07 9

"Supernatural's" take on Heaven and the Angels always makes me grin at the clever interpretations. Heaven is more often than not just as devious as the Hell legions, but almost more so because they are perceived to be gentle, loving and warm when they are really warriors in battle. In this case, we have some secret white room and some blonde who makes one want to reach out and smack that all-knowing, condescending smile from her face representing Heaven and its interests. I'm not altogether clear as to the end game here, as I'm sure this chick and her bosses would want Hell sealed for good just as much as Sam and Dean do "“ at least, it would be in their best interests as far as I can tell. Perhaps they just want to keep informed but I sense more devious intentions, what with the mind control and secretive nature of the meeting. Maybe they are the big bad of the season? Will the Winchesters be making another deal with Crowley for the sake of humankind? Time will tell, I suppose. One thing is for certain though, I am intrigued.

Final Thoughts

8x07 9b

As I've said, great episode top to bottom. This season has been really good at keeping the pieces moving around the board and not leaving plot threads simply dangling or growing stale by being ignored. Now we have Kevin and Mama Tran with Garth and totally willing to work the Winchesters (finally cottoned on that that would be the best course of action, only took almost dying due to one's own stupidity and losing a finger to figure that out), The boys and Cas together and the tablet split in two between good and bad . Not even all the future prophets had to die and we got to see that fantastic demon bomb again "“ I'm really looking forward to the boys building a few of those for their arsenal, certainly quicker and easier and less vis-a-vis than the knife, that's for sure. What did you think about this episode? People in White - good, bad, or otherwise? The demon bomb destroys the host and this has been a point of discussion recently "“ thoughts? Finally, is Chuck really dead? Personally, that nugget of information felt too deliberate to be accurate, so I'm betting he's not dead, which begs the question of what and where he is then.

Sadly, we have a bit of a break between now and the next installment. But wow, does that episode ever look amusing.