WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

Interview With Jensen Ackles - Comic Con 2017

Interview with Misha Collins - Comic Con 2017

Interview with Jared Padalecki - Comic Con 2017

Supernatural Bits & Pieces July 22, 2017

Memorable Moments Supernatural 12.17 - The British Invasion

Mallena's Supernatural Musings: 4.09 "I Know What You Did Last Summer"

Check out all our San Diego Comic Con coverage, including on scene reports from Nightsky!  

 

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

23 Jul 2017 20:11

We may be getting several of these today.

23 Jul 2017 14:56

The cast for Wayward Sisters has been announced.

23 Jul 2017 14:01

The 2017 San Diego Comic Con "Supernatural" panel was one for the ages.  A surprise concert, a

23 Jul 2017 00:16

Today was a very special panel involving one of our prominent #SPNFAMILY members, Genevieve Padaleck

22 Jul 2017 22:37

The photos from Nightsky have been coming in slowly and we are keeping an archive of everything take

22 Jul 2017 21:41

The Tick has had a big presence at Comic Con.

22 Jul 2017 13:54

EW sat down with Jared, Jensen and Misha at Comic Con.

21 Jul 2017 22:30

The Facebook Live chat with Jared, Jensen and Misha is now available.

21 Jul 2017 14:27

Catching up with Supernatural Alumni at Comic Con.

21 Jul 2017 00:09

Today was the big Timeless panel at San Diego Comic Con.  Our master Eric Kripke was there to t

20 Jul 2017 14:59

The cast will appear live tomorrow, July 21, 2017 and will be seen on the Supernatural Facebook page

20 Jul 2017 11:52

The first clip from Jared and Jensen's appearance on Conan O'Brien

20 Jul 2017 06:45

The WB has released the poster for next season.

19 Jul 2017 17:35

The Conan O'Brien show has put out a teaser for tonight's appearance.

16 Jul 2017 14:44

Mark Pellegrino is in the running for a Tean Choice Award

16 Jul 2017 01:45

We have the first spoilers from this year's TV Guide article covering Comic Con.

15 Jul 2017 12:23

Warner Brothers is having a Gift Pack Giveaway.

14 Jul 2017 15:27

We have the images on the Comic Con bags for this year's Comic Con.

12 Jul 2017 16:28

Conan O'Brien is going to Comic Con and he's going to have Jared and Jensen on his show.

12 Jul 2017 13:22

Jensen and others are posting on social media from Vancouver. No Spoilers.

12 Jul 2017 10:20

San Diego Comic Con must be just around the corner!  Each year at this time we get some awesome

08 Jul 2017 19:22

Rogue Events, the company that hosted the Asylum conventions, is going out of business.

29 Jun 2017 14:55

IMDB has posted casting for episode 13.01

29 Jun 2017 14:08

It's official, Supernatural is coming to Comic Con this year.

27 Jun 2017 21:32

As your Winchester Family Business Editor-in-Chief, I have an exciting announcement to share.  

20 Jun 2017 14:00

Reportedly, Wayward Sisters (not Daughters) will be given a backdoor pilot in season 13.

20 Jun 2017 08:33

The Teen Choice Awards announced the first round of their nominations yesterday and Supernatural is

08 Jun 2017 15:20

We have a date for the end of Hellatus!

06 Jun 2017 21:28

Ty Olsson (Benny Lafitte) just won a Leo Award.

03 Jun 2017 14:53

Jared has announced the final phase of the relaunch of his AKF campaign.

01 Jun 2017 23:33

Oh yeah, we had a LOT to discuss!  This is a supersized TV Fanatic Roundtable this time, design

01 Jun 2017 15:30

Jared and Jensen have both spoken about their daughters recently.

01 Jun 2017 10:22

Jared has relaunched part five of his Always Keep Fighting campaign.

31 May 2017 08:44

We have the first information on the season 12 DVD.

26 May 2017 14:18

Jared and Gen Padalecki both spoke in support of David's Law, a Texas law which targets cyber bullyi

26 May 2017 09:14

Jared started part four of his relaunch.

24 May 2017 15:07

Editor's Note: This article chronologically presents the reports and tweets on Mark Sheppard's statu

24 May 2017 09:41

 Now that season 12 is over, our stars are working for charity.

21 May 2017 09:14

Jared has launched part two of his AKF campaign.

20 May 2017 16:46

We have a few spoilers that came out of the Jus In Bello Convention this weekend.

19 May 2017 11:25

Here are the ratings for last night's finale episodes.

18 May 2017 21:38

Well, we were uninamous, but that's not necessarily good.  All four of us at the TV Fanatic Rou

18 May 2017 15:34

Jared talks about the season finale, season 13 spoilers and relaunching his Always Keep Fighting Cam

18 May 2017 12:05

We are getting our first spoilers for next season at the CW upfront presentation.

18 May 2017 08:52

The CW has released its schedule for next season.

17 May 2017 14:21

EW has published an interview with Andrew Dabb about the final episodes of season 12.

WFB Feature Articles

Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

An interview with Jensen is always a pleasure!  The interview started out casually - talk about

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

It's Misha's turn!  In our roundtable interview in the San Diego Comic Con press room today, he

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

Today was a pretty awesome day!  Here's the WFB roundtable interview with Jared Padalecki. &nbs

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the Memorable Moments Series for episode 12.17 The British Invasion. Once again I ha

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Mallena

This episode introduces us to Anna Milton.  She isn’t a normal girl, like she appears, but is

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Alice

The nominations were collected, the votes have been cast, the results have been tabulated, and the w

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

San Diego Comic Con 2017 is this week! The most anticipated comic book, superhero, scifi/fantasy gen

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Elle

12 Years of Big Boss Battles: Supernatural Villainy for the Ages

“I'm glad, honestly. I'm not s

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | LK

 

"The gleam in their eyes telegraphs only too clearly that they are hoping for a headline,

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Here's what we know about this year's event!

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Mallena

I was underwhelmed with season ten for most of its run, so it was wonderful to watch an episode as t

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural on the web this week!

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series! For Supernatural 12.13 "Family Feud", I put tog

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Alice

The moment is finally here!  The nominations have been tabulated, now it's time to vote.  

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | LK

 

"The unreal is more powerful than the real, because nothing is as perfect as you can imagine

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to "Memorable Moments" of Supernatural! This edition focuses on episode 12.12 "Stuck In

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Mallena

There has been a lot of talk lately about Jody and the women of Supernatural.  In honor of the

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Elle

Rich, riveting, complex and so full of story details and character threads that it's impossible to m

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | LK

 "Yesterday is but today's memory, and tomorrow is today's dream." — Khalil Gibran

Loosing

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Elle

 The list you’ve all been waiting for! The second half of the season eleven hits and misses.

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week!

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for Supernatural! For episode 12.11, "Regarding Dean"

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Percysowner

 What are Supernatural Fans are up to this summer?

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Mallena

I love a good apocalypse, don’t you?  The first novel in that genre that I read was Alas, Bab

Read more...

WFB Motivational Posters - Comic Con

ComicConCosplay.jpg

Nightsky's New Book!

WARNING!!!!!  If you haven't seen "A Little Slice of Kevin," read no further!  There will be discussions of the episode, and it will spoil you.  So don't do it!!!  If you have watched, come on in, the water's fine.

So, I am just going to apologize in advance to everyone for the probable love-fest this review is going to be because I LOVED this episode.  I thought the pacing was fantastic, the dialogue was great, and it had lots of things that I love: BAMF Castiel, angsty Dean, supportive Sam, evil Crowley, Impala porn, mytharc progress, a little mystery, and great secondary characters.  Plus some gruesome horror!  Stir it all up and that was one fantastic hour.  I didn't want it to end!  I'm just really happy to have Cass back.

But never fear!  I have been chatting with one of our writers, Bookdal, and she and I (mostly her with me in support) have tossed around some great theories about where the show is headed now that we got some more information in this episode.  And with two weeks before the next episode (boo!) we will have plenty of time to discuss these theories (yay!)  I'm going to talk about three bigger theories and then bullet point the rest of the love.

Before I release you to read and comment, I want to remind everyone that this is a free commenting space.  That means all topics are welcome and will not be moved to another thread if we get off topic.  HOWEVER, there are still rules we ask you to follow when commenting, and they can be found here.  Please read them if you haven't already.  Basically, be respectful in the comments section, of each other, of me, and of anyone affiliated with the show.  We love to hear your opinions, but only in a constructive and respectful manner.  Thanks in advance for your cooperation!  And here we go!

Metatron's Tablets
Here's one way the arc for the next few seasons could go.  Each season has a goal described by a tablet.  This year, it's closing the gates of Hell.  Next season, it could be sealing Purgatory so nothing can get out.  Because we know monsters have gotten out of Purgatory, not just humans like Dean.  So what other tablets do you think are out there?  Why do you think Metatron left that note on this tablet saying he was done?  I have this amusing image in my head of God!Chuck all drunk and trying to tell Metatron what to write, and Metatron finally has enough and is like, "I am DONE with this shit."  But instead of saying it, he writes it down in Enochian and inscribes it on a tablet because he's very passive-aggressive for an angel.

CIAngel
Here's a theory about why the angels are spying on Sam and Dean via Castiel: they don't want the gates of Hell to be closed.  There's probably a huge catch to closing the gates anyway, one that we haven't heard of yet.  But if the gates to Hell are closed, I'm guessing it means no one could get out or IN.  So where would all those evil people go when they die?  Purgatory is for monsters.  They'd end up in heaven if they can't get to hell.  And I'm betting heaven doesn't want them.  They know that Sam and Dean won't cooperate, so they're using Castiel to get close and monitor the progress the boys are making.  And when they get too close to making some serious progress, the angels will swoop down and mess things up.

The Memory Problem
One of the biggest themes of the episode tonight was memory.  Dean created a new memory of what happened when he and Castiel tried to get out of Purgatory because he couldn't accept what really happened.  He couldn't accept that it wasn't his fault that Cass didn't get out, which is so typically Dean, that he created a scenario where it WAS his fault.  Which...oh, Dean.  That's so horrible.

Then we have Castiel, whose memory is being manipulated on purpose by a group of secretive angels.  You know they're really secretive when Godstiel didn't even know about them.  Why did they wipe his memory of their attack on Purgatory and Castiel's subsequent rescue?  What do they need Sam and Dean for this time, and what do they think Castiel can accomplish that they can't?  Probably a lot because Sam and Dean aren't exactly known for following angel orders.  How many times has Castiel been in that room reporting already?  The way he said "why am I telling you this?" sure made it seem like he doesn't have a choice in the matter.

Both of these examples set up the problem of a fallable memory and memory manipulation.  Is this what's happening to Sam?  In the season premiere, there was someone standing outside Sam's place when he left to meet Dean at the cabin.  What if it was Naomi?  Maybe she and her other CIAngels called Sam so he would meet Dean at the cabin.  Maybe the angels are manipulating Sam, too.  But why, you might ask?  Well, I will tell you in my Theory of the Week!

Theory of the Week
I was doing a little reading up on Metatron via Wikipedia, and they have a list of alternate names for Metatron, other things he's been called before.  And one of them caught my eye: Michael II.  What if this is Apocalypse 2.0?  I know, I know, but hear me out!  The Apocalypse of season 5 was supposed to be the end game for the show, but it got renewed, so plans changed.  But what if it's the end game again, and it's going to play out over the next few seasons?  But Lucifer and Michael are locked up, so they can't do it.  Maybe Apocalypse 2.0 would need two other archangels to fill the roles.  Metatron could step in for Michael, and I'm guessing Azrael could step in for Lucifer.  Azrael is the archangel of death in some cultures, so he would work.

All right, so we've got Metatron and Azrael, but they need vessels.  Cue Sam and Dean.  So, the angels want Dean to say yes to Metatron, and they want Sam to say yes to Azrael.  But they know the direct route didn't work last time, so they're trying stealth this time.  They're using Castiel as a sleeper agent because they know that Sam and especially Dean will fight for Castiel.  He's their friend, of course they will.  So they're manipulating Castiel, but just spying for all we know right now.

Here's how I think they're manipulating Sam: they know he's most vulnerable away from Dean, so they get Sam back together with Dean because it would be suspicious if Dean was out of Purgatory and Sam didn't reunite with him.  But then the angels make Sam believe he wants to be with Amelia more than he wants to be hunting with Dean.  They're manipulating Sam into wanting to leave.  Sam seems disconnected this season, and if he's being manipulated, maybe that's why.  He may not remember, but perhaps his subconscious is fighting back, so it makes him seem muted.  And once Sam is back with Amelia, they make him forget all about Dean.  Then they remove Amelia from the equation, and Sam is primed to say yes to Azrael.  Dean's more vulnerable without Sam, too, so the angels try to use Cass to make Dean say yes to Metatron.  Then Metatron and Azrael fight it out and the Apocalypse.

Of course, Sam and Dean are going to fight back and try and avert the whole thing again, but this is what I think the angels are planning.

Side theory: is Crowley Azrael?  King of hell, but also maybe archangel?

Okay, enough speculating and theorizing.  Time for bullet points!
  • Nice use of The Animals!  "We Gotta Get Out Of This Place" is a great song.  Good to hear some more classic rock.
  • Maybe what scares me has changed now that I have a 13-month-old, but the kid getting taken to hell from preschool was horrible!  That was so scary!
  • I love it when the show makes the boys smart, and the exorcism into the phone disguised as notes in code was super smart!  I loved that.
  • I have to say, Dean actually talking about his feelings all episode was so refreshing.  And Sam trying to help him through it was great because he knows what Dean's going through.  He hallucinated Jess, too.
  • Castiel knew all along that he wasn't going through that portal, so him saying thank you to Dean for everything was his way of saying goodbye.
  • Any significance to the fact that Castiel came to in Illinois?  Maybe near Pontiac?
  • How great was Delta the witch?  Best witch ever?  I think yes.  She was super fun.  And I loooooove that Mrs. Tran found her on Craigslist, ha.
  • Cass watching TV and missing it.  Aw.  The remote he had was hilarious, too. 
  • More Leviathan bombs!  Those are really cool.
  • You know, I love Crowley.  I know he's a demon, but I can't help but love that magnificent bastard.  But it's nice to be reminded sometimes that yes, he is a DEMON, and he's not nice, no matter how fun he is and how much I love Mark Sheppard.  He cut off Kevin's finger!  Literally "A Little Slice of Kevin."
  • And after the finger cutting, there was a sign in the warehouse that said "Keep Fingers Clear."  Very clever, show.  Very clever.
  • Sam made a demon bomb!
  • Demon silhouette flash = angel wing burn.
  • Glowy angel eyes!
  • Where did Crowley get the angel blade from?  I'm guessing Meg since she had one and Crowley kidnapped her, but did I miss something else that happened where he got one of his own?
  • Wow, the preview for the next episode looked hilarious.  Cannot wait for that one!
All right, that was a lot, and it's late, so I am going to call this review done.  What did you think of the episode?  What clues do you think it gave us for the rest of the season?  What do you think about the theories I proposed tonight?  Why can't we have a pre-Thanksgiving show?  Blast!