WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

Memorable Moments: Supernatural 12.18 "The Memory Remains"

Mallena's Supernatural Musings: 10.05 "Fan Fiction"

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 3

Fan Video of the Week: Supernatural Reflections "The British Invasion”

Supernatural Bits & Pieces September 17, 2017

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 2

This long until Supernatural Season 13...

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

Sep 22 2017

TV Line has a short spoiler for the upcoming season

Sep 21 2017

We have an extended version of the trailer!

Sep 18 2017

Jeffrey Dean Morgan and Hillary Burton showed off her baby bump at last night's Emmy Awards ceremony

Sep 18 2017

The actor, who once played Gordon Walker, won an Emmy last night for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Dra

Sep 17 2017

We have a copy of the EW preview for Supernatural and BTS pictures of episode 6.

Sep 13 2017

We're getting close. The CW released a short promo.

Sep 12 2017

EW just published a big spoiler for season 13. TVLine Spoilers added!

Sep 12 2017

September 13 is Supernatural Day!

Sep 08 2017

TVLine released it's fall preview and had this to say about Supernatural

Sep 06 2017

With the DVD for season 12 hitting the shelves yesterday, several oulets have posted deleted scenes

Sep 04 2017

Misha Collins made the announcement today.

Sep 01 2017

Stories continue to come out on Jensen Ackles fundraiser to help Texas after the devastation of Hurr

Aug 31 2017

The Supernatural Family's work to aid in disaster rescue and recovery efforts has even been noticed

Aug 30 2017

Buddy TV posted a new deleted scene from last season.

Aug 28 2017

Jensen and Danneel Ackles are spearheading an effort to help victims of Hurricane Harvey

Aug 24 2017

We have titles for episodes through 12.

Aug 23 2017

TV Line has some spoilers for this season.

Aug 23 2017

There are a lot of Behing-The-Scenes shots from episodes 3 of Supernatural season 13!

Aug 20 2017

The cast is wishing Misha a Happy Birthday!

Aug 18 2017

Christine Kilmer's latest vlog is up and it's seems rather timely given the latest events.  In

Aug 12 2017

Spoiler TV posted the titles for the first nine episodes and episode 16

Aug 12 2017

Recently, I had to shut down the site because of horrible, negative, disrespectful fighting in our c

Aug 09 2017

We have casting news for season 13.

Jul 24 2017

Nightsky posted her video of the Kansas performance at Comic Con.

Jul 23 2017

We may be getting several of these today.

Jul 23 2017

The cast for Wayward Sisters has been announced.

Jul 23 2017

The 2017 San Diego Comic Con "Supernatural" panel was one for the ages.  A surprise concert, a

Jul 23 2017

Today was a very special panel involving one of our prominent #SPNFAMILY members, Genevieve Padaleck

Jul 22 2017

The photos from Nightsky have been coming in slowly and we are keeping an archive of everything take

Jul 22 2017

The Tick has had a big presence at Comic Con.

Jul 22 2017

EW sat down with Jared, Jensen and Misha at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

The Facebook Live chat with Jared, Jensen and Misha is now available.

Jul 21 2017

Catching up with Supernatural Alumni at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

Today was the big Timeless panel at San Diego Comic Con.  Our master Eric Kripke was there to t

Jul 20 2017

The cast will appear live tomorrow, July 21, 2017 and will be seen on the Supernatural Facebook page

Jul 20 2017

The first clip from Jared and Jensen's appearance on Conan O'Brien

Jul 20 2017

The WB has released the poster for next season.

Jul 19 2017

The Conan O'Brien show has put out a teaser for tonight's appearance.

Jul 16 2017

Mark Pellegrino is in the running for a Tean Choice Award

Jul 16 2017

We have the first spoilers from this year's TV Guide article covering Comic Con.

Jul 15 2017

Warner Brothers is having a Gift Pack Giveaway.

Jul 14 2017

We have the images on the Comic Con bags for this year's Comic Con.

Jul 12 2017

Conan O'Brien is going to Comic Con and he's going to have Jared and Jensen on his show.

Jul 12 2017

Jensen and others are posting on social media from Vancouver. No Spoilers.

Jul 12 2017

San Diego Comic Con must be just around the corner!  Each year at this time we get some awesome

Jul 08 2017

Rogue Events, the company that hosted the Asylum conventions, is going out of business.

Jun 29 2017

IMDB has posted casting for episode 13.01

WFB Feature Articles

Sep 22 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for Supernatural episode 12.18, "The Memory Remains".

Read more...
Sep 21 2017 | Mallena

It’s Rob Benedict’s birthday on Sept 21 and it wasn’t easy picking the story to review that fe

Read more...
Sep 20 2017 | LK

 Welcome to Part 3 of my tale of attending my very first Supernatural convention! You'll want t

Read more...
Sep 18 2017 | LK

 

" I write about the power of trying, because I want to be okay with failing. I write about

Read more...
Sep 17 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural around the web this week.

Read more...
Sep 15 2017 | LK

Welcome to part 2 of my tale of attending my first Supernatural convention! If you missed Part 1, it

Read more...
Sep 14 2017 | Mallena

Richard Speight, Jr.’s birthday was on September 4th and in his honor, I’m writing a review of o

Read more...
Sep 13 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #4

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way. It's a qu

Read more...
Sep 12 2017 | LK

Introduction

 

Boy, this will be a long one! That is probably the sentence I will hear

Read more...
Sep 11 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.17 "The British Invasion". Once again

Read more...
Sep 10 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week

Read more...
Sep 09 2017 | LK

 

" For there is no friend like a sister in calm or stormy weather; To cheer one on the tediou

Read more...
Sep 08 2017 | Elle

One of the last Supernatural episodes of season 12 that was more formulaic and standard MOTW than bi

Read more...
Sep 07 2017 | Mallena

 

Who loves the idea of time travel? I do!  The possibilities are endless as I contemplat

Read more...
Sep 06 2017 | LK

 

"Don't call the world dirty because you forgot to clean your glasses.” — Joseph Addi

Read more...
Sep 04 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.16 "Ladies Drink Free". Once again I h

Read more...
Sep 03 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural and Family in the news this week!

Read more...
Sep 01 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #3

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a qu

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Percysowner

What are Supernatural fans up to? Here's the latest scoop as of August, 2017!

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Alice

My choices for part one were revealed, so without further delay, here are the Supernatural Season Tw

Read more...
Aug 28 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for Supernatural! For 12.15, "Somewhere Between Heave

Read more...
Aug 27 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 26 2017 | Nightsky

One of the unique attractions of San Diego Comic-Con is wandering the vendor floor looking at the am

Read more...
Aug 25 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #2

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a quick a

Read more...
Aug 24 2017 | Mallena

This week, I’ve been musing about family dramas.  There are many great examples of the genre

Read more...
Aug 21 2017 | Alice

Today I was utterly dismayed to hear about the closure of a long time fan site which the Wincheste

Read more...
Aug 19 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...

WFB Motivational Posters

NaturalPhenomenon.jpg

Nightsky's New Book!

WARNING!!!!!  If you haven't seen "A Little Slice of Kevin," read no further!  There will be discussions of the episode, and it will spoil you.  So don't do it!!!  If you have watched, come on in, the water's fine.

So, I am just going to apologize in advance to everyone for the probable love-fest this review is going to be because I LOVED this episode.  I thought the pacing was fantastic, the dialogue was great, and it had lots of things that I love: BAMF Castiel, angsty Dean, supportive Sam, evil Crowley, Impala porn, mytharc progress, a little mystery, and great secondary characters.  Plus some gruesome horror!  Stir it all up and that was one fantastic hour.  I didn't want it to end!  I'm just really happy to have Cass back.

But never fear!  I have been chatting with one of our writers, Bookdal, and she and I (mostly her with me in support) have tossed around some great theories about where the show is headed now that we got some more information in this episode.  And with two weeks before the next episode (boo!) we will have plenty of time to discuss these theories (yay!)  I'm going to talk about three bigger theories and then bullet point the rest of the love.

Before I release you to read and comment, I want to remind everyone that this is a free commenting space.  That means all topics are welcome and will not be moved to another thread if we get off topic.  HOWEVER, there are still rules we ask you to follow when commenting, and they can be found here.  Please read them if you haven't already.  Basically, be respectful in the comments section, of each other, of me, and of anyone affiliated with the show.  We love to hear your opinions, but only in a constructive and respectful manner.  Thanks in advance for your cooperation!  And here we go!

Metatron's Tablets
Here's one way the arc for the next few seasons could go.  Each season has a goal described by a tablet.  This year, it's closing the gates of Hell.  Next season, it could be sealing Purgatory so nothing can get out.  Because we know monsters have gotten out of Purgatory, not just humans like Dean.  So what other tablets do you think are out there?  Why do you think Metatron left that note on this tablet saying he was done?  I have this amusing image in my head of God!Chuck all drunk and trying to tell Metatron what to write, and Metatron finally has enough and is like, "I am DONE with this shit."  But instead of saying it, he writes it down in Enochian and inscribes it on a tablet because he's very passive-aggressive for an angel.

CIAngel
Here's a theory about why the angels are spying on Sam and Dean via Castiel: they don't want the gates of Hell to be closed.  There's probably a huge catch to closing the gates anyway, one that we haven't heard of yet.  But if the gates to Hell are closed, I'm guessing it means no one could get out or IN.  So where would all those evil people go when they die?  Purgatory is for monsters.  They'd end up in heaven if they can't get to hell.  And I'm betting heaven doesn't want them.  They know that Sam and Dean won't cooperate, so they're using Castiel to get close and monitor the progress the boys are making.  And when they get too close to making some serious progress, the angels will swoop down and mess things up.

The Memory Problem
One of the biggest themes of the episode tonight was memory.  Dean created a new memory of what happened when he and Castiel tried to get out of Purgatory because he couldn't accept what really happened.  He couldn't accept that it wasn't his fault that Cass didn't get out, which is so typically Dean, that he created a scenario where it WAS his fault.  Which...oh, Dean.  That's so horrible.

Then we have Castiel, whose memory is being manipulated on purpose by a group of secretive angels.  You know they're really secretive when Godstiel didn't even know about them.  Why did they wipe his memory of their attack on Purgatory and Castiel's subsequent rescue?  What do they need Sam and Dean for this time, and what do they think Castiel can accomplish that they can't?  Probably a lot because Sam and Dean aren't exactly known for following angel orders.  How many times has Castiel been in that room reporting already?  The way he said "why am I telling you this?" sure made it seem like he doesn't have a choice in the matter.

Both of these examples set up the problem of a fallable memory and memory manipulation.  Is this what's happening to Sam?  In the season premiere, there was someone standing outside Sam's place when he left to meet Dean at the cabin.  What if it was Naomi?  Maybe she and her other CIAngels called Sam so he would meet Dean at the cabin.  Maybe the angels are manipulating Sam, too.  But why, you might ask?  Well, I will tell you in my Theory of the Week!

Theory of the Week
I was doing a little reading up on Metatron via Wikipedia, and they have a list of alternate names for Metatron, other things he's been called before.  And one of them caught my eye: Michael II.  What if this is Apocalypse 2.0?  I know, I know, but hear me out!  The Apocalypse of season 5 was supposed to be the end game for the show, but it got renewed, so plans changed.  But what if it's the end game again, and it's going to play out over the next few seasons?  But Lucifer and Michael are locked up, so they can't do it.  Maybe Apocalypse 2.0 would need two other archangels to fill the roles.  Metatron could step in for Michael, and I'm guessing Azrael could step in for Lucifer.  Azrael is the archangel of death in some cultures, so he would work.

All right, so we've got Metatron and Azrael, but they need vessels.  Cue Sam and Dean.  So, the angels want Dean to say yes to Metatron, and they want Sam to say yes to Azrael.  But they know the direct route didn't work last time, so they're trying stealth this time.  They're using Castiel as a sleeper agent because they know that Sam and especially Dean will fight for Castiel.  He's their friend, of course they will.  So they're manipulating Castiel, but just spying for all we know right now.

Here's how I think they're manipulating Sam: they know he's most vulnerable away from Dean, so they get Sam back together with Dean because it would be suspicious if Dean was out of Purgatory and Sam didn't reunite with him.  But then the angels make Sam believe he wants to be with Amelia more than he wants to be hunting with Dean.  They're manipulating Sam into wanting to leave.  Sam seems disconnected this season, and if he's being manipulated, maybe that's why.  He may not remember, but perhaps his subconscious is fighting back, so it makes him seem muted.  And once Sam is back with Amelia, they make him forget all about Dean.  Then they remove Amelia from the equation, and Sam is primed to say yes to Azrael.  Dean's more vulnerable without Sam, too, so the angels try to use Cass to make Dean say yes to Metatron.  Then Metatron and Azrael fight it out and the Apocalypse.

Of course, Sam and Dean are going to fight back and try and avert the whole thing again, but this is what I think the angels are planning.

Side theory: is Crowley Azrael?  King of hell, but also maybe archangel?

Okay, enough speculating and theorizing.  Time for bullet points!
  • Nice use of The Animals!  "We Gotta Get Out Of This Place" is a great song.  Good to hear some more classic rock.
  • Maybe what scares me has changed now that I have a 13-month-old, but the kid getting taken to hell from preschool was horrible!  That was so scary!
  • I love it when the show makes the boys smart, and the exorcism into the phone disguised as notes in code was super smart!  I loved that.
  • I have to say, Dean actually talking about his feelings all episode was so refreshing.  And Sam trying to help him through it was great because he knows what Dean's going through.  He hallucinated Jess, too.
  • Castiel knew all along that he wasn't going through that portal, so him saying thank you to Dean for everything was his way of saying goodbye.
  • Any significance to the fact that Castiel came to in Illinois?  Maybe near Pontiac?
  • How great was Delta the witch?  Best witch ever?  I think yes.  She was super fun.  And I loooooove that Mrs. Tran found her on Craigslist, ha.
  • Cass watching TV and missing it.  Aw.  The remote he had was hilarious, too. 
  • More Leviathan bombs!  Those are really cool.
  • You know, I love Crowley.  I know he's a demon, but I can't help but love that magnificent bastard.  But it's nice to be reminded sometimes that yes, he is a DEMON, and he's not nice, no matter how fun he is and how much I love Mark Sheppard.  He cut off Kevin's finger!  Literally "A Little Slice of Kevin."
  • And after the finger cutting, there was a sign in the warehouse that said "Keep Fingers Clear."  Very clever, show.  Very clever.
  • Sam made a demon bomb!
  • Demon silhouette flash = angel wing burn.
  • Glowy angel eyes!
  • Where did Crowley get the angel blade from?  I'm guessing Meg since she had one and Crowley kidnapped her, but did I miss something else that happened where he got one of his own?
  • Wow, the preview for the next episode looked hilarious.  Cannot wait for that one!
All right, that was a lot, and it's late, so I am going to call this review done.  What did you think of the episode?  What clues do you think it gave us for the rest of the season?  What do you think about the theories I proposed tonight?  Why can't we have a pre-Thanksgiving show?  Blast!