WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

More Supernatural Interviews From Comic Con 2017 - Misha Collins

More Supernatural Interviews From Comic Con 2017 - Jensen Ackles

More Supernatural Interviews From Comic Con 2017 - Jared Padalecki

Supernatural Interviews Comic Con 2017 - Andrew Dabb

Interview With Executive Producer Robert Singer - Comic Con 2017

Interview With Jensen Ackles - Comic Con 2017

Check out all our San Diego Comic Con coverage, including on scene reports from Nightsky!  

 

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

24 Jul 2017 14:25

Nightsky posted her video of the Kansas performance at Comic Con.

23 Jul 2017 20:11

We may be getting several of these today.

23 Jul 2017 14:56

The cast for Wayward Sisters has been announced.

23 Jul 2017 14:01

The 2017 San Diego Comic Con "Supernatural" panel was one for the ages.  A surprise concert, a

23 Jul 2017 00:16

Today was a very special panel involving one of our prominent #SPNFAMILY members, Genevieve Padaleck

22 Jul 2017 22:37

The photos from Nightsky have been coming in slowly and we are keeping an archive of everything take

22 Jul 2017 21:41

The Tick has had a big presence at Comic Con.

22 Jul 2017 13:54

EW sat down with Jared, Jensen and Misha at Comic Con.

21 Jul 2017 22:30

The Facebook Live chat with Jared, Jensen and Misha is now available.

21 Jul 2017 14:27

Catching up with Supernatural Alumni at Comic Con.

21 Jul 2017 00:09

Today was the big Timeless panel at San Diego Comic Con.  Our master Eric Kripke was there to t

20 Jul 2017 14:59

The cast will appear live tomorrow, July 21, 2017 and will be seen on the Supernatural Facebook page

20 Jul 2017 11:52

The first clip from Jared and Jensen's appearance on Conan O'Brien

20 Jul 2017 06:45

The WB has released the poster for next season.

19 Jul 2017 17:35

The Conan O'Brien show has put out a teaser for tonight's appearance.

16 Jul 2017 14:44

Mark Pellegrino is in the running for a Tean Choice Award

16 Jul 2017 01:45

We have the first spoilers from this year's TV Guide article covering Comic Con.

15 Jul 2017 12:23

Warner Brothers is having a Gift Pack Giveaway.

14 Jul 2017 15:27

We have the images on the Comic Con bags for this year's Comic Con.

12 Jul 2017 16:28

Conan O'Brien is going to Comic Con and he's going to have Jared and Jensen on his show.

12 Jul 2017 13:22

Jensen and others are posting on social media from Vancouver. No Spoilers.

12 Jul 2017 10:20

San Diego Comic Con must be just around the corner!  Each year at this time we get some awesome

08 Jul 2017 19:22

Rogue Events, the company that hosted the Asylum conventions, is going out of business.

29 Jun 2017 14:55

IMDB has posted casting for episode 13.01

29 Jun 2017 14:08

It's official, Supernatural is coming to Comic Con this year.

27 Jun 2017 21:32

As your Winchester Family Business Editor-in-Chief, I have an exciting announcement to share.  

20 Jun 2017 14:00

Reportedly, Wayward Sisters (not Daughters) will be given a backdoor pilot in season 13.

20 Jun 2017 08:33

The Teen Choice Awards announced the first round of their nominations yesterday and Supernatural is

08 Jun 2017 15:20

We have a date for the end of Hellatus!

06 Jun 2017 21:28

Ty Olsson (Benny Lafitte) just won a Leo Award.

03 Jun 2017 14:53

Jared has announced the final phase of the relaunch of his AKF campaign.

01 Jun 2017 23:33

Oh yeah, we had a LOT to discuss!  This is a supersized TV Fanatic Roundtable this time, design

01 Jun 2017 15:30

Jared and Jensen have both spoken about their daughters recently.

01 Jun 2017 10:22

Jared has relaunched part five of his Always Keep Fighting campaign.

31 May 2017 08:44

We have the first information on the season 12 DVD.

26 May 2017 14:18

Jared and Gen Padalecki both spoke in support of David's Law, a Texas law which targets cyber bullyi

26 May 2017 09:14

Jared started part four of his relaunch.

24 May 2017 15:07

Editor's Note: This article chronologically presents the reports and tweets on Mark Sheppard's statu

24 May 2017 09:41

 Now that season 12 is over, our stars are working for charity.

21 May 2017 09:14

Jared has launched part two of his AKF campaign.

20 May 2017 16:46

We have a few spoilers that came out of the Jus In Bello Convention this weekend.

19 May 2017 11:25

Here are the ratings for last night's finale episodes.

18 May 2017 21:38

Well, we were uninamous, but that's not necessarily good.  All four of us at the TV Fanatic Rou

18 May 2017 15:34

Jared talks about the season finale, season 13 spoilers and relaunching his Always Keep Fighting Cam

18 May 2017 12:05

We are getting our first spoilers for next season at the CW upfront presentation.

18 May 2017 08:52

The CW has released its schedule for next season.

WFB Feature Articles

Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

The final actor is Misha Collins.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Jensen spoke to different outlets at Comic Con this year.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

We return to the actors who were interviewed at Comic Con. This time Jared Padalecki.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Press Room Interviews with Andrew Dabb.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

 Last interview up and it's with the man who holds it all together, Robert Singer.  He giv

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

An interview with Jensen is always a pleasure!  The interview started out casually - talk about

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

It's Misha's turn!  In our roundtable interview in the San Diego Comic Con press room today, he

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

Today was a pretty awesome day!  Here's the WFB roundtable interview with Jared Padalecki. &nbs

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.17 "The British Invasion". Once again

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Mallena

This episode introduces us to Anna Milton.  She isn’t a normal girl, like she appears, but is

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Alice

The nominations were collected, the votes have been cast, the results have been tabulated, and the w

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

San Diego Comic Con 2017 is this week! The most anticipated comic book, superhero, scifi/fantasy gen

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Elle

12 Years of Big Boss Battles: Supernatural Villainy for the Ages

“I'm glad, honestly. I'm not s

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | LK

 

"The gleam in their eyes telegraphs only too clearly that they are hoping for a headline,

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Here's what we know about this year's event!

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Mallena

I was underwhelmed with season ten for most of its run, so it was wonderful to watch an episode as t

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural on the web this week!

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series! For Supernatural 12.13 "Family Feud", I put tog

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Alice

The moment is finally here!  The nominations have been tabulated, now it's time to vote.  

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | LK

 

"The unreal is more powerful than the real, because nothing is as perfect as you can imagine

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to "Memorable Moments" of Supernatural! This edition focuses on episode 12.12 "Stuck In

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Mallena

There has been a lot of talk lately about Jody and the women of Supernatural.  In honor of the

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Elle

Rich, riveting, complex and so full of story details and character threads that it's impossible to m

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | LK

 "Yesterday is but today's memory, and tomorrow is today's dream." — Khalil Gibran

Loosing

Read more...

WFB Motivational Posters - Comic Con

ComicComMayhem.jpg

Nightsky's New Book!

v

Thoughts on 8x05 - Blood Brother

alt

This episode was by and large a relaxing, time filler type episode - it allowed everyone to take a breath, process what we know and laid some ground work for the coming weeks. And I enjoyed it. Like some earlier episodes such Home or Provenance, it was a good episode that can be viewed almost independent of the big-picture plot arc. This was one of those episodes that could have easily been a flashback installment, and in a way it was except that the flashbacks gave us brand new information.


Now, I'm not going to dive into the debates about whether or not this character is being overlooked or that character's history is being whitewashed to suit the writer's agenda. What I will say is this: as far as unveiling information and storylines goes the slow and steady approach that we seem to be neck deep in right now is working well for me. The way both Sam and Dean's respective years are being unraveled feels thoughtful and informative and not at all rushed as this type of thing has been handled in the past. These stories could easily be told in one episode flashbacks or emotional monologues but instead each foot forward is carefully considered before being placed, or at least that's how it seems to me. What's more is that season eight does feel like a genuine renewal of "Supernatural": it has a new energy, new maturity to the boys and an overall lighter atmosphere. Again this is not to say I didn't like past seasons simply that I'm enjoying the fresh air breezing into the world of Winchester and the less dejected attitude it's imbuing into the series (in my opinion).

Okay, that out of the way let's get right down to what worked and what didn't work about Blood Brother:

Purgatory

alt

The purgatory flashbacks gave us a new understanding of Dean's relationship with Benny and how they ended up being such decent friends, despite that whole vampire-hunter dynamic. At first we witness Benny trying to convince Dean to leave Cas behind because he's too much of a beacon to the baddies but Dean's not having any of it. If there is one thing we know about Dean absolutely it's that his sense of loyalty knows no bounds, particularly when Sam isn't around (because when Sam's there, Dean's loyalty goes as far as it can until it risks his brother). Here we have Dean clutching to Cas' presence and swearing he'd rather not leave than leave without Castiel. Even the angel struggled with this sentiment and the illogical nature of it. Nevertheless the three trudged on only to be ambushed by leviathan later on. And in this fight we see the moment Benny moved from "convenient ally" category to something more for Dean: he saved Castiel's life, unprompted and unmotivated to do so. Benny could have simply let the leviathan devour Cas and ended all the problems related to Cas tagging along and it would have been done through no fault of Benny's so Dean couldn't punish him by not taking him across state lines, so to speak. In spite of that we watch Benny slice the leviathan head off.

This says a lot about Benny to me, particularly that he sees value in life beyond its specific use to his own ends. We learn later that like Lenore, Benny learned to stop feeding on humans long ago. This too added a new dimension to the character because it's not a promise to Dean that keeps Benny from snacking on the "Happy Meals with legs" but rather a decision he made years before. All of these discoveries about Benny in this episode gave me much more faith in the character than I had on that first encounter. I'm eager to explore his relationship to the boys further, in particular how he'll interact with Sam.

DeanBennyPurgatory1

Finally, we saw how Benny and Dean operate as a fluid, silent and efficient machine when fighting. They tagged on another, communicated silently and generally functioned like a well oiled machine. Even without detailed verbal explanation it's becoming clear how much trust and reliance existed (and still exists) between Benny and Dean in Purgatory. They really react to one another like brothers in arms.

Normalville

alt

Sam's flashbacks this episode also gave us some information, this time more about his relationship with Amelia. First of all, unlike Benny, nothing I saw in the flashbacks made me like this character more or trust her for that matter. Amelia seems just a tad judgmental and presumptive for my liking: Sam where's casual clothes like denim and flannel which automatically makes him a creepy drifter? Okay. We also see Sam in the flashbacks as a man without a purpose "“ he's on the lookout for something to occupy his time and in fact, was looking for people to connect with. Sam got to know the motel family well enough to be familiar with their problems and to offer his help too. This is very much like Sam, he's a friendly guy always willing to lend an ear and a hand if he can. In one way or another, he was probably glad the dog gave him something to occupy his focus and a reason to hang around. We still don't know at this point what prompted Sam to not pursue Dean and we may never get an actual scene where he considers his options. For me, knowing the Winchester history with pursuing disappeared family members is enough knowledge to understand how Sam may have come to that decision.

alt

What I really enjoyed about the flashbacks was the look it gave us into Sam's head and his character at that point in time. He's just lost his brother (and about everyone else too) after having a series of trauma-filled events, including being ridden by Lucifer, visiting Hell and losing his soul. Where we're at now is a sort of new status-quo in the world "“ same old usual beasties as before without Heaven and/or Hell knocking at the door either. Sam has the quiet opportunity to heal, and he seems to be healing (this is my honest opinion, which I know will be challenged, but please play nice). This Sam is gentle, attentive and helpful. Yes, he was these things all along but this time there is not an added tension that comes with knowing there's a ghost or ghoul and that's how you're helping. Sam finally has the chance to be a real boy "“ he can help the family by doing some handyman work around the motel because the father is sick. He can be a caretaker to the dog. He can have conversations about real things, using (I presume anyways) his real name and not an alias. Yes, Sam can take a breath or two and maybe even start to relax. At least, this is was I saw in Sam during the flashbacks. For that matter, it's a lot of what I'm seeing in the present-day Sam except with the added element of confidence that Sam in the flashbacks doesn't quite seem to have fully.

So, Flashback Sam was something light and despite Amelia, who was too snappy for me and who is bound to have some story meant to garner audience sympathy eventually, I liked these parts of the episodes. Even the flashback lighting was bright and softer, in keeping with the birthday scene earlier. Despite missing his brother, Sam had the opportunity to be happy and ordinary during the last year; and he took it.

Vampirates and Lost Loves

alt

We learned a lot about Benny in this episode, particularly where he comes from. It's clear that Benny is quite old and for a long time was your typical evil vampire. Until he fell in love. Benny seems to be somewhere between Sam and Dean: he's quiet and practical, thoughtful and smart, quick witted and a good with a blade too.

My initial read on Benny is he's a good guy, generally. In particular, it was the way he didn't try and stop Dean from killing Andrea. Benny knew and accepted that she was not the woman he loved all those years ago and that she couldn't be allowed to live now because she was dangerous and not a non-human eater like he was. It was also telling how Benny offered his hand to Sam and recognized that the brothers needed space to talk without being asked. These are markers of a perceptive and respectful friend, who's likely heard a lot about Sam over the past year.

Deception and Days Off

alt

In the present, Sam and Dean are hot on Kevin's trail in Enid, Oregon. At least as hot as he'll let them get and it's starting to get to the boys the way small annoyances can, that he keeps evading them so surely. This leads to a short discussion about killing Kevin's mom (or trying to) while Crowley was where her. So far this season there have been some interesting allusions and/or outright references to where this type of thing falls on the moral spectrum. I can't help but wonder if this will become a more prominent focus later this season. "The Winchester Holy Grail Shut the Gates of Hell Forever" case gets sidelined when Dean steps out to help Benny, leaving Sam wondering where he's going and who he's going to help. The entire motel exchange was done really well. It's obvious that both boys are tired and also that neither is really used to explaining themselves, not anymore. Dean wants to offer this vague explanation and hopes Sam will take it without question, which of course he doesn't.

alt

In the end, Sam's face says it all: Dean has serious explaining to do. I am very much looking forward to this discussion next week.

Final Thoughts

alt

As a transitory, information episode this worked. Blood Brother had the markings of a decent episode of "Supernatural": key information, brother moments, some carnage and action and on the whole plot advancement. The writing here felt tight overall, as usual I enjoyed the acting but in particular the nuances of the flashback versus present day versions of the characters as well as the new recurring characters. This was a good episode and one I will certainly enjoy as a rewatch.

What did you think, fellow viewers?