WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

More Supernatural Interviews From Comic Con 2017 - Misha Collins

More Supernatural Interviews From Comic Con 2017 - Jensen Ackles

More Supernatural Interviews From Comic Con 2017 - Jared Padalecki

Supernatural Interviews Comic Con 2017 - Andrew Dabb

Interview With Executive Producer Robert Singer - Comic Con 2017

Interview With Jensen Ackles - Comic Con 2017

Check out all our San Diego Comic Con coverage, including on scene reports from Nightsky!  

 

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

24 Jul 2017 14:25

Nightsky posted her video of the Kansas performance at Comic Con.

23 Jul 2017 20:11

We may be getting several of these today.

23 Jul 2017 14:56

The cast for Wayward Sisters has been announced.

23 Jul 2017 14:01

The 2017 San Diego Comic Con "Supernatural" panel was one for the ages.  A surprise concert, a

23 Jul 2017 00:16

Today was a very special panel involving one of our prominent #SPNFAMILY members, Genevieve Padaleck

22 Jul 2017 22:37

The photos from Nightsky have been coming in slowly and we are keeping an archive of everything take

22 Jul 2017 21:41

The Tick has had a big presence at Comic Con.

22 Jul 2017 13:54

EW sat down with Jared, Jensen and Misha at Comic Con.

21 Jul 2017 22:30

The Facebook Live chat with Jared, Jensen and Misha is now available.

21 Jul 2017 14:27

Catching up with Supernatural Alumni at Comic Con.

21 Jul 2017 00:09

Today was the big Timeless panel at San Diego Comic Con.  Our master Eric Kripke was there to t

20 Jul 2017 14:59

The cast will appear live tomorrow, July 21, 2017 and will be seen on the Supernatural Facebook page

20 Jul 2017 11:52

The first clip from Jared and Jensen's appearance on Conan O'Brien

20 Jul 2017 06:45

The WB has released the poster for next season.

19 Jul 2017 17:35

The Conan O'Brien show has put out a teaser for tonight's appearance.

16 Jul 2017 14:44

Mark Pellegrino is in the running for a Tean Choice Award

16 Jul 2017 01:45

We have the first spoilers from this year's TV Guide article covering Comic Con.

15 Jul 2017 12:23

Warner Brothers is having a Gift Pack Giveaway.

14 Jul 2017 15:27

We have the images on the Comic Con bags for this year's Comic Con.

12 Jul 2017 16:28

Conan O'Brien is going to Comic Con and he's going to have Jared and Jensen on his show.

12 Jul 2017 13:22

Jensen and others are posting on social media from Vancouver. No Spoilers.

12 Jul 2017 10:20

San Diego Comic Con must be just around the corner!  Each year at this time we get some awesome

08 Jul 2017 19:22

Rogue Events, the company that hosted the Asylum conventions, is going out of business.

29 Jun 2017 14:55

IMDB has posted casting for episode 13.01

29 Jun 2017 14:08

It's official, Supernatural is coming to Comic Con this year.

27 Jun 2017 21:32

As your Winchester Family Business Editor-in-Chief, I have an exciting announcement to share.  

20 Jun 2017 14:00

Reportedly, Wayward Sisters (not Daughters) will be given a backdoor pilot in season 13.

20 Jun 2017 08:33

The Teen Choice Awards announced the first round of their nominations yesterday and Supernatural is

08 Jun 2017 15:20

We have a date for the end of Hellatus!

06 Jun 2017 21:28

Ty Olsson (Benny Lafitte) just won a Leo Award.

03 Jun 2017 14:53

Jared has announced the final phase of the relaunch of his AKF campaign.

01 Jun 2017 23:33

Oh yeah, we had a LOT to discuss!  This is a supersized TV Fanatic Roundtable this time, design

01 Jun 2017 15:30

Jared and Jensen have both spoken about their daughters recently.

01 Jun 2017 10:22

Jared has relaunched part five of his Always Keep Fighting campaign.

31 May 2017 08:44

We have the first information on the season 12 DVD.

26 May 2017 14:18

Jared and Gen Padalecki both spoke in support of David's Law, a Texas law which targets cyber bullyi

26 May 2017 09:14

Jared started part four of his relaunch.

24 May 2017 15:07

Editor's Note: This article chronologically presents the reports and tweets on Mark Sheppard's statu

24 May 2017 09:41

 Now that season 12 is over, our stars are working for charity.

21 May 2017 09:14

Jared has launched part two of his AKF campaign.

20 May 2017 16:46

We have a few spoilers that came out of the Jus In Bello Convention this weekend.

19 May 2017 11:25

Here are the ratings for last night's finale episodes.

18 May 2017 21:38

Well, we were uninamous, but that's not necessarily good.  All four of us at the TV Fanatic Rou

18 May 2017 15:34

Jared talks about the season finale, season 13 spoilers and relaunching his Always Keep Fighting Cam

18 May 2017 12:05

We are getting our first spoilers for next season at the CW upfront presentation.

18 May 2017 08:52

The CW has released its schedule for next season.

WFB Feature Articles

Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

The final actor is Misha Collins.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Jensen spoke to different outlets at Comic Con this year.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

We return to the actors who were interviewed at Comic Con. This time Jared Padalecki.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Press Room Interviews with Andrew Dabb.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

 Last interview up and it's with the man who holds it all together, Robert Singer.  He giv

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

An interview with Jensen is always a pleasure!  The interview started out casually - talk about

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

It's Misha's turn!  In our roundtable interview in the San Diego Comic Con press room today, he

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

Today was a pretty awesome day!  Here's the WFB roundtable interview with Jared Padalecki. &nbs

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.17 "The British Invasion". Once again

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Mallena

This episode introduces us to Anna Milton.  She isn’t a normal girl, like she appears, but is

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Alice

The nominations were collected, the votes have been cast, the results have been tabulated, and the w

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

San Diego Comic Con 2017 is this week! The most anticipated comic book, superhero, scifi/fantasy gen

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Elle

12 Years of Big Boss Battles: Supernatural Villainy for the Ages

“I'm glad, honestly. I'm not s

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | LK

 

"The gleam in their eyes telegraphs only too clearly that they are hoping for a headline,

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Here's what we know about this year's event!

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Mallena

I was underwhelmed with season ten for most of its run, so it was wonderful to watch an episode as t

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural on the web this week!

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series! For Supernatural 12.13 "Family Feud", I put tog

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Alice

The moment is finally here!  The nominations have been tabulated, now it's time to vote.  

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | LK

 

"The unreal is more powerful than the real, because nothing is as perfect as you can imagine

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to "Memorable Moments" of Supernatural! This edition focuses on episode 12.12 "Stuck In

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Mallena

There has been a lot of talk lately about Jody and the women of Supernatural.  In honor of the

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Elle

Rich, riveting, complex and so full of story details and character threads that it's impossible to m

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | LK

 "Yesterday is but today's memory, and tomorrow is today's dream." — Khalil Gibran

Loosing

Read more...

WFB Motivational Posters - Comic Con

ComicComMayhem.jpg

Nightsky's New Book!


I feel I should part with a nasty secret.  I always get performance anxiety when I do a review of a Ben Edlund episode...will I be able to do the episode justice?  Will I only miss a little of the imagery I wanted to talk about?

So much was going on in this episode that I just wanted to sing out loud. Then scream and go cross eyed...On first watch, I really loved finding out more about Benny and Dean and Amelia and Sam, but I couldn’t stop re-watching!  So much information is given on the brothers’ own relationships -- both with each other and juxtaposing past relationships and...I think I need a drink...Or at least another cup of coffee...

 


 

Like the episode a couple weeks ago of "Revolution" inspired me to write a sonnet about Miles, I have decided to write a sonnet to Ben Edlund.  I’m sure a Purgatory!Dean sonnet will soon follow, but I need to get to the review!  I’ll get that next time...so here goes my sonnet to Ben:

 


 

A Sonnet to Ben Edlund 

 

Oh Ben, I love your crazy hair and mind

and when the credits show your name I squee

you know our Sam and Dean where some are blind

your multi meaning stories give me glee.

 

You understand my Dean like no one else.

And Sam you give a splendiferous glow

and for the whole hour I check my pulse

and practice breathing in attempt to slow

 

My heart, it races as I watch the screen

the twists and turns you show with so much flare

like how much smokin’ hotness is the Dean

of Purgatory and Sam’s stalkery stare

 

But above all the rest of what we learn

the bonds of brothers, blood and not, we yearn.

 


 

In case you didn’t catch it, this episode was written by Ben Edlund.  He has written masterful episodes such as “The Man Who Would Be King” and also super funny episodes like “Clap Your Hands if You Believe”.  Ben is so wonderful at using comedy when it is needed, and keeping it heavy and full of meaning when the story calls for that, instead.  He is such a magnificent writer, I would love to meet him and potentially absorb some of his skill through touch...May I also say that Sam and Dean (and Benny and Cas, too) looked amazingly hot this episode?  I mean smoking.  Everybody.  Part of that I can’t help but think has to do with one of our favorite directors, Guy Bee, being on the job this episode.  Jared and Jensen just have so much chemistry that Sam and Dean can have full conversations without saying a word, and Guy knows just how to show that on film.  The whole episode was beautifully shot, but that last scene killed me.  I want to know how that conversation went about Benny.  Instead, we went to credits... WHY DIDN’T YOU JUST END IT WITH THEM ACTUALLY GOING OVER A CLIFF, GUY AND BEN??? HUH???  Yes, that much tension.  And now we have to wait until next week to HOPEFULLY see a little bit about what happened there....

 


 

The Winchesters are fairly certain that Kevin is purposely throwing them off the track now.  He is really putting his high I.Q. to work for him and his mother, who gave Sam and Dean the slip when Crowley stole back the “demon” tablet.  While they are getting situated, Dean receives a call from Benny--who he apparently has NOT mentioned to Sam.  Benny has gotten himself in trouble working the vengeance gig on his maker for killing the love of his life.  In true Dean fashion, Dean heads off to help his friend in need, leaving Sam to research where in the world is Kevin Tran. Sam goes a little stir crazy and a lot “mother hen” worried about what Dean is up to...
 


Trouble in Paradise?  Kevin is so playing with them.

 

And on to the analysis...

 


 

So much love for this episode.  There is just so much I want to hit, that I’m having a tough time figuring out where to begin!  That and because my ADD is showing with my incessant need to check out twitter to see what is being said about hot Purgatory!Dean and how sexy Sam is now that he is all Mr. Fix-it.  Sammy, you can check on my plumbing and stalk me ANY TIME.
 

 

See, let it be said that although I am 100% a Dean Girl, I am totally Sam-Curious...I mean JUST LOOK AT HIM.  And that fact that he is well over a foot taller than I am, that height thing has me curious...MOVING ALONG...

 


 

I guess I will start at the beginning of the episode with Benny out for vengeance on his old nest for killing the love of his life as well as him...First off, Quentin? I wonder if Ben meant that as a little bit of a "Dark Shadows" reference. In the last episode, “Bitten” we had a “Michael” whose coming to terms with being a werewolf was not unlike Michael in "The Lost Boys" coming to terms with being a vampire.  Quentin Collins was the werewolf in the Collins family--of course the most famous Collins would be the vampire Barnabas...Just thought I’d throw that out there...

 


 

I loved the family imagery here.  We actually see it a few times through Benny.  I loved finding out more about the Benny storyline.  The more I see about Benny, the more like Sam he seems to me.  He left his family for a woman.  He did the nest thing--did what was best for the nest, but then he met this woman and left the nest for her.  Now Sam didn’t leave hunting for Jess, he was trying to leave it before...but we do get the idea that he wasn’t sure what he was doing, or even if he was going to quit hunting until he found Amelia.  What I found most interesting about this whole thing was how Benny changed about Andrea...He was upset she was turned, and he didn’t question Dean putting her down.  He even admits to her that what he loved was long gone.  Benny realized that what he found in Andrea, what he was in love with, was her humanity.  Once that was gone, once she was just another one of them, what he loved about her was gone, too.  I wonder if we have some foreshadowing here with Sam.  He has romanticized what there life together was.  I wonder how much about his past he told her.  I wonder if he has hidden all of this from her because what he loves about her is that normalcy, that innocence he was never allowed to have.  Would her knowing the truth ruin their love?  I guess we need to know more about what he told her for me to dig any deeper into that...

 


 

The other thing I loved was seeing Dean play peacemaker again.  We saw this in the scenes in Purgatory.  Between hot fight scenes, Dean had to stand between Benny and Cas, in a very similar fashion to the way he had to stand between John and Sam.  Dean’s always played that role of trying to get people to understand each other.  He always seems to be able to understand others.  Even though sometimes he is harsh with what he says (both of these things, by the way, are apparently typical Aquarian reactions.  The harshness is because we lack internal monologue.  Every Aquarian I know has this problem), he always has an understanding of other people and where they are coming from, even if it is a situation he hasn’t really been in himself.

 


 

Benny showed another Sam element with him telling Dean he didn’t even know “if this world is real”. It was a real Season Seven moment with Dean trying to convince him.  With Dean, he seems to understand that you have to go with what you have.  You can’t question that.  We know from Benny’s conversation with “the old man” that Benny always was examining life and the meaning of it all.  It would make sense Benny and Dean would become friends in Purgatory.  Benny needed someone who could tell him that what is just is and you have to start there...and Dean needed someone to show him the importance of looking deeper sometimes.  So in Purgatory, Dean found a Sam offset!
 

 

Likewise, Sam found a Dean offset in Amelia, I think.  I have to admit that after the first two showings of Amelia I was not impressed.  This time though, I actually started to like her. I understand her now through the backstory.  She is abrasive to push people away.  Clearly she is afraid of being hurt.  She is living in a motel because she hasn’t found a place, but I think Sam understood the truth--she may think that it is because she just hasn’t found a place she wants to live in yet, but in actuality she’s keeping an easy escape route incase things don’t work out.  She doesn’t even know the people who run the motel she has been staying at for three months.  She isn’t trying to find friends.  She is just in her apartment alone when she’s not at work from the looks of it. She has no one, and doesn’t know where she is going.  Actually, I can really relate to that...It’s kind of scary how much I can relate to that...and here I was just having the conversation that I’m more like Sam...Oh, wait.  Sam doesn’t have anyone or know where he is going either! 

 


 

Sam’s memories are showing us how she unfolded to him...Abrasive at first, but Sam being Sam, will look deeper--I mean, he loves his brother and knows how wonderful Dean is...We’re slowly getting to see what Sam saw--that she had built a wall to protect herself, and maybe since neither one of them have anyone or know where they are going, they can create something together...

 

Of course all of that has changed now, and that was another wonderful piece we were given in the episode.  As much as Sam spoke out to Dean earlier about how maybe Dean should be driving around in the Impala alone, without him, we see Sam’s reaction to Dean potentially being in danger. Sam wouldn’t leave Dean alone when he knew Dean was out there without him.  As soon as he knew what Dean was doing he was on the road.  I loved that moment when Sam cannot reach Dean on the phone so he throws the phone and steps on the gas with determination.  He isn’t going to lose Dean again.
 

 

Western reference...There were moments in Purgatory where Dean reminded me of Doc Holliday.  Especially that part in "Tombstone" when Doc is asked why he would help Wyatt.  He said it was because Wyatt was his friend.  “Shit, I’ve got lots of friends.” “I don’t.” Doc didn’t have a lot of friends, but those people he called “friends” meant the world to him.  Sam mentions how all of Dean’s friends are dead.  When Dean wants to know what is up with Benny, and he won’t take “you’ve saved the day” as an answer, Benny comments on Dean’s thing with friends.  Dean also trusted Cas even when Sam and Bobby seriously questioned him, until Cas proved him wrong.  There is just no end to what Dean will do for a friend.  Just another thing I love about this man.  Like Purgatory is pure, Dean’s feelings are pure. You know where you stand with him.  He will do anything for you if he counts you as a friend.

 


 

Speaking of Cas, I saw some people commenting on Cas’s vessel, Jimmy, and how it didn’t make sense that Benny could escape Purgatory and Cas wouldn’t be able to.  I didn’t have a problem with that. I really don’t think there is anything of Jimmy left.  For all intents and purposes, I think he’s dead.  First off, he was dying when Cas took his body that last time. The decision was made to permanently bond with Cas.  When Lucifer blew up Cas like a water balloon, I feel like God put him back into the Jimmy form because Cas liked that form (and we like Misha)...So I don’t think it’s the same deal.  Besides, Benny is only a soul in Purgatory (given form kind of like a holodeck sparring partner that actually sparred like in TNG) and Cas is a bodied angel.  Somehow Cas will find a way out (I have full faith in that), but in some other way.  So many little snippets about Cas--I really want to find out what happened there! What is going to happen in the future!
 

 

Other moments of fangirl glee included the leviathans appearing in Purgatory!  They reminded me of a Matrix-y version of Death Eaters emerging.  So much love for that.
 

 

Vampirates?  Oh, Dean.  That will NEVER get old...
 

 

I’m sure I could go on for hours more, but it’s almost 2am and I have my convention report and my "Revolution" review to do still this weekend!  Thanks for reading! Let me know what you thought of the episode!  Screencaps from http://homeofthenutty.com/supernatural/screencaps.