WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 3

Fan Video of the Week: Supernatural Reflections "The British Invasion”

Supernatural Bits & Pieces September 17, 2017

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 2

Mallena's Supernatural Musings: 3.11 "Mystery Spot"

Supernatural Match Game #4

Check out all our San Diego Comic Con coverage, including on scene reports from Nightsky!  

 

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

Sep 18 2017

Jeffrey Dean Morgan and Hillary Burton showed off her baby bump at last night's Emmy Awards ceremony

Sep 18 2017

The actor, who once played Gordon Walker, won an Emmy last night for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Dra

Sep 17 2017

We have a copy of the EW preview for Supernatural and BTS pictures of episode 6.

Sep 13 2017

We're getting close. The CW released a short promo.

Sep 12 2017

EW just published a big spoiler for season 13. TVLine Spoilers added!

Sep 12 2017

September 13 is Supernatural Day!

Sep 08 2017

TVLine released it's fall preview and had this to say about Supernatural

Sep 06 2017

With the DVD for season 12 hitting the shelves yesterday, several oulets have posted deleted scenes

Sep 04 2017

Misha Collins made the announcement today.

Sep 01 2017

Stories continue to come out on Jensen Ackles fundraiser to help Texas after the devastation of Hurr

Aug 31 2017

The Supernatural Family's work to aid in disaster rescue and recovery efforts has even been noticed

Aug 30 2017

Buddy TV posted a new deleted scene from last season.

Aug 28 2017

Jensen and Danneel Ackles are spearheading an effort to help victims of Hurricane Harvey

Aug 24 2017

We have titles for episodes through 12.

Aug 23 2017

TV Line has some spoilers for this season.

Aug 23 2017

There are a lot of Behing-The-Scenes shots from episodes 3 of Supernatural season 13!

Aug 20 2017

The cast is wishing Misha a Happy Birthday!

Aug 18 2017

Christine Kilmer's latest vlog is up and it's seems rather timely given the latest events.  In

Aug 12 2017

Spoiler TV posted the titles for the first nine episodes and episode 16

Aug 12 2017

Recently, I had to shut down the site because of horrible, negative, disrespectful fighting in our c

Aug 09 2017

We have casting news for season 13.

Jul 24 2017

Nightsky posted her video of the Kansas performance at Comic Con.

Jul 23 2017

We may be getting several of these today.

Jul 23 2017

The cast for Wayward Sisters has been announced.

Jul 23 2017

The 2017 San Diego Comic Con "Supernatural" panel was one for the ages.  A surprise concert, a

Jul 23 2017

Today was a very special panel involving one of our prominent #SPNFAMILY members, Genevieve Padaleck

Jul 22 2017

The photos from Nightsky have been coming in slowly and we are keeping an archive of everything take

Jul 22 2017

The Tick has had a big presence at Comic Con.

Jul 22 2017

EW sat down with Jared, Jensen and Misha at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

The Facebook Live chat with Jared, Jensen and Misha is now available.

Jul 21 2017

Catching up with Supernatural Alumni at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

Today was the big Timeless panel at San Diego Comic Con.  Our master Eric Kripke was there to t

Jul 20 2017

The cast will appear live tomorrow, July 21, 2017 and will be seen on the Supernatural Facebook page

Jul 20 2017

The first clip from Jared and Jensen's appearance on Conan O'Brien

Jul 20 2017

The WB has released the poster for next season.

Jul 19 2017

The Conan O'Brien show has put out a teaser for tonight's appearance.

Jul 16 2017

Mark Pellegrino is in the running for a Tean Choice Award

Jul 16 2017

We have the first spoilers from this year's TV Guide article covering Comic Con.

Jul 15 2017

Warner Brothers is having a Gift Pack Giveaway.

Jul 14 2017

We have the images on the Comic Con bags for this year's Comic Con.

Jul 12 2017

Conan O'Brien is going to Comic Con and he's going to have Jared and Jensen on his show.

Jul 12 2017

Jensen and others are posting on social media from Vancouver. No Spoilers.

Jul 12 2017

San Diego Comic Con must be just around the corner!  Each year at this time we get some awesome

Jul 08 2017

Rogue Events, the company that hosted the Asylum conventions, is going out of business.

Jun 29 2017

IMDB has posted casting for episode 13.01

Jun 29 2017

It's official, Supernatural is coming to Comic Con this year.

Jun 27 2017

As your Winchester Family Business Editor-in-Chief, I have an exciting announcement to share.  

WFB Feature Articles

Sep 20 2017 | LK

 Welcome to Part 3 of my tale of attending my very first Supernatural convention! You'll want t

Read more...
Sep 18 2017 | LK

 

" I write about the power of trying, because I want to be okay with failing. I write about

Read more...
Sep 17 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural around the web this week.

Read more...
Sep 15 2017 | LK

Welcome to part 2 of my tale of attending my first Supernatural convention! If you missed Part 1, it

Read more...
Sep 14 2017 | Mallena

Richard Speight, Jr.’s birthday was on September 4th and in his honor, I’m writing a review of o

Read more...
Sep 13 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #4

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way. It's a qu

Read more...
Sep 12 2017 | LK

Introduction

 

Boy, this will be a long one! That is probably the sentence I will hear

Read more...
Sep 11 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.17 "The British Invasion". Once again

Read more...
Sep 10 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week

Read more...
Sep 09 2017 | LK

 

" For there is no friend like a sister in calm or stormy weather; To cheer one on the tediou

Read more...
Sep 08 2017 | Elle

One of the last Supernatural episodes of season 12 that was more formulaic and standard MOTW than bi

Read more...
Sep 07 2017 | Mallena

 

Who loves the idea of time travel? I do!  The possibilities are endless as I contemplat

Read more...
Sep 06 2017 | LK

 

"Don't call the world dirty because you forgot to clean your glasses.” — Joseph Addi

Read more...
Sep 04 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.16 "Ladies Drink Free". Once again I h

Read more...
Sep 03 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural and Family in the news this week!

Read more...
Sep 01 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #3

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a qu

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Percysowner

What are Supernatural fans up to? Here's the latest scoop as of August, 2017!

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Alice

My choices for part one were revealed, so without further delay, here are the Supernatural Season Tw

Read more...
Aug 28 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for Supernatural! For 12.15, "Somewhere Between Heave

Read more...
Aug 27 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 26 2017 | Nightsky

One of the unique attractions of San Diego Comic-Con is wandering the vendor floor looking at the am

Read more...
Aug 25 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #2

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a quick a

Read more...
Aug 24 2017 | Mallena

This week, I’ve been musing about family dramas.  There are many great examples of the genre

Read more...
Aug 21 2017 | Alice

Today I was utterly dismayed to hear about the closure of a long time fan site which the Wincheste

Read more...
Aug 19 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 18 2017 | Alice

Just like every year, The WFB doesn't stop with just the fan choice awards!  Your friendly neig

Read more...
Aug 16 2017 | LK

 

"The stars shall fade away, the sun himself Grow dim with age, and nature sink in years, B

Read more...

WFB Motivational Posters

InfiniteZachariahs.jpg

Nightsky's New Book!

alt

Oh man, am I ever riding a "Supernatural" high! I spent this last weekend at Chicon and was totally immersed in all things "Supernatural". Hopefully it didn’t have an effect on my perception of this episode because I loved it. (Don’t mind me while I bury the lead.) I think Ben Edlund is a genius and I’m a sucker for these flashbacks! All around, I’m one happy fan.

No doubt there will be some unhappy fans. People don’t like it when the boys keep secrets from each other. It causes a rift between them that throws off their whole dynamic. But for me, these little bumps in the road are what create the drama that keeps me interested. Not that I want the boys giving each other the silent treatment for episodes on end, I just like a little fuel in the fire. Believe me, I’m right there with you, yelling at Dean to “talk to your brother!”, because that’s what he should do. But inside I find myself intrigued by the drama that Dean not talking to Sam will provide. Does that make me a bad fan? I personally don’t think so. If every episode was full of smiles and rainbows it wouldn’t be the show we all love. And the bumps in the road help us learn more about Sam and Dean as individuals. We’ve always known that Sam is smart but did you know he was handyman? I certainly didn't. Separating him from Dean, even just in flashbacks, allows us to get to know Sam better. Taking Dean out of Sam’s life made him rethink everything. Whether that’s for better or worse isn’t the point, it’s getting to know Sam’s motivations as an individual. When you separate Dean from Sam you can see just how much Sam helps Dean maintain his humanity. Dean was a cold-blooded killer in Purgatory. Mostly because he had to be to survive. But we also know that Dean has struggled with torture in the past and he quickly reverts back to his old ways when it comes to finding Castiel and getting out of Purgatory. These are things that we only really get to see when the story forces these two characters apart. I am excited to continue to learn more about both these guys through their flashbacks and individual stories. So, what do you think? Would you rather have Sam and Dean getting along and being totally honest with each other? Do you enjoy watching them as a set rather than giving them their own stories?

What also made me happy about "Blood Brothers" is the strength of Benny's character. Don't get me wrong, there's still a lot of mystery surrounding our new vampire friend but I think they made leaps and bounds in revealing his character and motivations in this episode. Call me an eternal optimist, but I feel really good about Benny. Sure there's a possibility that he'll betray Dean the way Ruby did Sam but I just don’t see that happening. They fought together in the trenches of Purgatory. Sure, he needed Dean to give him a lift out of Purgatory but he could have easily killed him once they were both topside. He knows Dean is a hunter but he trusts him and Dean trusts Benny to maintain control of his appetite.

alt

We learned a lot about Benny in the Purgatory flashbacks. He saw Castiel as a liability and wasn’t happy to bring him along but Dean was calling the shots and Benny was listening. When the leviathan attacked, it was Benny who went out of his way to save Castiel. How easy would it have been for him to let Cas die and have one less “magnet” to worry about? It would have been too easy. But Benny made his character especially clear to us when he allowed Dean to kill Andrea. She was no longer girl he fell in love with, she was a monster under the spell of her maker and still feeding on humans. So he made the tough choice to let Dean kill her. That says a lot about his motivations. So needless to say I’m on board with Benny at this point. How about you guys? Is anyone concerned about him?

alt

We finally got to learn a little more about Amelia and boy does she have trust issues! Granted Sam was being especially creepy talking about her “good hands”. There is obvious darkness in Amelia’s past which is probably why she and Sam connected so quickly. I hope we get to know more of her backstory as well as their day to day life together. Judging by the first episode of the season it looks like Sam convinced her to get a place that wasn’t a hotel. I assume they all moved in together; Sam, Amelia and Dog. Sorry, but that made me laugh. Name your pet, Sam! I’m still so curious about why Sam left Amelia the way he did and why he hasn’t talked to her since. Her face told us that she knew he was leaving but she didn’t say anything or try to stop him. So many questions!

alt

How about that final scene of the episode? Talk about a weighted moment. I absolutely loved the slow motion movement as Sam grabbed for his knife, not knowing who Benny was or if they were in danger, followed by Dean’s slow shake of the head assuring Sam that Benny is to be trusted. There were so many emotions flying in that moment; confusion, shock, sadness, perhaps some guilt on Dean’s part. It was such a great visual moment. And that heated stare at the end proves that Benny is right, they do have a lot to talk about. I can’t wait to hear what questions Sam has and what explanations Dean is willing to give. Should make for an interesting conversation!

So what about you? Did you love this episode as much as I did? Am I the only one who didn't want it to end? Do you think Sam and Dean are entitled to their own “personal crap” or do they need to be more honest with each other? Sound off below!

Here are some random moments and quotes worth mentioning.
  • I don’t think I can express enough love for Ben Edlund. The man is a genius.
  • “Vampirates” Obviously! It’s like the third thing you say.
  • Dean: “I was trying to kill Crowley who happened to be wearing his mother at the time...well, there’s a difference!”
  • Dean: “Last I counted, you took a year off. I need a day.”
  • Sam: “You are a wascally wabbit, Kevin Tran” I believe this is the line Jared Padalecki referenced at the Chicon breakfast. He said there was a line that Sam says alone at the computer that he really didn’t want to say. He actually tried to get away with not         saying it but they made him add it back in post production. I laughed out loud when I heard it in the episode. But am I wrong, or does it sound like something Dean would say?
  • Benny: “This is the crazy aunt you wanna take on the road?” Cas: “I am not your aunt. I have no possible relation to your offspring.” I absolutely loved this moment. It reminded me of early Dean/Cas moments.
  • Benny: “Obviously, I’m less than comfortable with that.”
  • I loved Amelia’s mention of “Sam’s creepy sideburns.” They are definitely taking over his face,
  • Benny: “We just let the ocean swallow up all our sins.” Mr. Edlund has a way with the English language. I loved this line.
  • Dean: “Was Fabio on the cover of that romance novel?”
  • Benny: “You’ve got your head so far up your ass you don’t even know we’re done for.”
  • Benny: “What I love ain’t here no more.”