WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

More Supernatural Interviews From Comic Con 2017 - Misha Collins

More Supernatural Interviews From Comic Con 2017 - Jensen Ackles

More Supernatural Interviews From Comic Con 2017 - Jared Padalecki

Supernatural Interviews Comic Con 2017 - Andrew Dabb

Interview With Executive Producer Robert Singer - Comic Con 2017

Interview With Jensen Ackles - Comic Con 2017

Check out all our San Diego Comic Con coverage, including on scene reports from Nightsky!  

 

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

24 Jul 2017 14:25

Nightsky posted her video of the Kansas performance at Comic Con.

23 Jul 2017 20:11

We may be getting several of these today.

23 Jul 2017 14:56

The cast for Wayward Sisters has been announced.

23 Jul 2017 14:01

The 2017 San Diego Comic Con "Supernatural" panel was one for the ages.  A surprise concert, a

23 Jul 2017 00:16

Today was a very special panel involving one of our prominent #SPNFAMILY members, Genevieve Padaleck

22 Jul 2017 22:37

The photos from Nightsky have been coming in slowly and we are keeping an archive of everything take

22 Jul 2017 21:41

The Tick has had a big presence at Comic Con.

22 Jul 2017 13:54

EW sat down with Jared, Jensen and Misha at Comic Con.

21 Jul 2017 22:30

The Facebook Live chat with Jared, Jensen and Misha is now available.

21 Jul 2017 14:27

Catching up with Supernatural Alumni at Comic Con.

21 Jul 2017 00:09

Today was the big Timeless panel at San Diego Comic Con.  Our master Eric Kripke was there to t

20 Jul 2017 14:59

The cast will appear live tomorrow, July 21, 2017 and will be seen on the Supernatural Facebook page

20 Jul 2017 11:52

The first clip from Jared and Jensen's appearance on Conan O'Brien

20 Jul 2017 06:45

The WB has released the poster for next season.

19 Jul 2017 17:35

The Conan O'Brien show has put out a teaser for tonight's appearance.

16 Jul 2017 14:44

Mark Pellegrino is in the running for a Tean Choice Award

16 Jul 2017 01:45

We have the first spoilers from this year's TV Guide article covering Comic Con.

15 Jul 2017 12:23

Warner Brothers is having a Gift Pack Giveaway.

14 Jul 2017 15:27

We have the images on the Comic Con bags for this year's Comic Con.

12 Jul 2017 16:28

Conan O'Brien is going to Comic Con and he's going to have Jared and Jensen on his show.

12 Jul 2017 13:22

Jensen and others are posting on social media from Vancouver. No Spoilers.

12 Jul 2017 10:20

San Diego Comic Con must be just around the corner!  Each year at this time we get some awesome

08 Jul 2017 19:22

Rogue Events, the company that hosted the Asylum conventions, is going out of business.

29 Jun 2017 14:55

IMDB has posted casting for episode 13.01

29 Jun 2017 14:08

It's official, Supernatural is coming to Comic Con this year.

27 Jun 2017 21:32

As your Winchester Family Business Editor-in-Chief, I have an exciting announcement to share.  

20 Jun 2017 14:00

Reportedly, Wayward Sisters (not Daughters) will be given a backdoor pilot in season 13.

20 Jun 2017 08:33

The Teen Choice Awards announced the first round of their nominations yesterday and Supernatural is

08 Jun 2017 15:20

We have a date for the end of Hellatus!

06 Jun 2017 21:28

Ty Olsson (Benny Lafitte) just won a Leo Award.

03 Jun 2017 14:53

Jared has announced the final phase of the relaunch of his AKF campaign.

01 Jun 2017 23:33

Oh yeah, we had a LOT to discuss!  This is a supersized TV Fanatic Roundtable this time, design

01 Jun 2017 15:30

Jared and Jensen have both spoken about their daughters recently.

01 Jun 2017 10:22

Jared has relaunched part five of his Always Keep Fighting campaign.

31 May 2017 08:44

We have the first information on the season 12 DVD.

26 May 2017 14:18

Jared and Gen Padalecki both spoke in support of David's Law, a Texas law which targets cyber bullyi

26 May 2017 09:14

Jared started part four of his relaunch.

24 May 2017 15:07

Editor's Note: This article chronologically presents the reports and tweets on Mark Sheppard's statu

24 May 2017 09:41

 Now that season 12 is over, our stars are working for charity.

21 May 2017 09:14

Jared has launched part two of his AKF campaign.

20 May 2017 16:46

We have a few spoilers that came out of the Jus In Bello Convention this weekend.

19 May 2017 11:25

Here are the ratings for last night's finale episodes.

18 May 2017 21:38

Well, we were uninamous, but that's not necessarily good.  All four of us at the TV Fanatic Rou

18 May 2017 15:34

Jared talks about the season finale, season 13 spoilers and relaunching his Always Keep Fighting Cam

18 May 2017 12:05

We are getting our first spoilers for next season at the CW upfront presentation.

18 May 2017 08:52

The CW has released its schedule for next season.

WFB Feature Articles

Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

The final actor is Misha Collins.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Jensen spoke to different outlets at Comic Con this year.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

We return to the actors who were interviewed at Comic Con. This time Jared Padalecki.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Press Room Interviews with Andrew Dabb.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

 Last interview up and it's with the man who holds it all together, Robert Singer.  He giv

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

An interview with Jensen is always a pleasure!  The interview started out casually - talk about

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

It's Misha's turn!  In our roundtable interview in the San Diego Comic Con press room today, he

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

Today was a pretty awesome day!  Here's the WFB roundtable interview with Jared Padalecki. &nbs

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.17 "The British Invasion". Once again

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Mallena

This episode introduces us to Anna Milton.  She isn’t a normal girl, like she appears, but is

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Alice

The nominations were collected, the votes have been cast, the results have been tabulated, and the w

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

San Diego Comic Con 2017 is this week! The most anticipated comic book, superhero, scifi/fantasy gen

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Elle

12 Years of Big Boss Battles: Supernatural Villainy for the Ages

“I'm glad, honestly. I'm not s

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | LK

 

"The gleam in their eyes telegraphs only too clearly that they are hoping for a headline,

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Here's what we know about this year's event!

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Mallena

I was underwhelmed with season ten for most of its run, so it was wonderful to watch an episode as t

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural on the web this week!

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series! For Supernatural 12.13 "Family Feud", I put tog

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Alice

The moment is finally here!  The nominations have been tabulated, now it's time to vote.  

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | LK

 

"The unreal is more powerful than the real, because nothing is as perfect as you can imagine

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to "Memorable Moments" of Supernatural! This edition focuses on episode 12.12 "Stuck In

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Mallena

There has been a lot of talk lately about Jody and the women of Supernatural.  In honor of the

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Elle

Rich, riveting, complex and so full of story details and character threads that it's impossible to m

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | LK

 "Yesterday is but today's memory, and tomorrow is today's dream." — Khalil Gibran

Loosing

Read more...

WFB Motivational Posters - Comic Con

ComicCon2.jpg

Nightsky's New Book!


Thoughts on Bitten

When I first saw the promo and heard the premise of this episode, I was skeptical. After it aired and I had yet to watch it, I became more skeptical after catching wind of the very split reactions this episode seemed to garner. Though I make a point to not read others reviews until I've written my own and I certainly didn't read anything until I'd seen the episode, the reactions were so strong it was hard not to at least be aware of their nature. So I waited a few days until I had the right time and clear focus to think only about what I was seeing, leaving any preconceived skepticism out of the equation. Now that I've finished the episode there is only one reaction available to me: love. Surprising to me, I found this episode engaging, well written, beautifully filmed and gracefully poignant. Not sure what exactly the controversial elements that were stirred are about, but sitting on the awesome episode side of the fence, let me try and break down why this worked in so many ways for me.


Eyes of the Beholder

alt

Visually this was more engaging than I expected. Typically I do not like handheld camera effects - I was very unfond of it when Hollywood dabbled in this phase a few years back and, in my opinion, ruined what would have otherwise been good movies. That was not the case here however. Instead, the handheld aspects didn't adopt the boat-on-a-choppy-sea quality to my eye but simply served to add degrees realism. Had this been filmed in the typical style as opposed to how it was done, I do not believe the characters and story would have resonated and connected to the audience on the same level.

alt

The episode opens on a visceral picture of a living room well and truly painted with blood, which Sam and Dean enter acknowledging that they're too late for whatever happened. And then they catch sight of the laptop and find out the whole story from the beginning, as do the viewers. Unlike most "Supernatural" episodes, this one in particular followed the monsters from before they were monsters, and gives us context to all the violence that will later arise at their hands. What really worked about this is that without much context or individual back story there is an easy connection to these three, or at least there was for me.

Character Connections

alt

We'll start with Brian, a college student who is clearly lost and struggling with his self confidence. What's apparent from the outset is that Brian has feelings for the love interest, Kate, and that Mike is not only his best friend but that Brian serves as almost a social sidekick to the more confident and socially well-adjusted Michael. Brian's arch was very clever in this story and where it seems at some points that the audience is encouraged to feel sorry for him, or maybe root for him as the "hero" of this love story he quickly became the villain. Granted Brian seems to have been bullied to some degree by Scott and his group, most of Brian's troubles feel self-inflicted. He's a tad too invasive with the camera at some points and for the most part makes no effort to speak up about his feelings for Kate.

alt

The inclusion Lord of the Flies in this episode works on many levels: at the beginning Brian comes across most similar to the Piggy character and does identify with Piggy throughout the episode. By the end however the writers have transitioned Brian into the Jack archetype, and he is the one responsible for the slaughter and chaos. In the end Brian has become the monster that Brian so wanted to investigate at the start. Brian was a very complex character and considering he has a one episode character arch the writers did a very good job with the layers and development. I did not like Brian's character much and as the episode progressed and he became more obsessed with power, I was very ready for this character to go away. Once again "Supernatural" does an excSeasonEight/Bittennt job illustrating the very human causes that lead to such bedlam and destruction.

The Best Friend

Moving on to Mike, the Ralph of the group (sort of). Mike is the character who suffers from having power thrust upon him and his struggle not to succumb to the innate evilness of it. In many ways, Mike reminded me so much of early Sam, when he was struggling with the demon powers from Azazel etc. This is another successful callback to the earlier years of "Supernatural". Mike is a compelling character too. Mike is a good friend, loving boyfriend, lovably bad student and all around the proverbial "nice guy" of the episode. Like the Ralph character in the book, Michael is more or less the glue of the little threesome, the leader. Somewhat akin to Ralph, Mike is overcome to a point by his primal (wolf) side such that he partakes in a killing. And though Michael does end up killing someone early on as he is coming into his powers, it is not really his fault, at least not at the same level of deliberate nasty action that Brian will engage in eventually.

alt

In this episode I found Mike to be a very genuine and raw character. Both the actor and the writers did a good job of conveying his genuine misery and struggles with his new abilities, not to mention his initial thrill with their discovery. My favourite scene is when Michael first transforms into the beast and is looking at his face in the shattered bathroom mirror. The dual identity symbolism in the mirror aside (which was very well done visually), there was a great deal of emotion in this short, wordless scene: pain, fear, panic, distress - it really ran the gamut.

The Girl

Supernatural 8x04 (2282) 

Finally we come to Kate, who is the love interest for both boys and the ultimate architect of the video Sam and Dean watch. There isn't actually a whole lot of focus on Kate at the beginning, other than she is Michael's girlfriend and also bonds with Brian over their mutual like of filming/cameras. Like the other two, Kate feels very genuine. For example, when she refuses to involve the police in what Mike did to Scott, her very raw emotional struggles are palpable. Kate becomes the driving investigative force that leads to spying on Sam and Dean and learning about the pureblood werewolf. In the end, Kate was my favourite character in this episode. Her absolute sorrow at losing Michael and being turned against her will, followed by the way she gains control of herself and eliminates Brian, or rather the monster that he's become, knowing he's no longer human in his obsession with power, left me feeling like I was watching an actual documentary on Dateline as opposed to a fictional fantasy show.

In short, what worked about the characters is that I felt connected with them. Their realness and wholeness as people totally eclipsed that we'd only known them about forty minutes by the end. Even the pureblood professor with his limited screen time felt legitimate as a man struggling to stay clean; instead of feeling contrived his thank you to Sam and Dean was real to me. These characters were utterly believable as college students trying to get through life. Even their speculations about their futures felt authentic, including when they were shown after Brian and Michael had died and Kate had been turned. This should have felt contrived, as I expected it would, but somehow it all worked. The acting was strong as was the writing and even Sam and Dean were moved by the documentary in the end, enough that they made the decision not to hunt down Kate but to give her a chance to live.

Brothers Winchester

alt

Alright, that's the characterization of the "guest" characters, so let's talk about Sam and Dean now and all the implications this episode left me with. For his part, Sam felt tired. He was insisting to Dean that there was not really a case. By the end however he was sympathetic toward Kate and was surprised to find Dean was too. Sam seemed quite taken aback when Dean agreed with his suggestion they leave Kate be for now and I'm curious how long it will be before Sam pointblank says something to Dean about his changing attitudes towards hunting. I also wonder what it was about Kate's story that spoke to Sam. Was it the love element because of his recent dalliance in that arena? Or that he really relates to the quest for normal once you've been yanked into the supernatural world. If anyone can understand the struggle against being pulled unwillingly into something and forced to do things one never imagined they would do, Sam can. Dean was particularly contemplative at the end and I believe his sympathy and willingness to let Kate go (for now) comes from his relationship with Benny. This was someone who illustrated how a "monster" can fight against their nature and overcome intrinsic evil. I'm damn curious for the back story of Benny and Dean now, even more than before.

Final Thoughts

alt

In my opinion this episode was brilliant. It was a clever commentary on so many things and illustrated in what I felt was a new way, how power in any form or incarnation corrupts absolutely. Brian wasn't the one with the actual powers but it overtook his humanity anyways. Brian was the one with the knife threatening the so-called monster to get what he wanted. It was not the werewolf bite that corrupted Brian, but his jealous nature. Another point that this episode made was about what is human. Michael was the beast in this one but his human conscious and heart was driving him, the same can be said for Kate by the end as well. This seems to be a running theme lately, in keeping with last week's episode where the humans were willing to kill to keep their Mayan god prowess. "Bitten" was another excSeasonEight/Bittennt episode mixing some grey into the black and white ideas of good and evil.