WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

More Supernatural Interviews From Comic Con 2017 - Misha Collins

More Supernatural Interviews From Comic Con 2017 - Jensen Ackles

More Supernatural Interviews From Comic Con 2017 - Jared Padalecki

Supernatural Interviews Comic Con 2017 - Andrew Dabb

Interview With Executive Producer Robert Singer - Comic Con 2017

Interview With Jensen Ackles - Comic Con 2017

Check out all our San Diego Comic Con coverage, including on scene reports from Nightsky!  

 

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

24 Jul 2017 14:25

Nightsky posted her video of the Kansas performance at Comic Con.

23 Jul 2017 20:11

We may be getting several of these today.

23 Jul 2017 14:56

The cast for Wayward Sisters has been announced.

23 Jul 2017 14:01

The 2017 San Diego Comic Con "Supernatural" panel was one for the ages.  A surprise concert, a

23 Jul 2017 00:16

Today was a very special panel involving one of our prominent #SPNFAMILY members, Genevieve Padaleck

22 Jul 2017 22:37

The photos from Nightsky have been coming in slowly and we are keeping an archive of everything take

22 Jul 2017 21:41

The Tick has had a big presence at Comic Con.

22 Jul 2017 13:54

EW sat down with Jared, Jensen and Misha at Comic Con.

21 Jul 2017 22:30

The Facebook Live chat with Jared, Jensen and Misha is now available.

21 Jul 2017 14:27

Catching up with Supernatural Alumni at Comic Con.

21 Jul 2017 00:09

Today was the big Timeless panel at San Diego Comic Con.  Our master Eric Kripke was there to t

20 Jul 2017 14:59

The cast will appear live tomorrow, July 21, 2017 and will be seen on the Supernatural Facebook page

20 Jul 2017 11:52

The first clip from Jared and Jensen's appearance on Conan O'Brien

20 Jul 2017 06:45

The WB has released the poster for next season.

19 Jul 2017 17:35

The Conan O'Brien show has put out a teaser for tonight's appearance.

16 Jul 2017 14:44

Mark Pellegrino is in the running for a Tean Choice Award

16 Jul 2017 01:45

We have the first spoilers from this year's TV Guide article covering Comic Con.

15 Jul 2017 12:23

Warner Brothers is having a Gift Pack Giveaway.

14 Jul 2017 15:27

We have the images on the Comic Con bags for this year's Comic Con.

12 Jul 2017 16:28

Conan O'Brien is going to Comic Con and he's going to have Jared and Jensen on his show.

12 Jul 2017 13:22

Jensen and others are posting on social media from Vancouver. No Spoilers.

12 Jul 2017 10:20

San Diego Comic Con must be just around the corner!  Each year at this time we get some awesome

08 Jul 2017 19:22

Rogue Events, the company that hosted the Asylum conventions, is going out of business.

29 Jun 2017 14:55

IMDB has posted casting for episode 13.01

29 Jun 2017 14:08

It's official, Supernatural is coming to Comic Con this year.

27 Jun 2017 21:32

As your Winchester Family Business Editor-in-Chief, I have an exciting announcement to share.  

20 Jun 2017 14:00

Reportedly, Wayward Sisters (not Daughters) will be given a backdoor pilot in season 13.

20 Jun 2017 08:33

The Teen Choice Awards announced the first round of their nominations yesterday and Supernatural is

08 Jun 2017 15:20

We have a date for the end of Hellatus!

06 Jun 2017 21:28

Ty Olsson (Benny Lafitte) just won a Leo Award.

03 Jun 2017 14:53

Jared has announced the final phase of the relaunch of his AKF campaign.

01 Jun 2017 23:33

Oh yeah, we had a LOT to discuss!  This is a supersized TV Fanatic Roundtable this time, design

01 Jun 2017 15:30

Jared and Jensen have both spoken about their daughters recently.

01 Jun 2017 10:22

Jared has relaunched part five of his Always Keep Fighting campaign.

31 May 2017 08:44

We have the first information on the season 12 DVD.

26 May 2017 14:18

Jared and Gen Padalecki both spoke in support of David's Law, a Texas law which targets cyber bullyi

26 May 2017 09:14

Jared started part four of his relaunch.

24 May 2017 15:07

Editor's Note: This article chronologically presents the reports and tweets on Mark Sheppard's statu

24 May 2017 09:41

 Now that season 12 is over, our stars are working for charity.

21 May 2017 09:14

Jared has launched part two of his AKF campaign.

20 May 2017 16:46

We have a few spoilers that came out of the Jus In Bello Convention this weekend.

19 May 2017 11:25

Here are the ratings for last night's finale episodes.

18 May 2017 21:38

Well, we were uninamous, but that's not necessarily good.  All four of us at the TV Fanatic Rou

18 May 2017 15:34

Jared talks about the season finale, season 13 spoilers and relaunching his Always Keep Fighting Cam

18 May 2017 12:05

We are getting our first spoilers for next season at the CW upfront presentation.

18 May 2017 08:52

The CW has released its schedule for next season.

WFB Feature Articles

Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

The final actor is Misha Collins.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Jensen spoke to different outlets at Comic Con this year.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

We return to the actors who were interviewed at Comic Con. This time Jared Padalecki.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Press Room Interviews with Andrew Dabb.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

 Last interview up and it's with the man who holds it all together, Robert Singer.  He giv

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

An interview with Jensen is always a pleasure!  The interview started out casually - talk about

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

It's Misha's turn!  In our roundtable interview in the San Diego Comic Con press room today, he

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

Today was a pretty awesome day!  Here's the WFB roundtable interview with Jared Padalecki. &nbs

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.17 "The British Invasion". Once again

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Mallena

This episode introduces us to Anna Milton.  She isn’t a normal girl, like she appears, but is

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Alice

The nominations were collected, the votes have been cast, the results have been tabulated, and the w

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

San Diego Comic Con 2017 is this week! The most anticipated comic book, superhero, scifi/fantasy gen

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Elle

12 Years of Big Boss Battles: Supernatural Villainy for the Ages

“I'm glad, honestly. I'm not s

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | LK

 

"The gleam in their eyes telegraphs only too clearly that they are hoping for a headline,

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Here's what we know about this year's event!

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Mallena

I was underwhelmed with season ten for most of its run, so it was wonderful to watch an episode as t

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural on the web this week!

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series! For Supernatural 12.13 "Family Feud", I put tog

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Alice

The moment is finally here!  The nominations have been tabulated, now it's time to vote.  

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | LK

 

"The unreal is more powerful than the real, because nothing is as perfect as you can imagine

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to "Memorable Moments" of Supernatural! This edition focuses on episode 12.12 "Stuck In

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Mallena

There has been a lot of talk lately about Jody and the women of Supernatural.  In honor of the

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Elle

Rich, riveting, complex and so full of story details and character threads that it's impossible to m

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | LK

 "Yesterday is but today's memory, and tomorrow is today's dream." — Khalil Gibran

Loosing

Read more...

WFB Motivational Posters - Comic Con

ComicCon.jpg

Nightsky's New Book!

Welcome to this special edition of our spoiler-lite preview. But it’s always special, I hear you say! Aww shucks. Wait. Maybe that was just me talking... Well this one is extra-special because this week, Alice got to have a bit of a chat with Mr. Edlund, the writer of this week’s episode, "Everybody Hates Hitler", so I’ll be including a couple of spoiler-lite grabs from the wonderful Ben Edlund himself.
 
First up – where do we find ourselves after last week?

 
THEN
 
A Winchester came out of the closet – literally – while the brothers were busy getting dressed!
 
The brothers met their time travelling granddad - Henry Winchester - and discovered that they were born into a Legacy they knew nothing about, a Legacy of knowledge of the supernatural.
 
In our present, Henry died protecting the secrets of the "Men of Letters", a hidden organisation who chronicled everything about every evil thing. Dying in our present meant that Henry never made it back to the past...and to his son John...
 
Now Sam and Dean have the key to the "Men of Letters" secret lair – AKA the batcave! What information will they find inside?
 
 
NOW
 
We have a Golem and he’s taller than Sam!

 
For those that don't know, a Golem is a creature from Jewish folklore. Usually it is brought to life from inanimate matter - like mud or clay to seek revenge on behalf of whomever called it into existence. You may remember The X Files episode called "Kaddish"  which dealt with a Golem. The Golem in "Everybody Hates Hitler" is a person though - because well, budget and time would preclude creating a gigantic claymation Golem!
 
Of course, there’s a lot more to this week’s episode than just a Golem, because we'll also be finding out some additional information about this new storyline of the "Men of Letters" and learning how their recently discovered Legacy, will begin to take shape for the Winchester boys.
 
So let’s check out the synposis.
 
 
SAM AND DEAN FACE OFF AGAINST A GOLEM — Sam and Dean investigate the death of Rabbi Bass (guest star Hal Linden, “Barney Miller”), who spontaneously combusted. The case becomes ever more confusing when they learn that the Rabbi was researching Nazi Necromancers.  Sam and Dean are attacked by a Golem (guest star John DeSantis) who turns out to belong to the Rabbi’s grandson, Aaron (Adam Rose).  The key to the case lies with the Golem but Aaron doesn’t know how to control him, which leaves everyone in danger. Phil Sgriccia directed the episode written by Bed Edlund.
 

 
So, two exciting things here…this is Phil Sgriccia’s first episode for season 8. He hasn’t directed “Supernatural” since 7.18 “Party on Garth”. Phil's been doing double duty on Revolution (damn you Kripke), so it’ll be good to have him back at the helm. The other exciting thing of course is Ben Edlund. For a lot of us, his outtings represent season highs. Ben’s last episode was 8.05 “Blood Brother”. His episodes have been pretty heavy going of late, but he promises a little more humour in this one.
 
While we're talking humour, let's take a look at the CW promo – which was kinda weird I thought – obviously going for the humour….but not quite hitting the mark.


 
Ummm yeah.... that promo is just odd. Nazis though! Necromancer Nazis even! As Ben says....

"It gives us this new species of wretched critter who happens to be a Nazi so you can especially kick them in the face. No offense to, well I guess we don’t really need to worry about offending Nazis, that’s what so nice about it."

Before we look at the sneak peek - let's check out some more of what Ben said today. I’ll avoid anything that’s overly spoilery!

Ben was asked if there was much comedy in this week's episode - as some of his more recent episodes have been quite dark.

"People batting each other great distances can sometimes be funny (laughs). In this case there’s a couple of things that function that way.  Yeah. The Golem is so physically present that the guy we got to play him is amazing. He’s like 6’ 11’’. Usually when I’m writing something for Sam and Dean and I say, “This person towers over Sam and Dean,” I’m in a really bad place to begin that discussion cause Jared is 6’ 6” and Jensen is...tall. Jared makes Jensen seem like...they’re both just very big. Trying to get them to be towered over is pretty much an impossibility or to get them to be towered over and then have any acting quotient is especially an unfortunate assignment for casting.
This fellow was great, was amazing, and has this voice that sounds like a church bell rolling down a hill. He adds such presence to the intent of the comedy that’s written in the script that it’s really just amazing. There’s physical comedy and there’s just this physics issue of the Golem just standing there, which is comedic."

I have to say, seeing the photos of that dude towering over Sam is pretty funny – it’s not often you see that! In fact, have we ever seen that?

And what about the ‘batcave’ what can we expect from it? Here’s what Ben said...
 
"It’s gorgeous, it’s beautiful. It will stand for sometime I hope because it’s really, really wonderful looking. Adam Glass brought the Men of Letters into his episode. It was the opportunity to give them a really cool, very atmosphere rich space for them to be in and Jerry Wanek has done a beautiful job of making it real, or as real as movies get. It’s really beautiful.  

That was one of the challenges was writing the language of the set. I got very prosy in the script because I was just so excited to do it I had to actually limit myself. It started out un-produceable and then we scaled it back. At one point it was constructed as an echo of the axis mundi and was a mini-universe in the ground that had all these spiral staircases and un-produceable elements. For the feature series maybe we’ll get into the other version but this is just gorgeous. I don’t mean to downtalk it, it’s just that I made something absolutely un-shootable or buildable and then Jerry made incredible out of it because we brought it back to a certain thing. I re-described it and it’s beautiful."

This sounds like the perfect time to check out the sneak peek….


 
It does look super cool huh? The boys won’t know themselves with all that space! I really love the look of the library. It’ll be interesting to see them have a bit of a base that they can use and disappear to. I’m hoping that they keep it a secret from all and sundry. I'm also totally impressed by the double "Son of a bitch"!!

And what do Sam and Dean think of their new base? Mr. Edlund...

"Sam’s really excited that they’re in this place and he’s really jazzed about this wealth of information and the library and everything that comes from inheriting the Men of Letters headquarters. Dean is a little less geeked out in that regard and points out that all the information kind of terminates in 1958. How it relates to the present day is a mystery to him.

It for him [Sam] represents a kind of well that he wants to get to know because he feels convinced it’ll give them leads and information. In the history of the Winchesters they’ve had the myth of secret societies but almost no contact. We’ve never really made a point of them and they are a huge corridor of occult studies. For Sam, it’s like “We found it.” This is an important thing and it’s going to add up to something that gives us tools to fight the enemies we are courting in this season."

I'm kind of in love with the idea that Sam geeks out about this new place. I can't imagine Dean being too excited about being surrounded by all that research - but yes, Sam I can see loving it!

We’ve had a couple of great guest stars of late – like Mike Farrell in "Hunteri Heroici" and this week, we have "Barney Miller" himself, Hal Linden! Turns out, Ben's a fan...
 
"I really loved “Barney Miller” a lot and I was there in the audition when he came. He’s a really wonderful guy. I didn’t spend days with him but we got to speak for a moment. No, that was great. It’s a point, I don’t know what you call it, it’s not a point of personal pride because it’s Hal Linden, it’s all Hal Linden, but I’m really pleased. I guess I am proud to have a piece of work that he appears in because I watched “Barney Miller” religiously as a little kid. I don’t know, I just really loved it. They had a werewolf episode (laughs). They had their own little supernatural moment."

So what do you think? It looks like we're going to get a case - mixed in with some more information about the "Men of Letters" as the brothers check out their new digs. I'm pretty excited about this twist from last week. I'm looking forward to seeing where the show takes it.

I'm also looking forward to seeing this episode, because I'm totally crazy about Ben Edlund - I'll admit that freely - and I always like it when he delivers an episode with equal dark and light moments, I don't think any other writer has ever done that so well and that gigantic Golem fellow looks like he'll add some funny situations to a serious case.

And before I go.... here is the CHCH promo!



Nazi zombie freaks. Awesome.

And here's Carver's preview!



Man, that dude is BIG!

If you want to read more of Alice's catch-up with Ben, check out the full transcript here. There is more infomation on the plot of this episode - but it is a little spoilery, so I chose not to include it. You've probably read it anyway! 

If you're interested in reading more about what a Golem is, here is the Wikipedia link.

And don't forget - for information on upcoming episodes, check out our spoiler page.

So are you excited, dubious, worried, ambivalent, thrilled beyond reason? Sound off below!

And as always thanks for reading, enjoy the episode and I'll see you soon in reviewland!
-sweetondean