WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 3

Fan Video of the Week: Supernatural Reflections "The British Invasion”

Supernatural Bits & Pieces September 17, 2017

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 2

Mallena's Supernatural Musings: 3.11 "Mystery Spot"

Supernatural Match Game #4

Check out all our San Diego Comic Con coverage, including on scene reports from Nightsky!  

 

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

Sep 18 2017

Jeffrey Dean Morgan and Hillary Burton showed off her baby bump at last night's Emmy Awards ceremony

Sep 18 2017

The actor, who once played Gordon Walker, won an Emmy last night for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Dra

Sep 17 2017

We have a copy of the EW preview for Supernatural and BTS pictures of episode 6.

Sep 13 2017

We're getting close. The CW released a short promo.

Sep 12 2017

EW just published a big spoiler for season 13. TVLine Spoilers added!

Sep 12 2017

September 13 is Supernatural Day!

Sep 08 2017

TVLine released it's fall preview and had this to say about Supernatural

Sep 06 2017

With the DVD for season 12 hitting the shelves yesterday, several oulets have posted deleted scenes

Sep 04 2017

Misha Collins made the announcement today.

Sep 01 2017

Stories continue to come out on Jensen Ackles fundraiser to help Texas after the devastation of Hurr

Aug 31 2017

The Supernatural Family's work to aid in disaster rescue and recovery efforts has even been noticed

Aug 30 2017

Buddy TV posted a new deleted scene from last season.

Aug 28 2017

Jensen and Danneel Ackles are spearheading an effort to help victims of Hurricane Harvey

Aug 24 2017

We have titles for episodes through 12.

Aug 23 2017

TV Line has some spoilers for this season.

Aug 23 2017

There are a lot of Behing-The-Scenes shots from episodes 3 of Supernatural season 13!

Aug 20 2017

The cast is wishing Misha a Happy Birthday!

Aug 18 2017

Christine Kilmer's latest vlog is up and it's seems rather timely given the latest events.  In

Aug 12 2017

Spoiler TV posted the titles for the first nine episodes and episode 16

Aug 12 2017

Recently, I had to shut down the site because of horrible, negative, disrespectful fighting in our c

Aug 09 2017

We have casting news for season 13.

Jul 24 2017

Nightsky posted her video of the Kansas performance at Comic Con.

Jul 23 2017

We may be getting several of these today.

Jul 23 2017

The cast for Wayward Sisters has been announced.

Jul 23 2017

The 2017 San Diego Comic Con "Supernatural" panel was one for the ages.  A surprise concert, a

Jul 23 2017

Today was a very special panel involving one of our prominent #SPNFAMILY members, Genevieve Padaleck

Jul 22 2017

The photos from Nightsky have been coming in slowly and we are keeping an archive of everything take

Jul 22 2017

The Tick has had a big presence at Comic Con.

Jul 22 2017

EW sat down with Jared, Jensen and Misha at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

The Facebook Live chat with Jared, Jensen and Misha is now available.

Jul 21 2017

Catching up with Supernatural Alumni at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

Today was the big Timeless panel at San Diego Comic Con.  Our master Eric Kripke was there to t

Jul 20 2017

The cast will appear live tomorrow, July 21, 2017 and will be seen on the Supernatural Facebook page

Jul 20 2017

The first clip from Jared and Jensen's appearance on Conan O'Brien

Jul 20 2017

The WB has released the poster for next season.

Jul 19 2017

The Conan O'Brien show has put out a teaser for tonight's appearance.

Jul 16 2017

Mark Pellegrino is in the running for a Tean Choice Award

Jul 16 2017

We have the first spoilers from this year's TV Guide article covering Comic Con.

Jul 15 2017

Warner Brothers is having a Gift Pack Giveaway.

Jul 14 2017

We have the images on the Comic Con bags for this year's Comic Con.

Jul 12 2017

Conan O'Brien is going to Comic Con and he's going to have Jared and Jensen on his show.

Jul 12 2017

Jensen and others are posting on social media from Vancouver. No Spoilers.

Jul 12 2017

San Diego Comic Con must be just around the corner!  Each year at this time we get some awesome

Jul 08 2017

Rogue Events, the company that hosted the Asylum conventions, is going out of business.

Jun 29 2017

IMDB has posted casting for episode 13.01

Jun 29 2017

It's official, Supernatural is coming to Comic Con this year.

Jun 27 2017

As your Winchester Family Business Editor-in-Chief, I have an exciting announcement to share.  

WFB Feature Articles

Sep 20 2017 | LK

 Welcome to Part 3 of my tale of attending my very first Supernatural convention! You'll want t

Read more...
Sep 18 2017 | LK

 

" I write about the power of trying, because I want to be okay with failing. I write about

Read more...
Sep 17 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural around the web this week.

Read more...
Sep 15 2017 | LK

Welcome to part 2 of my tale of attending my first Supernatural convention! If you missed Part 1, it

Read more...
Sep 14 2017 | Mallena

Richard Speight, Jr.’s birthday was on September 4th and in his honor, I’m writing a review of o

Read more...
Sep 13 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #4

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way. It's a qu

Read more...
Sep 12 2017 | LK

Introduction

 

Boy, this will be a long one! That is probably the sentence I will hear

Read more...
Sep 11 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.17 "The British Invasion". Once again

Read more...
Sep 10 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week

Read more...
Sep 09 2017 | LK

 

" For there is no friend like a sister in calm or stormy weather; To cheer one on the tediou

Read more...
Sep 08 2017 | Elle

One of the last Supernatural episodes of season 12 that was more formulaic and standard MOTW than bi

Read more...
Sep 07 2017 | Mallena

 

Who loves the idea of time travel? I do!  The possibilities are endless as I contemplat

Read more...
Sep 06 2017 | LK

 

"Don't call the world dirty because you forgot to clean your glasses.” — Joseph Addi

Read more...
Sep 04 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.16 "Ladies Drink Free". Once again I h

Read more...
Sep 03 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural and Family in the news this week!

Read more...
Sep 01 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #3

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a qu

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Percysowner

What are Supernatural fans up to? Here's the latest scoop as of August, 2017!

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Alice

My choices for part one were revealed, so without further delay, here are the Supernatural Season Tw

Read more...
Aug 28 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for Supernatural! For 12.15, "Somewhere Between Heave

Read more...
Aug 27 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 26 2017 | Nightsky

One of the unique attractions of San Diego Comic-Con is wandering the vendor floor looking at the am

Read more...
Aug 25 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #2

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a quick a

Read more...
Aug 24 2017 | Mallena

This week, I’ve been musing about family dramas.  There are many great examples of the genre

Read more...
Aug 21 2017 | Alice

Today I was utterly dismayed to hear about the closure of a long time fan site which the Wincheste

Read more...
Aug 19 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 18 2017 | Alice

Just like every year, The WFB doesn't stop with just the fan choice awards!  Your friendly neig

Read more...
Aug 16 2017 | LK

 

"The stars shall fade away, the sun himself Grow dim with age, and nature sink in years, B

Read more...

WFB Motivational Posters

WFBSiteBugs.jpg

Nightsky's New Book!

Welcome to this special edition of our spoiler-lite preview. But it’s always special, I hear you say! Aww shucks. Wait. Maybe that was just me talking... Well this one is extra-special because this week, Alice got to have a bit of a chat with Mr. Edlund, the writer of this week’s episode, "Everybody Hates Hitler", so I’ll be including a couple of spoiler-lite grabs from the wonderful Ben Edlund himself.
 
First up – where do we find ourselves after last week?

 
THEN
 
A Winchester came out of the closet – literally – while the brothers were busy getting dressed!
 
The brothers met their time travelling granddad - Henry Winchester - and discovered that they were born into a Legacy they knew nothing about, a Legacy of knowledge of the supernatural.
 
In our present, Henry died protecting the secrets of the "Men of Letters", a hidden organisation who chronicled everything about every evil thing. Dying in our present meant that Henry never made it back to the past...and to his son John...
 
Now Sam and Dean have the key to the "Men of Letters" secret lair – AKA the batcave! What information will they find inside?
 
 
NOW
 
We have a Golem and he’s taller than Sam!

 
For those that don't know, a Golem is a creature from Jewish folklore. Usually it is brought to life from inanimate matter - like mud or clay to seek revenge on behalf of whomever called it into existence. You may remember The X Files episode called "Kaddish"  which dealt with a Golem. The Golem in "Everybody Hates Hitler" is a person though - because well, budget and time would preclude creating a gigantic claymation Golem!
 
Of course, there’s a lot more to this week’s episode than just a Golem, because we'll also be finding out some additional information about this new storyline of the "Men of Letters" and learning how their recently discovered Legacy, will begin to take shape for the Winchester boys.
 
So let’s check out the synposis.
 
 
SAM AND DEAN FACE OFF AGAINST A GOLEM — Sam and Dean investigate the death of Rabbi Bass (guest star Hal Linden, “Barney Miller”), who spontaneously combusted. The case becomes ever more confusing when they learn that the Rabbi was researching Nazi Necromancers.  Sam and Dean are attacked by a Golem (guest star John DeSantis) who turns out to belong to the Rabbi’s grandson, Aaron (Adam Rose).  The key to the case lies with the Golem but Aaron doesn’t know how to control him, which leaves everyone in danger. Phil Sgriccia directed the episode written by Bed Edlund.
 

 
So, two exciting things here…this is Phil Sgriccia’s first episode for season 8. He hasn’t directed “Supernatural” since 7.18 “Party on Garth”. Phil's been doing double duty on Revolution (damn you Kripke), so it’ll be good to have him back at the helm. The other exciting thing of course is Ben Edlund. For a lot of us, his outtings represent season highs. Ben’s last episode was 8.05 “Blood Brother”. His episodes have been pretty heavy going of late, but he promises a little more humour in this one.
 
While we're talking humour, let's take a look at the CW promo – which was kinda weird I thought – obviously going for the humour….but not quite hitting the mark.


 
Ummm yeah.... that promo is just odd. Nazis though! Necromancer Nazis even! As Ben says....

"It gives us this new species of wretched critter who happens to be a Nazi so you can especially kick them in the face. No offense to, well I guess we don’t really need to worry about offending Nazis, that’s what so nice about it."

Before we look at the sneak peek - let's check out some more of what Ben said today. I’ll avoid anything that’s overly spoilery!

Ben was asked if there was much comedy in this week's episode - as some of his more recent episodes have been quite dark.

"People batting each other great distances can sometimes be funny (laughs). In this case there’s a couple of things that function that way.  Yeah. The Golem is so physically present that the guy we got to play him is amazing. He’s like 6’ 11’’. Usually when I’m writing something for Sam and Dean and I say, “This person towers over Sam and Dean,” I’m in a really bad place to begin that discussion cause Jared is 6’ 6” and Jensen is...tall. Jared makes Jensen seem like...they’re both just very big. Trying to get them to be towered over is pretty much an impossibility or to get them to be towered over and then have any acting quotient is especially an unfortunate assignment for casting.
This fellow was great, was amazing, and has this voice that sounds like a church bell rolling down a hill. He adds such presence to the intent of the comedy that’s written in the script that it’s really just amazing. There’s physical comedy and there’s just this physics issue of the Golem just standing there, which is comedic."

I have to say, seeing the photos of that dude towering over Sam is pretty funny – it’s not often you see that! In fact, have we ever seen that?

And what about the ‘batcave’ what can we expect from it? Here’s what Ben said...
 
"It’s gorgeous, it’s beautiful. It will stand for sometime I hope because it’s really, really wonderful looking. Adam Glass brought the Men of Letters into his episode. It was the opportunity to give them a really cool, very atmosphere rich space for them to be in and Jerry Wanek has done a beautiful job of making it real, or as real as movies get. It’s really beautiful.  

That was one of the challenges was writing the language of the set. I got very prosy in the script because I was just so excited to do it I had to actually limit myself. It started out un-produceable and then we scaled it back. At one point it was constructed as an echo of the axis mundi and was a mini-universe in the ground that had all these spiral staircases and un-produceable elements. For the feature series maybe we’ll get into the other version but this is just gorgeous. I don’t mean to downtalk it, it’s just that I made something absolutely un-shootable or buildable and then Jerry made incredible out of it because we brought it back to a certain thing. I re-described it and it’s beautiful."

This sounds like the perfect time to check out the sneak peek….


 
It does look super cool huh? The boys won’t know themselves with all that space! I really love the look of the library. It’ll be interesting to see them have a bit of a base that they can use and disappear to. I’m hoping that they keep it a secret from all and sundry. I'm also totally impressed by the double "Son of a bitch"!!

And what do Sam and Dean think of their new base? Mr. Edlund...

"Sam’s really excited that they’re in this place and he’s really jazzed about this wealth of information and the library and everything that comes from inheriting the Men of Letters headquarters. Dean is a little less geeked out in that regard and points out that all the information kind of terminates in 1958. How it relates to the present day is a mystery to him.

It for him [Sam] represents a kind of well that he wants to get to know because he feels convinced it’ll give them leads and information. In the history of the Winchesters they’ve had the myth of secret societies but almost no contact. We’ve never really made a point of them and they are a huge corridor of occult studies. For Sam, it’s like “We found it.” This is an important thing and it’s going to add up to something that gives us tools to fight the enemies we are courting in this season."

I'm kind of in love with the idea that Sam geeks out about this new place. I can't imagine Dean being too excited about being surrounded by all that research - but yes, Sam I can see loving it!

We’ve had a couple of great guest stars of late – like Mike Farrell in "Hunteri Heroici" and this week, we have "Barney Miller" himself, Hal Linden! Turns out, Ben's a fan...
 
"I really loved “Barney Miller” a lot and I was there in the audition when he came. He’s a really wonderful guy. I didn’t spend days with him but we got to speak for a moment. No, that was great. It’s a point, I don’t know what you call it, it’s not a point of personal pride because it’s Hal Linden, it’s all Hal Linden, but I’m really pleased. I guess I am proud to have a piece of work that he appears in because I watched “Barney Miller” religiously as a little kid. I don’t know, I just really loved it. They had a werewolf episode (laughs). They had their own little supernatural moment."

So what do you think? It looks like we're going to get a case - mixed in with some more information about the "Men of Letters" as the brothers check out their new digs. I'm pretty excited about this twist from last week. I'm looking forward to seeing where the show takes it.

I'm also looking forward to seeing this episode, because I'm totally crazy about Ben Edlund - I'll admit that freely - and I always like it when he delivers an episode with equal dark and light moments, I don't think any other writer has ever done that so well and that gigantic Golem fellow looks like he'll add some funny situations to a serious case.

And before I go.... here is the CHCH promo!



Nazi zombie freaks. Awesome.

And here's Carver's preview!



Man, that dude is BIG!

If you want to read more of Alice's catch-up with Ben, check out the full transcript here. There is more infomation on the plot of this episode - but it is a little spoilery, so I chose not to include it. You've probably read it anyway! 

If you're interested in reading more about what a Golem is, here is the Wikipedia link.

And don't forget - for information on upcoming episodes, check out our spoiler page.

So are you excited, dubious, worried, ambivalent, thrilled beyond reason? Sound off below!

And as always thanks for reading, enjoy the episode and I'll see you soon in reviewland!
-sweetondean