WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

More Supernatural Interviews From Comic Con 2017 - Misha Collins

More Supernatural Interviews From Comic Con 2017 - Jensen Ackles

More Supernatural Interviews From Comic Con 2017 - Jared Padalecki

Supernatural Interviews Comic Con 2017 - Andrew Dabb

Interview With Executive Producer Robert Singer - Comic Con 2017

Interview With Jensen Ackles - Comic Con 2017

Check out all our San Diego Comic Con coverage, including on scene reports from Nightsky!  

 

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

24 Jul 2017 14:25

Nightsky posted her video of the Kansas performance at Comic Con.

23 Jul 2017 20:11

We may be getting several of these today.

23 Jul 2017 14:56

The cast for Wayward Sisters has been announced.

23 Jul 2017 14:01

The 2017 San Diego Comic Con "Supernatural" panel was one for the ages.  A surprise concert, a

23 Jul 2017 00:16

Today was a very special panel involving one of our prominent #SPNFAMILY members, Genevieve Padaleck

22 Jul 2017 22:37

The photos from Nightsky have been coming in slowly and we are keeping an archive of everything take

22 Jul 2017 21:41

The Tick has had a big presence at Comic Con.

22 Jul 2017 13:54

EW sat down with Jared, Jensen and Misha at Comic Con.

21 Jul 2017 22:30

The Facebook Live chat with Jared, Jensen and Misha is now available.

21 Jul 2017 14:27

Catching up with Supernatural Alumni at Comic Con.

21 Jul 2017 00:09

Today was the big Timeless panel at San Diego Comic Con.  Our master Eric Kripke was there to t

20 Jul 2017 14:59

The cast will appear live tomorrow, July 21, 2017 and will be seen on the Supernatural Facebook page

20 Jul 2017 11:52

The first clip from Jared and Jensen's appearance on Conan O'Brien

20 Jul 2017 06:45

The WB has released the poster for next season.

19 Jul 2017 17:35

The Conan O'Brien show has put out a teaser for tonight's appearance.

16 Jul 2017 14:44

Mark Pellegrino is in the running for a Tean Choice Award

16 Jul 2017 01:45

We have the first spoilers from this year's TV Guide article covering Comic Con.

15 Jul 2017 12:23

Warner Brothers is having a Gift Pack Giveaway.

14 Jul 2017 15:27

We have the images on the Comic Con bags for this year's Comic Con.

12 Jul 2017 16:28

Conan O'Brien is going to Comic Con and he's going to have Jared and Jensen on his show.

12 Jul 2017 13:22

Jensen and others are posting on social media from Vancouver. No Spoilers.

12 Jul 2017 10:20

San Diego Comic Con must be just around the corner!  Each year at this time we get some awesome

08 Jul 2017 19:22

Rogue Events, the company that hosted the Asylum conventions, is going out of business.

29 Jun 2017 14:55

IMDB has posted casting for episode 13.01

29 Jun 2017 14:08

It's official, Supernatural is coming to Comic Con this year.

27 Jun 2017 21:32

As your Winchester Family Business Editor-in-Chief, I have an exciting announcement to share.  

20 Jun 2017 14:00

Reportedly, Wayward Sisters (not Daughters) will be given a backdoor pilot in season 13.

20 Jun 2017 08:33

The Teen Choice Awards announced the first round of their nominations yesterday and Supernatural is

08 Jun 2017 15:20

We have a date for the end of Hellatus!

06 Jun 2017 21:28

Ty Olsson (Benny Lafitte) just won a Leo Award.

03 Jun 2017 14:53

Jared has announced the final phase of the relaunch of his AKF campaign.

01 Jun 2017 23:33

Oh yeah, we had a LOT to discuss!  This is a supersized TV Fanatic Roundtable this time, design

01 Jun 2017 15:30

Jared and Jensen have both spoken about their daughters recently.

01 Jun 2017 10:22

Jared has relaunched part five of his Always Keep Fighting campaign.

31 May 2017 08:44

We have the first information on the season 12 DVD.

26 May 2017 14:18

Jared and Gen Padalecki both spoke in support of David's Law, a Texas law which targets cyber bullyi

26 May 2017 09:14

Jared started part four of his relaunch.

24 May 2017 15:07

Editor's Note: This article chronologically presents the reports and tweets on Mark Sheppard's statu

24 May 2017 09:41

 Now that season 12 is over, our stars are working for charity.

21 May 2017 09:14

Jared has launched part two of his AKF campaign.

20 May 2017 16:46

We have a few spoilers that came out of the Jus In Bello Convention this weekend.

19 May 2017 11:25

Here are the ratings for last night's finale episodes.

18 May 2017 21:38

Well, we were uninamous, but that's not necessarily good.  All four of us at the TV Fanatic Rou

18 May 2017 15:34

Jared talks about the season finale, season 13 spoilers and relaunching his Always Keep Fighting Cam

18 May 2017 12:05

We are getting our first spoilers for next season at the CW upfront presentation.

18 May 2017 08:52

The CW has released its schedule for next season.

WFB Feature Articles

Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

The final actor is Misha Collins.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Jensen spoke to different outlets at Comic Con this year.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

We return to the actors who were interviewed at Comic Con. This time Jared Padalecki.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Press Room Interviews with Andrew Dabb.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

 Last interview up and it's with the man who holds it all together, Robert Singer.  He giv

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

An interview with Jensen is always a pleasure!  The interview started out casually - talk about

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

It's Misha's turn!  In our roundtable interview in the San Diego Comic Con press room today, he

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

Today was a pretty awesome day!  Here's the WFB roundtable interview with Jared Padalecki. &nbs

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.17 "The British Invasion". Once again

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Mallena

This episode introduces us to Anna Milton.  She isn’t a normal girl, like she appears, but is

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Alice

The nominations were collected, the votes have been cast, the results have been tabulated, and the w

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

San Diego Comic Con 2017 is this week! The most anticipated comic book, superhero, scifi/fantasy gen

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Elle

12 Years of Big Boss Battles: Supernatural Villainy for the Ages

“I'm glad, honestly. I'm not s

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | LK

 

"The gleam in their eyes telegraphs only too clearly that they are hoping for a headline,

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Here's what we know about this year's event!

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Mallena

I was underwhelmed with season ten for most of its run, so it was wonderful to watch an episode as t

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural on the web this week!

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series! For Supernatural 12.13 "Family Feud", I put tog

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Alice

The moment is finally here!  The nominations have been tabulated, now it's time to vote.  

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | LK

 

"The unreal is more powerful than the real, because nothing is as perfect as you can imagine

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to "Memorable Moments" of Supernatural! This edition focuses on episode 12.12 "Stuck In

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Mallena

There has been a lot of talk lately about Jody and the women of Supernatural.  In honor of the

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Elle

Rich, riveting, complex and so full of story details and character threads that it's impossible to m

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | LK

 "Yesterday is but today's memory, and tomorrow is today's dream." — Khalil Gibran

Loosing

Read more...

WFB Motivational Posters - Comic Con

ComicCon.jpg

Nightsky's New Book!

Here we go with the 3rd episode after the hellatus. Feels like a lot happened over the last couple of weeks. We now find ourselves on fragile ground with Sam and Dean seemingly making an effort to be a little understanding of each other, instead of simply butting heads! Will this continue? Will we see our favourite ghost hunting bros continue on this path of healing? That’s us healing as much as them healing, bee tee dubs (shout out to Charlie)! What will happen this week?
  
Well let’s take a look.
 
 
THEN
 
They fought
They yelled
They (hot) angry stared at each other
They huffed off/closed eyes in frustration
Etc
Etc
Etc
They talked
They made a choice
They ate chilli
They were nicer to each other
They dressed in (hot) silly clothes
They charged into fake battle
They had…
HOLD
...Fun!
 
 
NOW
 
We’ll hey there grandpappy Winchester!

So this week we meet a time traveller that seems to be John’s daddy…Henry Winchester.
 
A time travelling mechanic?
 
Hmmm….
 
Let’s check out the synopsis.

 
SAM AND DEAN MEET THEIR GRANDFATHER — Sam and Dean are stunned when a man who claims to be Henry Winchester (guest star Gil McKinney), their grandfather, suddenly appears in their hotel room demanding to know where he can find John Winchester. Henry has time-travelled to stop a demon named Abbadon (guest star Alaina Huffman) and was looking for John’s help. Through Henry, Sam and Dean learn more about their father and the Winchester bloodline. Serge Ladouceur directed the episode written by Adam Glass.

 
Ok first thing. Yay, this is Serge’s directorial debut for "Supernatural". As I’m sure we all know, Serge is D.O.P. on the show and has been an integral part of creating the visual look of the series. So I’m expecting this episode to look great if nothing else!
 
So ummm…let’s get back to this mechanic thing.
 
Before John became a hunter, he was a mechanic from a family of mechanics. At least that’s what we’ve been told. We know that in 1978 John did become aware of the supernatural, when the brothers time travelled back to stop Anna killing their parents, but the Archangel Michael wiped this knowledge from John's memory.
 
So when we first met John at the very beginning of the Pilot, he knew nothing of Mary’s past and he knew nothing of the supernatural. Until Mary was killed when, according to his journal, he went to Missouri for answers. It was Missouri who drew back the curtain and opened his eyes to what was really out there in the dark…
 
“I went to Missouri and I learned the truth”
 
And the rest of the story we know…and it gets us to here….
 
So what the heck? Are we about to rewrite the Winchester family history? Or simply, finally write the Winchester family history.
 
It’s got my brain ticking. How can Henry Winchester be involved in/know about the family business? How does he know to come and find John? Does he know what John does? Or is it simply that when he finds himself flung through time from 1958 to the present, his first thought is to ask his son for help - that'd freak John out a tad I'd say!

We've never heard anything of Henry Winchester so I’m assuming that Henry wasn’t around when the boys were growing up. But he was around when we first met John in “In the Beginning” because Mr. D says to Young John in the diner, “Say hello to your old man for me.” So in 1973, Henry Winchester must have been alive and well and part of John's life (unless John had a step-dad or something). But if the boys don't know him, he was either dead before they were born, or estranged from John. I'm assuming dead... but it'd be pretty interesting if he was still alive in the present!

We were all blown away when we found out that Mary came from a long line of hunters. What if John's family was at somepoint, involved with the supernatural too? But Henry kept it a secret from John. Maybe Henry was the first Winchester to turn his back on the 'job', what ever that may be and consequently John was raised with no knowledge of it. 

Here are a few of my thoughts all of which are most likely craptastic.
 
The demon tells Henry she’s going to the future and mentions John, so Henry follows to warn/protect his son. 

Or

Henry was a hunter but John never knew.

Or

Henry was a hunter before John was born, or when he was a young child, but walked away from 'the life', so John never knew. This could be interesting! Because it would prove to the boys that you can walk away and have a family…. Very relevant to the current season.

Or

Henry (and the Winchester bloodline) was involved with the supernatural in some other way. He wasn't a hunter, but he was aware of the evil that's out there and had some kind of interaction with it. Maybe he was involved with some other group of individuals who have another job to do regarding the supernatural. Like "Watchers" or something! (That'd be cool). But once again, it looks like he never shared that knowledge with John, or was out of the game by the time John was growing up.
 
In some ways having the Winchesters have a deeper connection to the supernatural than simply being hunters born of revenge, makes sense. The cupids matched John and Mary together for the distinct purpose of giving birth to Sam and Dean. As the Cupid says to Dean, in “My Bloody Valentine”...

“….the union of John and Mary Winchester, very big deal upstairs, top priority arrangement…..it wasn't easy, either. Ooh, they couldn't stand each other at first. But when we were done with them, perfect couple……the orders were very clear. You and Sam needed to be born.”
 
The boys are vessels - true vessels. But Michael also used John and Adam as vessels and we know that being a vessel is in the bloodline, as Michael says to Dean in "The Song Remains the Same"...

"It’s in your blood, your father’s blood, your family's blood.”

So would it make some sense that the two families share a common heritage? A common destiny? Is this the reason Mary and John were destined to be joined and consequently their sons destined to their fate? Or were Mary and John destined because of their future children's destinies? Ouch! Brain splat! Chicken? Egg?

We know absolutely nothing at all about the Winchester side of the family. We know nothing about John. We know Mary, at least, had an uncle – who put up her gravestone. We know there were Campbell cousins, Gwen, Christian and Mark. We know Mary’s parents were Samuel and Deanna. But we know nothing about John…not one bit of family information has ever been given about John Winchester. Just that he was a mechanic from a family of mechanics.

I take the implication of the synopsis and the talk of ‘bloodline’ to mean that the Winchester's lineage has something in someway to do with 'the life'. That there are secrets to be shared with the brothers. Maybe secrets even their father had no clue about...

Geeze...I think I just turned this into a Let's Speculate!

So before I go on and on... we better check out the CW promo...


I love it! Henry pops out of the wardrobe while Dean's doing up his boots! So it looks like HW knows about demons and he knows about Hell...well that it's actually real.... interesting.


Here's the preview clip...
 


And he's a tricky bastard! How did he do that? (But somewhere inside...where I probably shouldn't talk about...I'm kinda glad he did!). And does it look to you like he did a spell to get there that he thinks went wrong? So HW can cast spells. He speaks very proper like too - doesn't come across as a mechanic! Which sounds like I'm casting aspersions on mechanics...I'm not, but Dean was right...007!


And the CHCH promo...
 


What does Sam say in this spot about what HW did with the power of his soul that only angels can do? I can't quite catch it.. (bad audio edit in there). If you can understand that line - can you jot it in the comments? Honestly, I listened over and over. That's a nice symbol he's putting on the door! And um...is that a guy with his eyeballs bleeding out of their sockets?


Ha. So...symbols...maybe enochian...definite spell...demons...souls...time travel. Oh yeah...mechanic shmechanic!

I can’t tell you how much I’m looking forward to this episode! I love the time travel eps…they do my head in, but I love them. I love episodes which add a new layer to the mythology and then seeing how that affects the story and characters or even what we've previously believed of the story and characters. I'm hopeful that the brothers will learn more about John, maybe what he was like as a boy? That'd be nice for them. But I'm really interested in what Henry has to say about the Winchester family lineage and how that will impact Sam and Dean. Will it change how they see their father? Or the family business? Or their (past) destinies? Or their possible futures? 

On paper anyway, this one looks like a doozy!

What do you guys think? Hit me up with your thoughts and theories.

Enjoy the episode and thanks for reading. See you in reviewland!

-sweetondean


BREAKING NEWS! This just in.... Producer's Preview - a couple of questions answered? (Love the line at the end, I literally guffawed!)