WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 3

Fan Video of the Week: Supernatural Reflections "The British Invasion”

Supernatural Bits & Pieces September 17, 2017

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 2

Mallena's Supernatural Musings: 3.11 "Mystery Spot"

Supernatural Match Game #4

Check out all our San Diego Comic Con coverage, including on scene reports from Nightsky!  

 

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

Sep 18 2017

Jeffrey Dean Morgan and Hillary Burton showed off her baby bump at last night's Emmy Awards ceremony

Sep 18 2017

The actor, who once played Gordon Walker, won an Emmy last night for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Dra

Sep 17 2017

We have a copy of the EW preview for Supernatural and BTS pictures of episode 6.

Sep 13 2017

We're getting close. The CW released a short promo.

Sep 12 2017

EW just published a big spoiler for season 13. TVLine Spoilers added!

Sep 12 2017

September 13 is Supernatural Day!

Sep 08 2017

TVLine released it's fall preview and had this to say about Supernatural

Sep 06 2017

With the DVD for season 12 hitting the shelves yesterday, several oulets have posted deleted scenes

Sep 04 2017

Misha Collins made the announcement today.

Sep 01 2017

Stories continue to come out on Jensen Ackles fundraiser to help Texas after the devastation of Hurr

Aug 31 2017

The Supernatural Family's work to aid in disaster rescue and recovery efforts has even been noticed

Aug 30 2017

Buddy TV posted a new deleted scene from last season.

Aug 28 2017

Jensen and Danneel Ackles are spearheading an effort to help victims of Hurricane Harvey

Aug 24 2017

We have titles for episodes through 12.

Aug 23 2017

TV Line has some spoilers for this season.

Aug 23 2017

There are a lot of Behing-The-Scenes shots from episodes 3 of Supernatural season 13!

Aug 20 2017

The cast is wishing Misha a Happy Birthday!

Aug 18 2017

Christine Kilmer's latest vlog is up and it's seems rather timely given the latest events.  In

Aug 12 2017

Spoiler TV posted the titles for the first nine episodes and episode 16

Aug 12 2017

Recently, I had to shut down the site because of horrible, negative, disrespectful fighting in our c

Aug 09 2017

We have casting news for season 13.

Jul 24 2017

Nightsky posted her video of the Kansas performance at Comic Con.

Jul 23 2017

We may be getting several of these today.

Jul 23 2017

The cast for Wayward Sisters has been announced.

Jul 23 2017

The 2017 San Diego Comic Con "Supernatural" panel was one for the ages.  A surprise concert, a

Jul 23 2017

Today was a very special panel involving one of our prominent #SPNFAMILY members, Genevieve Padaleck

Jul 22 2017

The photos from Nightsky have been coming in slowly and we are keeping an archive of everything take

Jul 22 2017

The Tick has had a big presence at Comic Con.

Jul 22 2017

EW sat down with Jared, Jensen and Misha at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

The Facebook Live chat with Jared, Jensen and Misha is now available.

Jul 21 2017

Catching up with Supernatural Alumni at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

Today was the big Timeless panel at San Diego Comic Con.  Our master Eric Kripke was there to t

Jul 20 2017

The cast will appear live tomorrow, July 21, 2017 and will be seen on the Supernatural Facebook page

Jul 20 2017

The first clip from Jared and Jensen's appearance on Conan O'Brien

Jul 20 2017

The WB has released the poster for next season.

Jul 19 2017

The Conan O'Brien show has put out a teaser for tonight's appearance.

Jul 16 2017

Mark Pellegrino is in the running for a Tean Choice Award

Jul 16 2017

We have the first spoilers from this year's TV Guide article covering Comic Con.

Jul 15 2017

Warner Brothers is having a Gift Pack Giveaway.

Jul 14 2017

We have the images on the Comic Con bags for this year's Comic Con.

Jul 12 2017

Conan O'Brien is going to Comic Con and he's going to have Jared and Jensen on his show.

Jul 12 2017

Jensen and others are posting on social media from Vancouver. No Spoilers.

Jul 12 2017

San Diego Comic Con must be just around the corner!  Each year at this time we get some awesome

Jul 08 2017

Rogue Events, the company that hosted the Asylum conventions, is going out of business.

Jun 29 2017

IMDB has posted casting for episode 13.01

Jun 29 2017

It's official, Supernatural is coming to Comic Con this year.

Jun 27 2017

As your Winchester Family Business Editor-in-Chief, I have an exciting announcement to share.  

WFB Feature Articles

Sep 20 2017 | LK

 Welcome to Part 3 of my tale of attending my very first Supernatural convention! You'll want t

Read more...
Sep 18 2017 | LK

 

" I write about the power of trying, because I want to be okay with failing. I write about

Read more...
Sep 17 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural around the web this week.

Read more...
Sep 15 2017 | LK

Welcome to part 2 of my tale of attending my first Supernatural convention! If you missed Part 1, it

Read more...
Sep 14 2017 | Mallena

Richard Speight, Jr.’s birthday was on September 4th and in his honor, I’m writing a review of o

Read more...
Sep 13 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #4

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way. It's a qu

Read more...
Sep 12 2017 | LK

Introduction

 

Boy, this will be a long one! That is probably the sentence I will hear

Read more...
Sep 11 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.17 "The British Invasion". Once again

Read more...
Sep 10 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week

Read more...
Sep 09 2017 | LK

 

" For there is no friend like a sister in calm or stormy weather; To cheer one on the tediou

Read more...
Sep 08 2017 | Elle

One of the last Supernatural episodes of season 12 that was more formulaic and standard MOTW than bi

Read more...
Sep 07 2017 | Mallena

 

Who loves the idea of time travel? I do!  The possibilities are endless as I contemplat

Read more...
Sep 06 2017 | LK

 

"Don't call the world dirty because you forgot to clean your glasses.” — Joseph Addi

Read more...
Sep 04 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.16 "Ladies Drink Free". Once again I h

Read more...
Sep 03 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural and Family in the news this week!

Read more...
Sep 01 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #3

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a qu

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Percysowner

What are Supernatural fans up to? Here's the latest scoop as of August, 2017!

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Alice

My choices for part one were revealed, so without further delay, here are the Supernatural Season Tw

Read more...
Aug 28 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for Supernatural! For 12.15, "Somewhere Between Heave

Read more...
Aug 27 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 26 2017 | Nightsky

One of the unique attractions of San Diego Comic-Con is wandering the vendor floor looking at the am

Read more...
Aug 25 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #2

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a quick a

Read more...
Aug 24 2017 | Mallena

This week, I’ve been musing about family dramas.  There are many great examples of the genre

Read more...
Aug 21 2017 | Alice

Today I was utterly dismayed to hear about the closure of a long time fan site which the Wincheste

Read more...
Aug 19 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 18 2017 | Alice

Just like every year, The WFB doesn't stop with just the fan choice awards!  Your friendly neig

Read more...
Aug 16 2017 | LK

 

"The stars shall fade away, the sun himself Grow dim with age, and nature sink in years, B

Read more...

WFB Motivational Posters

LameJoke.jpg

Nightsky's New Book!

Here we go with the 3rd episode after the hellatus. Feels like a lot happened over the last couple of weeks. We now find ourselves on fragile ground with Sam and Dean seemingly making an effort to be a little understanding of each other, instead of simply butting heads! Will this continue? Will we see our favourite ghost hunting bros continue on this path of healing? That’s us healing as much as them healing, bee tee dubs (shout out to Charlie)! What will happen this week?
  
Well let’s take a look.
 
 
THEN
 
They fought
They yelled
They (hot) angry stared at each other
They huffed off/closed eyes in frustration
Etc
Etc
Etc
They talked
They made a choice
They ate chilli
They were nicer to each other
They dressed in (hot) silly clothes
They charged into fake battle
They had…
HOLD
...Fun!
 
 
NOW
 
We’ll hey there grandpappy Winchester!

So this week we meet a time traveller that seems to be John’s daddy…Henry Winchester.
 
A time travelling mechanic?
 
Hmmm….
 
Let’s check out the synopsis.

 
SAM AND DEAN MEET THEIR GRANDFATHER — Sam and Dean are stunned when a man who claims to be Henry Winchester (guest star Gil McKinney), their grandfather, suddenly appears in their hotel room demanding to know where he can find John Winchester. Henry has time-travelled to stop a demon named Abbadon (guest star Alaina Huffman) and was looking for John’s help. Through Henry, Sam and Dean learn more about their father and the Winchester bloodline. Serge Ladouceur directed the episode written by Adam Glass.

 
Ok first thing. Yay, this is Serge’s directorial debut for "Supernatural". As I’m sure we all know, Serge is D.O.P. on the show and has been an integral part of creating the visual look of the series. So I’m expecting this episode to look great if nothing else!
 
So ummm…let’s get back to this mechanic thing.
 
Before John became a hunter, he was a mechanic from a family of mechanics. At least that’s what we’ve been told. We know that in 1978 John did become aware of the supernatural, when the brothers time travelled back to stop Anna killing their parents, but the Archangel Michael wiped this knowledge from John's memory.
 
So when we first met John at the very beginning of the Pilot, he knew nothing of Mary’s past and he knew nothing of the supernatural. Until Mary was killed when, according to his journal, he went to Missouri for answers. It was Missouri who drew back the curtain and opened his eyes to what was really out there in the dark…
 
“I went to Missouri and I learned the truth”
 
And the rest of the story we know…and it gets us to here….
 
So what the heck? Are we about to rewrite the Winchester family history? Or simply, finally write the Winchester family history.
 
It’s got my brain ticking. How can Henry Winchester be involved in/know about the family business? How does he know to come and find John? Does he know what John does? Or is it simply that when he finds himself flung through time from 1958 to the present, his first thought is to ask his son for help - that'd freak John out a tad I'd say!

We've never heard anything of Henry Winchester so I’m assuming that Henry wasn’t around when the boys were growing up. But he was around when we first met John in “In the Beginning” because Mr. D says to Young John in the diner, “Say hello to your old man for me.” So in 1973, Henry Winchester must have been alive and well and part of John's life (unless John had a step-dad or something). But if the boys don't know him, he was either dead before they were born, or estranged from John. I'm assuming dead... but it'd be pretty interesting if he was still alive in the present!

We were all blown away when we found out that Mary came from a long line of hunters. What if John's family was at somepoint, involved with the supernatural too? But Henry kept it a secret from John. Maybe Henry was the first Winchester to turn his back on the 'job', what ever that may be and consequently John was raised with no knowledge of it. 

Here are a few of my thoughts all of which are most likely craptastic.
 
The demon tells Henry she’s going to the future and mentions John, so Henry follows to warn/protect his son. 

Or

Henry was a hunter but John never knew.

Or

Henry was a hunter before John was born, or when he was a young child, but walked away from 'the life', so John never knew. This could be interesting! Because it would prove to the boys that you can walk away and have a family…. Very relevant to the current season.

Or

Henry (and the Winchester bloodline) was involved with the supernatural in some other way. He wasn't a hunter, but he was aware of the evil that's out there and had some kind of interaction with it. Maybe he was involved with some other group of individuals who have another job to do regarding the supernatural. Like "Watchers" or something! (That'd be cool). But once again, it looks like he never shared that knowledge with John, or was out of the game by the time John was growing up.
 
In some ways having the Winchesters have a deeper connection to the supernatural than simply being hunters born of revenge, makes sense. The cupids matched John and Mary together for the distinct purpose of giving birth to Sam and Dean. As the Cupid says to Dean, in “My Bloody Valentine”...

“….the union of John and Mary Winchester, very big deal upstairs, top priority arrangement…..it wasn't easy, either. Ooh, they couldn't stand each other at first. But when we were done with them, perfect couple……the orders were very clear. You and Sam needed to be born.”
 
The boys are vessels - true vessels. But Michael also used John and Adam as vessels and we know that being a vessel is in the bloodline, as Michael says to Dean in "The Song Remains the Same"...

"It’s in your blood, your father’s blood, your family's blood.”

So would it make some sense that the two families share a common heritage? A common destiny? Is this the reason Mary and John were destined to be joined and consequently their sons destined to their fate? Or were Mary and John destined because of their future children's destinies? Ouch! Brain splat! Chicken? Egg?

We know absolutely nothing at all about the Winchester side of the family. We know nothing about John. We know Mary, at least, had an uncle – who put up her gravestone. We know there were Campbell cousins, Gwen, Christian and Mark. We know Mary’s parents were Samuel and Deanna. But we know nothing about John…not one bit of family information has ever been given about John Winchester. Just that he was a mechanic from a family of mechanics.

I take the implication of the synopsis and the talk of ‘bloodline’ to mean that the Winchester's lineage has something in someway to do with 'the life'. That there are secrets to be shared with the brothers. Maybe secrets even their father had no clue about...

Geeze...I think I just turned this into a Let's Speculate!

So before I go on and on... we better check out the CW promo...


I love it! Henry pops out of the wardrobe while Dean's doing up his boots! So it looks like HW knows about demons and he knows about Hell...well that it's actually real.... interesting.


Here's the preview clip...
 


And he's a tricky bastard! How did he do that? (But somewhere inside...where I probably shouldn't talk about...I'm kinda glad he did!). And does it look to you like he did a spell to get there that he thinks went wrong? So HW can cast spells. He speaks very proper like too - doesn't come across as a mechanic! Which sounds like I'm casting aspersions on mechanics...I'm not, but Dean was right...007!


And the CHCH promo...
 


What does Sam say in this spot about what HW did with the power of his soul that only angels can do? I can't quite catch it.. (bad audio edit in there). If you can understand that line - can you jot it in the comments? Honestly, I listened over and over. That's a nice symbol he's putting on the door! And um...is that a guy with his eyeballs bleeding out of their sockets?


Ha. So...symbols...maybe enochian...definite spell...demons...souls...time travel. Oh yeah...mechanic shmechanic!

I can’t tell you how much I’m looking forward to this episode! I love the time travel eps…they do my head in, but I love them. I love episodes which add a new layer to the mythology and then seeing how that affects the story and characters or even what we've previously believed of the story and characters. I'm hopeful that the brothers will learn more about John, maybe what he was like as a boy? That'd be nice for them. But I'm really interested in what Henry has to say about the Winchester family lineage and how that will impact Sam and Dean. Will it change how they see their father? Or the family business? Or their (past) destinies? Or their possible futures? 

On paper anyway, this one looks like a doozy!

What do you guys think? Hit me up with your thoughts and theories.

Enjoy the episode and thanks for reading. See you in reviewland!

-sweetondean


BREAKING NEWS! This just in.... Producer's Preview - a couple of questions answered? (Love the line at the end, I literally guffawed!)