WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

Interview With Jensen Ackles - Comic Con 2017

Interview with Misha Collins - Comic Con 2017

Interview with Jared Padalecki - Comic Con 2017

Supernatural Bits & Pieces July 22, 2017

Memorable Moments Supernatural 12.17 - The British Invasion

Mallena's Supernatural Musings: 4.09 "I Know What You Did Last Summer"

Check out all our San Diego Comic Con coverage, including on scene reports from Nightsky!  

 

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

23 Jul 2017 20:11

We may be getting several of these today.

23 Jul 2017 14:56

The cast for Wayward Sisters has been announced.

23 Jul 2017 14:01

The 2017 San Diego Comic Con "Supernatural" panel was one for the ages.  A surprise concert, a

23 Jul 2017 00:16

Today was a very special panel involving one of our prominent #SPNFAMILY members, Genevieve Padaleck

22 Jul 2017 22:37

The photos from Nightsky have been coming in slowly and we are keeping an archive of everything take

22 Jul 2017 21:41

The Tick has had a big presence at Comic Con.

22 Jul 2017 13:54

EW sat down with Jared, Jensen and Misha at Comic Con.

21 Jul 2017 22:30

The Facebook Live chat with Jared, Jensen and Misha is now available.

21 Jul 2017 14:27

Catching up with Supernatural Alumni at Comic Con.

21 Jul 2017 00:09

Today was the big Timeless panel at San Diego Comic Con.  Our master Eric Kripke was there to t

20 Jul 2017 14:59

The cast will appear live tomorrow, July 21, 2017 and will be seen on the Supernatural Facebook page

20 Jul 2017 11:52

The first clip from Jared and Jensen's appearance on Conan O'Brien

20 Jul 2017 06:45

The WB has released the poster for next season.

19 Jul 2017 17:35

The Conan O'Brien show has put out a teaser for tonight's appearance.

16 Jul 2017 14:44

Mark Pellegrino is in the running for a Tean Choice Award

16 Jul 2017 01:45

We have the first spoilers from this year's TV Guide article covering Comic Con.

15 Jul 2017 12:23

Warner Brothers is having a Gift Pack Giveaway.

14 Jul 2017 15:27

We have the images on the Comic Con bags for this year's Comic Con.

12 Jul 2017 16:28

Conan O'Brien is going to Comic Con and he's going to have Jared and Jensen on his show.

12 Jul 2017 13:22

Jensen and others are posting on social media from Vancouver. No Spoilers.

12 Jul 2017 10:20

San Diego Comic Con must be just around the corner!  Each year at this time we get some awesome

08 Jul 2017 19:22

Rogue Events, the company that hosted the Asylum conventions, is going out of business.

29 Jun 2017 14:55

IMDB has posted casting for episode 13.01

29 Jun 2017 14:08

It's official, Supernatural is coming to Comic Con this year.

27 Jun 2017 21:32

As your Winchester Family Business Editor-in-Chief, I have an exciting announcement to share.  

20 Jun 2017 14:00

Reportedly, Wayward Sisters (not Daughters) will be given a backdoor pilot in season 13.

20 Jun 2017 08:33

The Teen Choice Awards announced the first round of their nominations yesterday and Supernatural is

08 Jun 2017 15:20

We have a date for the end of Hellatus!

06 Jun 2017 21:28

Ty Olsson (Benny Lafitte) just won a Leo Award.

03 Jun 2017 14:53

Jared has announced the final phase of the relaunch of his AKF campaign.

01 Jun 2017 23:33

Oh yeah, we had a LOT to discuss!  This is a supersized TV Fanatic Roundtable this time, design

01 Jun 2017 15:30

Jared and Jensen have both spoken about their daughters recently.

01 Jun 2017 10:22

Jared has relaunched part five of his Always Keep Fighting campaign.

31 May 2017 08:44

We have the first information on the season 12 DVD.

26 May 2017 14:18

Jared and Gen Padalecki both spoke in support of David's Law, a Texas law which targets cyber bullyi

26 May 2017 09:14

Jared started part four of his relaunch.

24 May 2017 15:07

Editor's Note: This article chronologically presents the reports and tweets on Mark Sheppard's statu

24 May 2017 09:41

 Now that season 12 is over, our stars are working for charity.

21 May 2017 09:14

Jared has launched part two of his AKF campaign.

20 May 2017 16:46

We have a few spoilers that came out of the Jus In Bello Convention this weekend.

19 May 2017 11:25

Here are the ratings for last night's finale episodes.

18 May 2017 21:38

Well, we were uninamous, but that's not necessarily good.  All four of us at the TV Fanatic Rou

18 May 2017 15:34

Jared talks about the season finale, season 13 spoilers and relaunching his Always Keep Fighting Cam

18 May 2017 12:05

We are getting our first spoilers for next season at the CW upfront presentation.

18 May 2017 08:52

The CW has released its schedule for next season.

17 May 2017 14:21

EW has published an interview with Andrew Dabb about the final episodes of season 12.

WFB Feature Articles

Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

An interview with Jensen is always a pleasure!  The interview started out casually - talk about

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

It's Misha's turn!  In our roundtable interview in the San Diego Comic Con press room today, he

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Nightsky

Today was a pretty awesome day!  Here's the WFB roundtable interview with Jared Padalecki. &nbs

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the Memorable Moments Series for episode 12.17 The British Invasion. Once again I ha

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Mallena

This episode introduces us to Anna Milton.  She isn’t a normal girl, like she appears, but is

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Alice

The nominations were collected, the votes have been cast, the results have been tabulated, and the w

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

San Diego Comic Con 2017 is this week! The most anticipated comic book, superhero, scifi/fantasy gen

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Elle

12 Years of Big Boss Battles: Supernatural Villainy for the Ages

“I'm glad, honestly. I'm not s

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | LK

 

"The gleam in their eyes telegraphs only too clearly that they are hoping for a headline,

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Here's what we know about this year's event!

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Mallena

I was underwhelmed with season ten for most of its run, so it was wonderful to watch an episode as t

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural on the web this week!

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series! For Supernatural 12.13 "Family Feud", I put tog

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Alice

The moment is finally here!  The nominations have been tabulated, now it's time to vote.  

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | LK

 

"The unreal is more powerful than the real, because nothing is as perfect as you can imagine

Read more...
Jul 31 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to "Memorable Moments" of Supernatural! This edition focuses on episode 12.12 "Stuck In

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Mallena

There has been a lot of talk lately about Jody and the women of Supernatural.  In honor of the

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Elle

Rich, riveting, complex and so full of story details and character threads that it's impossible to m

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | LK

 "Yesterday is but today's memory, and tomorrow is today's dream." — Khalil Gibran

Loosing

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Elle

 The list you’ve all been waiting for! The second half of the season eleven hits and misses.

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week!

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for Supernatural! For episode 12.11, "Regarding Dean"

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Percysowner

 What are Supernatural Fans are up to this summer?

Read more...
Jun 30 2017 | Mallena

I love a good apocalypse, don’t you?  The first novel in that genre that I read was Alas, Bab

Read more...

WFB Motivational Posters - Comic Con

ComicComMayhem.jpg

Nightsky's New Book!

TW042

Okay, so season six and seven of Supernatural have been unpopular in many ways with the fandom. And understandably so: there were changes to the atmosphere of the show, characters were altered in confusing and non-sensical ways, plots have been dropped at random and character development has been questionable at time. So, with all that can be said to be wrong with this once great and beloved show one has to wonder: why do we stay?

For me the answer is simple - I just can't help but continue to love Supernatural. This piece isn't about inciting diatribes about what is wrong with the show, or critiquing the people who have complaints about it, legitimate or otherwise. Rather, it's about examining what keeps me coming back week after week, year after year, even during the tough times. 

Every television show of decent age goes through rough patches (because let's face it, if they go these patches early on they likely won't survive into old age). My childhood idol and all-time favourite television show was Buffy the Vampire Slayer. I doubt this is a secret, as I quote the show many times in reviews and other pieces. I simply loved that Buffy wasn't perfect, that she kicked ass and had a pretty solid group around her without whom she wouldn't have been successful. And then they introduced a new character in the fifth season that I absolutely hated and for me, the show took a turn.
 
BTVS has been off the air for many years now, and despite the rough times when it was on the air and in its last couple years, I still consider it one of the best shows ever. The characters, the themes, the writing and the overall concepts embodied in the show resonate and stay with me even after all these years. Over time, the bad parts have faded away and what stick out boldly are the many, many great things. 

Supernatural is much the same way. Yes, it is still on the air and therefore a work in progress, but I return every week because of the fondness I have for these characters and the fact that the good far outweighs any negative points that may be present now. I imagine many of you return for much the same reasons.
 
I won't say too much about season six, because in all honestly, it's kind of a hazy memory. There are key parts that stand out such as Dean with a sniper rifle, "The French Mistake," Sam's confrontations with himself inside his head, Castiel's episode, the unsunk Titanic timeline,  and of course the season finale which left a major cliff hanger. It wasn't great, but definitely had its moments.

Season seven, though we are only 12 episodes in, is actually becoming a favourite season of mine. Is it near the caliber of season four (my all time favourite season)? Not in my opinion. Nor does it have the dynamic new excitement and air of discovery that came with season one. Or the conclusive notes of finality and satisfying payoffs of season five. But somehow, I can't help but have affection for this season.
 
To start with, I really like the Leviathan. Many viewers, as I understand would disagree with me on this point, but nevertheless I like their approach, their intelligence and that Sam and Dean aren't their focus, merely an irritating side pain. Are Sam and Dean the heroes? Absolutely. But, unlike previous seasons, the entire endgame as seen by the villains doesn't hinge on the Winchester brothers. It's kind of refreshing to me. 

The other thing that works for me is the back to the back to the roots feeling of the season. Granted, this hasn't always been done well but for the most part I'm satisfied. Do I miss Castiel? Of course. I had a love affair with that character and was devastated by his loss and paltry send off. But I appreciate that the boys needed to go back to themselves and their beginning as just the two this time around.

This brings me to the next point. Now I'm sure I will get a lot of flak for what I'm about to say, but please hear me out. I'm kind of okay with Bobby's death. (Ducks flying foodstuffs). Why? Bobby was an integral piece of the SPN family and an incredible character. I truly loved him, really I did. But in a way his death kind of makes sense, for the aforementioned return to grass roots way. This season has been all about stripping the boys of everything they've known and relied on for the past few years: Cas, the Impala, their fake ideas, their hunting/motel routines - everything. And this couldn't have been complete with Bobby being taken out the picture. Do I wish he'd ended up in a coma and not dead? Well, yes. That would have been a better way to go, but I have to work with what the show has given me. 

Furthermore, Bobby's death has become quite motivational for these boys, particularly Dean, who had that dead-inside feel about him more and more leading up to Bobby's demise. Again, it could have been a major injury that motivated him, rather than an out and out killing but hey, I'm not writing this thing. Finally, the send off was beautiful. If you're going to say goodbye to an adored character this is how you do it: with respect, fondness and appreciation. 

Okay, so maybe the fact that I don't believe Bobby is really dead also helps. We totally haven't seen the last of him - no way, no how. 

The final thing that strikes me about season seven is its lighter atmosphere overall. Forgive me for bringing Buffy back in again, but the analogy is important. In season six, Buffy went to an incredibly dark place. It'd always had a darker air about it as is the nature of the genre, but season six had some incredibly black themes and in many cases they were thrown right in your face (such as an almost-rape scene that I find very hard to watch) - there was hardly time to catch your breath before something more dark and angst ridden was happening. When season seven came back, I remember the show runners promising to pull it back from the darkness and inject some of the lightness that was present in earlier seasons. This is what has happened on Supernatural, season seven, in my opinion. 

Season six felt very gloomy and heavy, despite what I think was an attempt to shake it up and breathe life. Season seven, on the other hand, feels somehow brighter. The show seems to be taken itself less seriously. That's bizarre to say about a show that has always made fun of itself, but it's the case nonetheless. Are there still dark themes? Without a doubt. But they are dealt with in a less heady, heavy handed approach (for the most part). I can't help it; there is a refreshing lightness about season seven that has drawn me back in. This is probably what season six should have been, coming off a five-year intense plot run. But I digress. 

At the seven season point in this show, much like I did toward the end of the BTVS run (which went on to season seven, after the introduction of the much hated and poorly constructed character in season five) I remember what it once was and I smile because I enjoy the good parts that we're still seeing and try my best to overlook the frustrating bits. I've tried not to read so much into things. For example in "Time for a Wedding," many people likened this to sexual assault or something else of very sinister nature. My mind simply never went there, largely because I don't believe that could ever be the intention of the writers on this show. My life has been topsy turvey the last year or so, full of much reality based drama and I've tried to adopt a go-with-the-flow attitude, which I've tried to bring to my Supernatural viewings as well. It doesn't mean I don't see the bad spots. Just simply that focus is on the good spots. 

In short, why do I still love Supernatural? The same reasons I fell in love with it all those years ago: it has some fantastic humour, clever writing, stunning cinematography and great lead characters. 

What keeps you coming back, despite the kinks?