WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

Memorable Moments: Supernatural 12.18 "The Memory Remains"

Mallena's Supernatural Musings: 10.05 "Fan Fiction"

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 3

Fan Video of the Week: Supernatural Reflections "The British Invasion”

Supernatural Bits & Pieces September 17, 2017

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 2

This long until Supernatural Season 13...

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

Sep 22 2017

TV Line has a short spoiler for the upcoming season

Sep 21 2017

We have an extended version of the trailer!

Sep 18 2017

Jeffrey Dean Morgan and Hillary Burton showed off her baby bump at last night's Emmy Awards ceremony

Sep 18 2017

The actor, who once played Gordon Walker, won an Emmy last night for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Dra

Sep 17 2017

We have a copy of the EW preview for Supernatural and BTS pictures of episode 6.

Sep 13 2017

We're getting close. The CW released a short promo.

Sep 12 2017

EW just published a big spoiler for season 13. TVLine Spoilers added!

Sep 12 2017

September 13 is Supernatural Day!

Sep 08 2017

TVLine released it's fall preview and had this to say about Supernatural

Sep 06 2017

With the DVD for season 12 hitting the shelves yesterday, several oulets have posted deleted scenes

Sep 04 2017

Misha Collins made the announcement today.

Sep 01 2017

Stories continue to come out on Jensen Ackles fundraiser to help Texas after the devastation of Hurr

Aug 31 2017

The Supernatural Family's work to aid in disaster rescue and recovery efforts has even been noticed

Aug 30 2017

Buddy TV posted a new deleted scene from last season.

Aug 28 2017

Jensen and Danneel Ackles are spearheading an effort to help victims of Hurricane Harvey

Aug 24 2017

We have titles for episodes through 12.

Aug 23 2017

TV Line has some spoilers for this season.

Aug 23 2017

There are a lot of Behing-The-Scenes shots from episodes 3 of Supernatural season 13!

Aug 20 2017

The cast is wishing Misha a Happy Birthday!

Aug 18 2017

Christine Kilmer's latest vlog is up and it's seems rather timely given the latest events.  In

Aug 12 2017

Spoiler TV posted the titles for the first nine episodes and episode 16

Aug 12 2017

Recently, I had to shut down the site because of horrible, negative, disrespectful fighting in our c

Aug 09 2017

We have casting news for season 13.

Jul 24 2017

Nightsky posted her video of the Kansas performance at Comic Con.

Jul 23 2017

We may be getting several of these today.

Jul 23 2017

The cast for Wayward Sisters has been announced.

Jul 23 2017

The 2017 San Diego Comic Con "Supernatural" panel was one for the ages.  A surprise concert, a

Jul 23 2017

Today was a very special panel involving one of our prominent #SPNFAMILY members, Genevieve Padaleck

Jul 22 2017

The photos from Nightsky have been coming in slowly and we are keeping an archive of everything take

Jul 22 2017

The Tick has had a big presence at Comic Con.

Jul 22 2017

EW sat down with Jared, Jensen and Misha at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

The Facebook Live chat with Jared, Jensen and Misha is now available.

Jul 21 2017

Catching up with Supernatural Alumni at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

Today was the big Timeless panel at San Diego Comic Con.  Our master Eric Kripke was there to t

Jul 20 2017

The cast will appear live tomorrow, July 21, 2017 and will be seen on the Supernatural Facebook page

Jul 20 2017

The first clip from Jared and Jensen's appearance on Conan O'Brien

Jul 20 2017

The WB has released the poster for next season.

Jul 19 2017

The Conan O'Brien show has put out a teaser for tonight's appearance.

Jul 16 2017

Mark Pellegrino is in the running for a Tean Choice Award

Jul 16 2017

We have the first spoilers from this year's TV Guide article covering Comic Con.

Jul 15 2017

Warner Brothers is having a Gift Pack Giveaway.

Jul 14 2017

We have the images on the Comic Con bags for this year's Comic Con.

Jul 12 2017

Conan O'Brien is going to Comic Con and he's going to have Jared and Jensen on his show.

Jul 12 2017

Jensen and others are posting on social media from Vancouver. No Spoilers.

Jul 12 2017

San Diego Comic Con must be just around the corner!  Each year at this time we get some awesome

Jul 08 2017

Rogue Events, the company that hosted the Asylum conventions, is going out of business.

Jun 29 2017

IMDB has posted casting for episode 13.01

WFB Feature Articles

Sep 22 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for Supernatural episode 12.18, "The Memory Remains".

Read more...
Sep 21 2017 | Mallena

It’s Rob Benedict’s birthday on Sept 21 and it wasn’t easy picking the story to review that fe

Read more...
Sep 20 2017 | LK

 Welcome to Part 3 of my tale of attending my very first Supernatural convention! You'll want t

Read more...
Sep 18 2017 | LK

 

" I write about the power of trying, because I want to be okay with failing. I write about

Read more...
Sep 17 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural around the web this week.

Read more...
Sep 15 2017 | LK

Welcome to part 2 of my tale of attending my first Supernatural convention! If you missed Part 1, it

Read more...
Sep 14 2017 | Mallena

Richard Speight, Jr.’s birthday was on September 4th and in his honor, I’m writing a review of o

Read more...
Sep 13 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #4

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way. It's a qu

Read more...
Sep 12 2017 | LK

Introduction

 

Boy, this will be a long one! That is probably the sentence I will hear

Read more...
Sep 11 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.17 "The British Invasion". Once again

Read more...
Sep 10 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week

Read more...
Sep 09 2017 | LK

 

" For there is no friend like a sister in calm or stormy weather; To cheer one on the tediou

Read more...
Sep 08 2017 | Elle

One of the last Supernatural episodes of season 12 that was more formulaic and standard MOTW than bi

Read more...
Sep 07 2017 | Mallena

 

Who loves the idea of time travel? I do!  The possibilities are endless as I contemplat

Read more...
Sep 06 2017 | LK

 

"Don't call the world dirty because you forgot to clean your glasses.” — Joseph Addi

Read more...
Sep 04 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.16 "Ladies Drink Free". Once again I h

Read more...
Sep 03 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural and Family in the news this week!

Read more...
Sep 01 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #3

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a qu

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Percysowner

What are Supernatural fans up to? Here's the latest scoop as of August, 2017!

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Alice

My choices for part one were revealed, so without further delay, here are the Supernatural Season Tw

Read more...
Aug 28 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for Supernatural! For 12.15, "Somewhere Between Heave

Read more...
Aug 27 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 26 2017 | Nightsky

One of the unique attractions of San Diego Comic-Con is wandering the vendor floor looking at the am

Read more...
Aug 25 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #2

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a quick a

Read more...
Aug 24 2017 | Mallena

This week, I’ve been musing about family dramas.  There are many great examples of the genre

Read more...
Aug 21 2017 | Alice

Today I was utterly dismayed to hear about the closure of a long time fan site which the Wincheste

Read more...
Aug 19 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...

WFB Motivational Posters

Snake.jpg

Nightsky's New Book!

TW042

Okay, so season six and seven of Supernatural have been unpopular in many ways with the fandom. And understandably so: there were changes to the atmosphere of the show, characters were altered in confusing and non-sensical ways, plots have been dropped at random and character development has been questionable at time. So, with all that can be said to be wrong with this once great and beloved show one has to wonder: why do we stay?

For me the answer is simple - I just can't help but continue to love Supernatural. This piece isn't about inciting diatribes about what is wrong with the show, or critiquing the people who have complaints about it, legitimate or otherwise. Rather, it's about examining what keeps me coming back week after week, year after year, even during the tough times. 

Every television show of decent age goes through rough patches (because let's face it, if they go these patches early on they likely won't survive into old age). My childhood idol and all-time favourite television show was Buffy the Vampire Slayer. I doubt this is a secret, as I quote the show many times in reviews and other pieces. I simply loved that Buffy wasn't perfect, that she kicked ass and had a pretty solid group around her without whom she wouldn't have been successful. And then they introduced a new character in the fifth season that I absolutely hated and for me, the show took a turn.
 
BTVS has been off the air for many years now, and despite the rough times when it was on the air and in its last couple years, I still consider it one of the best shows ever. The characters, the themes, the writing and the overall concepts embodied in the show resonate and stay with me even after all these years. Over time, the bad parts have faded away and what stick out boldly are the many, many great things. 

Supernatural is much the same way. Yes, it is still on the air and therefore a work in progress, but I return every week because of the fondness I have for these characters and the fact that the good far outweighs any negative points that may be present now. I imagine many of you return for much the same reasons.
 
I won't say too much about season six, because in all honestly, it's kind of a hazy memory. There are key parts that stand out such as Dean with a sniper rifle, "The French Mistake," Sam's confrontations with himself inside his head, Castiel's episode, the unsunk Titanic timeline,  and of course the season finale which left a major cliff hanger. It wasn't great, but definitely had its moments.

Season seven, though we are only 12 episodes in, is actually becoming a favourite season of mine. Is it near the caliber of season four (my all time favourite season)? Not in my opinion. Nor does it have the dynamic new excitement and air of discovery that came with season one. Or the conclusive notes of finality and satisfying payoffs of season five. But somehow, I can't help but have affection for this season.
 
To start with, I really like the Leviathan. Many viewers, as I understand would disagree with me on this point, but nevertheless I like their approach, their intelligence and that Sam and Dean aren't their focus, merely an irritating side pain. Are Sam and Dean the heroes? Absolutely. But, unlike previous seasons, the entire endgame as seen by the villains doesn't hinge on the Winchester brothers. It's kind of refreshing to me. 

The other thing that works for me is the back to the back to the roots feeling of the season. Granted, this hasn't always been done well but for the most part I'm satisfied. Do I miss Castiel? Of course. I had a love affair with that character and was devastated by his loss and paltry send off. But I appreciate that the boys needed to go back to themselves and their beginning as just the two this time around.

This brings me to the next point. Now I'm sure I will get a lot of flak for what I'm about to say, but please hear me out. I'm kind of okay with Bobby's death. (Ducks flying foodstuffs). Why? Bobby was an integral piece of the SPN family and an incredible character. I truly loved him, really I did. But in a way his death kind of makes sense, for the aforementioned return to grass roots way. This season has been all about stripping the boys of everything they've known and relied on for the past few years: Cas, the Impala, their fake ideas, their hunting/motel routines - everything. And this couldn't have been complete with Bobby being taken out the picture. Do I wish he'd ended up in a coma and not dead? Well, yes. That would have been a better way to go, but I have to work with what the show has given me. 

Furthermore, Bobby's death has become quite motivational for these boys, particularly Dean, who had that dead-inside feel about him more and more leading up to Bobby's demise. Again, it could have been a major injury that motivated him, rather than an out and out killing but hey, I'm not writing this thing. Finally, the send off was beautiful. If you're going to say goodbye to an adored character this is how you do it: with respect, fondness and appreciation. 

Okay, so maybe the fact that I don't believe Bobby is really dead also helps. We totally haven't seen the last of him - no way, no how. 

The final thing that strikes me about season seven is its lighter atmosphere overall. Forgive me for bringing Buffy back in again, but the analogy is important. In season six, Buffy went to an incredibly dark place. It'd always had a darker air about it as is the nature of the genre, but season six had some incredibly black themes and in many cases they were thrown right in your face (such as an almost-rape scene that I find very hard to watch) - there was hardly time to catch your breath before something more dark and angst ridden was happening. When season seven came back, I remember the show runners promising to pull it back from the darkness and inject some of the lightness that was present in earlier seasons. This is what has happened on Supernatural, season seven, in my opinion. 

Season six felt very gloomy and heavy, despite what I think was an attempt to shake it up and breathe life. Season seven, on the other hand, feels somehow brighter. The show seems to be taken itself less seriously. That's bizarre to say about a show that has always made fun of itself, but it's the case nonetheless. Are there still dark themes? Without a doubt. But they are dealt with in a less heady, heavy handed approach (for the most part). I can't help it; there is a refreshing lightness about season seven that has drawn me back in. This is probably what season six should have been, coming off a five-year intense plot run. But I digress. 

At the seven season point in this show, much like I did toward the end of the BTVS run (which went on to season seven, after the introduction of the much hated and poorly constructed character in season five) I remember what it once was and I smile because I enjoy the good parts that we're still seeing and try my best to overlook the frustrating bits. I've tried not to read so much into things. For example in "Time for a Wedding," many people likened this to sexual assault or something else of very sinister nature. My mind simply never went there, largely because I don't believe that could ever be the intention of the writers on this show. My life has been topsy turvey the last year or so, full of much reality based drama and I've tried to adopt a go-with-the-flow attitude, which I've tried to bring to my Supernatural viewings as well. It doesn't mean I don't see the bad spots. Just simply that focus is on the good spots. 

In short, why do I still love Supernatural? The same reasons I fell in love with it all those years ago: it has some fantastic humour, clever writing, stunning cinematography and great lead characters. 

What keeps you coming back, despite the kinks?