WFBBabyBanner

Follow Us

Text Size

Mallena's Supernatural Musings: 10.05 "Fan Fiction"

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 3

Fan Video of the Week: Supernatural Reflections "The British Invasion”

Supernatural Bits & Pieces September 17, 2017

Supernatural Con First Timer - Vancouver Part 2

Mallena's Supernatural Musings: 3.11 "Mystery Spot"

Check out all our San Diego Comic Con coverage, including on scene reports from Nightsky!  

 

Latest Supernatural News and Spoilers

Sep 21 2017

We have an extended version of the trailer!

Sep 18 2017

Jeffrey Dean Morgan and Hillary Burton showed off her baby bump at last night's Emmy Awards ceremony

Sep 18 2017

The actor, who once played Gordon Walker, won an Emmy last night for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Dra

Sep 17 2017

We have a copy of the EW preview for Supernatural and BTS pictures of episode 6.

Sep 13 2017

We're getting close. The CW released a short promo.

Sep 12 2017

EW just published a big spoiler for season 13. TVLine Spoilers added!

Sep 12 2017

September 13 is Supernatural Day!

Sep 08 2017

TVLine released it's fall preview and had this to say about Supernatural

Sep 06 2017

With the DVD for season 12 hitting the shelves yesterday, several oulets have posted deleted scenes

Sep 04 2017

Misha Collins made the announcement today.

Sep 01 2017

Stories continue to come out on Jensen Ackles fundraiser to help Texas after the devastation of Hurr

Aug 31 2017

The Supernatural Family's work to aid in disaster rescue and recovery efforts has even been noticed

Aug 30 2017

Buddy TV posted a new deleted scene from last season.

Aug 28 2017

Jensen and Danneel Ackles are spearheading an effort to help victims of Hurricane Harvey

Aug 24 2017

We have titles for episodes through 12.

Aug 23 2017

TV Line has some spoilers for this season.

Aug 23 2017

There are a lot of Behing-The-Scenes shots from episodes 3 of Supernatural season 13!

Aug 20 2017

The cast is wishing Misha a Happy Birthday!

Aug 18 2017

Christine Kilmer's latest vlog is up and it's seems rather timely given the latest events.  In

Aug 12 2017

Spoiler TV posted the titles for the first nine episodes and episode 16

Aug 12 2017

Recently, I had to shut down the site because of horrible, negative, disrespectful fighting in our c

Aug 09 2017

We have casting news for season 13.

Jul 24 2017

Nightsky posted her video of the Kansas performance at Comic Con.

Jul 23 2017

We may be getting several of these today.

Jul 23 2017

The cast for Wayward Sisters has been announced.

Jul 23 2017

The 2017 San Diego Comic Con "Supernatural" panel was one for the ages.  A surprise concert, a

Jul 23 2017

Today was a very special panel involving one of our prominent #SPNFAMILY members, Genevieve Padaleck

Jul 22 2017

The photos from Nightsky have been coming in slowly and we are keeping an archive of everything take

Jul 22 2017

The Tick has had a big presence at Comic Con.

Jul 22 2017

EW sat down with Jared, Jensen and Misha at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

The Facebook Live chat with Jared, Jensen and Misha is now available.

Jul 21 2017

Catching up with Supernatural Alumni at Comic Con.

Jul 21 2017

Today was the big Timeless panel at San Diego Comic Con.  Our master Eric Kripke was there to t

Jul 20 2017

The cast will appear live tomorrow, July 21, 2017 and will be seen on the Supernatural Facebook page

Jul 20 2017

The first clip from Jared and Jensen's appearance on Conan O'Brien

Jul 20 2017

The WB has released the poster for next season.

Jul 19 2017

The Conan O'Brien show has put out a teaser for tonight's appearance.

Jul 16 2017

Mark Pellegrino is in the running for a Tean Choice Award

Jul 16 2017

We have the first spoilers from this year's TV Guide article covering Comic Con.

Jul 15 2017

Warner Brothers is having a Gift Pack Giveaway.

Jul 14 2017

We have the images on the Comic Con bags for this year's Comic Con.

Jul 12 2017

Conan O'Brien is going to Comic Con and he's going to have Jared and Jensen on his show.

Jul 12 2017

Jensen and others are posting on social media from Vancouver. No Spoilers.

Jul 12 2017

San Diego Comic Con must be just around the corner!  Each year at this time we get some awesome

Jul 08 2017

Rogue Events, the company that hosted the Asylum conventions, is going out of business.

Jun 29 2017

IMDB has posted casting for episode 13.01

Jun 29 2017

It's official, Supernatural is coming to Comic Con this year.

WFB Feature Articles

Sep 21 2017 | Mallena

It’s Rob Benedict’s birthday on Sept 21 and it wasn’t easy picking the story to review that fe

Read more...
Sep 20 2017 | LK

 Welcome to Part 3 of my tale of attending my very first Supernatural convention! You'll want t

Read more...
Sep 18 2017 | LK

 

" I write about the power of trying, because I want to be okay with failing. I write about

Read more...
Sep 17 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural around the web this week.

Read more...
Sep 15 2017 | LK

Welcome to part 2 of my tale of attending my first Supernatural convention! If you missed Part 1, it

Read more...
Sep 14 2017 | Mallena

Richard Speight, Jr.’s birthday was on September 4th and in his honor, I’m writing a review of o

Read more...
Sep 13 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #4

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way. It's a qu

Read more...
Sep 12 2017 | LK

Introduction

 

Boy, this will be a long one! That is probably the sentence I will hear

Read more...
Sep 11 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.17 "The British Invasion". Once again

Read more...
Sep 10 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week

Read more...
Sep 09 2017 | LK

 

" For there is no friend like a sister in calm or stormy weather; To cheer one on the tediou

Read more...
Sep 08 2017 | Elle

One of the last Supernatural episodes of season 12 that was more formulaic and standard MOTW than bi

Read more...
Sep 07 2017 | Mallena

 

Who loves the idea of time travel? I do!  The possibilities are endless as I contemplat

Read more...
Sep 06 2017 | LK

 

"Don't call the world dirty because you forgot to clean your glasses.” — Joseph Addi

Read more...
Sep 04 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for episode 12.16 "Ladies Drink Free". Once again I h

Read more...
Sep 03 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural and Family in the news this week!

Read more...
Sep 01 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #3

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a qu

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Percysowner

What are Supernatural fans up to? Here's the latest scoop as of August, 2017!

Read more...
Aug 30 2017 | Alice

My choices for part one were revealed, so without further delay, here are the Supernatural Season Tw

Read more...
Aug 28 2017 | Karen

Welcome back to the "Memorable Moments" series for Supernatural! For 12.15, "Somewhere Between Heave

Read more...
Aug 27 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 26 2017 | Nightsky

One of the unique attractions of San Diego Comic-Con is wandering the vendor floor looking at the am

Read more...
Aug 25 2017 | Karen

Supernatural Match Game

Match Game #2

Welcome to Match Game - The Supernatural Way! It's a quick a

Read more...
Aug 24 2017 | Mallena

This week, I’ve been musing about family dramas.  There are many great examples of the genre

Read more...
Aug 21 2017 | Alice

Today I was utterly dismayed to hear about the closure of a long time fan site which the Wincheste

Read more...
Aug 19 2017 | Percysowner

Supernatural in the news this week.

Read more...
Aug 18 2017 | Alice

Just like every year, The WFB doesn't stop with just the fan choice awards!  Your friendly neig

Read more...

WFB Motivational Posters

SpiritusImmundi.jpg

Nightsky's New Book!




Supernatural Season Three Hits and Misses - Part One

 

Hit: The Time Loop

alt

There probably isn't much need to explain why this is a hit - it was a pretty genius move. Not only was this episode full of hysterical moments like Dean's obliviousness to the entire loop and Sam's increasing deja vu to the point of taking an ax to the Mystery Spot, but it had such creative deaths. Finally, this was an episode that played on our emotions like no other: at the beginning we had a truly unexpected and emotional death. This was quickly followed by scenes of a soapy shower Mohawk, catching the falling hot sauce and being mauled by a golden retriever. And of course, at the half way point, hilarity at its peak, we are jolted back to a harsh death and even more alarming grief on Sam's part. Yes, this episode was creative, emotional, funny and above all, a hit.

Miss: Fairytale Horror

alt

Conceptually this should have been a hit. Taking the Grimm approach to those classic childhood stories and then giving the whole thing a very human villain as the cause of the girl's coma. Yes, it should have been a good run. It's hard to pinpoint the specific issue with the MOTW story here, but one way or another all these pieces just didn't come together for me. Okay - it wasn't a horrible episode yet somehow to this viewer it just felt lackluster. There were some great moments, such as Sketch Artist Sam, but in terms of the fairytale plot it just felt underwritten and forgettable. If this were a dress, it would have suffered from underdesigning. So, the fairytale thing - while certainly far from the worst thing Supernatural has ever done, it definitely falls under the "miss" category.

Hit: Magic and Spells and Witches, Oh My!

alt

Sometimes I like witches, sometimes I don't. This is one of those don't times. Let's just say I'm with Dean on the ick factor present with witches. Despite my own personal aversion to the more graphic bits of the episode, one cannot deny that the witches are a major hit. The witch storyline had some pretty solid writing, some incredible (if nauseating) special effects and overall a seriously ass-kicking MOTW.

Miss: Bela

alt

This is another one we probably don't need to discuss much. As a concept she was okay and if she'd simply appeared in that one episode or maybe, possibly a second she'd likely have had a lot less haters out there. My major problem with Bela wasn't that she was written badly as a character or that she didn't have chemistry with our leads but rather it was this: she ALWAYS won. More often than not our boys were tricked, conned, played to fit whatever agenda Bela had. Not cool. The boys don't always win - the show is deeper than that and we like it that way. But they are smart enough that if you fool them once, it's a lot bloody harder to get them a second time - let alone a third, etc. I like slick, strong female characters - but nobody is that slick. Miss.

Hit: Christmas Memories

alt

Truly the Christmas episode was a great one all around, however this hit is just in the form of the flashback memories. Any chance to see how little Sam and Dean got on in life on the road and to see the pure love between them is a hit. And having them relive that over a beer and some bad gifts as adults? Even better. Do we really need to even discuss this further?

Miss: Cougar Love

alt

The "romance" was overdone this season - especially the fondling of poor Sam by the elderly woman. Not to get too serious but if genders were reversed here, some of those touches would have been classified as borderline criminal/sexual assault. This may be a nitpick one, but I don't think so (sound off below!). For me, and I don't think I'm alone here, this was a definite miss.

Hit: Doppelganger Dean a.k.a. Ben

alt

Before the Lisa/Ben thing took on a life of its own, Lisa, or "Gumby Girl" as Dean lovingly remembered her, was a star player in Dean's bucket list. And on arriving at her door, not only is she not quite as Dean remembered - but she's a mom now. Of a son that is surprisingly near identical to Dean in personality and not too far off in looks either. The look on Dean's face as he's standing with young Ben eating cake and talking about the bouncy castle is brilliant. Even better was the decision the writers made to NOT have Ben be Dean's son here. Little chick-loving, booty checking-out Ben was certainly a hit.

Miss: Red Sky, Weak Execution

alt

This episode is another of the season three group that had potential just not fulfilled. I've already addressed the issues with the character Bela, so I won't dive to deep into that again but it is a fundamental issue with this episode. Personally, the ghost ship story here was weak and felt more like a vehicle for the Bela-Sam-Dean interaction, take two. This leads to the second core issue with Red Sky: Simply put, it's totally out of character to trust Bela in any capacity given the Winchester's history with her; particularly given her shooting of Sam. Additionally, if they absolutely had to work with Bela, there should have been that classic con-artist-drama-twist where the "bad" one thinks they're in the driver seat manipulating things and in the end they've actually stolen a briefcase full of shredded paper rather than the billion dollars in cash they thought they had. One final point - Dean + tongue tied around this chick? Umm, no.

 Hit: Cursed Rabbit Feet

alt

One thing great about SPN is the way it takes the everyday folklore and turns it on its head. The idea of a lucky rabbit foot is who-knows how old and here it's a real thing; but with a twist: lose that foot and you're beyond doomed. In this case there wasn't really a monster of the week so much as Sam was his own worst enemy (nevermind Bela and Gordon at this point). Such a small, innocent thing causing such deadly chaos? An unquestionable hit, to be sure.

And there you have it, the first half of the season three hits and misses. What do you think?